Forum costs, maintenance and advertising

Are you okay with advertising on the forum to assist with costs and maintenance?

Poll ended at Thu 03 Aug 2023 4:54pm

yes
86%
no
14%

Total votes: 51

Re: Forum costs, maintenance and advertising

Mr Magic wrote: Wed 02 Aug 2023 8:37pm
Vortex wrote: Wed 02 Aug 2023 8:14pm
Mr Magic wrote: Wed 02 Aug 2023 2:20pm If it's decided that we proceed along the 'sponsorship' model I would propose that being a 'sponsor' gives that poster no more/less rights than anybody else.
Sponsorship would be viewed as merely a contribution to the costs of running the site.
Absolutely this should be a consideration, however a voting model may need to be put up for consideration with relation to administration of the site if a donation funding model is put in place, especially if it is viewed important to maintain the sites unique position on the footy forum landscape which has to continue including independence from the club and AFL. This feature could be jeopardised if the site is monetised due to commercial and legal obligations for such an arrangement.

Keep it for the people with a donation funding model to preserve the uniqueness and independence.
I disagree completely
The site is owned by the admin, to be run as he/she/they see fit.
In a sponsorship model all we (the posters who contribute) would be doing is assisting in the running costs of the admin’s site
We (the sponsors) would get no vote/say on anything, and neither should we IMHO
A donation is essentially a vote…a vote to keep the place going.

I could foresee a scenario where even in so much as if the identity of sponsors was known, a few forumites would attempt to pull rank on others for disagreeing with them. 100% no additional rights or status.

Vortex wrote: Wed 02 Aug 2023 8:46pm
Mr Magic wrote: Wed 02 Aug 2023 2:20pm If it's decided that we proceed along the 'sponsorship' model I would propose that being a 'sponsor' gives that poster no more/less rights than anybody else.
Sponsorship would be viewed as merely a contribution to the costs of running the site.
Absolutely this should be a consideration, however a voting model may need to be put up for consideration with relation to administration of the site if a donation funding model is put in place, especially if it is viewed important to maintain the sites unique position on the footy forum landscape which has to continue including independence from the club and AFL. This feature could be jeopardised if the site is monetised due to commercial and legal obligations for such an arrangement.

Keep it for the people with a donation funding model to preserve the uniqueness and independence.
I disagree completely
In a sponsorship model all we (the posters who contribute) would be doing is assisting in the running costs of the admin’s site
That may well be how you see it, or try to portray it.
I don’t
In my mind a donation is nothing more than a contribution and has no other meaning or context

yes

the contribution needs to be a gift

no leverage expected or received
otherwise
it ceases to be a gift

Vortex wrote: Wed 02 Aug 2023 8:46pm

I disagree completely
I think maybe your chatbot has blown a fuse

Find out how many Nicks are active.
Send out a notification with 4 weeks to pledge and pay $1 monthly registration per Nick.
Open a pay portal of some sort and have all fees sent there on a due date, after a month.
If we have 100 active members, we are viable at a dollar a month and it's a fair access cost.
If we have 200, we have some capacity to upgrade and reduce costs.
For 100 members, $2 a month you can enter a 100 numbers board draw for $50 a month and bank $50 in a contingency fund which pays for repairs, if needed. If not needed, you could do an end of season mega draw with the left over balance.
From there, you could offer player sponsorship at $24 shares or $4 a week from Sep to Feb in addition to your $1 rego and $1 for the contingency fund/$50 rewards draw.
The club may also be interested in a Saintsational sponsorship via an official Saintsational sponsors shirt, limited to 100 shirts for a sponsors package with the $5000 raised going to the club.

If you wanted a part or full package,

$12 rego
$12 contingency/rewards fund, with a minimum of $600 in prizes to be won.
$24 player sponsors share
$50 limited edition Saintsational Sponsors shirt.

You can get it from $1 - $8.20 a month.

Lol

CQ SAINT wrote: Wed 02 Aug 2023 10:27pm Find out how many Nicks are active.
Send out a notification with 4 weeks to pledge and pay $1 monthly registration per Nick.
Open a pay portal of some sort and have all fees sent there on a due date, after a month.
If we have 100 active members, we are viable at a dollar a month and it's a fair access cost.
For 100 members, $2 a month you can enter a 100 numbers board draw for $50 a month and bank $50 in a contingency fund which pays for repairs, if needed. If not needed, you could do an end of season mega draw with the left over balance.
From there, you could offer player sponsorship at $24 shares or $4 a week from Sep to Feb in addition to your $1 rego and $1 for the contingency fund/$50 rewards draw.
The club may also be interested in a Saintsational sponsorship via an official Saintsational sponsors shirt, limited to 100 shirts for a sponsors package with the $5000 raised going to the club.

$12 rego

Lol
Bugger the $50.00 prize

If you are into this site then $2.00 a month is not unrealistic - and allows for plenty in the kitty.

Also - based on the reluctance to admit people are Saintsationalists IRL - I doubt the Sponsors shirt will fly.

Just propose $2.00 per month - or $25 per year if it is easier.

Who here has:
E-Bay Plus
Amazon Prime
NetFlix
Stan
etc

It is just a pay for entertainment - and $25.00 is just a bottle of wine and you get a whole year of headaches - not just one hangover.

Just do it!
Let me know where you want the money and I will be the first $25.00
Unless my mate CQ beats me to it! :wink:

(Maybe put the balance to the trophy if people want (I currently pay for it))

I would do $25 a year

i told ya's all he was management material

(my initial intuitive 'feel' was $25 per annum)

i like the 'town square, analogy

defiantly independent is our sweet spot

st kilda supporters ... are donkeys on the edge by nature
... otherwise we would not put up with em

keep it real
keep it aussie

that'll save our immortal souls

salvation@hand ... for two bucks a month

too easy.

D.B.Cooper

Just put bank details up here and allow everyone to make an annual donation of an amount they can afford.

If the kitty is short post the amount of the shortfall for members to stump up the balance.

I’m sure plenty will get onboard.

There's only one rule in the jungle! When the LYON's hungry, he eats!

Sainter_Dad wrote: Thu 03 Aug 2023 7:51am
CQ SAINT wrote: Wed 02 Aug 2023 10:27pm Find out how many Nicks are active.

$12 rego

Lol
Bugger the $50.00 prize

If you are into this site then $2.00 a month is not unrealistic - and allows for plenty in the kitty.

Also - based on the reluctance to admit people are Saintsationalists IRL - I doubt the Sponsors shirt will fly.

Just propose $2.00 per month - or $25 per year if it is easier.

Who here has:
E-Bay Plus
Amazon Prime
NetFlix
Stan
etc

It is just a pay for entertainment - and $25.00 is just a bottle of wine and you get a whole year of headaches - not just one hangover.

Just do it!
Let me know where you want the money and I will be the first $25.00
Unless my mate CQ beats me to it! :wink:

(Maybe put the balance to the trophy if people want (I currently pay for it))
I love the $25 idea, seems we all do, haha, who'd have thought of that?

Nonetheless, I might remind everyone that RTB gave the forum a mention in a presser this year, I think if there was sound interest and a professional proposal presented, alignment through sponsorship could be an interesting fundraising avenue.

I wonder if the main board could be private and public at the same time?

Would it be possible to preserve the forum membership as it exists now for 100 x $2 members exclusively as the Town Square and then separately those same 100 members access The New Public Saintsational Fan which could exist as a sanitised, commercialised, sponsored, free for all.

Hmmm?

$25.66

The Fireman wrote: Thu 03 Aug 2023 10:24am$25.66
Gst included

CQ SAINT wrote: Thu 03 Aug 2023 10:26am
Gst included
Gf added

The Fireman wrote: Thu 03 Aug 2023 10:32am
CQ SAINT wrote: Thu 03 Aug 2023 10:26am
Gst included
Gf added
Gluten free????? f*** you're a yuppie.

so

defiantly independent in the $2 sanctum
sell out tea cosies on the outside

please explainy

asiu wrote: Thu 03 Aug 2023 11:02am so

defiantly independent in the $2 sanctum
sell out tea cosies on the outside

please explainy
You got it. A window to view ourselves from, exclusively.
We carry on as always and the Town Centre is tucked away in Nicks Pirate Cove, paying its own way to stay the way it is, while the world carries on outside.

dunno if you're aware
but you're quite the sales man

i like being 'sold'

i charm my way to a free bag in our esteemed supermarkets
by ... loving being upsold at exit time via a real person

which they react to by feeling guilty
thus handing over the esteemed employers product for free

i'll bet ya AI won't do that !!

anyways

if that plan works for others
u can have my vote

you can have my vote
whatever it is

im easy and votes are free

Turn the forum off for the next 4 weeks and we will be in business in a month. Lol

By the way, I don't mind what shape the forum takes, I'm in.

Looks like the the donation model idea is beginning to float.

An example of what makes the site unique.

The tribal council has spoken N1ck

I'd pay to read Tony74, Killa and St Pav. Maybe Aeon F.
Would have to be paid to read Vortex.
For all the rest of us participants, I judge it to be a fairly even exchange of subjective ignorance, wise opinion, clever observation and hope. Some garbage (mea culpa) but we all can get emotional. I'd promise to read the adds.
I don't think it would be right/necessary to pay to be abused by Saynta. I'm pretty sure he would do that for free.

Yorkeys wrote: Thu 03 Aug 2023 12:33pm I'd pay to read Tony74, Killa and St Pav. Maybe Aeon F.
For all the rest of us participants, I judge it to be a fairly even exchange of subjective ignorance, wise opinion, clever observation and hope. Some garbage (mea culpa) but we all can get emotional. I'd promise to read the adds.
I don't think it would be right/necessary to pay to be abused by Saynta. I'm pretty sure he would do that for free.
:lol: :lol:

Yorkeys wrote: Thu 03 Aug 2023 12:33pm I'd pay to read Tony74, Killa and St Pav. Maybe Aeon F.
I suppose the positive outcome for our elderly demographic will be if advertising is introduced is that it is targeted so you’d be up to-date with the latest incontinence nappies, denture cleaning and mobility products.