DUDE LOOKS LIKE A LAIDLEY

Re: DUDE LOOKS LIKE A LAIDLEY

BarryGrogan wrote: Fri 08 May 2020 12:06am
Joffa Burns wrote: Thu 07 May 2020 4:48pm
BarryGrogan wrote: Wed 06 May 2020 1:04pm
Sanctorum wrote: Wed 06 May 2020 12:59pm However I am more persuaded by the expression of support from his former teammates which tends me to conclude that Laidley's cross-dressing is perhaps a sign of a pre-existing serious mental condition.

Not that I particularly care personnally, but wouldn't associating cross dressing with a serious mental condition be considered incredibly offensive to those that do it?
Would he be upset the photos were taken in a Police station or upset because he'd been photographed in drag?
Obviously wouldn't have a clue.

But I'd imagine the former is the issue here.

If you don't want to be seen in drag, you wouldn't go out in public in drag I wouldn't have thought.

FWIW, too many of us grew up with movies like Silence of The Lambs and s***, and associate a cross dressing male with smeared makeup with a deranged serial killer.

That's obviously a pathetically ignorant generalisation.

But even though I try to be, and consider myself to be, a progressive dude - I still naturally draw that association. If I really cared about the topic, I'd be ashamed of myself for doing so.

But instead, I'm just happy to say good luck to him (in regards to the dresses and s***, not the stalking), and I'll continue trying to show empathy to people in society that do s*** that I grew up thinking was wrong.
Cross dressing is not illegal. Stalking is.

BarryGrogan

roskilde wrote: Fri 08 May 2020 10:05am
Sorry slightly OT but to your point about stereotypes and transgender it's actually made specifically clear in both the book and the film that Jame Gum is NOT transexual but a monster with a pathology 'a thousand times more terrifying' and they make it clear there isn't a link between transexuals and violence. So anyone who got that message from watching Silence wasn't paying attention.
Considering I was about 12 when I saw it, it's fair to say I probably wasn't paying attention.

BarryGrogan

saynta wrote: Fri 08 May 2020 12:01pm

If you don't want to be seen in drag, you wouldn't go out in public in drag I wouldn't have thought.

FWIW, too many of us grew up with movies like Silence of The Lambs and s***, and associate a cross dressing male with smeared makeup with a deranged serial killer.

But even though I try to be, and consider myself to be, a progressive dude - I still naturally draw that association. If I really cared about the topic, I'd be ashamed of myself for doing so.

But instead, I'm just happy to say good luck to him (in regards to the dresses and s***, not the stalking), and I'll continue trying to show empathy to people in society that do s*** that I grew up thinking was wrong.
Relevance?

BarryGrogan wrote: Fri 08 May 2020 2:12pm
saynta wrote: Fri 08 May 2020 12:01pm

Relevance?
The guys been charged with a number ofcriminal offences. Full stop. He doesn't deserve our sympathy, the victim does. That relevant or clear enough for you.

Who gives a f*** what he was wearing.

BarryGrogan

saynta wrote: Fri 08 May 2020 5:37pm
The guys been charged with a number ofcriminal offences. Full stop. He doesn't deserve our sympathy, the victim does. That relevant or clear enough for you.

Umm, isn't that pretty much what I said?

Can someone remind me when this weirdo was a Saints assistant coach, how long did we allow him to carry out that task FFS :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:

bobmurray wrote: Fri 08 May 2020 10:54pm Can someone remind me when this weirdo was a Saints assistant coach, how long did we allow him to carry out that task FFS :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:
Under Watty Scotters rein for a couple of seasons from memory.
I'd guess 2011 - 2013 then he went to Carlton.

He left the saints when he realised we weren't based in StKilda and he couldn't blend in dressed in drag.

Joffa Burns wrote: Sat 09 May 2020 10:43am
bobmurray wrote: Fri 08 May 2020 10:54pm Can someone remind me when this weirdo was a Saints assistant coach, how long did we allow him to carry out that task FFS :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:
Under Watty Scotters rein for a couple of seasons from memory.
I'd guess 2011 - 2013 then he went to Carlton.

He left the saints when he realised we weren't based in StKilda and he couldn't blend in dressed in drag.

Harves Man

Re: Junk yard stalker

Moods wrote: Thu 07 May 2020 2:18am
SydneySainter wrote: Tue 05 May 2020 7:57pm
Sanctorum wrote: Tue 05 May 2020 4:18pm This is an incredibly sad story and should never be trivialised in the way that some on this forum have done. Good-on North Melbourne FC and the AFL Coaches Association coming out in support of Dean Laidley. He certainly needs all the help and support he can get to survive this public humiliation.

There are literally thousands of males and females of all ages in our society who struggle with the question of their sexuality, and it causes many who can't deal with this internal conflict to take their own lives prematurely.

Please, if you don't have any sympathy for these poor individuals, just shut up and don't vent your warped prejudices with either sarcastic or negative comments.....
I wouldn’t be so quick to assume that Laidley is a victim just yet. There is still a lot that is unknown.

There is no question that this is a gross breach of privacy and I feel for him in that respect.

But, he is being charged for stalking, let’s not forget that.
And make threats to kill, and breaching an intervention order, and committing indictable offences whilst on bail as he allegedly did similar things approx 1 month ago (hence why he wouldn't have bothered applying for bail) Not to mention the ICE. If he was Jo Blow off the street we'd dismiss him as a loser but because he has a footy profile we feel sorry for him and ppl are reaching out. My sympathy goes to the victim who was stalked and threatened
You make some great points here. Yes it was wrong of the copper to release that photo, yes it was a breach of Laidley's privacy. However he is just not a quality person - I have felt that for years - constantly finding trouble everywhere, frequently in violent episodes. Just not a nice person and the court records show the same picture.

i’m still laughing at that bloody grass eating tiger

classic

i lifted it , when i first saw it ‘n started pinging it around the country via text ... its an absolute pearler

asiu wrote: Sun 10 May 2020 7:22am i’m still laughing at that bloody grass eating tiger

classic

i lifted it , when i first saw it ‘n started pinging it around the country via text ... its an absolute pearler
There are very few images in life funnier than an animal with photoshopped human teeth 👍

Furphy wrote: Thu 07 May 2020 8:58pm Who was he stalking, Ian Stewart?
Could we have recruited Dean under the F/S rule?

BarryGrogan wrote: Fri 08 May 2020 6:21pm
saynta wrote: Fri 08 May 2020 5:37pm

Umm, isn't that pretty much what I said?

https://www.heraldsun.com.au/truecrimea ... 33f5c26d16

"Fallen football star Dean Laidley “bombarded” a woman with almost 50 phone calls in a single day and threatened to run her over in his car, a court has heard.

Details of the former North Melbourne coach’s alleged offending were aired in court on Monday as Laidley was granted bail on stalking charges.

Supported in court by his son and a swag of “striking” character references from AFL legends, the court heard Laidley had become increasingly aggressive towards his alleged victim between April and May, calling her a “sl*t” and “c—t”, and leaving up to 30 abusive voicemail messages when she did not answer.

Police allege between April 3 and May 4, Laidley called and texted the victim more than one hundred times.

During one alleged phone call, Laidley said: “I’m going to ram you with the car when you leave”.

He is also accused of carrying out “reconnaissance” on her address, taking pictures of her apartment building and car and requesting CCTV from her body corporate to “keep her under surveillance”.

Following his arrest on May 4, police allegedly found 0.43grams of methamphetamine hidden in his bra.
A court sketch of Dean Laidley during his bail hearing yesterday. "

What an absolute low life prick.

saynta wrote: Tue 12 May 2020 11:33am https://www.heraldsun.com.au/truecrimea ... 33f5c26d16

"Fallen football star Dean Laidley “bombarded” a woman with almost 50 phone calls in a single day and threatened to run her over in his car, a court has heard.

Details of the former North Melbourne coach’s alleged offending were aired in court on Monday as Laidley was granted bail on stalking charges.

Supported in court by his son and a swag of “striking” character references from AFL legends, the court heard Laidley had become increasingly aggressive towards his alleged victim between April and May, calling her a “sl*t” and “c—t”, and leaving up to 30 abusive voicemail messages when she did not answer.

Police allege between April 3 and May 4, Laidley called and texted the victim more than one hundred times.

During one alleged phone call, Laidley said: “I’m going to ram you with the car when you leave”.

He is also accused of carrying out “reconnaissance” on her address, taking pictures of her apartment building and car and requesting CCTV from her body corporate to “keep her under surveillance”.

Following his arrest on May 4, police allegedly found 0.43grams of methamphetamine hidden in his bra.
A court sketch of Dean Laidley during his bail hearing yesterday. "

What an absolute low life prick.
Sheesh, ice in his bra!
I also heard they found 500 grams of crack in his underpants :wink:

Shaggy

I guess Laidley was trying to gather evidence of the other man for Court.

“The court heard Laidley is accused of breaching an intervention order more than 100 times and had tried to obtain CCTV footage of his victim from her apartment block.

Laidley told police his alleged victim had pressured him into buying her an apartment while seeing another man.

He claimed once the sale of the apartment had settled, the woman dumped him and withdrew all contact.”

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/articl ... r-car.html

saynta wrote: Tue 12 May 2020 11:33am
“bombarded” a woman with almost 50 phone calls in a single day and threatened to run her over in his car, a court has heard.

the court heard Laidley had become increasingly aggressive towards his alleged victim between April and May, calling her a “sl*t” and “c—t”, and leaving up to 30 abusive voicemail messages when she did not answer.

Hmmmmm, and people wonder why the "justice system" doesn't work. What's the woman supposed to do now with him back on the streets? I hope it doesn't end in tears!

I reckon being a cross dresser would be a real drag.

minneapolis wrote: Wed 13 May 2020 2:24am I reckon being a cross dresser would be a real drag.
And there it is, Dad joke of the day....lol

True Believer wrote: Wed 13 May 2020 9:43am
minneapolis wrote: Wed 13 May 2020 2:24am I reckon being a cross dresser would be a real drag.
And there it is, Dad joke of the day....lol
TB,

My daughters say that I am a prolific Dad Joker.

I can't deny it.

Lots of unanswered questions here ...

Who would be silly enough to give an apartment to someone you just met online?
The "victim" claims she is terrified of DL but still thinks it is OK to keep the apartment - what does that say about her motivations?
What made him think that the black dress was a good match for his lippy and eye shadow?

Sounds like they were both duped by each other.

What made him think that the black dress was a good match for his lippy and eye shadow?
great question !! :D

enrico ,
your sensitivity knows no bounds

such insight into the stress ‘n tensions of the modern world

ta.

Special

So we if DL wasn’t into cross dressing (which I have no issue with - it’s harmless), would we have sunk the boots in harder?