Punted from Good Friday ...

Re: Punted from Good Friday ...

saynta wrote: Fri 26 Oct 2018 4:21pm
gwiltyascharged wrote: Fri 26 Oct 2018 10:55am If Ted went to a Saints catered event and the chef took a dump on his plate and served him a steamer he would give them 5 stars and compliments to the chef.
f****** offensive. What's the matter with you .
Its just 1 star gutter trash talk Saynta. It should get the attention it deserves. Zero.

Sainternist wrote: Fri 26 Oct 2018 12:40pm That was one of the most gutless and witless performances I'd seen from a Saints team in recent memory. The players involved that day and the coach should be taking pay cuts as a result of money being lost by the club.
We definitely deserved to get wiped from the Good Friday game, we covered ourselves in shite. The coach didn't want to accept that we were that bad, he believed we were OFF.

We were, the difference was we were "OFF" for the whole season, not just Bad Friday.

lewdogs

The blame will be put on our performance, but the reality is that by getting 33k to the game it was a failure regardless of the match standard. The year before when the Dogs played the Kangaroos on Good Friday there were 43k at the game; I'm a bit confused as to why they didn't play the same teams.

Most likely they'll want it to be a really big game so they'll throw it to the Bombers or Tigers.

I'm not sure we had much to gain from the match anyway. Obviously it was a s***-show of a performance but have they taken the opening round game away from Carlton despite all the terrible games? Did they take Dreamtime at the G away from Essendon after the drug scandal?

If it had been a big crowd we'd still have the game. Saints fans voted with their feet.

tedtheodorelogan2018 wrote: Fri 26 Oct 2018 5:37pm
saynta wrote: Fri 26 Oct 2018 4:21pm
gwiltyascharged wrote: Fri 26 Oct 2018 10:55am If Ted went to a Saints catered event and the chef took a dump on his plate and served him a steamer he would give them 5 stars and compliments to the chef.
f****** offensive. What's the matter with you .
Its just 1 star gutter trash talk Saynta. It should get the attention it deserves. Zero.
I gave it a 3.5 out of 5 stars

3 for creativity

4 for delivery

5 for accuracy

How appropriate. You find a loser that has been banned under several different user names funny, creative and clever.

So why do you support a clear loser that makes lewd, homophobic, xenophobic, vile, abusive, hate filled and offensive posts directed at other posters, players, club officials, etc. and think he is funny, creative and clever?

Please elaborate.
Last edited by tedtheodorelogan2018 on Sat 27 Oct 2018 2:23pm, edited 1 time in total.

12 out of 15 = 4 out of 5 = 4 stars

0.5 star reduction for ???

asiu wrote: Sat 27 Oct 2018 12:51pm 12 out of 15 = 4 out of 5 = 4 stars

0.5 star reduction for ???
The rating system is actually a very complicated algorithm, the 3 ratings shown were merely a snapshot... the full report was far too long for SS.

I can email it to you though.

luckily

and truthfully

i don't do email

tedtheodorelogan2018 wrote: Sat 27 Oct 2018 12:50pm How appropriate. You find a loser that has been banned under several different user names funny, creative and clever.

So why do you support a clear loser that makes lewd, homophobic, xenophobic, vile, abusive, hate filled and offensive posts directed at other posters, players, club officials, etc. and think he is funny, creative and clever?

Please elaborate.
Birds of a feather.

Anyway the clown's been banned.

ss1986

rodgerfox wrote: Fri 26 Oct 2018 5:08pm
gwiltyascharged wrote: Fri 26 Oct 2018 12:03pm 120 years and we are now nothing more than a fixture item wholly run subsidiary of the AFL. We have the same bargaining power as the Suns.

All our staff and execs are AFL drones.

Hawks, Eagles, Bombers, Pies etc have enough clout to say No to the AFL. They would not even consider this fixture.
Welcome to reality.

Finally.

You're utterly wrong and laughably naive about the last paragraph though. They're absolutely no different to the Saints.
Actually there’s about 46 premierships difference....

ss1986 wrote: Sat 27 Oct 2018 11:33pm
gwiltyascharged wrote: Fri 26 Oct 2018 12:03pm 120 years and we are now nothing more than a fixture item wholly run subsidiary of the AFL. We have the same bargaining power as the Suns.

Hawks, Eagles, Bombers, Pies etc have enough clout to say No to the AFL. They would not even consider this fixture.
Welcome to reality.

Finally.

You're utterly wrong and laughably naive about the last paragraph though. They're absolutely no different to the Saints.
How do you work that out?

The AFL has only existed since 1990.

saynta wrote: Fri 26 Oct 2018 4:20pm
saintspremiers wrote: Fri 26 Oct 2018 10:43am
saynta wrote: Fri 26 Oct 2018 10:30am
Saintmatt wrote: Fri 26 Oct 2018 7:44am Being reported (ie leaked by the AFL) that we’re about to get punted from a Good Friday after this year’s debacle.

Well done to Richo, his tactics-lite, clueless group and the 22 on-field spuds who gave absolutely nothing that fateful day.
Good f****** job, I say.
Enjoy Church and your fish old man
You a bigot are you? Seems like it.

FYI

I don't go to church and I don't eat seafood .

But I don't agree with playing footy on good Friday anyway. Never will.

Might have had something to do with our rotten year as well.
So why the dislike of Good Friday?

You must be a religo who doesn’t do Church.

Happy God and Jesus and other beliefs that people kill each other over

Welcome to reality.

Finally.

So Saints have as much influence as Collingwood?

I reckon that game was the lowest ebb for this club for years, and set the tone for the rest of the season. I don't really want to go and see a game of footy on Good Friday anyway- it's a day with the family, friends etc. I hope our friend in the sky looks upon us favourably in season 2019.

saynta wrote: Sat 27 Oct 2018 10:59pm
tedtheodorelogan2018 wrote: Sat 27 Oct 2018 12:50pm How appropriate. You find a loser that has been banned under several different user names funny, creative and clever.

Please elaborate.
Birds of a feather.

Anyway the clown's been banned.
Yep...still no answer.

SaintPav wrote: Sun 28 Oct 2018 8:07am

Welcome to reality.

Finally.

No one has influence.

Due to geography and socio-economics from over 100 years ago, some clubs started with large supporter bases and some didn't.
Clubs like Fitzroy and South Melbourne never had the population numbers of suburbs like Collingwood and Richmond and Melbourne.

Some clubs have always been small comparatively due to the way the VFL was and the way clubs were born.

St Kilda was a junior football club, that somehow hung in there with the big clubs. Somehow hung in there for over 100 years whilst the Fitzroys and South Melbournes succumbed.

So when the AFL starts up, with new clubs and new rules, history is irrelevant and a new comp begins.

As irrelevant as what these clubs did in a tiny suburban comp in a small state that they had a monopoly over is and was - the size of their supporter base is not.

It's this supporter base that the AFL derives it's business model from.

The AFL uses a trickle down economics model.

Big clubs with big supporter bases are USED by the AFL to generate the vast majority of revenue and exposure for the comp, whilst small clubs are USED by the AFL to fill time slots and fill out a 9 game schedule each weekend - which makes up the rest of the revenue.

One without the other would fail. North and St Kilda playing blockbusters every week would heavily reduce revenue for the comp over all, and result in the clubs that rely on the trickling down of this revenue to survive to fold.
But without 9 games every week and without Sunday arvo games, revenue would also fall away badly from TV rights and the lack of credibility of a 10-12 team national sporting code would kill the game.

So what happened in the VFL and the SANFL doesn't mean s***. It's like me bragging about the size of my great grandfather's dick. It's a cool story, but has absolutely zero relevance to what clubs are doing on-field in the AFL.

But to answer your question: yes. Collingwood have no more influence than the Saints.
The AFL uses both. They just use them differently.

And if you don't like the way the AFL uses St Kilda compared to the way they use Collingwood or Richmond, you probably need to find another club or another sport - because it's never, ever going to change.

The only way it would ever change, is if the Saints suddenly bucked the trend of 100 years of history and magically found an extra 40000 lunatics that want to go and watch a game of footy every single weekend.

As I said, it's never, ever going to change.

ss1986

rodgerfox wrote: Sun 28 Oct 2018 12:06am

Welcome to reality.

Finally.

So they are infinitely more successful than us then seeing as though we havent won a single AFL premiership.

ss1986 wrote: Sun 28 Oct 2018 12:11pm
rodgerfox wrote: Sun 28 Oct 2018 12:06am

Welcome to reality.

Finally.

So they are infinitely more successful than us then seeing as though we havent won a single AFL premiership.
Yes.

Although 'infinitely' is overstating it in my opinion.

I guess it depends on what you think the point of a footy club is.

And I don't really see the relevance. Unless you generate your own self esteem from the achievements of a football club, then whether one club has won more flags than another is pretty insignificant.

rodgerfox wrote: Sun 28 Oct 2018 10:04am
SaintPav wrote: Sun 28 Oct 2018 8:07am

Welcome to reality.

Finally.

No one has influence.

Due to geography and socio-economics from over 100 years ago, some clubs started with large supporter bases and some didn't.
Clubs like Fitzroy and South Melbourne never had the population numbers of suburbs like Collingwood and Richmond and Melbourne.

Some clubs have always been small comparatively due to the way the VFL was and the way clubs were born.

St Kilda was a junior football club, that somehow hung in there with the big clubs. Somehow hung in there for over 100 years whilst the Fitzroys and South Melbournes succumbed.

So when the AFL starts up, with new clubs and new rules, history is irrelevant and a new comp begins.

As irrelevant as what these clubs did in a tiny suburban comp in a small state that they had a monopoly over is and was - the size of their supporter base is not.

It's this supporter base that the AFL derives it's business model from.

The AFL uses a trickle down economics model.

Big clubs with big supporter bases are USED by the AFL to generate the vast majority of revenue and exposure for the comp, whilst small clubs are USED by the AFL to fill time slots and fill out a 9 game schedule each weekend - which makes up the rest of the revenue.

One without the other would fail. North and St Kilda playing blockbusters every week would heavily reduce revenue for the comp over all, and result in the clubs that rely on the trickling down of this revenue to survive to fold.
But without 9 games every week and without Sunday arvo games, revenue would also fall away badly from TV rights and the lack of credibility of a 10-12 team national sporting code would kill the game.

So what happened in the VFL and the SANFL doesn't mean s***. It's like me bragging about the size of my great grandfather's dick. It's a cool story, but has absolutely zero relevance to what clubs are doing on-field in the AFL.

But to answer your question: yes. Collingwood have no more influence than the Saints.
The AFL uses both. They just use them differently.

And if you don't like the way the AFL uses St Kilda compared to the way they use Collingwood or Richmond, you probably need to find another club or another sport - because it's never, ever going to change.

The only way it would ever change, is if the Saints suddenly bucked the trend of 100 years of history and magically found an extra 40000 lunatics that want to go and watch a game of footy every single weekend.

As I said, it's never, ever going to change.
At the risk of sounding rude, thanks for the VFL/AFL history and political economy mansplain.

Instead, let’s apply Occam’s law of parsimony to explain my original proposition:

As there is an AFL hierarchy of power dominance, ST. KFC is at the bottom of the heap when it comes to lobbying the AFL and hence influencing key AFL decisions.

SaintPav wrote: Sun 28 Oct 2018 1:16pm

At the risk of sounding rude, thanks for the VFL/AFL history and political economy mansplain.
Leave the sexist digs out of it please. That's offensive and patronising.

SaintPav wrote: Sun 28 Oct 2018 1:16pm Instead, let’s apply Occam’s law of parsimony to explain my original proposition:

As there is an AFL hierarchy of power dominance, ST. KFC is at the bottom of the heap when it comes to lobbying the AFL and hence influencing key AFL decisions.
There is no hierarchy of power dominance.

There is the AFL, whom use their resources to manipulate their consumers to extract maximum profit.

Full stop.

They manipulate Collingwood, and they manipulate St. Kilda. They manipulate all clubs. They just do it differently depending on what it is that they're trying to achieve.

The reason for feeling the need to give background and context, is because your posting suggests that you're looking at this through incredibly naive eyes. You seem to be viewing the footy like the good old days when clubs were actually clubs and they played in a true sporting comp. It hasn't been like that in years.

It's a product.

The game is a product that the AFL own.

St. Kilda isn't a club - it's a brand. You consume a product and you do so because you have an emotional attachment to a brand. Others don't. Some consume it differently and for different reasons.

Collingwood don't tell the AFL what to do. They have no power whatsoever. What on earth are they going to do? Forfeit? Refuse to play? Come on.

The AFL dictate what Collingwood will do probably more than any other club, because they are their cash cow! They, along with Essendon and Richmond etc. are the golden goose. Not because Collingwood have power over them!! I mean seriously.

Where people get confused, is that what the AFL dictate these clubs will do often results in favourable circumstances for those clubs compared to others. But given the point is to maximise the revenue these clubs generate, not create an even and fair comp - why would anyone be surprised by that?

Good Friday is one of those days where if you are in a large population centre it just lacks energy - conversely normal Friday nights and Saturdays have a lovely vibe, mostly, and you feel good. Possibly the players were effected by the lack of energy around the event. Both sides were rubbish, appalling; but Brown kicked a bag in the second half and AR, in character, couldn't stop the bleeding. Cause and effect are mercurial things but we never reenergised after that game. We had no coaches capable of lifting the malaise. Injuries and a lack of alternates or the sense to use what was available meant we kept hoping a hopeless system would click in...we sunk. In regards to influencing the AFL I reckon it depends on the ability of the club advocates to have ideas and to be persuasive. Its been a long time since we had an influential articulate charming President or a respected CEO. If a club has both it can be influential regardless of member numbers and member numbers are also product of identifying with success or being flavour of the league and having media influence, so with the growth in Australia's population there is the opportunity to grow the supporter base and try to translate that into memberships. Alan can't coach, however what is worse is his bland to the point of invisibility persona which does nothing to promote the club. Perhaps Moorabbin could become sister cities with Shanghai, Auckland, Juba and Mumbai and a visa condition be that the first 40,000 immigrating in 2019 have to barrack for the Saints (as well as live in Wagga and Burke). Now with 80,000 members we would be noticed by the AFL. But we would reject the offer to again play on Good Friday. Our new culturally diverse base would not approve.

ss1986

rodgerfox wrote: Sun 28 Oct 2018 1:43pm
SaintPav wrote: Sun 28 Oct 2018 1:16pm

Leave the sexist digs out of it please. That's offensive and patronising.

SaintPav wrote: Sun 28 Oct 2018 1:16pm Instead, let’s apply Occam’s law of parsimony to explain my original proposition:

There is no hierarchy of power dominance.

There is the AFL, whom use their resources to manipulate their consumers to extract maximum profit.

Full stop.

They manipulate Collingwood, and they manipulate St. Kilda. They manipulate all clubs. They just do it differently depending on what it is that they're trying to achieve.

The reason for feeling the need to give background and context, is because your posting suggests that you're looking at this through incredibly naive eyes. You seem to be viewing the footy like the good old days when clubs were actually clubs and they played in a true sporting comp. It hasn't been like that in years.

It's a product.

The game is a product that the AFL own.

St. Kilda isn't a club - it's a brand. You consume a product and you do so because you have an emotional attachment to a brand. Others don't. Some consume it differently and for different reasons.

Collingwood don't tell the AFL what to do. They have no power whatsoever. What on earth are they going to do? Forfeit? Refuse to play? Come on.

The AFL dictate what Collingwood will do probably more than any other club, because they are their cash cow! They, along with Essendon and Richmond etc. are the golden goose. Not because Collingwood have power over them!! I mean seriously.

Where people get confused, is that what the AFL dictate these clubs will do often results in favourable circumstances for those clubs compared to others. But given the point is to maximise the revenue these clubs generate, not create an even and fair comp - why would anyone be surprised by that?
Wow. You believe Collingwood are AFL puppets the same as the next club?

Completely deluded. Collingwood are much more than a brand, they are a club that benefits the community and are everything I wish St.Kilda would be.

If they refused to play tomorrow, the AFL would pander to their every wish - NOT vice versa.

If we were a well run cash cow, we’d sure as hell have a lot more clout too.

But we dont. I spoke to Tommy Hafey one night, and asked him “Tommy, why are St.Kilda perennially rubbish compared to Collingwood for example....”

His answer: “s*** club - always have been”.

At the moment, looks like we always will be.

Yorkeys wrote: Sun 28 Oct 2018 1:50pm Good Friday is one of those days where if you are in a large population centre it just lacks energy - conversely normal Friday nights and Saturdays have a lovely vibe, mostly, and you feel good. Possibly the players were effected by the lack of energy around the event. Both sides were rubbish, appalling; but Brown kicked a bag in the second half and AR, in character, couldn't stop the bleeding. Cause and effect are mercurial things but we never reenergised after that game. We had no coaches capable of lifting the malaise. Injuries and a lack of alternates or the sense to use what was available meant we kept hoping a hopeless system would click in...we sunk. In regards to influencing the AFL I reckon it depends on the ability of the club advocates to have ideas and to be persuasive. Its been a long time since we had an influential articulate charming President or a respected CEO. If a club has both it can be influential regardless of member numbers and member numbers are also product of identifying with success or being flavour of the league and having media influence, so with the growth in Australia's population there is the opportunity to grow the supporter base and try to translate that into memberships. Alan can't coach, however what is worse is his bland to the point of invisibility persona which does nothing to promote the club. Perhaps Moorabbin could become sister cities with Shanghai, Auckland, Juba and Mumbai and a visa condition be that the first 40,000 immigrating in 2019 have to barrack for the Saints (as well as live in Wagga and Burke). Now with 80,000 members we would be noticed by the AFL. But we would reject the offer to again play on Good Friday. Our new culturally diverse base would not approve.
FWIW, Good Friday is only a TV game in my opinion.

The AFL should play it in the Bush somewhere where a full house crowd that has become synonymous with 'blockbusters' isn't relevant.

People get seduced by a big crowd, and equally will dismiss a big game if the crowd isn't enormous.
Good Friday is the perfect day for footy - but not to actually go. It's the perfect day to be at home and watch it on TV.
They're never going to pull massive crowds to it - but that doesn't mean it isn't a great time to fixture a game.
Last edited by rodgerfox on Sun 28 Oct 2018 2:03pm, edited 1 time in total.

Ss1986, you are definitely a Collingwood supporter. Go back to their forums.

ss1986 wrote: Sun 28 Oct 2018 1:59pm

Completely deluded. Collingwood are much more than a brand, they are a club that benefits the community and are everything I wish St.Kilda would be.

Ignoring the rest of your post because I completely disagree and have already explained why, this quoted part is where your problem lies.

You can wish, and huff and puff as much as you like, but it will never, ever change.

Getting huffy with people at the club that weren't even born when Tom Hafey was relevant, and taking digs at supporters on footy forums to vent your frustrations isn't going to change a single thing.