Delistings

Re: Delistings

I believe White may have had more injury issues than were made public.......

lefty

Strange de-listings...

I would of kept Sipposs over Saad. Lets face it, he won't make it unless he finds his form when he first stated his AFL career.
I would of also kept Markworth over Shenton.

I also don't rate Minchinton at all.
I'm 50/50 with Geary, his puts in 100% every time, but turnover merchant.
I'm 50/50 with Delaney, he doesn't get enough of the ball, at least Simpkin shows aggression every single time.

Gilbert is aging, Ray is aging, I don't know, too much young players out for my liking...

Of all those you mentioned as people you would delist before every one of them in the last two years have played more AFL then all of the delistings ...
Geary is one of the first picked Every week
Gilbert when fit is one of our most reliable defenders and is now becoming versatile around the ground
Ray is behind the younger guys due to list management and the fact we need the next gen to replace him but his output is still AFL quality
Delaney is pretty average but he is a big defender that we might need if Fisher or Goddard go down
Minch is a pressure machine and is working as hard as possible to make it (he might not make it be he's trying )
Saad I think is gone next year that said he is only a rookie so...
Of the delistings
Siposs hasn't come close to senior contention (not once named emergency ) and was dropped to the development squad
Simpkin is aggressive yes but that is all
Spencer just wasn't up to it , over hyped by fans
Markworth just unlucky injury can be cruel like that

chook23 wrote:There was so much pressure put on spencer by certain media and this fuelled expectation of supporters...........

the buddy comparison would have been an anchor around his neck......

even the headlines of his delisting in media are way over the top..............

"saints dump great white hope"

"Saints cut next buddy"
I think his work ethic, or lack thereof, was the problem.

Before he was injured he struggled to get a game with Sandringham and spent most of the year in the development league.

That is not where a future St Kilda player needs to be if he fancies a career in the AFL.

If he goes to another club and becomes a success good luck to them and him.

But the bottom line is we couldn't make him into an AFL player so I reckon we say goodbye with no regrets.

Surely Sipposs is a better prospect than Saad? I hope they rookie Sipposs & White.

saintbrat wrote:all clubs list changes to date ( Sept 22nd)
http://www.news.com.au/sport/afl/afl-20 ... 7498406719
Really disappointed we have only delisted 5 so far. That includes Schneids retiring.

Market leaders have dumped 8.

I want to see at least 2 more senior listed players go.

Ray, Saunders, Murdoch, Lee are all options, plus Saad from the rookie list.
Murdoch! No way. He will be quite a player.

Linton Lodger wrote:Surely Sipposs is a better prospect than Saad? I hope they rookie Sipposs & White.
Total backwards step if we rookie these two ... We know exactly what they offer and it ain't great would rather rookie someone from the VFL WAFL or SANFL who we don't know what they could become rather than hang on to players who haven't improved at all since being on the main list

True Believer wrote:I believe White may have had more injury issues than were made public.......
Yes he did. Compartment Syndrome for a start.

saynta wrote:Ray looks set to take up an offer from another club.
who's that mate?

You really don't expect me to respond to you with an answer do you?

saynta wrote:Ray looks set to take up an offer from another club.
who's that mate?

You really don't expect me to respond to you with an answer do you?
Keep up that charade, people are nearly believing you…

just kidding.

lefty

st_Trav_ofWA wrote:Of all those you mentioned as people you would delist before every one of them in the last two years have played more AFL then all of the delistings ...
Geary is one of the first picked Every week
Gilbert when fit is one of our most reliable defenders and is now becoming versatile around the ground
Ray is behind the younger guys due to list management and the fact we need the next gen to replace him but his output is still AFL quality
Delaney is pretty average but he is a big defender that we might need if Fisher or Goddard go down
Minch is a pressure machine and is working as hard as possible to make it (he might not make it be he's trying )
Saad I think is gone next year that said he is only a rookie so...
Of the delistings
Siposs hasn't come close to senior contention (not once named emergency ) and was dropped to the development squad
Simpkin is aggressive yes but that is all
Spencer just wasn't up to it , over hyped by fans
Markworth just unlucky injury can be cruel like that
Minchington joined the saints in 2012 and has played 10 games
Siposs joined the saints in 2010 and has played 28 games.

Siposs basically had a stuffed shoulder for a year, also got screwed being played in the wrong position, aka quarter back goddard, when he was always suited to the Forward Flank.

If Minchington is playing Forward Flank next year, and not in the midfield, I'll question why we are even bothering. He's either good enough to play midfield or he's not.

Poor Markworth had to go through a shoulder reco, and a knee reco, that's two years wiped. If you've done an ACL before, you'd know its not that easy. He's been robbed of time, and I'm 100% disappointed the club hasn't given him another year. Here's hoping for a rookie spot.

And just because Geary is selected every week doesn't mean squat. No one questions his effort or commitment, but he turns the ball over the most of out everyone.

lefty wrote:Strange de-listings...

I would of kept Sipposs over Saad. Lets face it, he won't make it unless he finds his form when he first stated his AFL career.

I'm 50/50 with Delaney, he doesn't get enough of the ball, at least Simpkin shows aggression every single time.

Gilbert is aging, Ray is aging, I don't know, too much young players out for my liking...
I agree to a point

Siposs > Saad
Markworth > Shenton

So you got that right.

Personally i do rate Minchington and hope that he is ready to really step up... Oozes potential
I hear you on Geary but what's the replacement
Delaney's job is to bring the ball to ground... That's what a full back does. Ironically it's what Simpkin can't do

Wishing all the delisted players the very best in the future. I think Aaron may get picked up. If he does, I hope he gets to the right environment to reach his potential.

Tom_Sainter

skeptic wrote:
lefty wrote:Strange de-listings...

I agree to a point

Siposs > Saad
Markworth > Shenton

So you got that right.

Personally i do rate Minchington and hope that he is ready to really step up... Oozes potential
I hear you on Geary but what's the replacement
Delaney's job is to bring the ball to ground... That's what a full back does. Ironically it's what Simpkin can't do
Agree 100%, Sippa has so much more upside than Saad and Markworth surely has better skills than Shenton. Would love both Sippa and Markworth to at least be given rookie spots but probably unlikely

lefty

Thread revival,

On another note, why does St.Kilda not follow Hawthorns path when it comes to players.

Key player in mind is Taylor Duryea.
That guy was BOG against the Dockers and was the reason they got to the MCG in the first place.

This is a guy that was...
1. Drafted in 2008
2. Drafted at pick #69
3. Played his first game four years later, in 2003.

If this was St.Kilda, he would of not lasted 3 years.

lefty wrote:Thread revival,

On another note, why does St.Kilda not follow Hawthorns path when it comes to players.

That guy was BOG against the Dockers and was the reason they got to the MCG in the first place.

1. Drafted in 2008
2. Drafted at pick #69

You're right. He would have been out the door a long time ago.

Jacks Back wrote:

1. Drafted in 2008
2. Drafted at pick #69

If you have success especially premierships you can afford to carry a project player or two.
A side like the Saints are turning over the list trying to establish a winning team!

longtimesaint wrote:
Jacks Back wrote:

1. Drafted in 2008
2. Drafted at pick #69

If you have success especially premierships you can afford to carry a project player or two.
A side like the Saints are turning over the list trying to establish a winning team!
True or he would have played in the ones and got burnt.
Duryea is the best kick at Hawthorn. Makes Suckling look pedestrian

magnifisaint wrote:
longtimesaint wrote:
Jacks Back wrote:

1. Drafted in 2008
2. Drafted at pick #69

St Kilda tried to get him in that draft but inaccurately called the name diarrhoea.
And players drafted kept running in subsequent drafts..

Your company is going to out of business because another company used AI.
- Jensen Huang, CEO of NVIDIA 50:08

ace wrote:
magnifisaint wrote:
longtimesaint wrote:
Jacks Back wrote:

1. Drafted in 2008
2. Drafted at pick #69

St Kilda tried to get him in that draft but inaccurately called the name diarrhoea.
And players drafted kept running in subsequent drafts..
That's a really crappy joke! :D