Booing goodes

Re: Booing goodes

chook23 wrote:Mcgusto and con ....off the mark.

If you think it was anything other than normal part of the game......most upset at the umpire

if you think otherwise the media has brainwashed you into thinking otherwise.
bulls***! Everytime Goodes touched the ball he was booed, right from the get go.

Linton Lodger wrote:

If you think it was anything other than normal part of the game......most upset at the umpire

bulls***! Everytime Goodes touched the ball he was booed, right from the get go.
rubbish

Stevie J got booed all game Friday night. I'm offended.

realdeal

I heard people boo umpire decisions. I heard no one boo Goodes. Disgraceful journalism.

Those of you who think ppl were only booing because of bad decisions are kidding themselves. He was definitely getting booed right from the outset of the game. I wasn't there but I was watching it on TV, and it was obvious. Was coming through the TV set loud and clear. Wasn't overwhelming booing, but it was definitely there.

On another note, why would ppl kid themselves that Saints supporters are any different to the rest of the football population? I always smile to myself when ppl talk about their own group of supporters as if they're morally superior. It happened during the Essendon thread as well - ppl who say our supporters wouldn't tolerate the drug cheating. Absolute crap. I've been reading and contributing to this forum for 7 yrs and almost every single issue that has painted the saints in a bad light, there is always a solid group of ppl who will defend the players/club regardless of what has happened. Not always the same ppl do it, but someone will always leap to the clubs defense. Sometimes I myself will be part of that group. In fact quite often.

Saints supporters can be just as obnoxious, rude, racist, ignorant as every other group of supporters or people. Today there was a small minority of supporters who obviously fit that category.

I don't like Adam Goodes particularly. But to a boo a bloke from the opening bounce says something about your personality I reckon.

asaint

I was embarrassed. Small, but vocal minority.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/adam-g ... 7504968708

Hope it was worth it. Hope you feel you made your point? Whatever that point is. Give yourself a little pat on the back?
Small vocal minority of flogs.

saint-stu

CURLY wrote:Stevie J got booed all game Friday night. I'm offended.
Did Stevie J get booed every game, every possession for a whole year? Why does Boomer Harvey get off with his tactics?

1ac46a38

Off the mark? I just said 'give it a rest'. I dont want to hear the mental gymnastics and logical pretzels.

Freebird

preferential treatment, discriminating in favor of members of groups which have been treated unjustly in the past, against innocent people.

Winmar7

Had my aborigina flag with me, waved it a few times when Goodes was kicking for goal and it seemed to stop the boos...

Con Gorozidis wrote:http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/adam-g ... 7504968708

Hope it was worth it. Hope you feel you made your point? Whatever that point is. Give yourself a little pat on the back?
Small vocal minority of flogs.
Who gives a toss really. Like I posted Stevie J was booed all night Friday and no one has mentioned if anywhere.

plugger66 wrote:I was at the game and the booing wasn't hardly noticeable at all apart from when he got a dodgy free.
Thats all I heard. Is booing a BS 50 racist now?

FFS this is just totally out of control

No not at all. Thought most fans did the right thing all day.
I was very unhappy about the 50,metres free goal to Goodes

I booed when Mr Untouchable took three steps with the ball, got caught cold by a crunching Newnes tackle and as usual the umpire says Ball UP.

i must be a racist because I booed that decision as well.

I see Con Gorganzolla is on this threat trying to take the moral high ground, although he thinks it is OK to call people retarded on this forum.

What a pathetic hypocrite
Why am I getting attacked? I didnt even say anything. All I said was 'give it a rest'. Pretty ironic considering your Dilbert cartoon. I said a few words - and you ramble on about me claiming a moral high ground?

saint-stu wrote:
Did Stevie J get booed every game, every possession for a whole year? Why does Boomer Harvey get off with his tactics?
My wife and her parents have been Geelong members for over 20 years and go weekly and yes Stevie J gets booed more often than not.

uptheboys

Off the mark? I just said 'give it a rest'. I dont want to hear the mental gymnastics and logical pretzels.
No one will change their opinion I guess no matter what anyone else writes on a forum, so the whole discussion is a bit pointless on this issue.

Was at the game and there really wasn't much in it.

Move on folks.

From The Age:

"Football fans in the crowd at the MCG were heard booing Goodes during his first touch early in the first quarter."

No wonder I didn't hear 'em.

Freebird wrote:preferential treatment, discriminating in favor of members of groups which have been treated unjustly in the past, against innocent people.
Oh god. That old chestnut. Give it a rest.
"innocent people'. Thanks Andrew Bolt. Thats like saying all men should be upset because Rosie Batty campaigns against domestic violence. I mean not all men batter their wives or kids do they? So why should men have to put up with it? I hope you boo Rosie as well. Same logic applies.

perfectionist wrote:From The Age:

"Football fans in the crowd at the MCG were heard booing Goodes during his first touch early in the first quarter."

No wonder I didn't hear 'em.

plugger66 wrote:I was at the game and the booing wasn't hardly noticeable at all apart from when he got a dodgy free.
Thats all I heard. Is booing a BS 50 racist now?

FFS this is just totally out of control

No not at all. Thought most fans did the right thing all day.

Very little booing. Definitely not systematic. I booed the 50, would have booed it for anyone. Didn't even think it racist until I got on here and read this thread. I was booing the umpire.

saint-stu

CURLY wrote:
saint-stu wrote:
My wife and her parents have been Geelong members for over 20 years and go weekly and yes Stevie J gets booed more often than not.
Bullsh1t I was there last week. EVERY game for a whole year!

1ac46a38

Linton Lodger wrote:

rubbish
Were you at the game? Or did you spend far too much time in the Bar?

Oh come on guys.

Everyone at the game knows he got booed at his first touch. He didn't get booed again. I think people told the booers to shut up.

There was booing in the third quarter when he was tackled and caught holding the ball and the umpire chose to ball it up.

And as it happened right in front of me, can I say when he got tackled his floundering elbows were lucky they did not connect.

Why didn't he do his spear dancing war dance when he kicked a great goal from the boundary. I thought it was a celebration. Nor did his mate when he read the play beautifully in the first and kicked a goal.

And if I have been branded a racist because I am a stkilda member and was at the game, I will be really pissed off. I didn't boo him. We as a club have gained so much respect this year, and I refuse to let it be taken away by one journalist having another weak shot at supporters and branding everyone the same.

So lets not make something out of nothing. If anything we should be applauded as we hushed the booers. And really do the over compensaters have to applaud every time he looks at the ball.

Linton Lodger wrote:

rubbish
Were you at the game? Or did you spend far too much time in the Bar?
Yes I was at the game and your statement IMO is wrong.

saint-stu wrote:
CURLY wrote:
saint-stu wrote:
Bullsh1t I was there last week. EVERY game for a whole year!
Goodes brought this on himself the same as Richard Hadlee did back in the day. You carry on like a flog you get what you deserve.