CJ to Freo

Bowey Boy wrote:
Junction Oval wrote:Mathew Bate would be worth a good look at. We need a robust mid-size forward. He has played close to 100 AFL games and would slot in where Gamble was supposed to.
You will learn to call him "Master".
Where'd ya pull that one outta? :P

If cj and/or faz end up at freo I will be seriously suss on lyon. I'm already very suss that our 2 perth players are yet to re-sign.
Lyon may have planned this for months.

As for master bate. Hell yeah I'd take him.

Con Gorozidis wrote:If cj and/or faz end up at freo I will be seriously suss on lyon. I'm already very suss that our 2 perth players are yet to re-sign.

As for master bate. Hell yeah I'd take him. Good player and the saints don't have any rangas. So yes.
What about Lynchy? 8-)

CJ is a WA lad. So if he wants to go home, fair play to him. He's done well for us, but I can't imagine him getting much game time under a new coach, as Lyin as just about the only one around these days who goes for 'role' players.

Doubt we would get anything for him as all he would have to do is nominate for the PSD - I'm assuming that he is out of contract. No-one else will pick him up.

Lyin is a bit like Glenn Hoddle jumping ship from Southampton to Spurs and taking some rats with him.

he can go imo we have demps and he can at least kick the thing

stkildathunda

Richter wrote:CJ is a WA lad. So if he wants to go home, fair play to him. He's done well for us, but I can't imagine him getting much game time under a new coach, as Lyin as just about the only one around these days who goes for 'role' players.

Doubt we would get anything for him as all he would have to do is nominate for the PSD - I'm assuming that he is out of contract. No-one else will pick him up.
I reckon GWS would pick him up in the draft.

The Doc asked :
What about Lynchy?
I know that he has only played a few games, but he doesn't seem to have the agility, speed, or "football smarts" that you would expect to see of a guy trying to break in. He looks an average tryer (at AFL level) to me.

Junction Oval wrote:The Doc asked :
What about Lynchy?
I know that he has only played a few games, but he doesn't seem to have the agility, speed, or "football smarts" that you would expect to see of a guy trying to break in. He looks an average tryer (at AFL level) to me.
I meant the ranga bit JO :wink:

Sorry Doc, it's a sleepy Sunday and I am sucking on a Miller Chill beer - only in neutral with the brain !

On CJ, no doubt he is a good stopper, but not such a key player that we cannot afford to trade him. Our kicking skills need a big lift across the entire team, so I won't lose to much sleep if he goes.

Ross brought Dempster and Schneiider form Sydney, so no doubt he will try to grab a couple of ours.

Freo would not chase a 28yo mid......unless they were a gun....cj's bad kicking means he is no gun....just a good stopper

BigMart wrote:Freo would not chase a 28yo mid......unless they were a gun....cj's bad kicking means he is no gun....just a good stopper
Freo without Ross wouldn't chase him.

Freo with Ross might.

yes to bate please.....reckon hes a very handy player, hard at it, can take a mark would be great up fwd next Roo/Kosi.

Con Gorozidis wrote:If cj and/or faz end up at freo I will be seriously suss on lyon. I'm already very suss that our 2 perth players are yet to re-sign.

As for master bate. Hell yeah I'd take him. Good player and the saints don't have any rangas. So yes.
What about Lynchy? 8-)
And zac :oops:

Is he 28 already? Wow that went quick...

Ross spoke about Crowley in his Freo interview, reckons he wants to get him back to his best footy. Perhaps Harvey had plans to delist him, but it appears Ross sees a 'role' for him.

Where would that leave siposs.....if Bate was drafted......i would assume He is is lookig at that slot....

Cannot see freo recruiting CJ

Bowey Boy wrote:
Junction Oval wrote:Mathew Bate would be worth a good look at. We need a robust mid-size forward. He has played close to 100 AFL games and would slot in where Gamble was supposed to.
You will learn to call him "Master".
Where'd ya pull that one outta? :P
My son is obsessed with Star Wars and Darth Vader in particular.

Sainterman wrote:...what is he worth?
1/11½

ROLS-LEE

Freo with Ross would recruit CJ, As Stephen Hill will get a kick against the saints next time we play them.

Old Mate wrote:Another trade rumour is Matthew Bate from the Demons wants out. Would we look at him? Extremely good mark for his size and may fill the medium tall possie that we need. I've always like him and thought he hasn't been given enough opportunity at Melb.

Love the way Bate started at Melbourne and has been left out a bit the last couple of seasons. Get him there is something Lenny like about his attack on the ball, if he could get consistent he would be a gem.

Richter wrote:CJ is a WA lad. So if he wants to go home, fair play to him. He's done well for us, but I can't imagine him getting much game time under a new coach, as Lyin as just about the only one around these days who goes for 'role' players.

bulls*** he would be able to get a game as a tagger at any club.

While we arr on trades whats the thoughts on Young and Ellis from the Hawks? Both still young, good skills and i wouldnt call them hacks. Theyre out of favour at the hawks and will likely be offered up for trade....Pelchin prolly recruited them.

3 way trade if we lost cj ^^^^

Heidelberg_Saint

Would be happy to CJ leave if he started a conga line of the plod squad with him..

Bate spent the last 2 years in the 2's more than the 1's in a terrible team.
I think Gamble should go and Bate would actually be a downgrade on him