Milne, Fisher and Dal Santo AA Squad 2011

I think the problem is that everyone is comparing his year to his years past, not to those who are also fighting for the same spot in the AA squad, like Murphy. When someone is playing mainly in the backline, plays every game and has 8 games of 27-37 possessions, using the ball as exceptionally as he does, then that is surely worthy of consideration of AA selection in the backline.
When compared to Robert Murphy's stats for the year it's pretty embarrassing. They played in the same sort of position for most of the year, yet Goddard had almost 100 more possies, about 60% more marks, more than twice as many tackles and almost double the goals. How is Murphy named ahead of him, for instance? If Goddard used the ball like Clint Jones, you could understand it, but he uses it like Goddard.
His year is being compared to his last year, or how he went in the GF last year, not the others in the comp playing in the same position, which is what this is all about.
Last edited by AnythingsPossibleSaints on Tue 06 Sep 2011 8:57pm, edited 1 time in total.

AnythingsPossibleSaints wrote:I think the problem is that everyone is comparing his year to his years past, not to those who are also fighting for the same spot in the AA squad, like Murphy. When someone is playing mainly in the backline and has 8 games of 27-37 possessions, then that is absolutely worthy of consideration of AA selection.
When compared to Robert Murphy's stats for the year it's pretty embarrassing. They played in the same sort of position for most of the year, yet Goddard had almost 100 more possies, about 60% more marks, more than twice as many tackles and almost double the goals. How is Murphy named ahead of him, for instance?
BJ plays all over the ground. He may start in the backline but he is an onballer. Sometimes stats need to be put in the bin. I dont care about other players from other sides but I do know that BJ couldnt be considered in the top 40 especially as he is basically and onballer.

Raven wrote:http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/ ... fault.aspx
Sam Fisher, St Kilda. Never previously selected.
2008 season
Fisher got more of a chance to play as a key position backman after a season-ending injury to Matt Maguire early in the season.

He played in St Kilda’s 2008 NAB Cup winning side, the club's third pre-season cup win.[3][4]

Fisher had a strong season, averaging 22 disposals and 8 marks a game at the end of the regular season. He was included in the All-Australian team on the half-back flank, the first time he had been awarded that honour.[5] Fisher also won the Saints Trevor Barker Award for the best and fairest player in the season. He polled 680 votes to finish ahead of Nick Riewoldt who polled 643 votes.[6][7]
wikipedia
Last edited by saintbrat on Tue 06 Sep 2011 9:00pm, edited 1 time in total.

AnythingsPossibleSaints wrote:I think the problem is that everyone is comparing his year to his years past, not to those who are also fighting for the same spot in the AA squad, like Murphy. When someone is playing mainly in the backline and has 8 games of 27-37 possessions, then that is absolutely worthy of consideration of AA selection.
When compared to Robert Murphy's stats for the year it's pretty embarrassing. They played in the same sort of position for most of the year, yet Goddard had almost 100 more possies, about 60% more marks, more than twice as many tackles and almost double the goals. How is Murphy named ahead of him, for instance?
BJ plays all over the ground. He may start in the backline but he is an onballer. Sometimes stats need to be put in the bin. I dont care about other players from other sides but I do know that BJ couldnt be considered in the top 40 especially as he is basically and onballer.
You don't care about other players from other sides? That's what the AA side is all about! Who has had the best year in all the positions, across the comp. And Goddard has by far spent most of the year in the backline.
The previous two seasons he spent mostly on the ball, but they moved him back when he was struggling early this season and he stayed there for the majority of the time since.
And you really aren't too bright if you think you need to tell me that he plays all over the ground, but they need to select him for one position, just as they do for Goodes and Pavlich, etc and backline makes the most sense this year.
Last edited by AnythingsPossibleSaints on Tue 06 Sep 2011 9:02pm, edited 2 times in total.

AlpineStars

No Zac Dawson? The AFL needs a good hard look at its self.

Wake me up when September ends.

AnythingsPossibleSaints wrote:
You don't care about other players from other sides? That's what the AA side is all about! Who has had the best year in all the positions, across the comp. And Goddard has by far spent most of the year in the backline.
The previous two seasons he spent mostly on the ball, but they moved him back when he was struggling early this season and he stayed there for the majority of the time since.
And you really aren't too bright if you think you need to tell me that he plays all over the ground, but they need to select him for one position, just as they do for Goodes and Pavlich, etc and backline makes the most sense this year.

Such a strong argument from you has convinced me. I am that convinced I reckon he should be in the 22.

I know the SS award means jack but this guy got 2 one votes in the first 11 games. That is AA form if I have ever seen it especially since we are only voting for one of the clubs playing.

I can see the headlines now:

Storybook ending for AA Milne

Furtius Quo Rdelious

No Raph?

kosifantutti23 wrote:I can see the headlines now:

Very good! :D

"The inches we need are everywhere around us. They're in every break in the game. Every minute, every second. On this team we fight for that inch. On this team we tear ourselves and everyone around us to pieces for that inch. We claw with our fingernails for that inch. Because we know when we add up all those inches that's gonna make the f***in' difference between winning and losing! Between living and dying!'

It's hard, and most of us fall for the trap (except for our resident organisational sycophant/ contrarian), but it's just opinion. What I consider to be the best player is completely different to most others. For instance, the best player in any match I see, is the player who won the game for the winner, not who got the most possessions. It may be that my best player only got ten possessions, but those ten might have been the difference between winning and losing. Others look at possessions on the road to victory, others worship heroes or "guns". I don't, but who is to say that they are wrong and I am not? Probably only me, but that's just my opinion.

Raven

Raven wrote:http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/ ... fault.aspx
Sam Fisher, St Kilda. Never previously selected.
2008 season
Fisher got more of a chance to play as a key position backman after a season-ending injury to Matt Maguire early in the season.

He played in St Kilda’s 2008 NAB Cup winning side, the club's third pre-season cup win.[3][4]

Fisher had a strong season, averaging 22 disposals and 8 marks a game at the end of the regular season. He was included in the All-Australian team on the half-back flank, the first time he had been awarded that honour.[5] Fisher also won the Saints Trevor Barker Award for the best and fairest player in the season. He polled 680 votes to finish ahead of Nick Riewoldt who polled 643 votes.[6][7]
wikipedia
Yes, my point exactly.

nice… also…
All Betts are off, as AA Milne Poohs it in…

Surely Tommy Walsh could of made the squad, maybe im reading to much Saintsational.

named as emergency 8-)

matrix wrote:named as emergency 8-)
Gutless AA selectors - always sticking with their favorites :twisted:

is there a reserves AA side?
surely he'd get in the magoos :D

Sainterman wrote:Especially happy for Milney, he deserves the honor and I sure hope he makes the final team. If there is any justice in footy (after the last couple of years I am not so sure there is) then he should be there.
it worries me that steve johnson is in the squad. he's had a pretty good season (23 touches a game, 44 goals, 29 goal assists) though mostly against gold coast and melbourne. if they decide to pick him for his midfield and forward work, his spot will be in the forward pocket. not much room for milney then.

Sainterman wrote:Especially happy for Milney, he deserves the honor and I sure hope he makes the final team. If there is any justice in footy (after the last couple of years I am not so sure there is) then he should be there.
it worries me that steve johnson is in the squad. he's had a pretty good season (23 touches a game, 44 goals, 29 goal assists) though mostly against gold coast and melbourne. if they decide to pick him for his midfield and forward work, his spot will be in the forward pocket. not much room for milney then.
SJ on a forward flank may be the go.

May go with hm in a pocket with Milne in the other. As far as tall forwards go Cloke and Buddy the only certainties.

SJ on a forward flank may be the go.

May go with hm in a pocket with Milne in the other. As far as tall forwards go Cloke and Buddy the only certainties.
they typically pick three big forwards, a small and a couple of mid / fwds in the forward line. milne should be the small.

e.g. 2010
DIDAK FRANKLIN CHAPMAN
HALL J RIEWOLDT LE CRAS

CHAPMAN N RIEWOLDT SWAN
DAVIS FEVOLA BROWN

me and a mate at work compete to name the AA team from the squad, based on the following criteria:
Correct position = 3 points (e.g. FB in FB position)
Correct line = 2 points (e.g. FB line but named in pocket rather than FB)
In team (incorrect line) = 1 point (e.g. named on HF line rather than Centre line)
Captain (bonus) = 3 points
Vice-captain (bonus) = 2 points

yeah, sometimes we have a bit too much time on our hands.

OneEyedSainter77

Very clever!