Carl Ditterich in trouble

St Fidelius wrote:I think from memory that Carl lives in Toolybuc and have had friends that know him.

Toolybuc is just a fantastic place, and only 15 odd minutes away from Swan Hill.

I hope our Club and Melbourne get something in place to offer some help
Carl lives at Worrenien Sth which is about 15Km Nth West of Swan Hill. Toolebuc is about 35Km Nth of Swan Hill. Before his attempt at State politics Carl was deputy principal at Swan Hill High School !!

rollinson 65

many, many thanks to the people who have posted on here...

and the people who have taken the trouble to contact me privately...

I will be adopting some ideas, with the consent of Carl and his family, and trying to get something happening this week...

will report back on here...

thanks again...

rollo :twisted: :twisted:

True Blue Sainter

rollinson 65 wrote:many, many thanks to the people who have posted on here...

I will be adopting some ideas, with the consent of Carl and his family, and trying to get something happening this week...

thanks again...

FWIW, I reckon St. Fid's idea of a donation by both sets of fans the two times we run into your mob this season is the most practical, and probably easiest, possibly the most effective method of raising some money for Carl's legal fight. I would happily donate, and every other Saints supporter I know would too...

The Saints are coming!

thanks again...

Stinger, our resident legal-eagle, reckons the case is eminently win-able. Perhaps he could point us in the direction of a sympathetic QC who might be prepared to take it on pro-bono, just for the memories.

PM him and ask..... He'll never reply to me.

thanks again...

Getting the consent from Carl might be easier said than done. He is a very proud man. That being said, he must have consented to the article in the paper, which proves that things are at the desperation stage !!

rollinson 65

replying to recent posts, Carl is flabbergasted that any of us remember him...

the idea that the trophy we play for is named "Big Carl" leaves him speechless (and wondering if we are not a bit soft in the head)...

I assured him you sainters are definitely soft in the head... :roll:

things will be set in motion this week, thanks largely to ideas emanating from this site, and I will report progress (or lack thereof) on here...

I think we will be proving again that 20 quality brains working a problem is better than one or two...

thanks again...

I never saw Big Carl play, but my grandfather gave me a Saints soft toy that was simply called "Carl" cause he had blonde hair.

Sounds like Big Carl was as big an icon as Rooey, Harvs or Trevor Barker in his day.....can anyone confirm that?

A legend of St Kilda.....or legendary perhaps!

saintspremiers wrote:I never saw Big Carl play, but my grandfather gave me a Saints soft toy that was simply called "Carl" cause he had blonde hair.

Sounds like Big Carl was as big an icon as Rooey, Harvs or Trevor Barker in his day.....can anyone confirm that?

bigger....much bigger......he bounded on to the junction oval in his first game as a 17 year old......was BOG by a mile......even had the cheek to pat ron barrassi on the head who he beat hands down for the day...barass years later denied that that happened...the pat on the head...but i can still see carl doing that in my head.........toughest man ever to play at the highest level for a sustained period.......ended up playing 17 seasons from memory...put the fear of god into opposition teams and made his teammates walk a foot taller......he was all angles, elbows and sharp hard edges...but geez he could play.....our greatest ever ruckman.......went on to captain coach the dees.......

saintspremiers wrote:I never saw Big Carl play, but my grandfather gave me a Saints soft toy that was simply called "Carl" cause he had blonde hair.

bigger....much bigger......he bounded on to the junction oval in his first game as a 17 year old......was BOG by a mile......even had the cheek to pat ron barrassi on the head who he beat hands down for the day...barass years later denied that that happened...the pat on the head...but i can still see carl doing that in my head.........toughest man ever to play at the highest level for a sustained period.......ended up playing 17 seasons from memory...put the fear of god into opposition teams and made his teammates walk a foot taller......he was all angles, elbows and sharp hard edges...but geez he could play.....our greatest ever ruckman.......went on to captain coach the dees.......
Confirmed Stinger - never saw Eric Guy play but if he was tougher than Big Carl then he must have been a block of iron.

Our players 'walked an inch taller' whenever Carl was on the ground.
No opposition player dared 'take out' a Saint if Carl was playing.

He copped plenty without ever whinging.
He gave out plenty.

I'll never forget one day at Moorabbin when Footscray player Radziminski was choking John Manzie. Carl raqn 40/50 yards and belted him. No pushing/shoving/wrestling in those days.

yes eric guy was made out of steel...tough as an old boot...ran through players more than belted them...nearly killed bobby skilton with a perfect shirt front....legal in those days...but he never just belted players ...and was nowhere near as mobile as carl....carl had you looking over your shoulder.....

In my time of following VFL/AFL football (since 1953) I can't recall a young player in his debut match, ever equalling the impact Carl made on that day..

It wasn't only the superb game he played that left an impression, it was the visual image the lad created. He was straight out of Hollywood casting. Tall and straight like a magnificient ghost gum tree, white blond hair that flowed and bounced as he ran. His boundless, effervescent energy, he didn't stop running all that day, he was like a thoroughed colt cantering and galloping around a paddock.

I can recall Alan Morrow said he told him to stop running around so much when he was resting the pocket or he wouldn't see the game out. Carl supposedly replied to him he was too nervous and if he stopped moving his opponent would see he was shaking.

He ran off from Barassi a few times in that match and left Barass looking like a plum pudding...all stodge. I can recall he also did a cheeky Les Foote manouvre to Barassi that left the crowd all agog. He took the ball from under Barassi's nose, shoved the ball in his outstretched hand in Barass's face then balked around him, leaving the barass running on the spot. No one did that to Barrassi in those days, least of all an audacious kid playing his first game. Oh it was wonderful, we knew we had a champ in our team from day one.

Also Brian (surname escapes me at the moment - became a liberal party state pollie) cleaned up Ian Stewart on the city side wing of the Junction Oval. Stewie was taken of unconscious on a stretcher. Carl ran along with the trainers carrying the stretcher right across the other wing until the stretcher went down the race. Then he immediately ran up behind Brian ??? and stalked him for about five minutes :lol:

A few years later Carl's number came up in the barrel for conscription (this happened to young men in Australia turning 20 in those days). Carl applied for exemption from the army on compassionate grounds - I think if was his mother who was blind and his father was on a disability pension. Carl was their principal carer. And the media gave him hell, implied that he was wanting to get out of it purely to play footy. The club used to get white chicken feathers sent to them for Carl. There's always idiots in this world and sadly will always be so.

It was amazing Carl was such an athlete because his legs were in irons until he was about 12 years of age.

Carl's signature dress was a fawn duffel coat and fawn dessert boots. Oooooooooooooooh he was scrumptious :lol: :lol:

Pity about him missing the 1966 Premiership :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:

Verdun66

Brian Dixon it was Loris. Saddest thing for me too that he missed the 66 GF. Belting Darryl Peoples wasn't worth it in the end!

What a player. And very nice and gentle off it. He was all shy when I asked him for his aotograph at Moorabbin one day. Very unassuming. I was about 10 years old. Great player indeed.
Last edited by Verdun66 on Wed 11 Mar 2009 3:41am, edited 1 time in total.

In 1972 I tore both my ACL and Medial ligaments in my knee playing School Footy.
My orthopaedic surgeon was Owen Deacon who was also the Saints knee/ankle specialist (his son Simon later played for the Saints.

The first appointment I had was late one afternoon and Carl was the, appointment before me.

When I asked Deacon how bad Carl was his reply was that he was amazed he could walk properly, let alone play footy!

He kept playing for years after that.

rollinson 65

yep, Carl's first game left the supporters on both sides gasping...

beat barassi no argument...

guess that's why we dees did not give up until we secured his sevices...

a legend of the game...

a gentle giant who suffered from white line fever...

I had to work 7am to 7pm today, but cannot wait to start work on Carl's problem...

if the efforts of both clubs can make a difference, Carl has agreed to consider tossing the coin at the next forum game...

how good would that be ??

regards, and thanks again,

True Blue Sainter

rollinson 65 wrote:yep, Carl's first game left the supporters on both sides gasping...

beat barassi no argument...

guess that's why we dees did not give up until we secured his sevices...

a legend of the game...

a gentle giant who suffered from white line fever...

I had to work 7am to 7pm today, but cannot wait to start work on Carl's problem...

if the efforts of both clubs can make a difference, Carl has agreed to consider tossing the coin at the next forum game...

how good would that be ??

regards, and thanks again,

Great work rollo!

Really good to see you making an effort to help out Carl - even better to see both sets of fans unite to help out one of our legends (but more OURS 8-) ) Would be absolutely brilliant if that eventuated!

The Saints are coming!
rollinson 65

Things are happening…

Slowly, but they are happening…

Nothing I can talk publicly about…

Trust me, I am a lawyer…

Regards,

Simon Templar

AAah one of my favourite subjects....lifelong memory....early teens at the Junction oval with Dad....Carl had not rated a mention in the pre-season interclub games...the Club probably laying doggo with him. But all the pre-season hype was for a feller named Graeme Wise, a ruckman that Melbourne had recruited from Tassie and he was going to be the next big thing VFL kick arse ruckman. The unknown big Carl, blonde bombshell annihilated him...demoralised the poor bugger...Graeme didn't recover for the rest of his time in the VFL.

There is a famous photo taken of big Carl sitting on Graeme's shoulder at a boundary throwin. Happened right in front of us......wow !

Another memory is Carl couldn't kick very well. But he had a crapload of them.

Another memory is of Carl booting the ball after one of his 80 (seemed like) marks that day, running 40 metres full pelt down the ground and competed for the mark from his own kick. I hoped he would have marked it just to underline his domiance in an even more unique fashion !!

Some of the best years of my life coincided with watching this big fella playing for my mighty Saints.

Wow.

Go you good things....!!!
rollinson 65

I am writing to report…

I have finally had the time to speak to significant numbers of st.kilda and melbourne people about this matter…

Most of us are angry and passionate, but not connected at the highest levels of business, government, unions, politics etc…

Potential solutions at our level are one-dimensional…

Let’s get publicity !!

(publicity alone does not provide solutions)…

Let’s raise money for the legal defence !!

(that sort of money is beyond us)…

I am convinced that what we need to do is to approach the well-connected saints and dees supporters, not for money but for ideas and strategies (that can invlove us angry and passionate foot-soldiers at need)…

That is what I am doing, and if people disagree, this thread is not a dictatorship, and I invite them to do their own thing…

Regards,

peter connor ( aka rollo) :twisted: :twisted:

I noted with interest in another thread a report that Roger Head was apparently organizing a 'reunion' of former payers for the game in Launceston against Hawthorn. I believe the story intimated that he was 'paying' for teh former teammates to see Doc Baldock (who is unwell).

If so it may be that Roger is a person to contact (along with Lindsay Fox) re Carl?

Does anybody have any connection with either Roger Head or Lindsay Fox?

rollinson 65

thanks, mr m...

it's happening as we speak...

I am convinced that involving powerfull and well-connected people (who can call on us if they need us) is the way to go...

regards,

p.s. I have been red and blue since '65, but if the dees go under, I am coming here... st.kilda is a great club and this is the best footy site in the universe IMO...

rollinson 65

some phone calls today...

things at both clubs are in motion...

hope it all comes to something...

regards,

rollinson 65 wrote:some phone calls today...

things at both clubs are in motion...

hope it all comes to something...

regards,

Top effort Rollo. The media reports suggest that Goulburn Murray water well & truly shafted Carl's Father in Law. Lets all hope for a positive outcome. Please keep us informed !!

westy

I am astounded that this can happen to Carl. Back in the day, Big Carl was an inspiration to all us 17 year-olds that dreamed of playing VFL footy, let alone the Mighty Saints. The closest connection that I have to him was hearing that he tried to chat up my cousin who was pregnant at the time and pushing a pram! What a lad. I think he was driving a Valiant at the time.

I'm livin' in a madhouse
rollinson 65

'Please keep us informed"

Hoping, mate, this has moved by now above my pay grade and "need to know", so we will find out together and at the same time from public news sources... (or not)...

regards,

rollinson 65

past player groups at both st.kilda and melbourne are on board...

people are talking and things are happening...

I have never met Carl or his family, only talked to them on the phone, but they strike me as really good people who are deserving of our help and support...

there may yet be a role for us supporters...

watch this space...

regards,