Dunstan, Long and Dmac

Re: Dunstan, Long and Dmac

CURLY wrote: Sat 26 Jun 2021 1:01am Long gets crucified by the umpires. Pinned a Tiger player 20 out and he threw it play on. Got taken front in a couple of times play on.
That happens 20 times a game its a blight on the game. The tackler should be rewarded but they are that focussed on keeping the game flowing. Geelong are the champions of dropping it as soon as they are tackled.

But the OP is exactly right Dunstan, McKenzie & Long bring the grunt and effort every team needs. Cotchin & Martin couldnt cope with Dunstan's physicality, plus Long makes defenders nervous it was great to watch!

It hasnt been mentioned a lot but how good was Byrnes game playing a lot more midfield minutes. The recruiters have found a very good player with him late in the draft. It seems they do better after pick 40 than they do between 15-40 selections, where they reach for players.

I also have concede of my initial impressions of Highmore were wrong! He improves with every game he plays. He had a couple of fumbly moments but otherwise was very good with his distribution.
Last edited by Impatient Sainter on Sun 27 Jun 2021 4:04pm, edited 3 times in total.

I thought it was Foot is grey?
Whaddy a stink?

CQ SAINT wrote: Sun 27 Jun 2021 11:50am
SaintPav wrote: Sun 27 Jun 2021 11:45am
skeptic wrote: Sat 26 Jun 2021 4:36pm Long’s an interesting. He debuted as a forward pocket, didn’t really set the world on fire though he had fans and then became a more established player once he went to HBF - though he still has his share of detractors.

Maybe with more experience and self-belief, it’s worth giving him another crack up forward. Goodness knows he has mongrel, works hard and kicks goals
Long played HBF for Footscray in the VFL before he came to us, but agree. Leave him put.
He kicked 6 in a preliminary final for Footscray and switched throughout the season.
True. He can play both positions quite comfortably.

I like him in the forward line for now.

Love the DMac story but I'm thinking he will be cut at seasons end. You can't question his attack on the ball and willingness to take the game on but his skills let him down a lot.

Did you notice he shut his eyes during his set shot routine, was he visualising? I loved the honesty of his reaction after kicking the goal also.

Will Dunny be on the list next year?

I’d rather keep Dunstan than Ross.

Why

Do you seriously think he’s a better player?!

Vortex wrote: Sun 27 Jun 2021 1:41pm Will Dunny be on the list next year?
If he maintains this form, how could you cut him?

Doing the math… there are a lot of players that need to be cut. You could pbly hang onto Dunny and Dmac whilst making a sizeable dent on the list.

Off the top of my head

Alabaskis, Joyce, McKernan, Hunter, Lonie, Kent, Geary, Carlisle, Hannebery and Frawley are all players that def shouldn’t stay on the list.
Obviously can’t cut them all at once plus things like contracts obviously come into play
Clavarino is arguably on that list too but I’d give him another year.

Also have to consider the retired Roberton… don’t know if he still counts on the numbers

Then when you look at Dunstan and Dmac + Wood and Long that have seemingly had their papers stamped by the fans at least one time or another…
Well all of them are fit, have the odd good game to put it mildly and are ready to play.
IMO all of them should survive for now.

B.M wrote: Sun 27 Jun 2021 3:09pm Why

Do you seriously think he’s a better player?!
At this point, yep.

skeptic wrote: Sun 27 Jun 2021 3:16pm

Doing the math… there are a lot of players that need to be cut. You could pbly hang onto Dunny and Dmac whilst making a sizeable dent on the list.

Off the top of my head

Alabaskis, Joyce, McKernan, Hunter, Lonie, Kent, Geary, Carlisle, Hannebery and Frawley are all players that def shouldn’t stay on the list.
Obviously can’t cut them all at once plus things like contracts obviously come into play

Also have to consider the retired Roberton… don’t know if he still counts on the numbers

Then when you look at Dunstan and Dmac + Wood and Long that have seemingly had their papers stamped by the fans at least one time or another…
Well all of them are fit, have the odd good game to put it mildly and are ready to play.
Never a better time for those four to practice consistency.

Probably Long more than anyone needs to keep his spot and get his confidence back. Is he another player that has been played out of postion.

A month ago like Nick I thought his papers were already stamped but to his credit has really given himself a chance a get another gig & if he continues to deliver I can't see why he wouldn't get it

bangaulegend wrote: Sun 27 Jun 2021 3:56pm
A month ago like Nick I thought his papers were already stamped but to his credit has really given himself a chance a get another gig & if he continues to deliver I can't see why he wouldn't get it
Does he still get a game if Hanners and Gresh are in the side.

Vortex wrote: Sun 27 Jun 2021 4:04pm
Hard to say. If he keeps getting BOG's then f*** yes. 8-)

Off the top of my head

Kent played well in his first game back from concussion yesterday! As I have said previously I would like to see him tried as a small defender, using his speed and kicking as a weapon. I think he is very much like Brent Guerra who excelled when moved into defence.

Impatient Sainter wrote: Sun 27 Jun 2021 4:09pm

Off the top of my head

Kent played well in his first game back from concussion yesterday! As I have said previously I would like to see him tried as a small defender, using his speed and kicking as a weapon. I think he is very much like Brent Guerra who excelled when moved into defence.
Am not a fan, especially knowing that that backline has to fit Paton back in as well... but I can kind of see what you mean. Wouldn’t mind seeing that in action

Honestly... I don’t see Hanners as a threat at all. This forum would be an eruption of I told you so if Hanners had had the month that Dunstan’s just had

saynta wrote: Sun 27 Jun 2021 4:08pm
Hard to say. If he keeps getting BOG's then f*** yes. 8-)

I believe this is the very definition of vacuous truth! If Hanners plays, then Dunstan is in the side. True. If Hanners plays, then Dunstan isn't in the side. Also true!

Crossy66

A few thoughts on the trio:
Longy looks low on confidence, was fumbly but persisted and contributed with his hardness and 1 %'s. If he can string a few games together up forward I think he couldl be very Handy.
If you erased Dunny's history from your memory, his 2021 form puts him among the better credentialed mids. His fitness is definitely getting better and I think Ratten is using him smarter. It seemed Crouch played more the outside mid role and Dunny in and under. Makes me think Ratts is learning to adjust the game plan around what he DOES have rather than what he doesnt have at his disposal.

Two weeks ago the team narrative was around lack of effort, no passion from the hired guns" etc. I reckon Dunny and Dmac bring that in spades. It was interesting when Richmond Amped up the pressure and the physical stuff, that these two stood up gave it right back, plus a couple of others like Jweb. Previously we would have wilted. Love what they bring and hope both are a big part of 2022 and beyond.

I never judge a footballer by his best and/or by their worst

Dunstan is in career best form which is great

Until that form becomes a baseline performance, over an extended period… he shouldn’t be resigned.

I also wouldn’t judge him on his worst games either

Fact is, his true output lies somewhere in between

Do we rate Kosi on his month in 2005?
Do we rate Lonie when he bagged 10 goals in 4 games a few years ago?

A lot comes into it
What form they are in. What position are they playing, who were they playing on… bit of luck comes into it.
Are they playing with injury (Billings and Marshall)

Over his career Dunstan has been a C Grade player, capable of B Grade performances (Even A Grade halves)

He is playing a role that really suits him at the moment, and doing it well.

Only knock on him atm is that he is still torching the footy. Going at 60% (but playing as well as he is, that’s ok)
But 30 at 60% is better than his career
20 at 60%

B.M wrote: Sun 27 Jun 2021 4:35pm I never judge a footballer by his best and/or by their worst

Dunstan is in career best form which is great

Until that form becomes a baseline performance, over an extended period… he shouldn’t be resigned.

I also wouldn’t judge him on his worst games either

Fact is, his true output lies somewhere in between

Do we rate Kosi on his month in 2005?
Do we rate Lonie when he bagged 10 goals in 4 games a few years ago?

A lot comes into it
What form they are in. What position are they playing, who were they playing on… bit of luck comes into it.
Are they playing with injury (Billings and Marshall)

Over his career Dunstan has been a C Grade player, capable of B Grade performances (Even A Grade halves)

He is playing a role that really suits him at the moment, and doing it well.

Only knock on him atm is that he is still torching the footy. Going at 60% (but playing as well as he is, that’s ok)
But 30 at 60% is better than his career
20 at 60%
In other words, without being verbose, he needs to be consistently better.

Rugby League would have to be the stupidest, most moronic and over rated game of all time.

freely wrote: Sun 27 Jun 2021 4:24pm
I believe this is the very definition of vacuous truth! If Hanners plays, then Dunstan is in the side. True. If Hanners plays, then Dunstan isn't in the side. Also true!
He needs to maintain 25 to 30 possessions per game to stay in the side is my guess.

No

He needs to maintain form (ala Steele)

Ross has done this over 6 years with multiple top 5 B&F finishes.

Dunstan does not have to be BOG every game

He needs to average 25
12 contested, 6 clearances, 4 tackles
Over a season

Not over a month

If he continues his current output to seasons end, I’d look at resigning him

But I actually think he’ll walk

B.M wrote: Sun 27 Jun 2021 11:18pm No

He needs to maintain form (ala Steele)

Ross has done this over 6 years with multiple top 5 B&F finishes.

Dunstan does not have to be BOG every game

He needs to average 25
12 contested, 6 clearances, 4 tackles
Over a season

Not over a month

If he continues his current output to seasons end, I’d look at resigning him

But I actually think he’ll walk
You wouldn't blame.him would you?

I think his pissed off demeanor says you are right though..

He comes across as fkn pissed off

And no

I wouldn’t blame him
Last edited by B.M on Sun 27 Jun 2021 11:34pm, edited 1 time in total.