Jaxons come on down

Re: Jaxons come on down

This can only improve the value of that Hawthorn first round pick we have in 2017
Jordan Lewis to Melbourne for a swap of late picks
Melbourne gives up picks 48 (302pts) & 66 (80pts)
Hawthorn gives up picks 57 (182pts) & 68 (59pts)
Melbourne has paid 141points worth pick 60/61

St Kilda has probably had the value of that pick from 2017 increased by a similar amount.

Despite the media claims that Sam Mitchell was sold for pick 88 (0pts), there was a a swap of late picks involved.
West Coast gave picks 52(246pts) & 70(39pts)
Hawthorn gave picks 54 (220pts) & 72(19pts)
West Coast paid 46points worth pick pick 69.

Best and fairest winners and their runners up are not valued highly at Hawthorn, 187 points combined = One pick 56/57 for both.
Last edited by ace on Tue 18 Oct 2016 12:55pm, edited 1 time in total.

Your company is going to out of business because another company used AI.
- Jensen Huang, CEO of NVIDIA 50:08
The_President

stonecold wrote:Trading should speed up a bit now!!!!!

Expect a increase in trades now!!!!!

You've gone out on a limb with this one.

The_President wrote:Our late pick to the Pies
Stevens to us
Cloke to the Dogs

Seems like a good deal for all.
Done, pending or 'on the cards'?

I ask because I just did a little of my extreeeeemely sophisticated guggling, and couldn't find a mention beyond a stab at Stevens for a late pick to the Dogs.

Although, I did read something about the Dopers looking to upend the Dorks on O'Meara, with a "mega pick deal".

When you understand a little about the consequences of losing bits of patella tendon given, among other things, the patella links the quad to the lower leg, and then you hear the Dopers might be about to blue with the Dorks to get O'Meara, it's very difficult not to smile, at the very least.

The_President wrote:

Adelaide-Carlton squabble over Gibbs is holding up Carlton's buying spree.
Geelong-Melbourne squabble over Delidio seems unresolvable
Bulldogs have lost focus, they still have not sorted Stevens to St Kilda and a couple of defenders wanting to go home to W.A.
Hawthorn simply do not have enough value left in draft picks to buy O'Meara after using pick 14 on Mitchell Mk2.
O'Meara may end up at Essendon as a trade, at Hawthorn he risks the main draft hoping he wont be taken ahead of Hawthorn's pick 10 or at Essendon if he risks the pre-season draft.

But don't worry St Kilda has Pepper Money.
We will be your banker to make the deals happen.
We will take a large clip out of the trade on the way. :D :D :D

The_President wrote:

Do you ever post without using the 'quote' button?????

The OtherThommo wrote:
Stevens to us
Cloke to the Dogs

I ask because I just did a little of my extreeeeemely sophisticated guggling, and couldn't find a mention beyond a stab at Stevens for a late pick to the Dogs.

Although, I did read something about the Dopers looking to upend the Dorks on O'Meara, with a "mega pick deal".

When you understand a little about the consequences of losing bits of patella tendon given, among other things, the patella links the quad to the lower leg, and then you hear the Dopers might be about to blue with the Dorks to get O'Meara, it's very difficult not to smile, at the very least.
Dr Reid says TB4 heals patella tendons extremely well.

Stevens to us
Cloke to the Dogs
That's nearly an opinion, be careful, you'll ruin your rep!!!!!

Anyone thought about how GWS are shaping in '17, re available picks vs likely academy graduates, and whether they'd like to bank 1 or 2 before Thursday?

Seems there might be something happening.

I hope Ameet's super computer is in good order......

If I were Essendon I would say pick 1 for 6 (Prestia) + J'OM.

Bombers could still get a potential gun with pick 6. Pick 6 is a very good pick this year.

That means the GC can use pick 1, 4 and then 8 on Jack Bowes. Gets them 3 top 10 picks.
Last edited by Con Gorozidis on Tue 18 Oct 2016 1:35pm, edited 1 time in total.

ace wrote:
The OtherThommo wrote:
Stevens to us
Cloke to the Dogs

Dr Reid says TB4 heals patella tendons extremely well.
Might have been his specialty, ace, because arses and elbows sure weren't.

'ello;

"Hawthorn and Gold Coast will enter mediation in an attempt to do a deal for wantaway Sun Jaeger O'Meara.

The mediation could begin as soon as this afternoon."

Hustle!

The banker always wins
Maybe not this time.
Warning: Do not take financial advice from David Koch

Gold Coast wanted Pierce Handley from Brisbane but Gold Coast did not have the right value on their available picks.
Port Adelaide acted as banker

Port Adelaide got Handley plus pick 19, plus pick 22, plus pick 30
Port Adelaide gave up Handley plus pick 67 plus pick 22 plus Ports 2017 first rounder
The net position of Port Adelaide is pick 19(948pts) plus pick 30(629pts) minus pick 67(69pts) minus Ports 2017 first rounder
In this deal Port has valued their 2017 first rounder at 1508pts = pick 8/9
There will slippage due academy picks this reduces the value to the recipient Brisbane but adds to Port Adelaide.
Port Adelaide has probably sold their 2017 first rounder for pick 7 before the 2017 draft.
That means to break even Port must finish in 11th place.
Finish above that Port wins, finish lower down Port loses.

Brisbane got Ports 2017 first rounder but swapped pick 19(948pts) for 22(845pts) in payment for Handley
Gold Coast paid pick 22(845pts) and pick 30(629pts) less pick 67(69pts) = 1405 points = pick 10 for Handley

Gold Coast takes no risk, Brisbane and Port Adelaide share the risk.
Last edited by ace on Tue 18 Oct 2016 2:06pm, edited 2 times in total.

Big Calm before the Storm?????

Nice to you browsing forum LTN, same day as the Pres, interesting?????

longtimesaint wrote:
dragit wrote:Lewis to the dees! YES, should help our pick next year… if we keep it.
We are likely to be competing with Melbourne for a place in the 8 next year.
Getting Lewis will strengthen Melbourne and it remains to be seen if we can maintain our dominance over them.
Or the glass half full scenario....

We are likely to be competing with Hawthorn for a place in the 8 next year.
Losing Lewis will weaken Hawthorn and it remains to be seen if they can maintain their dominance over us.

With Hawthorn already losing Sam Mitchell and Jordan Lewis, our own Mav Weller is suggesting that Luke Hodge should move to St Kilda.

Beno88 wrote:
longtimesaint wrote:
dragit wrote:Lewis to the dees! YES, should help our pick next year… if we keep it.
We are likely to be competing with Melbourne for a place in the 8 next year.
Getting Lewis will strengthen Melbourne and it remains to be seen if we can maintain our dominance over them.
Or the glass half full scenario....

We are likely to be competing with Hawthorn for a place in the 8 next year.
Losing Lewis will weaken Hawthorn and it remains to be seen if they can maintain their dominance over us.
I think we were going past Hawthorn anyway as they were clearly in decline in 2016.
I would be surprised if they are competing for the 8 next year.
They had several very tight wins this year and could easily have finished below us.

I wonder if there's any chance we could be lurking in the background of the Prestia deal. If Richmond keep on stuffing around and they still haven't got a deal done tomorrow I'd hope we'd offer up one of our 2017 first rounders for Prestia.

stevie wrote:
doug booths dog wrote:Gone to Bali !! - whats Bali giving us in return ?
maybe Schapelle & Mercedes Corby ;)

The aqueduct?
Sanitation.....

The OtherThommo wrote:
Stevens to us
Cloke to the Dogs

I do like your way with words ToT. Losing bits of patella tendon indeed. Of some consequence I reckon when it comes to playing footy, that bit about the connection between the quad and the lower leg. So glad we're not going there......

Finally the Bulldogs do the deal for Hamling to Fremantle.
Dogs get pick 35(522pts) + 43(378pts) + 61(135pts)
Fremantle get Hamling + pick 40(429pts) + 63(112pts)
Values Hamling at 494points = pick 36/37
Why they didn't just do the deal for pick 35 is beyond me.

Now can the dogs settle down and do the Koby Stevens deal.

We have 23(815pts), 36(502pts), 50(273pts)
Dogs have 18(985pts), 35(522pts), 43(378pts), 61(135pts)

I have argued before that pick 50(273pts) is around the mark.
If they want to get their hands on pick 36 I would make them swap pick 18 for 23.
A deal that costs us 332pts = pick 46 but moves us up 5 spots into the end of round 1.

Playon

The OtherThommo wrote:'ello;

"Hawthorn and Gold Coast will enter mediation in an attempt to do a deal for wantaway Sun Jaeger O'Meara.

Hustle!
peter ryan Verified account
‏@petryan

.@GoldCoastSUNS meeting @HawthornFC this arvo re O'Meara. Hawks hold pick 10 but can't trade a future pick. O'Meara keen 2B Hawk.

Whats next afl to reverse our pick 10 trade as unrealistic? Wouldn't put it past them, A lot of press were saying its a wonder the afl let it go through

Playon wrote:

Hustle!
peter ryan Verified account
‏@petryan

.@GoldCoastSUNS meeting @HawthornFC this arvo re O'Meara. Hawks hold pick 10 but can't trade a future pick. O'Meara keen 2B Hawk.

Whats next afl to reverse our pick 10 trade as unrealistic? Wouldn't put it past them, A lot of press were saying its a wonder the afl let it go through
Instead the AFL could rule that Hawthorn attempt to buy both Williams Mk2 and O'Meara with limited pick value available was unrealisitic and that if Hawthorn wants do both deals they have to surrender a quality (best 22) player to the Suns.

Playon

ace wrote:
Instead the AFL could rule that Hawthorn attempt to buy both Williams Mk2 and O'Meara with limited pick value available was unrealisitic and that if Hawthorn wants do both deals they have to surrender a quality (best 22) player to the Suns.
No doubts, and everyone was lauding over how Hawthorn just get deals done.. Kennet's boof head included.. Mediation tells another story. Suns were always going to play hardball

Sam Landsberger
‏@SamLandsberger

It's all part of a grand plan. But on face value, Hawthorn's trades stink.

Mitchell for 88
Lewis for 61
23, 36 + 2017 first-rounder for 10

Hawks need to send 10 plus a decent player (Shiels or Hartung) to GC and just get on with it. Stop flogging everyone around.

As for the Saints - Well if Bains shuts up shop and goes on holiday tomorrow Ill be very satisfied going in to the 2017 draft with two first rounders and going in to this year's draft with pick 23 and 36.

That should get us 2 or 3 young good players from those 4 picks.
You would expect a 50% hit rate at least.
So with Steele and maybe Freeman plus another 2-3 young guns - well that is 5 new players + Carlisle = 6.
Not bad going considering what we already have on our books.

Hustle!
Hawthorn don't need mediation they need medication.
I can recommend Dr Ried from Essendon, he has some wonderful drugs available
and administrators don't have to submit to ASADA testing.