GWS now have 4, 6, 7 to trade for pick 1

Re: GWS now have 4, 6, 7 to trade for pick 1

True Believer wrote:
supersaints wrote:SEN repotredat 7am that GWS have offered pick 4 for Paddy Ryder, that may suitthem rather-than gunning for

Smokescreen. GWS are trying to bluff us into accepting less than 4, 6 & 7. The same as they did to the DOgs - "we will not trade Boyd under any circumstance!!!" ---- "Oh, if you're including pick 6 then"......

Sit tight, they don't want Ryder.....
Yup, & they can't afford Ryder, & Ryder doesn't want to go there.

Their TPP is in tatters going into next year with the majority of their best young talent coming out of contract. It's well known the Pies are paying a large portion of Shaw's contract & likewise the Dogs with Ryan Griffen's contract - reportedly 1mill of it over the 4 year deal.

jaxons wrote:Having 5 picks inside 22 will cause a reshuffle of our primary list Old Mate.
40 players on the list this year
38 after Hayes and Maister retire
34 after TDL, Dunell, Gwilt and CJ are dumped
37 after Minch, Shents and Eli are promoted
36 after Rhys is traded
35 after Tezza is (inevitably) delisted

So that's space for 4 draft picks and Membrey, assuming Mav hasn't been promoted. If we need one more spot, presumably it's Schneids who makes way, though I wouldn't be surprised if it was Markworth who was delisted and picked up again late in the rookie draft. Or otherwise Simpkin could be an outside chance of delisting.

Plenty of room for five picks if we have five good ones.

jaxons wrote:Having 5 picks inside 22 will cause a reshuffle of our primary list Old Mate.
40 players on the list this year
38 after Hayes and Maister retire
34 after TDL, Dunell, Gwilt and CJ are dumped
37 after Minch, Shents and Eli are promoted
36 after Rhys is traded
35 after Tezza is (inevitably) delisted

So that's space for 4 draft picks and Membrey, assuming Mav hasn't been promoted. If we need one more spot, presumably it's Schneids who makes way, though I wouldn't be surprised if it was Markworth who was delisted and picked up again late in the rookie draft. Or otherwise Simpkin could be an outside chance of delisting.

Plenty of room for five picks if we have five good ones.
I would be REALLY surprised if Markworth was delisted considering he just signed a contract extension 2 weeks ago!!

BringBackMadDog wrote:I would be REALLY surprised if Markworth was delisted considering he just signed a contract extension 2 weeks ago!!
I'm not saying we'd be getting rid of him! It wouldn't be a true delisting so much as a shuffle down to the rookie list. Pure list management. It's the only way to move players from senior list to rookie list.

Surely if we need to make room it will be Schneider?

St Loxton

Got a feeling we are just gonna keep 1 for the Tractor. Id be happy with that.

True Believer wrote:
supersaints wrote:SEN repotredat 7am that GWS have offered pick 4 for Paddy Ryder, that may suitthem rather-than gunning for

Smokescreen. GWS are trying to bluff us into accepting less than 4, 6 & 7. The same as they did to the DOgs - "we will not trade Boyd under any circumstance!!!" ---- "Oh, if you're including pick 6 then"......

Sit tight, they don't want Ryder.....
Yup, & they can't afford Ryder, & Ryder doesn't want to go there.

Their TPP is in tatters going into next year with the majority of their best young talent coming out of contract. It's well known the Pies are paying a large portion of Shaw's contract & likewise the Dogs with Ryan Griffen's contract - reportedly 1mill of it over the 4 year deal.
The thing is it's not even a smart bluff Old Mate. It's been widely reported that them and us have spoken about a deal for pick one. If you were trying to convince the holder of the number 1 pick to swap it with you, and you were trying to offer 2 top ten picks in exchange, would you try and offer them pick 6 and 7 or would you try and offer them pick 4 and 6 ??? If they wanted to trump Port's offer for Ryder they could have done it with pick 7, and if necessary thrown in a half decent fringe kid or a swap of later picks.
They've overplayed their hand here, they're wanting us to settle for two top ten picks and are trying to scare us into thinking that if we don't sign "right now" then pick 4 will be gone and we can only get picks 6 and 7. After all, Melbourne are the only other team with two top ten picks and they are not going to be trading them. Well go right ahead and throw away pick 4 to Essendope, we''ll take Petracca thanks. What's that - you'd like to offer 4, 6 & 7, well, maybe, OK then....
Would love to play these plonkers at poker, you'd fleece them in a second.

Bardon Saint

plugger66 wrote:I must say that if we did give up one for 4,6 and 7 then it certainly makes sense that we wanted McCartin all the time so we get 2 bonus picks of 6 and 7. Speaking to an assistant coach of Melbourne at the races yesterday suggested to me they will pass on McCartin and Wright and will certainly take Brayshaw and probably Lever. Wouldn't give much away on Lever but just feeling. That leaves us with McCartin and if we wanted him anyway its a huge bonus to get 2 extra picks.
If Melb are not into Wright, I cannot see the Pies picking him up with pick 5 given Grundy/Witts and especially Moore. Surely they will not pick two Ruck/fwds in the same draft? Wright could slip through to picks 6/7

Bardon Saint

MC Gusto wrote:Surely if we need to make room it will be Schneider?
If you're not going to play in our next premiership well thankyou for your services but it's time to move on

Bardon Saint wrote:
If you're not going to play in our next premiership well thankyou for your services but it's time to move on
By that criteria we would only have 20 players on our list!!

Andreous

Maybe the deal is Pick 1 and Simpkin for 4,6 & 7???

Bardon Saint wrote:
Should palm off Riewoldt, Fisher, Dempster, Montagna, Armitage, Geary & Gilbert too then.

shesh wake up this morn expecting rumors galore floating around about the last few hrs and the big deal for pick one, and theyre saying we'll most likely keep it??

make your friggin minds up ffs!

got all excited yesterday :?

Ross who?

Rumour on trade board at BF is that GWS has offered TOMLINSON with pick 6&7 for 1 & 21.
Where do I sign....

Blake Acres fan club VIP

Tomlinson, 6 & 7 for 1,21 is the talk.

Push them for 4 & 6/7 and I reckon you're on

MC Gusto wrote:Tomlinson, 6 & 7 for 1,21 is the talk.

To be honest, I find it hard to distinguish him from many of the other young, tall GWS players.

Here's a link to his stats

http://www.gwsgiants.com.au/player-prof ... -tomlinson

But can anyone actually recall watching him and forming an opinion? Is he really a forward, or a genuine swingman?

IS HE ANY GOOD?

I'd be happy with Tomlinson, 4 and 6 or 7. Even 4 and Tomlinson for 1. Would rather the three picks though. I want that 21 for a slider though. There is every chance a very good player could still be around that mark.

Linton Street Saint

Someone needs to holler for a Jaxons !

Linton Street Saint wrote:

Someone needs to holler for a Jaxons !
He's too busy at trade central trying to cut us a deal. Is Jaxons pelican or Baines?

neither

who the hell is thomlinson?

no likey
picks only thanks
unless its jezza cam 8-)

jonesy wrote:Is Jaxons pelican or Baines?
I'll go with neither.

Tomlinsons stats for last season are pretty impressive, he gets a lot of the footy for a tall forward, averaged over 16 disposals and 6 marks in 19 games. In 45 games over 2 seasons he has got more than 20 disposals in 10 games. They are Riewoldt like numbers.
He's only 21 193cm and 88kgs
I would take 6 and 7 plus him and then just go for mids in the draft.
Last edited by BringBackMadDog on Thu 16 Oct 2014 10:49am, edited 1 time in total.

BringBackMadDog wrote:Tomlinsons stats for last season are pretty impressive, he gets a lot of the footy for a tall footy, averaged over 16 disposals and 6 marks in 19 games. In 45 games over 2 seasons he has got more than 20 disposals in 10 games. They are Riewoldt like numbers.
He's only 21 193cm and 88kgs
I would take 6 and 7 plus him and then just go for mids in the draft.
+1. Tomlinson has the scope to be our next CHF imo.

Is this legit?
I am friends with Adams sister - so I could contact her but i dont want to feel like a dick if this is some dumb ass footy rumour.
Can someone give me a heads up.

i think Tomlinson is actually pretty bloody good and has been somewhat hidden due to boyd, cameron, patton et al.

Pelch certainly rates him if you recall back to the twitter feed he did the other day.

there is an interesting article on him from The Age if you google it..