Match Thread Saints v Tigers Round 5 2021

Re: Match Thread Saints v Tigers Round 5 2021

We’ve been smashed around the ground...

Couple of players have tried hard and some have had more effort then others but to be honest...

Steele
Crouch
Clark
Wilkie

Are pbly the only guys that have played well

Long, Sinclair, Lonie and Higgins have given it a crack but been outplayed

Rest have barely shown up

desertsaint wrote: Thu 15 Apr 2021 10:21pm
Ghost Like wrote: Thu 15 Apr 2021 10:13pm
desertsaint wrote: Thu 15 Apr 2021 10:10pm
Ghost Like wrote: Thu 15 Apr 2021 9:47pm
desertsaint wrote: Thu 15 Apr 2021 9:35pm
Ghost Like wrote: Thu 15 Apr 2021 9:31pm For anyone whoever suggests Luke Dunstan should play seniors for St Kilda or is the better "keeper" than Acres, please replay that 2nd Quarter...he's putrid!
putrid quarter indeed. but...
total career brownlow votes:
dunstan 6
acres 2

acres was the most overrated player on here since rix rox rux.
WOW, another blinded by baubles. That's one of the stupidest posts ever. We are chocka block with inside mids & we select the worst of them to complete a Full House. I'd love Acres out there, he plays inside as well as outside, he draws tackles and puts the ball to advantage.
what a pity he's playing in the wafl and not for us then.
Is he? I swear I've been watching him play for Fremantle but enjoy Dunstan's effort if that's what turns you on. Stupid post.
i think you're inventing an argument. where have i suggested i'm enjoying dunstan's effort? you are obviously still carrying a grudge we booted acres. most don't care. why even mention him? just enjoy the game :)
Except you who cares enough about how many Brownlow votes each player has. Another stupid post.

And yes, that was about the worst free kick i've ever seen against Long.

No matter how often I have seen Rick Stein, I always enjoy his travels.

10 quick goals and we’re back in this

Wheels have fallen off... something is rotten

How we played tonight, is a blueprint of how to not play against Richmond

Four things you must NOT do against the Tigers

1/chunk it forward under pressure, and turn it over across HB
2/Allow them defenders on their own behind the ball
3/HB backwards under pressure
4/Zone off their forwards

We have done all 4

Poor, really poor
Last edited by B.M on Thu 15 Apr 2021 10:28pm, edited 1 time in total.

Kick-it-lace-out

Time for another rebuild. This team is cooked.

Scollop wrote: Thu 15 Apr 2021 10:26pm
shanegrambeau wrote: Thu 15 Apr 2021 10:22pm Ben Long just sealed his fate.
So the Richmond little c*** is allowed to block Long’s run is he?

Seriously soft f***** free and not worth a free to Arseman
But the question should be why are they always picked up against Long? Some players will always be defined by a few actions. Unfortunately for Long, it appears umpires are looking for him to do the undisciplined things.

We are playing the team that will win the flag the score indicates how far we are off the mark

Hard to watch. Once our boys gel who knows next year we might do better
We will win a few more games this year and may still make the eight but we are way off a top side

He does do undisciplined things, they don’t have to look hard

saintkid

Scollop wrote: Thu 15 Apr 2021 10:21pm
skeptic wrote: Thu 15 Apr 2021 10:19pm Billings IMO has been the most disappointing tonight

Say what you will about Hill, Howard, Lonie and Dunstan... they’re at least getting to contests and failing

A red hot Billings has had 9 touches for the 9 and almost unsighted

Pay close attention to Billings. He hears footsteps when he should be keeping his eyes on the footy

I know it’s not his job to win contested footy but he just needs to stand up and be a leader
He hasn't to date after 8 years and never will. He is one of our several physically inept players and when the opposition bring their A game together, he and a number of others go missing.

The guys believed their own publicity after last week. Pretty poor captain's game from Steele- no good players IMO...all playing bruise-free football.

Otiman wrote: Thu 15 Apr 2021 10:27pm And yes, that was about the worst free kick i've ever seen against Long.
Sadly it was there in any era. Just when I was about to post that Long was edging into our best players. Quite symbolic for Long's career.

I reckon we seriously need to sit down with Hill and Hannebery over the next week and see what it’ll cost to part ways

So what now.
Guess it is just ‘compete’ please

shanegrambeau wrote: Thu 15 Apr 2021 10:25pm Well, we are only 60 down.
3/4 time.
Dreams come true, if you want them bad enough!
Trouble is this is a nightmare

Well all we can do is give it a crack were outclassed & look out of answers there just too good for us ATM . Lets hope we can at least just give a contest in the last

IluvHarvey wrote: Thu 15 Apr 2021 10:28pm
Scollop wrote: Thu 15 Apr 2021 10:26pm
shanegrambeau wrote: Thu 15 Apr 2021 10:22pm Ben Long just sealed his fate.
So the Richmond little c*** is allowed to block Long’s run is he?

Seriously soft f***** free and not worth a free to Arseman
But the question should be why are they always picked up against Long? Some players will always be defined by a few actions. Unfortunately for Long, it appears umpires are looking for him to do the undisciplined things.
BS. Do you understand what actually happened?

The free should have been paid for a block. The little Richmond c*** blocked his run. That is the first action

A soft incidental touch of the face off the footy when Long is the one that is being blocked is not understanding the game and it is an umpire looking to pay frees that have no impact on the play. Long didn’t try and prevent Arseman from getting the footy

The Richmond players are very good at drawing the umpires attention and throwing their arms back and throwing their head back. Arseman was paid a BS free for a BS incidental touch to his face after he initiated a block
Last edited by Scollop on Thu 15 Apr 2021 10:35pm, edited 1 time in total.

Our percentage is truely f***ed.

As far as the 2021 season goes, we have one foot in the grave.

Hearing Joel Selwood tell the telly, ‘It’s important to play well for your fans’ ....says Geelong star! Lol

I wonder how many losses he’s been involved in at Kardinia Park....2? 3?

saintkid wrote: Thu 15 Apr 2021 10:29pm
Scollop wrote: Thu 15 Apr 2021 10:21pm
skeptic wrote: Thu 15 Apr 2021 10:19pm Billings IMO has been the most disappointing tonight

Say what you will about Hill, Howard, Lonie and Dunstan... they’re at least getting to contests and failing

A red hot Billings has had 9 touches for the 9 and almost unsighted

Pay close attention to Billings. He hears footsteps when he should be keeping his eyes on the footy

I know it’s not his job to win contested footy but he just needs to stand up and be a leader
He hasn't to date after 8 years and never will. He is one of our several physically inept players and when the opposition bring their A game together, he and a number of others go missing.
That's really cheap saintkid, I've mentioned your chipping at him before but he's been in our best every game this year before tonight & now you chirp up.

I don't agree with scollop on this quote either but he / she usually has no bias.

Serious question and not having a crack at the kid but is Bytel still out there or is he off injured?

SaintJohno

This is why I love February. Best time of year for Saints supporters. Haven't lost a game, new recruits, so much hope for the year to come. It's beautiful. Bring on Feb 22.

Ghost Like wrote: Thu 15 Apr 2021 10:27pm
desertsaint wrote: Thu 15 Apr 2021 10:21pm
Ghost Like wrote: Thu 15 Apr 2021 10:13pm
desertsaint wrote: Thu 15 Apr 2021 10:10pm
Ghost Like wrote: Thu 15 Apr 2021 9:47pm
desertsaint wrote: Thu 15 Apr 2021 9:35pm
Ghost Like wrote: Thu 15 Apr 2021 9:31pm For anyone whoever suggests Luke Dunstan should play seniors for St Kilda or is the better "keeper" than Acres, please replay that 2nd Quarter...he's putrid!
putrid quarter indeed. but...
total career brownlow votes:
dunstan 6
acres 2

acres was the most overrated player on here since rix rox rux.
WOW, another blinded by baubles. That's one of the stupidest posts ever. We are chocka block with inside mids & we select the worst of them to complete a Full House. I'd love Acres out there, he plays inside as well as outside, he draws tackles and puts the ball to advantage.
what a pity he's playing in the wafl and not for us then.
Is he? I swear I've been watching him play for Fremantle but enjoy Dunstan's effort if that's what turns you on. Stupid post.
i think you're inventing an argument. where have i suggested i'm enjoying dunstan's effort? you are obviously still carrying a grudge we booted acres. most don't care. why even mention him? just enjoy the game :)
Except you who cares enough about how many Brownlow votes each player has. Another stupid post.
haha. that was to illustrate the weirdness of your call. if only we had this useless player instead of this almost as useless player. there's a lot of crap players out there tonight, but you're pinning it all on the one who hasn't played for over a year, and lamenting the one we let go. let it go.

seano1

King is about the only one who will play in a grand final , rest of the team will be gone . And hopefully will won’t be buying anymore duds