Match Thread Saints v Dawks Round 22 2018

Re: Match Thread Saints v Dawks Round 22 2018

Gunstan: "Yeah we got sucked in to a bit of ping pong footy...". LOL.

The_President wrote: Sat 18 Aug 2018 11:15pm Marshall had 18 touches, 10 contested & 6 marks tonight.

Seriously hope we put a lot of time into him moving forward. Forget about names or draft numbers. He actually shows a lot of promise and I really hope we persist with him.
Very impressed with this kid. Paddy would be behind him on tonight’s game and you have to pick sides based on form, not draft position

torn

Spud
Location: Near the You Yangs, or as my wife used to call it, the Dugongs.

Enrico_Misso wrote: Sun 19 Aug 2018 12:50am At half time they had the usual rubbish that masquerades as entertainment including kiss-cam.
I refuse to watch it, but out of the corner of my eye I thought I saw the Jiggster featured????
If not it was an unfortunate hatted gentleman who looked very similar!

I think it was.

parkeysainter wrote: Sat 18 Aug 2018 7:51pm Hope Carlisle's baby and his partner are ok. Thoughts are with them.

Go Saints.
Nice post parkeyone! Perspective! Good on you!

Spud wrote: Sun 19 Aug 2018 1:12pm
Enrico_Misso wrote: Sun 19 Aug 2018 12:50am At half time they had the usual rubbish that masquerades as entertainment including kiss-cam.
I refuse to watch it, but out of the corner of my eye I thought I saw the Jiggster featured????
If not it was an unfortunate hatted gentleman who looked very similar!

I think it was.
I think it was too! :lol: :lol: :lol: 🔴⚪️⚫️

thejiggingsaint wrote: Sun 19 Aug 2018 3:51pm
with beer in hand - I didnt see much jigging going on...
Go Sainters!

sunsaint wrote: Sun 19 Aug 2018 4:41pm
thejiggingsaint wrote: Sun 19 Aug 2018 3:51pm
with beer in hand - I didnt see much jigging going on...
Go Sainters!
No “beer in hand” mate......... mistaken identity? :shock:

ok sorry - thought it was you

Peanut Farm wrote: Sat 18 Aug 2018 11:49pm * Acres is too slow - I'd trade him
Unpopular view, but Acres...seems to have one string to his bow.

He runs out into space, gets a handball receive, then belts the ball as hard he can forward.

And that's it. I'm sure there's more, but I don't see it right now.

I am aware he is absolutely adored by this forum, and I am always hoping he plays really well, but he seems to play on the tram tracks - ultra direct. I want to see more thinking when he gets his hands on the footy.

evertonfc wrote: Sun 19 Aug 2018 8:10pm

He runs out into space, gets a handball receive, then belts the ball as hard he can forward.

I am aware he is absolutely adored by this forum, and I am always hoping he plays really well, but he seems to play on the tram tracks - ultra direct. I want to see more thinking when he gets his hands on the footy.
well overrated on here, acres has no footy smarts so don't hold your breath.

desertsaint wrote: Sun 19 Aug 2018 9:13pm

well overrated on here, acres has no footy smarts so don't hold your breath.

I reckon you might want to go back and watch the replay, he was good last night.
You’ve got to remember he has missed a heck of a lot of footy this year and it’s taken him a bit of time to get himself back up to speed.

Has massive gaping holes in his game, as has been raised on here occasionally since the start of the season, I reckon its entirely possible the club would see him as a potential trade target.

Stupid idea to trade Acres. With a full season in the mid field he will become a matchwinner. Has all the tools and just needs the opportunity. Sebby has dominated midfield minutes and I believe his effectiveness really lets him down. A third of Sebby's disposals went to the opposition or were inneffective. I'd rather trade Ross before we move out Acres.

I can't see it with Acres.

I'm loathe to write young guys off early, but....

He just isn't a footballer.

He appears to have absolutely zero clue what to do when he gets the ball. And what makes it worse, is that his teammates have even less idea than him as to what he's going to do.

I was very bullish about him, but that has waned badly for me.

I fear he's simply no good at all.

Scollop wrote: Mon 20 Aug 2018 1:49am Stupid idea to trade Acres. With a full season in the mid field he will become a matchwinner. Has all the tools and just needs the opportunity. Sebby has dominated midfield minutes and I believe his effectiveness really lets him down. A third of Sebby's disposals went to the opposition or were inneffective. I'd rather trade Ross before we move out Acres.
Agreed.. he is still building.. just look at his year by year progression .. he is still improving his output steadily...

At 22 he has another step up in him and another steady step up next year will see him be a very very good player...

would be madness to trade him right now

In fact we should be at 21/22 year olds at other clubs, often an age that is just before they start dominating

Scollop wrote: Mon 20 Aug 2018 1:49am Has all the tools and just needs the opportunity.
He really doesn't, that's why I can't see a future with him. Laziest footballer on our list by a long stretch.

degruch wrote: Sun 19 Aug 2018 12:53am Gunstan: "Yeah we got sucked in to a bit of ping pong footy...". LOL.
And that aptly describes our game plan
When we have little pressure applied it goes ok (still had no forward system mind you)
When pressured it collapses with poor skill levels that can not be execute under pressure

Teflon wrote: Mon 20 Aug 2018 10:31am
degruch wrote: Sun 19 Aug 2018 12:53am Gunstan: "Yeah we got sucked in to a bit of ping pong footy...". LOL.
And that aptly describes our game plan
When we have little pressure applied it goes ok (still had no forward system mind you)
When pressured it collapses with poor skill levels that can not be execute under pressure
I got a laugh out of it at least...shows how much respect our opposition has for our 'game plan'. I think we went okay on the weekend because our disposal (from what I saw, and with the vast exception of Gilbert) was uncommonly good.