Umpires F%$king useless

Re: Umpires F%$king useless

markp wrote:
desertsaint wrote:Sometimes you toss a coin ten times and nine heads come up.
There was a definite bias, but random bias. (I hope).
And sydney gets extra sc because it costs more to live in sydney... Barry Hall's punch on goose was 'in play'... oh and the draw is worked out so that no one is unfairly advantaged or disadvantaged.

It's one big fix.

The umpires are hardly going to receive written instructions, but they surely know what side their bread is buttered on.

Surely you dont really think that. if you do can you come up with actual stats to prove it. It should be easy if it is that obvious. And then someone says we were even placed on worse angles when having shots at goal. How can you have a serious conversation if people actually think that.
Which part?

The bit about the bulltish reason for the extra SC, barry hall laughably getting off, the rigged fixture or the umpires having a fair idea about which clubs are more important and valuable to the AFL than others?

You think it's a fair competition, or ever has been?

It may not even be conscious on the umpires part, as I suggested the crowd or any number of other possible factors may be contributing... it doesn't even have to be constant to give an edge.

But last night it was plain to see.

As for stats... the blatant square ups are also there to see, usually when and where they can help us least.

It's a very difficult game to umpire because it's so open to interpretation... and for that reason it would be easy for them to sway, whether their bias is conscious or not.

Moods wrote:It's rare that I'll blab on about umpy's. But last night was disgraceful. The soft free kicks paid that resulted in Richmond goals got me as frustrated as I've been for a long while at the footy.

Maybe I was viewing the game through one eye I don't know. I text a good mate who doesn't barrack for either team during the last quarter, and his reply was 'Can't say I've noticed them.'

I thought the free for deliberate OOB against Jackson straight after half time was a joke as well - and it did result in a goal to us. But so many went against us, and so many seemed sooo soft. I saw Gilbert's arms swiped clearly on the AFL HFF. Nil call on it and a goal to the tiges resulted. Yet Vickery had what looked like the softest free ever paid to him for an arm chop for what looked to me live and on the replay a perfect spoil by Blake. For mine it ruined what I thought was an entertaining game. In almost every contest in the first 3 quarters I thought they were going to pay a free of some sort.
Yup, agree.

save ure breath there'll be nothing mentioned publicly no discussimng cause Andrew says so....

Good transparent game we got going on...

paddy

it is almost enough to stop watching... tbh

I need to put my tinfoil hat on more often. Perhaps I should start wearing it to games.....

Because I just watched the replay, and seriously....

Games like that make you think the comp is rigged.

Surely the AFL would not want certain clubs to succeed more than others just for the commercial aspect?

Surely not...

Now where is that hat.

A tigers prick about to take a mark, another tiger 7-8 metres behind him, & a Saint behind that one being held back. If the ball is > than 5 m away, shouldnt that be a free to us?
If the 2 tigers are in the contest, ok, but the 2nd one is out of it
FFS what a CROCK.

Pwoit

bigred wrote:I need to put my tinfoil hat on more often. Perhaps I should start wearing it to games.....

Surely the AFL would not want certain clubs to succeed more than others just for the commercial aspect?

Surely not...

Now where is that hat.
Here you go Red

and you might wanna use this when watching our next game. :) ( One of your quotes couple of years ago sticks in my head hehe )

For years we have seen a systematic bias by the AFL in favour of their bastard lovechild Sydney - partially covered by the points raised by Markp.

After Friday night it looks like the AFL have decided a resurgent successful Richmond will be a cash-cow.
9-1 free kicks in their 50 each week should pretty much get them a flag.

Enrico_Misso wrote:After Friday night it looks like the AFL have decided a resurgent successful Richmond will be a cash-cow.
9-1 free kicks in their 50 each week should pretty much get them a flag.
But Richmond would still choke even if their whole team were to take on the role of being the umpires' drinking buddies for the rest of the season.

Watched a fair bit of two games yesty - Shitney/Suns then Lions/crows. ( ok, I said I'd given up watching the other teams but the Net was very slow yesty here , and I had time while waiting for a new MMORPG to download. I did have the volume off as usual)

Anyway, the umpiring was pretty good in both games, though the Shitney game was wet, and they let play go on for a bit. The second game was pretty well reffed too, with only the odd puzzler.

So, it's obvious there are certain maggots who continually f*** up.

Oh, and wasnt that impressed with either Brissie or the Crows. The Lions blew it really. Leading by 9 Pts early in the last, another two goals would've sealed it but they f***ed around with the ball, lost it and the Crows made them pay.

We would prolly beat either side, no matter where we played, definitely would at Etihad. Shitney were ok against a plucky Suns but the weather made it closer perhaps. Neither team looked overly great.

I guess the Suns were tired after the inferno like conditions at Metricon the previous week... :roll:

Pwoit wrote:
bigred wrote:I need to put my tinfoil hat on more often. Perhaps I should start wearing it to games.....

Surely not...

Now where is that hat.
Here you go Red

and you might wanna use this when watching our next game. :) ( One of your quotes couple of years ago sticks in my head hehe )

I have never forgotten that quote either. One of my all time faves

Harvey To Hayes

gringo wrote:How was the one where there was a block by Newnes because he took his eyes off the ball for a second to see where the player behind him was. I understand if you are not the guy in front but Newnes was attempting to mark not push a guy likely to mark from out of his way. They seem to lack any intuition.
Nah, that one was definitely there. Newnes needs to learn from it, take your eyes off the ball to push your opponent in a marking contest and it's a free every day of the week.
Common sense dictates that you're allowed to take your eye off the ball briefly to gauge what's around you if you then revert your attention to the ball before any contact is made. That free reeked of being made by someone who has never actually played football and is making decisions via literal interpretations of technical rules rather than experience...

The future's so bright I've got to wear shades...

anyone who maitains that the maggots never decide games should have a look at the last quarter of the roos v cats match......i would be f****** ropeable if i was a roos fan...

stinger wrote:anyone who maitains that the maggots never decide games should have a look at the last quarter of the roos v cats match......i would be f****** ropeable if i was a roos fan...

I watched it and didnt see anything wrong really. They decided the game though because they paid an obvious free to Geelong and then an obvious 50.

stinger wrote:anyone who maitains that the maggots never decide games should have a look at the last quarter of the roos v cats match......i would be f****** ropeable if i was a roos fan...

I watched it and didnt see anything wrong really. They decided the game though because they paid an obvious free to Geelong and then an obvious 50.
Thought it was there too, and north got a free and 50m to put them in front, so they kind of cancel each other out. Cats deserved it. They are pretty good

Who was that gutless turd of a Richmond player who pushed Roo in the back of the head after he took a mark in the first quarter? Umpire completely missed that, Roo retaliated, Richmond got a free kick and we got a 50 m penalty against us. That one really made me throw a wobbly.

Good to see people legitimately venting their spleens on here after we got an absolute bollocking from those little snots.

Sainternist wrote:Good to see people legitimately venting their spleens on here after we got an absolute bollocking from those little snots.
haha, I agree

Sainternist wrote:Who was that gutless turd of a Richmond player who pushed Roo in the back of the head after he took a mark in the first quarter?
Chaplin - some on here thought we should have picked him up last year, I reckon he played pretty well so maybe they were right.
Sainternist wrote:Umpire completely missed that, Roo retaliated, Richmond got a free kick and we got a 50 m penalty against us. That one really made me throw a wobbly.
Why? Riewoldt was deadset f****** stupid there. If the umpire misses a free, that doesn't give you the right to do something which is an obvious 50m penalty. Not really "captain" behaviour.

bergholt wrote:Why?
BECAUSE THE UMPIRE COMPLETELY MISSED THE FREE KICK.

It was a gutless and dangerous piece of play on behalf of the defender. He could have caused a possibly head or neck injury.

Sainternist wrote:

It was a gutless and dangerous piece of play on behalf of the defender. He could have caused a possibly head or neck injury.
Sure, whatever. But that still doesn't give Riewoldt the right to come the raw prawn.

Sainternist wrote:

Sure, whatever. But that still doesn't give Riewoldt the right to come the raw prawn.
I know. That is why I threw a wobbly. I was angry at both the umpire and Roo.

Sainternist wrote:

I called the double chicken wing. judd was half arsed with his one.

Greg T

How could you not agree.?
The 1st holding the ball,16 blokes piled on top,wasn't paid again for the rest of the night,
Lennys was horrendous,but its always the ones we don't get that hurt.
We didn't play we'll ,but jack got a ripper in the crucial last 1/4 .

100 goals in 14 games...Lockett is the key
OneEyedSainter77

I'd like to say something.

The umpiring in st Kilda games is an absolute marriage killer for me.

I don't care if we turn the ball over because we are s***. I don't care if the other team actually gets a free for something that is there as long as there is CONSISTENCY.

But if the umpiring remains at that standard for the rest of the season, I think it's safer for my marriage if I stop watching the games on tv.

That's all I have to say about that.