Hi Saintsational......again. Its been a long time!

Re: Hi Saintsational......again. Its been a long time!

StThomo wrote:
McEvoy died in wool ruck and future captain option. Great hands.
Grant - agree McEvoy is a ruckman but the new ruck AFL rules will impact on his ruckwork favouring those with big leaps and reach like Stanley and Hickey ... around the ground his hands mean he can clunk them better than most and his strength of character and leadership are outstanding. I just worry that the new rules (including the limitations on rotations) will hurt his style of ruckman and we really do need someone to match the resting rucks or the giant power forwards down back.

Perhaps the answer is team defence and using McEvoy as the ruckman dropping back as a loose defender in the hole in front of the giants we cannot handle ... but only in the games where there is a giant we feel our 191-193cm defenders cannot handle.

Scott has a job ahead of him!

Beekay

stinger wrote:...i'm sure grant is well aware of which posters bagged him after he got the flick and are now sucking up to him
they need look no further than your or plugger's posts within this thread for text book examples.......

StThomo wrote:
dragit wrote:Hey Grant, (not trying to give you a hard time) just wondering if you feel like some of the early contracts (bally etc) you were a part of set an unsustainable precedence of paying top dollar for our stars?

Losing BJ was disappointing, but do you think the 'Geelong' model of pay structure is the way to go? Clearly we ran out of cap space in a drastic way of the past 4-5 years...

Do you like what Pelchan is upto list-wise?
Complete rot - with respect. Our cap was in saintsational order. Our players were not paid top dollar by any means. Speak to Cooky & Bomber and they will tell u they followed our model, on field and off.
Hi mate, could be rot, no doubt, wasn't trying to be disrespectful at all… just that most of us are pretty interested in how our cap got so out of hand… the 'geelong model' is a commonly used term even if it isn't an original system…

I'm sure you would agree though that at some stage we have started paying too much to our star players? Wha happen?

Is the pelch on the right path do you think?

cheers
dragalator

saintsfreak

No disrespect intended Grant, but I'd like to know why you were particularly harsh on the Saints in the media, often being one being one of our biggest critics.

The Freak

Firstly Grant, I just wanna say that it's really appreciated that you come on here to Saintsational. I doubt that too many other/any other(?) fan forums can boast of a recent coach, Board member (bit less recent) and player (ok bit less recent again :wink: ) who has joined up and can be bothered to share, and to participate in discussion/debate with us crazed fanatics. So thank you. :D
gringo wrote:Welcome back GT. I think you are probably entitled to feel pretty hard done by from your coaching career. You came close and in the end got sacked just as you were on the cusp. History shows you went close but I still wonder sometimes if the stability had been there we wouldn't have progressed. I think you were pretty unlucky with luke Penny too, his body stands up and you may have been the greatest footy story of all time. He trained like a rolls royce just couldn't get on the park enough. Instead your remembered as a bad guy who rolled Blight with out due process.
I reckon Gringo has nailed it with the Luke Penny observation. Great recruiting get! Around mid-2003 you got him on the park, to fullback, freed Fraser to go forward... and immediately we started winning games! :D It was just so obvious even I could pick that turning point. :idea: Such a shame Luke's knee couldn't hold up. :(

Such a shame Aaron's kept him out for more than the 'two weeks'. :(
gringo wrote:I reckon you and Watters have a similar list style, he seems to be building a team able to attack from all angles. After watching some of the games you coached recently you had assembled a fantastic attack squad. We certainly had a more entertaining brand of footy under you.
I can see it too. Question Grant. Looking ahead about seven years, triple premiership coach Cuddles retires back to look after the 'troubled' youth of Rockingham or Peppermint Grove, whatever... Harves' decides not to 'pick himself', so you once again step down from your Board position and into the coach's box...

What key thing/s would you do differently?

Watching from the stands, for mine it was defence. Under you, I was always confident against weaker teams (obviously) and also against lower scoring teams (like the Swines... despite that Preliminary Final).

But teams that flooded a bit less heavily than them, hence did not have all their players tied up in their back 50, and were quick...
so often we'd dominate, they'd then start to flood, we'd kick it to them(!)
They'd bring it out, and we would not cover their loose men! Arrrrrrghhhh! So frustrating! :x

Stopping that rot was the one big game-changing improvement under Ro$$y IMHO.

(As mentioned by another poster, Aussie was a major culprit, as was Frankie Peckett... though neither were orphans on that count. I can't comment on their training, but onfield I thought that both were very lazy. Once a piece of play was done, they'd pretty much stand around c/f running to man up/fill a dangerous space/create an option... That said, I do reckon they improved on that under you.)

Was that your take also Grant? Did you feel that under you it was attack at the expense of being caught on the rebound? Or were you also trying to get across that message of blokes needing to also 'do stuff' when they don't have the ball? Really interested in your thoughts on this...
StThomo wrote:
dragit wrote:Hey Grant, (not trying to give you a hard time) just wondering if you feel like some of the early contracts (bally etc) you were a part of set an unsustainable precedence of paying top dollar for our stars?

Losing BJ was disappointing, but do you think the 'Geelong' model of pay structure is the way to go? Clearly we ran out of cap space in a drastic way of the past 4-5 years...

Do you like what Pelchan is upto list-wise?
Complete rot - with respect. Our cap was in saintsational order. Our players were not paid top dollar by any means. Speak to Cooky & Bomber and they will tell u they followed our model, on field and off.
That's really interesting to hear Grant... so we are now just working our way back to that more level distribution of player payments!?!

The 'Geelong' model was really, originally, the Saint's model !?! :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

I certainly believe that system went a long, long, long... way towards the Hillbilly's success. I base that both from external observation, and from knowing people (not the names you mentioned btw) who helped set that up for them... sadly my only contacts within any AFL club. :( Seems the Skunks and Skid Marks are aiming for at least a somewhat similar system...

(When I first heard from my friends down there how the Hillbilly's had structured, and what that meant in terms of the quality of their overall list, c/f say, our supposedly infamous 'bottom six'...
well knowing how influential Saintsational really is...
I started calling on here for our club to adopt similar...
provoked some initial 'raised eyebrows' too, but I've noticed that now virtually ever poster seems to agree...

No doubt that's why the Saints are now moving towards this... :lol:

Whoops, delusions of granduer kicking in... :oops: I need to take more of Dr Spaceman's green pills... they always do the trick. :lol: )

Back to the topic... so when and why did the pay scales at St Kilda change? Around the time those two new AFL love-children were spawned...?

What could have been, eh? Oh well, this sorta' thing seems to be our club's history... but only for just a little bit longer believe... :twisted:

So Grant, what's your opinion on any of this, and on the current recruiting direction under the Pelican et al? Appreciated. :D
SaintPav wrote:Is it just me or is all this all just a bit NQR?
No it's not just you Pav... clearly something a bit NQR...

this thread got well into page six before any posters started potting each other... :shock:

Hi Thommo
Welcome back!

I've been following the Saints since the late sixties and I want to say that my favourite time of all was 2004 during the "10 in a row".
It felt so good to go along to games knowing we were going to win and play brilliantly.
You had put together a precocious young team with a mix of experienced players that simply played exhilarating, exciting football.
It was an absolute joy to watch and I thank you for that.

I don't know what you said to upset the Injury Gods (did you tell them a few home truths like you did the umpires?) but they sure made certain that the dreams we had back then were never realised!
Like man on the moon and the Jennifer Hawkins wardrobe malfunction I will always remember the moment when I heard you had been sacked. I was riding with my youngest son on the way home from primary school when a neighbour driving the other way honked and yelled out "They've sacked Thommo!". From there it was straight home and about 10 hours on SaintSational looking for answers and trying to come to grips with it.

I eventually warmed to Lyin because we won games but it was never the same.
We ground out wins but going to the footy felt more like going to the dentist. The enjoyment of the game was missing though it obviously felt good to win games.

I always watched Footy Confidential to get your take on issues where you would tell it like it is, as opposed to the "party line" from Garry Lyon, the slander from Hutchy and the inane mindless burbling from Carro. Certainly there is now no reason to watch the show next year.

I hope you (and your son?) will post regularly on this forum as we would love to hear your take on the issues of the day as well as answering all those questions about what really happened back then when we nearly had it all.
Looking forward to it.

De je Ve

begining to feel like new years eve all over again

saintsfreak

Enrico_Misso wrote:Hi Thommo
Welcome back!

I've been following the Saints since the late sixties and I want to say that my favourite time of all was 2004 during the "10 in a row".
It felt so good to go along to games knowing we were going to win and play brilliantly.
You had put together a precocious young team with a mix of experienced players that simply played exhilarating, exciting football.

I don't know what you said to upset the Injury Gods (did you tell them a few home truths like you did the umpires?) but they sure made certain that the dreams we had back then were never realised!
Like man on the moon and the Jennifer Hawkins wardrobe malfunction I will always remember the moment when I heard you had been sacked. I was riding with my youngest son on the way home from primary school when a neighbour driving the other way honked and yelled out "They've sacked Thommo!". From there it was straight home and about 10 hours on SaintSational looking for answers and trying to come to grips with it.

We ground out wins but going to the footy felt more like going to the dentist. The enjoyment of the game was missing though it obviously felt good to win games.

I always watched Footy Confidential to get your take on issues where you would tell it like it is, as opposed to the "party line" from Garry Lyon, the slander from Hutchy and the inane mindless burbling from Carro. Certainly there is now no reason to watch the show next year.

I hope you (and your son?) will post regularly on this forum as we would love to hear your take on the issues of the day as well as answering all those questions about what really happened back then when we nearly had it all.
Looking forward to it.
Sorry, but I have to interject here. I agree that it's great to have someone that has been involved with the club (a former coach no less) on the forum, but sucking up to this magnitude is just embarrassing. I don't know about you, but I loved every minute of 2009 (up until the grand final). Seeing us dominate teams week in, week out for 19 games in a row was just amazing. In 2009 we didn't play boringly, we choked the life out of teams and we looked unstoppable. The thriller against Geelong in round 14 is probably the best game I've seen in my life, and the atmosphere at the Dome that night was incredible. I have no idea how you couldn't have enjoyed watching us when we were playing like that, 2011 you can mount a case for, but at the top of our game under Lyon we were amazing.

The Freak
hungry for a premiership

Wow! This site just got a whole lot more interesting!! - unless this mindless grovelling continues, that's drivel like the rest!

I really appreciate that you'd come on here Thommo and talk to us fans, and seeing as though your here, and I have a chance to ask you something, i'd like to ask you about this:

The 2005 prelim vs Sydney at the MCG -

It will have to go down as the most gut-wrenching loss I've ever experienced, even worse than the GF's, because at least making a GF was something. Better to make a GF and lose it than not make one at all...

I remember seeing with my own eyes Barry Hall punch Goose Mcguire in the guts inside forward 50 when the ball was on the other side of the ground. Goose lay there for two minutes writhing in pain with Hall all alone inside 50 before the ball finally came in and he marked, unopposed, and goaled. Then at the tribunal everyone at the high levels wanted Hall to get off, which he did, and held the cup aloft a week later in a game they wouldnt have won without him.

I remember that horrible final qaurter, when we crumbled and were smashed asunder by that Sydney tidal wave. The sadness in all the saints fans around me as we saw it coming and could do nothing but watch as our boys were crushed. The desolation as I walked away from the G with Sydney fans screaming "suck s*** stkilda!" from car windows.

Now, whilst I have to say that those times you brought us in '04-'05 were amazing times, times when we would mercilessly smash the likes of Carlton and Essendon, regularly kicking cricket scores and breaking all kinds of club records and breaking off the shackles of the past, and I thank you from the bottom of my heart for those great things you did for the club - I have never questioned your loyalty for the saints - it has to be said, that I was led to believe that ultimately, it was your fault that that brilliant team comprising arguably the best list this club has ever compiled failed to even make a GF, that ultimately, the buck for injuries and player fatigue that caused that awful final quarter collapse on that night in '05 stopped with you, and it was this below-standard player management and coaching expenditure - of which we were in the bottom 4 of the comp, from memory - that was the reason you were deemed unfit to coach. What do you say to that?

Also, the spat you had with Butters was ugly to watch, and it hurt me as a saints fan to see you, our ex-coach who I was sure loved the club as I do, go on to sue the club for hundreds of thousands of dollars. Did you really have the clubs best interests at heart when you did this?
Last edited by hungry for a premiership on Sun 09 Dec 2012 12:22am, edited 5 times in total.

"Too big, too strong, too whatever."

saintsfreak wrote:
Welcome back!

Looking forward to it.
Sorry, but I have to interject here. I agree that it's great to have someone that has been involved with the club (a former coach no less) on the forum, but sucking up to this magnitude is just embarrassing. I don't know about you, but I loved every minute of 2009 (up until the grand final). Seeing us dominate teams week in, week out for 19 games in a row was just amazing. In 2009 we didn't play boringly, we choked the life out of teams and we looked unstoppable. The thriller against Geelong in round 14 is probably the best game I've seen in my life, and the atmosphere at the Dome that night was incredible. I have no idea how you couldn't have enjoyed watching us when we were playing like that, 2011 you can mount a case for, but at the top of our game under Lyon we were amazing.
The thing about 2009 though is once we lost to the Bummers, we then lost to North, we just beat Melbourne and that game is part of the tanking investigation and then Roo got us over the line in the finals leading up to the Grand Final, mind you we were extremely lucky to beat the dogs in the prelim, then in the Big dance, we weren't up to it...Lyin's band of role players got found out, as they did in 2010, when the role players struggled to play their role in 2011, Lyin knew he didn't have the players to re-invigorate the list so he bailed.....Let's not cloud facts with romanticism.....

saintsfreak wrote:
Welcome back!

Looking forward to it.
Yep, fair post.

Yaysaints

Hi thommo
I loved the saints style of play when u were coach.
I do blame u for introducing " corporate speak " to afl. Following the process , good governance etc
Were u surprised bj left ?

bobmurray wrote:
saintsfreak wrote:
Welcome back!

Looking forward to it.
The thing about 2009 though is once we lost to the Bummers, we then lost to North, we just beat Melbourne and that game is part of the tanking investigation and then Roo got us over the line in the finals leading up to the Grand Final, mind you we were extremely lucky to beat the dogs in the prelim, then in the Big dance, we weren't up to it...Lyin's band of role players got found out, as they did in 2010, when the role players struggled to play their role in 2011, Lyin knew he didn't have the players to re-invigorate the list so he bailed.....Let's not cloud facts with romanticism.....
OMG.

hungry for a premiership

bobmurray wrote: The thing about 2009 though is once we lost to the Bummers, we then lost to North, we just beat Melbourne and that game is part of the tanking investigation and then Roo got us over the line in the finals leading up to the Grand Final, mind you we were extremely lucky to beat the dogs in the prelim, then in the Big dance, we weren't up to it...Lyin's band of role players got found out, as they did in 2010, when the role players struggled to play their role in 2011, Lyin knew he didn't have the players to re-invigorate the list so he bailed.....Let's not cloud facts with romanticism.....

Ok, lets not:

RL:
Year Team Games Coached Wins Losses Draws Win %
2007 St Kilda Saints 22 11 10 1 50.0%
2008 St Kilda Saints 25 14 11 0 56.0%
2009 St Kilda Saints 25 22 3 0 88.0%
2010 St Kilda Saints 26 17 7 2 65.4%
2011 St Kilda Saints 23 12 10 1 52.2%

Total winning percentage - 62.8%

GT
2001 St Kilda Saints 7 1 6 0 14.3%
2002 St Kilda Saints 22 5 16 1 22.7%
2003 St Kilda Saints 22 11 11 0 50.0%
2004 St Kilda Saints 25 17 8 0 68.0%
2005 St Kilda Saints 24 15 9 0 62.5%
2006 St Kilda Saints 23 14 9 0 60.9%

Total winning percentage - 51.2%

We seldom put away sides under Lyin.
We would dominate for 3 and a half quarters but only be leading 70 -45.
It meant a game was never safe till late in the last quarter.

Remember the Geelong game (the "Blake" game) where we dominated them till well into the third quarter keeping them to a solitary goal.
Then they scored 3 goals in as many minutes and it was game on because we didn't ever capitalise on our domination.
We lost by a point!
Under Thommo we would have been 10 goals in front with such domination and the game "won".

hungry for a premiership wrote: RL:

GT

GT's window only opened in 2004.
Anything over 60% is outstanding.
More so if you have key player injuries.

No one is denying that Lyin came up with a smart gameplan in 2009 (88.0%) that had the competition bamboozled for a year and nearly (should of) won us a flag.
But give me a GT 60% anytime over a RL 60% - entertaining vs excruciating.

bobmurray wrote: The thing about 2009 though is once we lost to the Bummers, we then lost to North, we just beat Melbourne and that game is part of the tanking investigation and then Roo got us over the line in the finals leading up to the Grand Final, mind you we were extremely lucky to beat the dogs in the prelim, then in the Big dance, we weren't up to it...Lyin's band of role players got found out, as they did in 2010, when the role players struggled to play their role in 2011, Lyin knew he didn't have the players to re-invigorate the list so he bailed.....Let's not cloud facts with romanticism.....
OMG.

hungry for a premiership

Enrico_Misso wrote:
hungry for a premiership wrote: RL:

GT

GT's window only opened in 2004.
Anything over 60% is outstanding.
More so if you have key player injuries.

No one is denying that Lyin came up with a smart gameplan in 2009 (88.0%) that had the competition bamboozled for a year and nearly (should of) won us a flag.
But give me a GT 60% anytime over a RL 60% - entertaining vs excruciating.

The cloud of romanticism again rears its ugly head...

I know how to balance this thread out a bit...

Someone bump the thread when GT bagged Milney ;)

bobmurray wrote:
OMG.
Not one of your finer posts and that is being kind.

beating essendon early in 04 moved our 'headspace' up a notch.
... we actually believed in ourselves after that game.
(that was the real start of the roll , imo)

and agreed.
... we pinched that prelim against the doggies.

SuNSoN wrote:and agreed.
... we pinched that prelim against the doggies.
too bad we can't pinch a premiership

Enrico_Misso wrote: GT's window only opened in 2004..
Correct, and his winning record after that was superior to Lyon's.

Until 2004 we'd been in rebuilding mode, stocking up on and developing future stars.

GT would have brought home the bacon, IMO, and the president at the time erred in sacking him.

Another thing, you'll never see the mercenary Lyin' on here. GT, by contrast, is and always has been a Saints man.

Welcome back.

Enrico_Misso wrote: GT's window only opened in 2004..
Correct, and his winning record after that was superior to Lyon's.

Until 2004 we'd been in rebuilding mode, stocking up on and developing future stars.

GT would have brought home the bacon, IMO, and the president at the time erred in sacking him.

Another thing, you'll never see the mercenary Lyin' on here. GT, by contrast, is and always has been a Saints man.

Welcome back.