Gaff

Re: Gaff

Devilhead wrote: Tue 07 Aug 2018 9:59pm West Coast v Saints round after Gaff suspension ends - lock it in
And I hope he gets 30 touches and 2 goals against his old club.

KingSaint

desertsaint wrote: Tue 07 Aug 2018 9:48pm ouch. another media driven suspension. they get them off when it suits, they get their scapegoats when it suits.
afl have to back it up now and start suspending any punch. and our game grows more vanilla. just a bunch of prima donna professionals turning up at the office soon. next it be red cards, then the divers will come out to play, we'll have video reviews out of our arse, to fit them in the game time will shorten, may as well be watching soccer.
You've got to be joking...right??? An 18 year old kid gets his jaw broken by a full on swinging punch and it' s media driven???

Gaff had a brain fade...did something unbelievably stupid...deserves at least 8 weeks.

Got to laugh at the media bloodhounds getting angry about Gaff exiting the backdoor at Tullamarine

KingSaint wrote: Tue 07 Aug 2018 10:15pm
desertsaint wrote: Tue 07 Aug 2018 9:48pm ouch. another media driven suspension. they get them off when it suits, they get their scapegoats when it suits.
afl have to back it up now and start suspending any punch. and our game grows more vanilla. just a bunch of prima donna professionals turning up at the office soon. next it be red cards, then the divers will come out to play, we'll have video reviews out of our arse, to fit them in the game time will shorten, may as well be watching soccer.
You've got to be joking...right??? An 18 year old kid gets his jaw broken by a full on swinging punch and it' s media driven???

Gaff had a brain fade...did something unbelievably stupid...deserves at least 8 weeks.
If you class that as a full-on punch, you know very little about the fight game!!!!!

I'd call that a 'Love Tap'!!!!!

stonecold wrote: Tue 07 Aug 2018 10:54pm

If you class that as a full-on punch, you know very little about the fight game!!!!!

You absolute idiot! We’re talking about footy, not the fight game, whatever that is!

Bernard Shakey wrote: Tue 07 Aug 2018 10:58pm

You absolute idiot! We’re talking about footy, not the fight game, whatever that is!
Love Tap is a football term, uneducated flog!!!!!

Reckon this is a very tenuous assertion. When was the last time a bloke had his jaw broken, teeth dislodged requiring substantial dental surgery, season ended and to be fed through a tube for a period of time as a result of a punch during an AFL game?
Cameron on Harris Andrews was the most recent other significant suspension and that was an act in a contest for the footy. This was off the ball, unarguably deliberate and the consequences substantial. He’s lucky to only get 8.
Last edited by st.byron on Tue 07 Aug 2018 11:16pm, edited 1 time in total.

Back to good ole 60’s hard man paradigm eh. That’s true masculinity for ya. Hard shells with a whiff of impending violence...... What’s a few loose teeth and a little broken bone...Bloody Jellydicks.....it wasn’t like that when I played and I played at the highest level, so I’m qualified to comment.

Any wonder your not a Mod anymore, wrong temperament, way too aggressive!!!!!

Didn't play in the 60's, that would give me a long career given I still play, your so far off the mark and really know nothing!!!!!

Still not worth 12 weeks IMO!!!!!

You’re genuinely a dead set moron. Fight game? FFS - Gaff was playing at Optus Stadium and not MGM Grand. He’s also not a registered boxer (unless of course you know better?).

Do you also want to put 4 x !!!! after your reply like you do after every sentence?

Seeing as you you know so much about the “fight game” - how ‘bout you leave the forum; turn your computer off; and go give yourself an uppercut.

HardSaint

saynta wrote: Mon 06 Aug 2018 7:08pm

Gaff evidently played golf with both brothers last week.
there'll be no more golf, i'd say

Saintmatt wrote: Tue 07 Aug 2018 11:45pm

You’re genuinely a dead set moron. Fight game? FFS - Gaff was playing at Optus Stadium and not MGM Grand. He’s also not a registered boxer (unless of course you know better?).

Do you also want to put 4 x !!!! after your reply like you do after every sentence?

Seeing as you you know so much about the “fight game” - how ‘bout you leave the forum; turn your computer off; and go give yourself an uppercut.
Settle down there tiger, most punches, kicks etc names originate from the 'fight game', not the footy field, thus the quote reference is appropriate!!!!!

And it's 5 of these !!!!! not 4 of these !!!!

Get your facts right before you start throwing insults around, your 'More Ron' then me!!!!!

And dead set, who the f*** uses Computers these days?????

Dinosaurs, maybe!!!!!

HardSaint

no way he'll stay at west coast and no way will the Brayshaw bit let him go to Melbourne

I'll take him, especially now his asking price has dropped

could do with someone harder than the squib brigade at the moment too

FFS the moralisation by St Kilda people when some of our most loved were Bakes, Carl, Cowboy, Spud, Eric Guy
we stuck fat with Jimmy O'Dea, protected him and refused to judge a guy by a really unfortunate slip of a moment

Gaff - get him in the boat

HardSaint wrote: Wed 08 Aug 2018 12:02am no way he'll stay at west coast and no way will the Brayshaw bit let him go to Melbourne

I'll take him, especially now his asking price has dropped

could do with someone harder than the squib brigade at the moment too

FFS the moralisation by St Kilda people when some of our most loved were Bakes, Carl, Cowboy, Spud, Eric Guy
we stuck fat with Jimmy O'Dea, protected him and refused to judge a guy by a really unfortunate slip of a moment

Gaff - get him in the boat
#bingo!

David-Lee

parkeysainter wrote: Wed 01 Aug 2018 3:03pm
Joffa Burns wrote: Wed 01 Aug 2018 3:02pm
parkeysainter wrote: Tue 31 Jul 2018 9:48pm Don't think Gaff is a chance...but Hannerbrey maybe. Few rumours floating around about him. Not sure if the Saints are keen, but IMO he would be a good pickup.
Lol you are funny parkey.

You hear something on the radio or read an article then post on here like you have inside information.

I’d bet we haven’t even spoken to Hannerberry or his manager but now we are a chance because of an article in the HS yesterday suggested we should target him.

Keep up the good work parkey, I enjoy your posts.
Read my post properly moron.

Plus I don't read any printed papers or have a HS subscription so I have no idea what article you're talking about.

<warning for abuse>
Parkey, Um late to the convo so I missed the abuse was it purely sexual in nature or was intelligence called in for an examination?
I truly hope more if this good natured banter shall persist.

David-Lee

stonecold wrote: Tue 07 Aug 2018 11:56pm
Saintmatt wrote: Tue 07 Aug 2018 11:45pm

Settle down there tiger, most punches, kicks etc names originate from the 'fight game', not the footy field, thus the quote reference is appropriate!!!!!

And it's 5 of these !!!!! not 4 of these !!!!

Get your facts right before you start throwing insults around, your 'More Ron' then me!!!!!
I agree stone cold you are d!ck. Oh, wait, I'm agreeing with you on this one. Quite, indeed and thusly. The Gaff swing was not a great punch. I've watched it repeatedly- hes not flat footed, nor is he half stance with his power leg driving the punch in through the face.
FfS Watch it. Hes almost leaning to far, reaching - in a fight with a decent set of hands he opens up himself to get pummeled.

I reckon he was doing exactly as stated - for once a story lines up . Hes frustrated, he leans in off balance bringing his basic body weight forward and swing pretty much in the general upper chest area....a lad 3 inches taller gets a chest punch, a lad stepping back gets nothing, a lad coming in gets a chin tap.

I'm not saying Bradshaw has s glass chin. But I've opened my fat smart ass mouth and had it smacked hard repeatedly and never lost teeth nor broke my jaw.

I'm saying I reckon Gaff was off balance which creating his body weight to carry forward- in a set punch the power comes up dynamically through the feet driving the shoulder. This was a lunge and they can do damage as it equal to crashing into him like a hard shirt front.

But a calculated punch to jaw? Bull sh!t.

HardSaint wrote: Tue 07 Aug 2018 11:49pm
saynta wrote: Mon 06 Aug 2018 7:08pm

Gaff evidently played golf with both brothers last week.
there'll be no more golf, i'd say
That by all accounts was a big furphy - they didn’t play golf. Gaff & Andrew Brashwaw have never met! The Eagles President was given the wrong info. Red faces all around me thinks. That is what all the media are saying here in Perth.

Its a weird place Australia these days.

An gun ex footballer like Shannon Grant beats the crap out of his ex missus 3 times and gets off his original jail time through an appeal.

Then we have a footy player escorted through the shady back doors of Tullamarine for his own protection because he smacked a kid on a footy field in Perth.

Lastly, you have some bloke (that has killed another man) playing footy on Saturdays whilst serving time in prison and he too breaks a kids jaw.

Bizarre weekend. You couldn't think this stuff up to write a book about it.

8 weeks. Did Gaff make a Gaff.
He will have to wait until round 3 or 4 in 2018 before playing his first game for the Saints.

What's the chance Andrew Breakjaw will want to come back home to Vic after his contract expires?

parkeysainter wrote: Wed 08 Aug 2018 1:05am Its a weird place Australia these days.

An gun ex footballer like Shannon Grant beats the crap out of his ex missus 3 times and gets off his original jail time through an appeal.

Then we have a footy player escorted through the shady back doors of Tullamarine for his own protection because he smacked a kid on a footy field in Perth.

Lastly, you have some bloke (that has killed another man) playing footy on Saturdays whilst serving time in prison and he too breaks a kids jaw.

Bizarre weekend. You couldn't think this stuff up to write a book about it.
I think you have two cases mixed into one in the prisoner reference.

1. Guy on bail with priors breaks kids jaw in match.

2. Convicted killer on day release playing country footy.

Two stories are unrelated.

Trial by Twitter. A race to see who can become the most outraged.

Not condoning what he did, but eight weeks seems excessive for a 180-game first offender. I’d have thought six down to five was enough.

What’s the penalty for someone with priors? Life? Death?

I’d welcome him to our club, such as it is. Get him.
Last edited by bigcarl on Wed 08 Aug 2018 10:04am, edited 2 times in total.

bigcarl wrote: Wed 08 Aug 2018 9:53am Trial by Twitter. A race to see who can become the most outraged.

Not condoning what he did, but eight weeks seems excessive for a 180-game first offender.

Rubbish. If he did that outside a nightclub, regardless of first offender he'd be in big trouble. He did it in front of thousands of people, including kids, on the big stage.

Every offender is a first offender at one point in time. The people invoking the "good bloke" argument are the ill-informed ones.

shrodes wrote: Wed 08 Aug 2018 9:56am
bigcarl wrote: Wed 08 Aug 2018 9:53am Trial by Twitter. A race to see who can become the most outraged.

Not condoning what he did, but eight weeks seems excessive for a 180-game first offender.

Rubbish. If he did that outside a nightclub, regardless of first offender he'd be in big trouble. He did it in front of thousands of people, including kids, on the big stage.

Every offender is a first offender at one point in time. The people invoking the "good bloke" argument are the ill-informed ones.
If it was outside a night club, he'd claim to be intoxicated or drug affected and would receive leniency, be first offence or not!!!!!

Again, not condoning Gaff's actions what so ever, however it is clear that the intent was to punch him in the chest, which is done several times per game!!!!!

As Neil Cordy has stated, it's a result of the AFL allowing players to punch in the chest/stomach area and only been fined for such actions!!!!!

First Offenders with Long, Clean records should be given some credit, your talking about a guy the has probably played 15+ of footy without any previous issues!!!!!

Not someone just starting in the game and committing a 'first offence', that's the difference!!!!!

Andrew Gaff is not a thug, just made a mistake that any of our players could make with a spilt second decision!!!!!

I think some struggle to understand how little time players have to make decisions!!!!!

Just my opinion, don't shoot me for it!!!!! ;)