Send your message of condolence to Ross Lyin.

Re: Send your message of condolence to Ross Lyin.

The Recruit wrote:i Would NOT want ross to coach the saints. Not sure he can evolve his coaching to win a GF and rebuild a list same goes for Paul Roos?? I will enjoy Ross losing finals for a few years yet as a mercenary money hungry Judas. GWS will be his next home after all the hard work is done at that club....then to the blues after t Brendan has given his all to build a list. He is a bad human and a terrible football person....a man who doesn't care about his dog acts......
As far as we know Ross never killed anyone.

Are you talking about someone else, perhaps?

Would Freo have done much better under another coach? Say Chris Scott.

I doubt it.

Dr Spaceman wrote:@Thomo_Grant: It's embarrassing watching Roos vindicating Dockers style & putting it down to bad luck. 5 major finals (4GF's) scoring 52-68pts. Get real.

@Thomo_Grant: Style that keeps game close & relies on luck, then when you don't get it you whinge about it. Sick of hearing about Milney's unlucky bounce

Could not agree more with GT on this one.

Lyon's strategy is applauded for ensuring that you're always still in the game. Which is true - however the opposition is always still in the game too!

I've used this analogy before, but it's like Grand Slam tennis. A game style of just getting the ball back will consistently get you through the early rounds and if you're really good at it - even into the odd final. But to win Grand Slams, you need to hit winners. Just getting the ball back in a final, isn't enough

The footy is the same. You need to WIN the grand final. You can't just hang in there and wait for your opponent to make unforced errors. It just doesn't work.

The other thing to remember, is that the Nick Subans and DeBoers of the world aren't something poor Ross has to deal with - they are hand picked by him and get a game each week ahead of other guys because Lyon rates them to carry out his game plan.

McQualter, Eddy and Zac were the same. Luke Ball warns the bench after 20 touches in a half, whilst McQualter plays a defensive role and we can't kick a score more than 68 points - and we wonder why.

Fyfe said in his speech last night that Suban and DeBoer are there to play a role which opens it up for him. So those feeling sorry for poor Ross having a weak 'bottom 6' need to realise that his bottom 6 are hand picked by him ahead of other, better foitballers.

Lyon has managed to create this narrative that he cops dud lists and turns them into great teams. Its rubbish.

Johnny Member wrote:
Dr Spaceman wrote:@Thomo_Grant: It's embarrassing watching Roos vindicating Dockers style & putting it down to bad luck. 5 major finals (4GF's) scoring 52-68pts. Get real.

@Thomo_Grant: Style that keeps game close & relies on luck, then when you don't get it you whinge about it. Sick of hearing about Milney's unlucky bounce

Lyon's strategy is applauded for ensuring that you're always still in the game. Which is true - however the opposition is always still in the game too!

I've used this analogy before, but it's like Grand Slam tennis. A game style of just getting the ball back will consistently get you through the early rounds and if you're really good at it - even into the odd final. But to win Grand Slams, you need to hit winners. Just getting the ball back in a final, isn't enough

The footy is the same. You need to WIN the grand final. You can't just hang in there and wait for your opponent to make unforced errors. It just doesn't work.
Yeah but he has all his players believing in it. Basically the best way to sum up Lyon's game plan is to call it stodgy.
It's a high possession keepings off style that will go horribly wrong when the link in the chain is broken. The only side who could pull that game plan off would be Hawthorn as they have elite foot skills. There is no place in the Freo football club for guys like Dawson and DeBoer who cough it up and as long as they are there, the game plan will ultimately fail.

Wasn't gt unlucky with injury?

Wasn't it unlucky timing for gehrig to kick his 100th?

Alas gt never made a grand final in which to test his luck.

Lyon knows what he needs but not many players want to go to Fremantle. That's also a downfall.

I find it laughable people comparing the current Freo gumbies with our 09 team. We had flair and attacking nous as well as a smothering defence. Show me Freo's equivalent of BJ, Dal and Grammie from that team?

If the 09 team as it was that year was transposed onto this and the last two seasons, we go through undefeated and win by 10 goals in the GF. It's just a pity we had to cop Geelong and then a rejuvenated Filth in that mini era.

Pavlich
Sandilands (AA last year)
Mundy (AA this year)
Barlow
Hill (AA Squad this year)
Neale (AA Squad this year)
McPharlin (AA 2012)
Ballantyne(AA last year)
Fyfe (AA this year)
Walters (2013 AA Squad)
Mayne (2013 AA Squad)
Johnson (2013 AA)
Ibbotson (AA Squad this year)
Crowley
Pearce

I mean fair dinkum, how many top shelf players do you need before the 'poor Ross has had to deal with weak lists' myth is put to bed?

stevie wrote:I find it laughable people comparing the current Freo gumbies with our 09 team. We had flair and attacking nous as well as a smothering defence. Show me Freo's equivalent of BJ, Dal and Grammie from that team?

If the 09 team as it was that year was transposed onto this and the last two seasons, we go through undefeated and win by 10 goals in the GF. It's just a pity we had to cop Geelong and then a rejuvenated Filth in that mini era.

I'd argue that the attacking flair and nous was coached out of us. The same as has happened at Fremantle.

magnifisaint wrote:Lyon knows what he needs but not many players want to go to Fremantle. That's also a downfall.

He needs goals. And it's not cattle that's the cause.

He's had Riewoldt and Milne in AA form and 50 goals from Kosi, he's had Pavlich and Ballantyne in AA form and Mayne in the AA Squad and nearly 50 goals from Walters in 2013 - but still can't score over 70 points against good teams in finals.

What more could he possible want??

Johnny Member wrote:Pavlich
Mundy (AA this year)
Barlow
McPharlin (AA 2012)
Ballantyne(AA last year)
Fyfe (AA this year)
Walters (2013 AA Squad)
Mayne (2013 AA Squad)
Johnson (2013 AA)
Crowley
Pearce

I mean fair dinkum, how many top shelf players do you need before the 'poor Ross has had to deal with weak lists' myth is put to bed?
Apart from Pav, Sandilands and Fyfe, hardly a bunch of superstars.

magnifisaint wrote:
Johnny Member wrote:

Yeah but he has all his players believing in it. Basically the best way to sum up Lyon's game plan is to call it stodgy.
It's a high possession keepings off style that will go horribly wrong when the link in the chain is broken. The only side who could pull that game plan off would be Hawthorn as they have elite foot skills. There is no place in the Freo football club for guys like Dawson and DeBoer who cough it up and as long as they are there, the game plan will ultimately fail.
Classic example of this was round 1 2011 playing Geelong.
20 minutes into the 3rd quarter we had restricted them to just ONE goal.
The problem was, despite dominating play we had only scored FOUR goals.
From memory I think Kosi ran into an open goal and missed.
Then we had a 5 minute period where we lost our structure.
Bang bang bang - and suddenly Geelong were within a couple of points.

Then with less than a minute to go in the last quarter we had still only scored six goals to Geelong's five.
Then a clanger kick-in from a point turned it over to Geelong who dobbed a goal to win by a point.

Illustrates Thommo's point perfectly.
Lyin's style always keeps the opposition in with a sniff.

I love his use of selective statistics. What's a major final? Any Grand Final plus any other final I want to add to make the numbers look worse.

Lyon teams also scored 88 and 99 points in Prelim Finals.

How far ahead do you have to get these days so that the opposition are no longer in with a 'sniff'?

If we could somehow relive an era with the variables of fate reset, I'd feel much more comfortable with our chances choosing the Lyon era over the GT era. By a mile.

ripplug66

markp wrote:If we could somehow relive an era with the variables of fate reset, I'd feel much more comfortable with our chances choosing the Lyon era over the GT era. By a mile.

The difference is GT never left us. If you leave our club even if its partly our fault then you can become scum and lose all ability.

No Sandi no Fyfe

No feel

Johnny Member wrote:Pavlich
Mundy (AA this year)
Barlow
McPharlin (AA 2012)
Ballantyne(AA last year)
Fyfe (AA this year)
Walters (2013 AA Squad)
Mayne (2013 AA Squad)
Johnson (2013 AA)
Crowley
Pearce

Apart from Pav, Sandilands and Fyfe, hardly a bunch of superstars.

They've all been voted by the experts as being in the top 40 players or higher in the comp over a 3 year period. How much better than that do you want??

ripplug66 wrote:
markp wrote:If we could somehow relive an era with the variables of fate reset, I'd feel much more comfortable with our chances choosing the Lyon era over the GT era. By a mile.

The difference is GT never left us. If you leave our club even if its partly our fault then you can become scum and lose all ability.
I agree with Mark on this. How many GF'S did Thomas get us into?

I like Ross.

ripplug66 wrote:

One and he has a 100% record.

Lyon is an exceptional coach.

But it would appear that he is destined to never win the big one.

Yet to see him do anything to do any form of rebuild.

I agree with GT on this one.

So f****** sick of Milney's bounce.

Oh...and Lyon can go suck it.

Maybe GT and RL will bump into each other walking along the mornington foreshore this GF day, while listening to their iPods and wondering what might have been.

I reckon RL would be an Air Supply fan, and GT would be blasting The Offspring or Limp Bizkit.

ripplug66 wrote:

One and he has a 100% record.
PH that's right the Wizzy Wok