Thomo on Saints TV Now - Live Stream

Re: Thomo on Saints TV Now - Live Stream

Vazelos wrote: Sun 30 Apr 2023 10:09pm
Teflon wrote: Tue 25 Apr 2023 9:11pm
samuraisaint wrote: Tue 25 Apr 2023 9:08pm Saints won more games than any other team between 2004-6.
I like GT. I think he was a great coach.
I disagree and so do ex assistant coaches who knew and told me “he **** your club”
I think his ego cost us flags with that list
How would they have gone with Lyon in charge …
Couldn’t move Grant on though ….even though he was meant to be caretaker????
Egotist
Well said Teflon he is a stain on our history he cost us 2 flags for placing his ego ahead of the club and using his influence on a cowboy president and club to become coach when he had no right to be.
Bang on Vaz
All these apologist flogging themselves stupid over a 10 game streak DVD that other clubs laughed at as for..
This cretin pillaged the club when we had the list to seriously contend
He was CARE TAKER and then in pure Putin style anointed himself the most credentialed candidate - without a friggen process??? The guy had only coached bush footy at senior level and after he was sacked…..how many AFL clubs come knocking on his door???
Utter charlatan
The guilt that Rod Butters has is two fold:
1. Too dumb and weak to insist the club run a proper process
2. Absolutely stupid for loaning this stain $1m …..as a mate …this guy has no mates but his ego …
Anyway, all the GT lovers can bang on and whip themselves into a frenzy …..all the while sitting back now lauding how great we currently are….cause we have a REAL coach in charge

saynta wrote: Sun 30 Apr 2023 7:23pm Oh go away and stop trying to have the last word. Very childish but only to be expected from you. Par for the course.

Why are you such an angry little person. What, nobody loves you? Understandable of course.

You have been stalking me for over a decade. Pretty boring really.
It’s kinda creepy that you start borrowing my lines and attempt to reverse engineer yourself as some sort of victim
The evidence is in the thread you silly git
You weighed in on a conversation I had with Martin and played the man
Don’t start pretending you’re the victim you clown
Mods need to shut you down as you’ve been getting away with for way too long

Trev from the Bush wrote: Sun 30 Apr 2023 7:51pm
Teflon wrote: Sun 30 Apr 2023 3:01pm
Trev from the Bush wrote: Thu 27 Apr 2023 9:18am
Teflon wrote: Thu 27 Apr 2023 8:38am
Trev from the Bush wrote: Wed 26 Apr 2023 12:07am 23 posts, 8 from Teflon.

It seems he doesn't like GT. Threads like this are like krill for a hungry whale, such in eveything and blow what you don't want out.
1 post from blowhard Trevor.
I know who the whale is.
Krill sandwich??
Make that 9.

Centre of attention.
And Zero from Trevor talking footy
Slow news day in the bush Trevor?
Grab another can head out the shed she’ll be right mate
I've just been out shooting vermin. How many vitriol laden comments can one troll make about a former coach? You seem to have the gold medal in your grasp.
Still not one iota of footy comments from Trevor …just more playing the man
Try muster a footy opinion Trevor …give it a go
Rabbit stew again tonight ?

The G Train Legacy

B.M wrote: Wed 26 Apr 2023 12:29pm CQ

You can down play Daicos vs us all you want - from your pov

Fact is
He doesn’t dominate they don’t win

Ross knows that - which is why he gave him 5 votes

He was clearly best on ground - blind Freddy would know that!!!
Darcy Moore had far more to do with Collingwood beating us than Daicos.

Having someone running around with Daicos would have meant adjustments to our system and structures. So you could easily have had a situation whereby Daicos was curtailed, yet our system was compromised and we suffered a heavier defeat.

Some here have suggested Ross admitted he stuffed up by not putting work into Daicos. Well, he didn't really, pay attention to his specific words.

I enjoy following keyboard warriors devoting their waking hours to fill the void left by the likes of Sunny Ernie on this site. It's not as enjoyable as watching the Saints play but there is certainly some reward for reading the thoughts of wet blankets masquerading as St Kilda supporters. Those who seek your opinion only to tear you down, such pitiful beings.

Saints58

Teflon wrote: Sun 30 Apr 2023 4:05pm
B.M wrote: Sun 30 Apr 2023 3:30pm What was GT going to do about

Goose’s broken leg
Roo’s Broken Collarbone
Watts broken ankle
Hayes ACL
Hamill torn cartilage
Penny - degenerative hip
Brooks ACL
Kosi - Concussion/Torn quad/Bulging disc

Should I keep going??

Coaches don’t control injuries

Otherwise it’d be Lyons fault we have 14 injured right now

Injuries come down to luck really in AFL - it’s a ballistic, contact, 360 degree sport
Impact and chronic injuries occur to all elite athletes
Is it L
Oh so now ALL our injury worries under Thomas were collision solely????
This narrative re-write gets better by the minute
How about the spate of soft tissue injuries such as Harvey’s hammies ?? Or flogging a young Ball while he had OP???
Try again
FACT he did not invest at all in improving our sports science/injury management and the twit paid the price
Too much focus on “moulding young men in his image” and not enough about running an elite football club (thought it was Warrnambool the fwit)
When HE ran the the joint

The injury list of the players was long and as we did everything on the cheap GT had about 3 jobs at the club, we got a outside Physio a mate of mine from school great bloke lived around the corner from me but with recuring soft tissue injury's maybe we go somewhere else as my mate didn't really help but maybe he was the cheapest around.

thats why he had three jobs wasn't it ?

the other chief were about paying down the debt
and keeping the Entity afloat longterm

The G Train Legacy wrote: Mon 01 May 2023 10:43am

Fact is

Having someone running around with Daicos would have meant adjustments to our system and structures. So you could easily have had a situation whereby Daicos was curtailed, yet our system was compromised and we suffered a heavier defeat.

Some here have suggested Ross admitted he stuffed up by not putting work into Daicos. Well, he didn't really, pay attention to his specific words.
Lyon was always good at words!
Like how he FORGOT Luke Ball on the pine in a GF!

Trev from the Bush wrote: Mon 01 May 2023 3:20pm I enjoy following keyboard warriors devoting their waking hours to fill the void left by the likes of Sunny Ernie on this site. It's not as enjoyable as watching the Saints play but there is certainly some reward for reading the thoughts of wet blankets masquerading as St Kilda supporters. Those who seek your opinion only to tear you down, such pitiful beings.
So you’re following me and admit you get rewarded for reading my thoughts?
Ok follow away Trevor ….it’s kinda creepy but I expect life gets lonely for you in the bush ….so I understand
Keep reading for more educational instalments coming your way
I appreciate the adoration btw

whiskers3614 wrote: Mon 01 May 2023 6:54pm

Fact is

I’d much prefer listen to Lyons’s words explaining the loss than Brett Ratten
Least he can articulate it

The G Train Legacy

whiskers3614 wrote: Mon 01 May 2023 6:54pm

Fact is

Actually he clearly said he stuffed up on Luke Ball. He didn't really say he stuffed up by not tagging Daicos.

If it's ok for Ross Lyon to claim that we 'missed our chances' in the first half of 09, then it's ok for him to admit he did cost us a flag by denying Luke Ball any game time in the dying minutes

Both are obviously assumptive, but the narrative at the time and the myth perpetuated on this forum over the years was that the players cost us.

It was really the coach who cost us by leaving out young talent like Steven and Armo and his stubbornness with keeping Ball on the pine

The G Train Legacy

Scollop wrote: Mon 01 May 2023 10:33pm If it's ok for Ross Lyon to claim that we 'missed our chances' in the first half of 09, then it's ok for him to admit he did cost us a flag

Both are obviously assumptive, but the narrative at the time and the myth perpetuated on this forum over the years was that the players cost us.

It was really the coach who cost us with his inability to bring in young talent like Steven and Armo and his stubbornness with keeping Ball on the pine
37 to 15 Inside 50s our way in the first half of the 09 GF. Despite that domination we only led by 6 points at half time.

That's what cost us a Premiership.

The G Train Legacy wrote: Mon 01 May 2023 10:43pm
Scollop wrote: Mon 01 May 2023 10:33pm If it's ok for Ross Lyon to claim that we 'missed our chances' in the first half of 09, then it's ok for him to admit he did cost us a flag

It was really the coach who cost us with his inability to bring in young talent like Steven and Armo and his stubbornness with keeping Ball on the pine
37 to 15 Inside 50s our way in the first half of the 09 GF. Despite that domination we only led by 6 points at half time.

You're allowed to believe that. I think it's a valid point if games were decided by who has more inside 50's at half time

For the record we had a couple of bad misses in the first half, but there were a few rushed behinds that made it look worse than it was.

The narrative puts all the blame on the players. Lyon also admitted he told the players to 'bomb it in'. Not very smart with Scarlett and Boris patrolling and not very smart to be expecting marks on a wet day

Thank you
Gee whizz the revisionist BS is astounding
37-15 inside 50 DOMINATED 6pts lead
And is Lyons’s fault ?
Wow
We do know 1 important irrefutable FACT
Grant never even got us there….
Hard to win it doing that…

Neither won flags

Could be argued - a team dominating that much and 6 points up

System needs to be questioned

We won a lot of games in 09 we were undeniably talented with at least 8 hall of fame level players!

But gee we kept teams in games - they couldn’t score - but we never shot the lights out either.

I think Ross is a great senior coach

But he’s not perfect and has made glaring mistakes

Some of which cost him a premiership

So did Grant
John Beveridge
Rod Butters

The Chris Pelchen fkd the club for a decade

B.M wrote: Tue 02 May 2023 12:04am Neither won flags

We won a lot of games in 09 we were undeniably talented with at least 8 hall of fame level players!

But gee we kept teams in games - they couldn’t score - but we never shot the lights out either.

So did Grant
John Beveridge
Rod Butters

Who got us closer??????
Go on answer it
Dare ya

Neither won - so it’s irrelevant

GT was 6 points off a GF in 2004 losing to eventual premiers with 6 players u21 and less than 50 games

And 6 veterans who were past there best

And without Hamill who at that point was the spiritual leader

B.M wrote: Tue 02 May 2023 12:27am Neither won - so it’s irrelevant

GT was 6 points off a GF in 2004 losing to eventual premiers with 6 players u21 and less than 50 games

And 6 veterans who were past there best

And without Hamill who at that point was the spiritual leader
🤣 😂😆
Pretty lame answer Marty ….even for you
We might leave it there hey??
Grant was closer to a flag….but couldn’t get past a prelim ….
I’ve read some bullshyte on here but you’re the king

As was said on Talledega Nights

If you ain’t first - you’re last!!!!

Doesn’t matter how close Ross came - they don’t give cups and medals for losing?

He’s actually one of the longest serving coaches in AFL history with no flag! - and he’s had two primed lists!!!!

IMO
He’s a good coach - but with no flag in 311 games he’s not a great and hasn’t achieved greatness - thus unsuccessful

Teflon wrote: Mon 01 May 2023 11:52pm

Thank you
And is Lyons’s fault ?
Wow
If there was a rule that you blow the siren at half time and hand over the cup, then Lyon is a premiership coach too

There are some very good coaches in the history of the game that never got there. That doesn't make RL a better coach

There are some coaches who were handed brilliant lists and they ended up winning a Grand Final. That doesn't make them a better coach than all those who haven't got there

Here's the thing. Rocket Rod got the Swans to a GF in 1996 in his first year. 13 years later he narrowly missed out on relegating Lyon to the 'average coach' club in 2009.
... and yet most of the RTB fanboys reckon Lyon is the master and Eade is his servant

Even though we were so dominant in 2009 and smashed the Dogs by a comfortable margin in home and away, Eade was good enough to get within a toe poke of pipping us out of even making it!! That's in a year where the fanboys were already anointing Ross the best coach in the AFL after 19 wins and a meaningless McLellan trophy.

Oh...and one other thing...I reckon if GT got the opportunity to get his charges into a GF, he would have won it!!

As GuruBob from the Coodabeens would say; "think about that one" :mrgreen:

Scollop wrote: Tue 02 May 2023 12:51am
Teflon wrote: Mon 01 May 2023 11:52pm

Thank you
And is Lyons’s fault ?
Wow
If there was a rule that you blow the siren at half time and hand over the cup, then Lyon is a premiership coach too

There are some very good coaches in the history of the game that never got there. That doesn't make RL a better coach

There are some coaches who were handed brilliant lists and they ended up winning a Grand Final. That doesn't make them a better coach than all those who haven't got there

Here's the thing. Rocket Rod got the Swans to a GF in 1996 in his first year. 13 years later he narrowly missed out on relegating Lyon to the 'average coach' club in 2009.
... and yet most of the RTB fanboys reckon Lyon is the master and Eade is his servant

Even though we were so dominant in 2009 and smashed the Dogs by a comfortable margin in home and away, Eade was good enough to get within a toe poke of pipping us out of even making it!! That's in a year where the fanboys were already anointing Ross the best coach in the AFL after 19 wins and a meaningless McLellan trophy.

Oh...and one other thing...I reckon if GT got the opportunity to get his charges into a GF, he would have won it!!

As GuruBob from the Coodabeens would say; "think about that one" :mrgreen:
And therein lies your problem and my point …
Despite having the superior list….
GT couldn’t get the side past a prelim …
Think about that one…
If I’m wanting a flag…I’m taking the cos h who at the least has the demonstrated ability to give us the opportunity
Ross x 3 Saints Freo x1
GT x 0
FACT

B.M wrote: Tue 02 May 2023 12:44am As was said on Talledega Nights

If you ain’t first - you’re last!!!!

Doesn’t matter how close Ross came - they don’t give cups and medals for losing?

He’s actually one of the longest serving coaches in AFL history with no flag! - and he’s had two primed lists!!!!

IMO
He’s a good coach - but with no flag in 311 games he’s not a great and hasn’t achieved greatness - thus unsuccessful
No amount of ducking and weaving can excuse the fact you can’t and won’t answer my question
That’s ok …we both know what it is..
chin up

The G Train Legacy

Scollop wrote: Mon 01 May 2023 10:46pm

You're allowed to believe that. I think it's a valid point if games were decided by who has more inside 50's at half time

For the record we had a couple of bad misses in the first half, but there were a few rushed behinds that made it look worse than it was.

The narrative puts all the blame on the players. Lyon also admitted he told the players to 'bomb it in'. Not very smart with Scarlett and Boris patrolling and not very smart to be expecting marks on a wet day
Belief is one thing, facts are reality.

37-15 Inside 50s in a half is complete domination, in a GF against a team of the caliber of that Geelong side, its also extraordinary. It should have translated into a minimum 5 goal lead at half time. If it had, we would have won. Ball's rotations had nothing to do with it.

The G Train Legacy

B.M wrote: Tue 02 May 2023 12:04am Neither won flags

So did Grant
John Beveridge
Rod Butters

The best way to demoralize an opponent is to make scoring onerous for them. Never shot the lights out? Our percentage that year was 155.7%

You could question the system if Inside 50 domination didn't translate into shots on goal. At half time in the 09 GF we'd had 14 shots on goal to Geelong's 8. System was fine, execution wasteful.

Agree that Rossy isn't perfect, that's stating the obvious, because no one is.