Likely Week One Schedule

saint vince wrote:
saintdooley wrote:in 08 1 v 4 played sunday arvo?
same with 09.
They needed to do this because of round 22 schedule. Hence why they changed it this year. I think it will be us on Friday night and Collingwood saturday night and the other two will be saturday day and sunday day.

I am pretty sure they would want the two best games to be the two night games.
sh1t :shock:
i cant make both nights, so it better be a day game.

"Another storied win in Robert Harvey's career. They say he is the embodiment of their motto of strength through loyalty, and on the day he became just the tenth man to play 350 league games the saints reward him with a seemingly impossible victory."
midas_touch

Since 2007, 1v4 have played on Sunday afternoon whilst 2v3 played Friday night in 07-08, and Saturday afternoon in 09. If I was to guess, I'd say we'd be playing Saturday afternoon to give both teams a 7 day break.

Trust the Midas Touch

"My heart is at St.Kilda, I've been here seven years, I only wanted to play for them." (Fraser Gehrig, 27/11/2007)

saintdooley wrote:
saint vince wrote:
saintdooley wrote:in 08 1 v 4 played sunday arvo?
same with 09.
They needed to do this because of round 22 schedule. Hence why they changed it this year. I think it will be us on Friday night and Collingwood saturday night and the other two will be saturday day and sunday day.

I am pretty sure they would want the two best games to be the two night games.
sh1t :shock:
i cant make both nights, so it better be a day game.
Dools what have you got on that could keep you away from a final????

ChicagoSaint

Hawks now in with a chance of a Home Final. No Brown No Pies!

ChicagoSaint wrote:Hawks now in with a chance of a Home Final. No Brown No Pies!
No chicago no wind.

Would i get every finlas game live on Austar 518 Main event?

saintnick12

updated herald sun article..........Friday night looking more and more likely....

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/n ... 5910643747

"At the end of the day, a coach and a fitness adviser doesn't make a good football team, they're not the only ones who got us to two Grand Finals." Lenny Hayes. 27/9/2011.
lurker#134

Saints94 wrote:Would i get every finlas game live on Austar 518 Main event?
Main Event doesn't get any finals unfortunately. But I'm pretty sure it's only Friday nights that will be delayed for the interstate viewers such as myself.

Liam_G

Both broadcasters have been told that their marquee Qualifying finals will be the night games at the MCG.

With Collingwood to be given the extra days rest due to finishing top, it is absolutely certain that Saints vs Cats will be Friday night, with Pies vs Dogs Saturday night. lock that in, book your flights etc. as that is not changing.

Once again TV rules the AFL decision. AD working towards the $1bill for next TV rights and the buig bonus attached to it.
Works for me though as unable to make a Saturday night this week or next.

so we are locking in friday night?
was hoping for sat.
oh well
fill the car with caffeine and take a thermos of petrol :shock:

ChicagoSaint wrote:Hawks now in with a chance of a Home Final. No Brown No Pies!
lol

Saint_Ash
Location: Either work, home or the footy, maybe a pub somewhere

Could be right here, I mean they did replace him with Josh Fraser :lol:

Disgrace.

WE are also travelling back from interstate.....why would we field a full side if we are likely to get a 6 day break?

Makes no sense to me.

Time the AFL speaks at least privately to the clubs and gives them an idea of their thinking.

IF it's Freo vs Carlton in Week 1 of the finals, that game should be on Friday night, gives them both 7 days off.

We could play Saturday arvo and get 7 days off also.

Collingwood plays Sunday and gets 8 days off.

Makes it all fair to everyone.

But no, bend over ALWAYS to TV :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

saintspremiers wrote:Disgrace.

WE are also travelling back from interstate.....why would we field a full side if we are likely to get a 6 day break?

Makes no sense to me.

Time the AFL speaks at least privately to the clubs and gives them an idea of their thinking.

IF it's Freo vs Carlton in Week 1 of the finals, that game should be on Friday night, gives them both 7 days off.

We could play Saturday arvo and get 7 days off also.

Collingwood plays Sunday and gets 8 days off.

Makes it all fair to everyone.

But no, bend over ALWAYS to TV :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:
The clubs probably would have known what the possible days are for finals but you just assume they wouldnt. The way you want it isnt fair at all. Firstly we have an unimportant game this week and can manage a 6 day break but the way you want it is after a hard final and if the worst thing happens and we lose you want a 6 day break and so would the loser of pies and WB. Both losng sides would then play teams that have had 7 day breaks. How is that fair for the top sides after a hard final.

This draw is equal to us and geelong. Our players sleep in their own bed on saturday night and get home at 10pm. Big deal. The one hour travel will not have any effect.

philtee

You could have warned us about the photo of Demetriou at the Herald Sun page. A-grade quince.
With no disrespect to quinces.

It could still be Saturday
If Fremantle finishes fifth, Collingwood and the Western Bulldogs will meet in the first qualifying final next Friday night at the MCG.

Geelong will then play St Kilda in the second final on Saturday night, also at the MCG.
http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/ ... fault.aspx
If Fremantle is in the sixth versus seventh clash, the qualifying final between Geelong and St Kilda will move to Friday night, as the loser of this match will play the winner of the 6 v 7 contest the following week.
From a purely selfish point of view, Saturday night good, Friday night bad. Go Dockers.

Furtius Quo Rdelious

im with you kosi
now its go the lions

matrix wrote:im with you kosi
now its go the lions
Surely if the worst happens and we lose our first final we would rather play a team coming back from Perth on a 6 day break than a Melbourne team on a 6 day break. I have something on friday night as well but I say go Sydney.

'im with you kosi' refers to the last line of his post plugg
i work till early hrs of the morn on fri
what day do u reckon i might prefer to drive over to watch on?????

matrix wrote:'im with you kosi' refers to the last line of his post plugg
i work till early hrs of the morn on fri
what day do u reckon i might prefer to drive over to watch on?????
Probably Saturday but sadly I'd rather our club have the best chance to win than me or you attending the game. Hopefully we will beat Geelong so the 7 day break will not come into it.

Surely if the worst happens and we lose our first final we would rather play a team coming back from Perth on a 6 day break than a Melbourne team on a 6 day break. I have something on friday night as well but I say go Sydney.
This...

Swans to win is best for the Club.