Watch how Geelong bleeds

They'll bleed more when Chequebook deserts them for the filthy goldcoast lucre.
Only a matter of time before his selfishness impacts on the Geel team performance.

Enrico_Misso wrote:They'll bleed more when Chequebook deserts them for the filthy goldcoast lucre.
Only a matter of time before his selfishness impacts on the Geel team performance.
Absolutely, he's the favorite son down there and his lack of a decision on his future must be impacting on the morale of the club as a whole.

i reckon there is something in what u guys are saying. if the cats dont win the flag. and heck they might not even make it to the final week. all the media (caro wilson leading) are going to blame ablett. Morale of the club, loyalty, mates, fabric. The whole heart string song and dance job.

We haven't won the grand final, but I do sense that Geelong can be beaten.

Your company is going to out of business because another company used AI.
- Jensen Huang, CEO of NVIDIA 50:08
I Love Peter Kiel

GREAT post ralphsmith! I've got so sick of hearing how Pods is "living the dream" and how the cats are so much better than every other team that they wouldn't miss Ablett/Mooney/Chapman/Scarlett etc, also how Geelong MUST win the flag this year to prove their greatness...

Somebody get me a bucket.
"The dream" will turn into a nightmare......Cats won't make the Grand Final.

In honour of those who went before, in the dark and desperate years.
I Love Peter Kiel

PS..."If it bleeds, we can kill it!"

Thinline wrote:
SainterK wrote:Admirable team though, that's why our matches are so immense....

Tonight opened my eyes to just how big the gap still is between 1 and 2 and the rest...when both of us play at our best, ripping contest.
I HONESTLY believe tonight was a switch of the guard. Geelong scoreless in the third quarter and three points for the second half.

Think it through.

Our system came of age.

Let them chase. We are on.
I think you may be right!

Plenty of their supporters were mighty agitated....

Holding them to 3 points for 2 1/2 quarters was nothing short of awesome, and the most significant aspect of the game.

We stuck it right up 'em... and they dont like it up 'em! :wink:

rexy

Enrico_Misso wrote:They'll bleed more when Chequebook deserts them for the filthy goldcoast lucre.
For what its worth I do not judge Ablett if he has or does decide to go to the GC, I beleive there is still a place for loyalty and tradition in football but also that it is a business and is the livelihood of the players. It is fully professional and players will come and go. If Ablett broke his neck in round 20 and hadnt signed yet, do you think the Geelong football club, or any club would say look mate we know that you may never walk again but we are going to sign you on a 5 year deal for 800,000 a year to look after you?

Having said all that, I do beleive that the longer this goes on the more preassure will build on the club and in particular the playing list, players will start to think about getting their share of Abletts money if they pressume he is going, they will start to wonder whether some of their next contract is being thrown at him to stay. Any time he gets dejecyed or angry they will start to see it as a sign that he is going etc.

It may, could and IMO will start to play a part in their preperation.

They may stil be good enough to be premiers though?

Maybe this year?

Some d**khead on the tram was whinging about the Milne free kick in the last 30 seconds of the game.

He was promptly reminded that his team hadn't kicked a goal in a half of footy.

Owned.

I Love Peter Kiel

great savatage! The sheep-sh*ggers got pwned!

midas_touch

Great defensive display by the saints, but really its just another 4 points. Both teams has key outs as well, so this game should not be used as a guide for what may or may not happen in September. Absolutely happy to get the win though.

Trust the Midas Touch

"My heart is at St.Kilda, I've been here seven years, I only wanted to play for them." (Fraser Gehrig, 27/11/2007)

When we beat them mid season last year they received a lot of injuries in the game and took a couple of weeks to get back on track..Maybe the same result this year?

StSteven wrote:Woops....Joel Corey also.
Bobby Davis too... :P

I Love Peter Kiel wrote:GREAT post ralphsmith! I've got so sick of hearing how Pods is "living the dream" and how the cats are so much better than every other team that they wouldn't miss Ablett/Mooney/Chapman/Scarlett etc, also how Geelong MUST win the flag this year to prove their greatness...

Somebody get me a bucket.
"The dream" will turn into a nightmare......Cats won't make the Grand Final.
Huge call dude, huge call...

I Love Peter Kiel

Yeah, the furthest they'll get is the Prelim...which they'll lose in heart-breaking circumstances.
Then in Grand Final week the (ho-hum) exclusive will come out: Ablett going to Gold Coast. We'll all make a great effort to stifle yawns, then get on with winning the Flag.

SaintWal

Great Call Thinline.

I love all this media sooking by Geelong and there supporters. All we need now Is Ablett to produce his GC boarding pass and the pussy cats may well self implode.
Thinline wrote:
SainterK wrote:Admirable team though, that's why our matches are so immense....

Tonight opened my eyes to just how big the gap still is between 1 and 2 and the rest...when both of us play at our best, ripping contest.
I HONESTLY believe tonight was a switch of the guard. Geelong scoreless in the third quarter and three points for the second half.

Think it through.

Our system came of age.

Let them chase. We are on.

Winning is the wall paper that covers all cracks and Geelong will play North next week, take 4 points, gets some players back and look mighty dangerous. It was a great win, but Geelong's loss will only set them back about as much as our loss to Carlton did.

Goose is king wrote:Winning is the wall paper that covers all cracks and Geelong will play North next week, take 4 points, gets some players back and look mighty dangerous. It was a great win, but Geelong's loss will only set them back about as much as our loss to Carlton did.
Geelong will play North next week, take 4 points,

wouldn't put the deeds to ranch on that !

starsign wrote:
Goose is king wrote:Winning is the wall paper that covers all cracks and Geelong will play North next week, take 4 points, gets some players back and look mighty dangerous. It was a great win, but Geelong's loss will only set them back about as much as our loss to Carlton did.
Geelong will play North next week, take 4 points,

wouldn't put the deeds to ranch on that !
Yep, I would be annoyed if North went down there with the mindset 'oh great, now we have to play Geelong at home and after a loss'

Excuses are flying out of the cattery at a rapid pace, when they should be looking at where they are vulnerable.

This would be the time to push them...and hard...Brad Scott is certainly capable of tuning into this.

AlpineStars

Every other team in the comp should see how we played them and they didn't like it. Every week should be a physical battle for them for the rest of the year.

Wake me up when September ends.

AlpineStars wrote:Every other team in the comp should see how we played them and they didn't like it. Every week should be a physical battle for them for the rest of the year.
yeah, they don't like being outmuscled, outcoached and outclassed.

i was talking to a carlton mate about how his team had smashed both us and geelong.

he reckons geelong cannot counter three small forwards.

i reckon ross will be awake to this for next time we olay carlton and it will not end well for them.