Goose gone ...

xander

Re: Well

1eyedNever wrote:
f*** we keep
Liegh Fisher
Raf Clarke Worst Player in the AFL plays like hes still in 14s
1eyedNever wrote:
Oh that Motto STRENGTH Through LOYALTY

NOT ANY MORE
Just Gut em after they put in years of rehab from a Injury that was got from playing your GUTS out for the team
Lesser men would have retired years ago
Bit hypocritical dont u think?

saint66au wrote:Lovely..the Facebook announcement is already full of "Why is Raph on the list still and we cut Goose"???

Gawd some people should have to sit an exam before being let into games :roll:
yep

thirty-seven!?

Add to this Lyon's post GF comments that we were perhaps one player too tall down back and you get no future for Goose...unless we had a horrific injury run.
Possibly also a reason as to why Leigh Fisher was kept and Miles was elevated...

There is still an outside chance that this could be a ploy to rookie Maguire to give him a final chance.

He would have to go into the national draft and pre season drafts but I am not aware of any AFL rule that compels him to undergo medicals or fitness tests for other clubs.
AND it would be a brave club that took him on without them.

So long as there is a straw and nobody takes it away, I will clutch to it.
:cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:
Last edited by ace on Thu 29 Oct 2009 7:45pm, edited 1 time in total.

Your company is going to out of business because another company used AI.
- Jensen Huang, CEO of NVIDIA 50:08
thirty-seven!?

ace wrote:There is still an outside chance that this could be a ploy to rookie Maguire to give him a final chance.

He would have to go into the national draft and pre season drafts but I am not aware of any AFL rule that compels him to undergo medicals or fitness tests for other clubs.

:cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:
I know i keep quoting this new rookie rule too, but i was wondering if u know of anything that stipulates an age limit to it? As far as i can tell, it states that the player could have played an infinite number of games... but wasnt sure if there was an age cap? Any ideas Ace??

F*** me.

I honestly did not think they would delist him.

Gutted.

Remember that game against the filth at the dome. We were getting absolutely pantsed and GT put Goose in the ruck.

He was a fkn KID...Tiny compared to what he is today.

Almost single handedly got us back into the game.

Best of luck Goose. Footy is a prick of a game.

thirty-seven!? wrote:
ace wrote:There is still an outside chance that this could be a ploy to rookie Maguire to give him a final chance.

:cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:
I know i keep quoting this new rookie rule too, but i was wondering if u know of anything that stipulates an age limit to it? As far as i can tell, it states that the player could have played an infinite number of games... but wasnt sure if there was an age cap? Any ideas Ace??
Mature age rookies.
They have taken the age limit of these as well.
I think it only applies to 2 rookies.
The trap is that to move from the senior list to the rookie list a player must nominate for the national draft, pre-season draft and rookie drafts without being picked by another club.

McQualter and Howard were successful but.....
It is widely thought that Hawthorn intended to rookie Zac Dawson but St Kilda got to pick him in the rookie draft first.
Last edited by ace on Fri 30 Oct 2009 12:25am, edited 1 time in total.

Mature age rookies have to have played zero AFL games, don't they?

vacuous space wrote:Mature age rookies have to have played zero AFL games, don't they?
There was a rule change on 22 October but as yet I have not found it on the AFL or AFLPA websites.
It did allow the players to have played an unlimited number of games.

Richmond may do it Graham Polak.
Hawthorn may be attempting it with Mitch Thorp.

I will keep looking for a definitive source.

1eyedNever wrote:f*** the SKFC
He deserved another chance to prove himself as he got the injury doing his job playing football for the SKFC
Sue the bastards Matt for COMPO.

f*** we keep
Liegh Fisher

f*** em
On more Membership for this family
Now take a big deep breath and youll realise you are making a complete fool of yourself

You must hate those 2 players...you spelt both their names wrong :roll:

So you pick and choose who the Club should be loyal to?

Can you wander over to Facebook where I'm not a mod and I can safely give you a spray??? :roll:

JABBER

goose gone...

very sad to see goose go I heard mid-season that it might be his last year with us. I was hoping it was not true

trevor barker

ace wrote:Hawthorn may be attempting it with Mitch Thorp.
Thorp wouldn't be a mature age rookie. He's 20-years old and has played 3 AFL games. He'd be eligible regardless.

I have heard that Richmond may try and get Polak onto the rookie list. I figured they were trying to get special consideration like last year.

It seems strange to allow 99-gamers onto the rookie list.

Milan Faletic wrote:Very sad for Goose but there is no doubt that his injuries have been his downfall and not the St Kilda Football Club.

Nathan Brown's and Egan's retirements would not have helped his push back in to the Seniors. I had hoped that with a full pre-season and working with the existing defensive group, that he would fire next year.
The coaches and conditioning staff must have thought otherwise and I have faith in them.

This doesn't stop me from feeling sad for Goose and I hope he kicks on somewhere else. Dean Rice did it, although different injuries, so I wish you all the best, Matt.
This pretty much sums up how I feel about it. Decision understandable given Goose's injuries and the problems he'll face trying to get back. But extremely sad nonetheless. Good luck for the future Matt.

He deserved another chance to prove himself as he got the injury doing his job playing football for the SKFC

f*** we keep
Liegh Fisher

f*** em

Can you wander over to Facebook where I'm not a mod and I can safely give you a spray??? :roll:
Do it anyway :lol: :lol: :wink: !!

TassieJones

wtf??? what the f***!!!

this has got to be one of the worst decisions ever made about our list. how leigh fisher or many other blokes on the list are better value i have nfi! what the hell? such a legend, such a great player and we can't even trade him for a scrap draft pick???

what the hell! why?! first max can't crack a game, x for f*** all, goose for nothing, ball played so little he wants to walk out. I tell you what ross lyon you'd want to bloody win a premiership for what you've done to the club.

f*** we keep
Liegh Fisher

f*** em
Now take a big deep breath and youll realise you are making a complete fool of yourself

You must hate those 2 players...you spelt both their names wrong :roll:

So you pick and choose who the Club should be loyal to?

Why waste your time on a deadbeat flog? There, I done it for ya! 8-)

Goose was gorn a while back. He is much loved by most people at the club, but when you are having that many jabs just to get up for Sandy, then you are always going to lose your spot.

Ross @ co. (ie: THE CLUB!) are going pretty hard, and so they should. There is much at stake, and if you are not improving then you are going backwards.

I love Goose, and X, and are saddened by their being moved on.
But ask yourselves what you want: Success?, or great guys that can't get on the park?

TassieJones wrote:wtf??? what the f***!!!

this has got to be one of the worst decisions ever made about our list. how leigh fisher or many other blokes on the list are better value i have nfi! what the hell? such a legend, such a great player and we can't even trade him for a scrap draft pick???

what the hell! why?! first max can't crack a game, x for f*** all, goose for nothing, ball played so little he wants to walk out. I tell you what ross lyon you'd want to bloody win a premiership for what you've done to the club.
Worst decision ever eh?

Fair Dinkum, that probably occured about 9 months before you were born

Easy to say that in hindsight though I guess :roll:

Worst decision ever eh?

9 months before, no decison involved, simply an F up.

Thanks for the effort Goose.

Good luck if you get picked up.

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)
TassieJones

ace wrote:

Worst decision ever eh?

thanks for the cheap shots boys, real classy, yet also topical. good on you. :roll:

I'm also glad to see you so stoked to see goose delisted for nothing. I don't usually make predictions but I can really seeing this biting us in the arse. Worse than Dawson.

Except at least the Hawks can say they already won a flag. I just hope ross knows what he's f****** doing and we win one too or in hindsight these decisions will look even worse.

TassieJones wrote:
ace wrote:

Worst decision ever eh?

thanks for the cheap shots boys, real classy, yet also topical. good on you. :roll:

I'm also glad to see you so stoked to see goose delisted for nothing. I don't usually make predictions but I can really seeing this biting us in the arse. Worse than Dawson.

Except at least the Hawks can say they already won a flag. I just hope ross knows what he's f****** doing and we win one too or in hindsight these decisions will look even worse.
Buddy, now you are really cracking me up!

"biting us on the bum" eh?

hmm....somehow I doubt it.

BUT....

Best of luck Goose, and I hope TassieJones is right and you star for the Hawks or another club.

There you go.

I'm not a sad sack like yourself and want for the best for a player who has been unable to contribute for us for 3 seasons now.

Whilst we can all say that Gosse is a great bloke and he played some good, even great footy for us, WE DON'T KNOW ALL THE FACTS

AFL is a ruthless business and hard decisions need to be made. Perhaps our club hasn't been ruthless enough in the past, hence our ONE premiership in over 100 years. Could it be that we are not used to the club being as ruthless as it should be, creating all the EMOTION of this issue?

YES, we should all wish Goose "ALL THE BEST" and move on, as he will. I know that I have always supported the St KILDA FOOTBALL CLUB, more than any individuals associated with it at any time !!

TassieJones wrote: I'm also glad to see you so stoked to see goose delisted for nothing. I don't usually make predictions but I can really seeing this biting us in the arse. Worse than Dawson.
What do you mean worsethan Dawson?

Maguire couldn't even crack it in our 22 this year.

FFS some people really live in the past.

Goose has been stuffed since the game against WCE in 2006.
TassieJones wrote:Except at least the Hawks can say they already won a flag. I just hope ross knows what he's f****** doing and we win one too or in hindsight these decisions will look even worse.
You mean decisions like Fahren Ray - Dawson - Gardiner - King - Schneider?

or Lovett?

Fair Dinkum - lists change. Max was gone and Dawson was better this year. X is injury prone and probably only worth #60 - Goose has the turning circle of the queen Mary and not as good as you think due to injury.

I put my faith in a coach that got us so close this year and is looking to take us one better - over some hysteric on a fan site acting like someone just stole his lollies :roll: :roll:

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)

reckon you're living in the past Tassie and hanging on to your perception of guys for what they were rather than what they are.
Max had become too one dimensional for us and Goose and X are both unproven on the back of long injury interruptions.

TassieJones wrote:
ace wrote:

Worst decision ever eh?

You keep saying 'Ross better win us a flag' like it's some type of threat. And then you go on to say 'what you've done to our club, like Lyon isn't really a part of it, and has no vested interest in our team winning....

So do you really think that X, Goose and Ball were going to lead us to the holy grail? I don't. All fine young blokes who tried their hearts out for the saints, but how many years to you give guys to prove themselves. WE gave X away for the market price. The market said pick 60. I dare say that Goose was offered up in trade week and no-one was too interested to offer anything decent - bit like Ball. It's like selling your house, you loved it to death, but sometimes it's a reality check when you put it on the market and realise that others don't have the same appreciation.

All these guys provided some great memories from 03-06. All of them were treading water the last couple of years. Ball is the only one I held out hope would get a lot better. Anyone who saw Sandy play this year could tell goose was a shadow of his former self.

I can't believe that the club has had it's best year in nearly 40 years, yet still Lyon's motives to delist players is questioned like there is some cynical motive behind it all. :roll: