Anima Enclosure - Where are they now?

The Sainter wrote:Standing in the packed animal enclosure one Saturday. there was a big Saint supporter there who was foul mouthing players all day. a much smaller Saint supporter who was standing with his wife in front of him asked would he mind stopping his language as it was offending his wife.
He was told where to get by this idiot. The smaller man then threw the quickest punch i have ever seen hitting the foul talking man flush on the chin knocking him completely out. Everyone just moved away leaving him lying on the ground. Ah yes some memories just stay forever :) :) :)
Obviously they were mates!

I too was in the stand directly behind the animal cage, bout half way up. So many great memories. Probably the most vivid is the can to the head of Gary Sidebottom, I think it was.

Frankie

yipper wrote:
Superboot wrote:
Joffa 5 wrote:As a kid I'd go along to the games with my old man and if I can remember correctly, we stood beside one race, not in the enclosure. Under a big VB sign. There was a bloke who would yell CAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAARN then after a pause, the crowd would yell SAINTERS! Good times.
That's the one I was refering to.
I think the guy I'm referring to was different - definitely a kookaburra like noise.

I do remember early days at TD he was doing it.
That bloke used to stand on top of a green wheelie bin on the members side wing at Moorabbin. He then went to Waverley and was down in the outer (members side) I think. He has been to the dome - but I haven't heard him much if at all lately. Used to be a really long Gooooo Saaiinnntterrrrsssss
I know I'm wandering off topic a bit here but I actually sat right near that dude during the west coast demolition in our 2004 winning streak. Anyway - reading this jogged my memory so I stuck on the game dvd and you can actually hear him on the crowd mic behind the commentators at the end of the 3/4 time break! (a fair effort considering he was on level 3 on the wing when I saw him do it! )
If anyone else here has got the "streak" dvd I reckon it's worth a look! it happens at about 1:46:54 on the clock - he even gets a massive cheer from the crowd after which makes it even funnier!
Our club has some great fans!

widereceiver

The serve dished out to Dorotich is not repeatable but a fond memory!

"Winning's not everything, it's the ONLY thing!" Vince Lombardi.
Sam Gilbert #1 booster - always on the attack!!!
Win more for Winmar

A regular for a short while. Should have been longer. Fantastic memories.

The sheer overwhelming experience of Moorabbin had me sold on football. Parking in the side streets, walking through the narrow gap, out onto Linton Street with a sausage sizzle every 20 or so metres, Saints fans every which way you looked...

Magical.

Eastern wrote:I'm guessing that most of them would be Doctors, Lawyers, Politicians & Academics by now :wink: !!

at least one's a lawyer...... :wink:

Anima Enclosure - Where are they now?

would that look like this
Image-- an Anime Enclosure

:wink: :lol: :wink:

ps: did they look anything like that?

send out the runner

Have many memories of the enclosure, cans were made of tin back then and if you waited long enough, you would collect six VB cans (3 cans by 2 lines) and use them to stand on. We also loved to perve on the then players wives & girl friends sitting in the players box.......oh and then there was the footy. I was fortunate enough to have parents that were members and sat next to the camera man down on the fence infront of the members. Also loved the loyal fans on the western side of the ground whom continually saluted the saints all day.........or maybe the were just keeping the sun out of their eyes. The score board was information overload. the score of our game + A v D, E v B, F v H, the Races at Money Valley with the results, the umps, and the lucky ticket number. I used to love seeing the scores from the other grounds as the day wore on. Those Huttons(super)hotdog, I do remember the pink water, never stopped hundreds enjoying them. Haven't lived in Melbourne for 15 years, went back at Chrisy to watch the boys train on one of those 38+ days, I had a desire to stand in the enclosure. I got dragged back in time with fond memories of a time. As they were demolishing the southern end of the stand it saddened me to think it will be gone when I stand in that spot again

widereceiver wrote:The serve dished out to Dorotich is not repeatable but a fond memory!
Please repeat it! I won't tell :)

widereceiver wrote:The serve dished out to Dorotich is not repeatable but a fond memory!
That would have been after it was proven that he's a Half Back Flanker?(Rhyming slang) From memory, in front of an undercover policewoman :roll: :roll: !!

yep...appeared at the prahran magistrates court in an out of hours sitting....highly irregular at the time..........an attempt to hush his wanking up........

Spent 10 years or more standing there.
Holy ground.

Have an urn full of dirt, stones and "who knows what" from the pit that I gouged out with bare hands after the last game.

Also have separate photos of my two sons as newborns "in the enclosure" on their way home from hospital.
Shame is they will never experience the tribal atmosphere we had there.
Only the sanitised PC environment of The J1had.

Yeah, was also a regular in the pit between 70 -76. Still remember the main scoreboard with Bond 11 ? scotch add on it. Worst scotch i've ever drank. :lol:
Some very clever witted people in the pit amongst the normal p#ssheads

Used to stand at the back of the animal enclosure as a skinny teenager absolutely mesmorised by the circus and pure passion...

Remember feeling very happy I barracked for the same team as through my teenage eyes in the early seventies there were some truly scary characters frequenting that vicinity...

Some great memories..the brutality of Big Carl, the sheer brilliance of Georgy Young,the toughness of Rossy Smith,Cowboy Neale and Alan Davis and our most underated player of the past Barry Lawerence who was a just class act...

And then later in the dark 80'S...Winmar to Plugger lace out ..Rocket Rod owen finding space and displaying as much skill as anyone who ever played...Cunningham and Burns bullocking their way through packs...Spud Frawley ,Trevor Barker, David Grant ...sigh

Didn't win a lot of games but won most of the fights...

And the opposition would've hated the animal enclosure as much as the cold showers... :twisted:

Great times in their way but nothing will match our memories of now if things go according to plan 8-)

All the blood,sweat and tears of those decades at Moorabbin will explode into an endless torrent of Champagne and beer...and lots of happy tears I'm tipping :lol:

Can't wait :twisted:
Last edited by saint patrick on Wed 20 May 2009 10:53pm, edited 3 times in total.

STILLWAITING wrote:Spent many days in front of the stand as a kid/teenager with family.
They day Robbie Muir hit deniis Collins i was right on the fence,

What a great day that was
Yeah, I was there that day, got sunburnt from memory. Could have sworn Muir knocked him out. I dont remember him coming back on. That was the year of the animals. Never have forgiven Essendon for that :evil:

Speaking of characters like "The Screamer" as we used to call him, there used to be a guy sitting up high in the grandstand decked out in some sort of northern european costume (Bavarian?) who would get a bit excited and play his musical instrument - does anyone know what happened to him?

Enrico_Misso wrote:there used to be a guy sitting up high in the grandstand decked out in some sort of northern european costume (Bavarian?) who would get a bit excited and play his musical instrument - does anyone know what happened to him?
Guys in white coats with giant butterfly nets :shock: :shock: :lol: :lol: :?: :?: :?:

Stephen Theodore wrote:Yeah, was also a regular in the pit between 70 -76. Still remember the main scoreboard with Bond 11 ? scotch add on it. Worst scotch i've ever drank. :lol:
Some very clever witted people in the pit amongst the normal p#ssheads
Pretty sure Bonds was an Australian whisky, not scotch.

jk23

Yes I watched alot of games there, I happened to be at the club the day they started to bulldoze the place, I have a nice photo of the animal enclosure ( taken that day ) and then took a small piece of green seating ( behind enclosure) and have it framed in front of my computer :cry:

Enrico_Misso wrote:Speaking of characters like "The Screamer" as we used to call him, there used to be a guy sitting up high in the grandstand decked out in some sort of northern european costume (Bavarian?) who would get a bit excited and play his musical instrument - does anyone know what happened to him?
I don't think he was the only person to get his flute out in the grandstand...... just the only one to do it on game-day. :wink:

Remember this italian bloke, musta been about 4foot tall I reckon!! He used to have the biggest set of headphones on - they fair dinkum looked like something a Qantas pilot would wear on the job. He obviously had his radio going through those headphones at full blast - cos he had to shout at you so he could hear himself speak, even if he was standing 3 inches away from you!! He was forever relaying the scores from other games at us - even though we had worked out the secret code on the scoreboard!! Funny little bloke - he never ever missed a game either.

Russman

I never stood in the animal enclosure. I was back in the stand behind the animal enclosure with family and cousins. We were a few rows behind the players wags. Injured players used to sit there as well.
Anyway , this was just a small incident but for some reason it sticks out.
I remember against Footscray, Dougie Hawkins was warming up around the boundary line. The guys in the Animal Enclosure must have been giving him some stick , cos he stopped , turned around and gave the big finger.

Do , or Do not , There is no try.
FortiusQuoFidelius

I had my regular spot on top of the race immediately to the left of the Animal Enclusure and witnessed some mighty fine sledging and hilarious antics from the "inmates". I was always impressed with Russell Holmesby's ability to come up with some of the most fantastic one liners I've ever heard.

Those were the days...

saintm

What a great thread!!

Keep the stories coming please. :D

Two Carlton players.

Wayne Johnston was The Dominator.
Jon Dorotich was The Mastur*****.