Pub to watch Fridays game?

mordi

Pub to watch Fridays game?

Anyone have ideas on a decent pub with good atmosphere?

Bells in South Melbourne or The Bay in Brighton? or...??

What's the Point of it All?
InkerSaint

Depends on your idea of "good atmosphere"...

The Inkerman Hotel will be running it on at least 4 screens including the two main ones, no shortage of Saints supporters among the locals.

If you find the guy yelling at the screen who knows all the players by name, you'll have found me :twisted:

mordi

good atmosphere =

big screens focussed on the footy
cheap beer
other supporters

InkerSaint

mordi wrote:cheap beer - $3.50 pots, Carlton or Boags Draught.

mordi

btw - good atmosphere = no ferals in the public bar.

InkerSaint

mordi wrote:btw - good atmosphere = no ferals in the public bar.
There's no need for name calling :P I said there'd be plenty of Sainters there didn't I?

I reckon it'll be just your cuppa tea. And if it isn't, the exits are all well situated. :wink:

mordi

just to clarify;

ferals = obnoxious , drunk, loudmouthed supporters from the 15 clubs other than St Kilda!! :lol:

InkerSaint

Well you know what they say - there are no guarantees in life.

Sometimes you can get a nasty surprise:
http://www.saintsational.com/forum/view ... ht=#726334

If Mr. Power comes back, this time we'll be ready for him.

InkerSaint

Just got a text from the pub - 3 pots for the price of 2 between 5 - 7 on Friday.

I'll be lobbing down to the Hobsons Bay Hotel.

Watching delayed games in public, especially at a pub, is a recipe for some clown to give away the live scores. No pub in Melbourne will be showing it live.

Oh..and just on Bells..its the haunt for local Crows fans to watch their AAMI games....might be the same for Port so maybe check in advance :-)

The Inkerman Hotel is a good bet.... Dont mind it myself..

saint66au wrote:Watching delayed games in public, especially at a pub, is a recipe for some clown to give away the live scores. No pub in Melbourne will be showing it live.

Oh..and just on Bells..its the haunt for local Crows fans to watch their AAMI games....might be the same for Port so maybe check in advance :-)
Surely some (dodgy) pub could get a live feed from interstate via a (dodgy) Satellite link??

If anyone knows of one, please PM me......unfortunately I assume we couldn't discuss it on the forum 8-)

Brisbane Saints

Will be at Pig and Whistle this Friday night

good atmosphere, can scream at TV without much notice...

mordi

thx all for suggestions....

btw - there are pubs with dodgy feeds ( but you cant always guarantee) ......

funny story - for the Buddy 100 goal game, was watching in the bistro with mate while eating.....Buddy gets to 99 ....."lets go to the bar and watch the 100 on the big screen" .....we wander round and after 5 minutes I realise we've missed 20-30 mins and he has the 100!! They had Southern Cross TV from country Qld on in the bar (the tractor adds were a dead giveaway).

InkerSaint

I forgot to mention.

I watched the game from the Inkerman. They had a fundraiser night for Beyond Blue which included drinks specials and a raffle with 15 prizes. I bought about $15 in tickets, one of which was a winner - and scored a powered Esky. A mate also won, and got a St Kilda player issue guernsey. He's a North Melb supporter... we agreed to swap.

What a great night! :)

mordi

Well done Inkersaint,

I had late change of plans and went to inner city pub that had Live feed !!(no names of course).

One feral Power supporter was there, actually angling for a fight, but quickly worked out that;

a. wasnt that type of pub

b. everyone in the place was either a Saints supporter or wanted us to win!

InkerSaint

mordi wrote:One feral Power supporter was there, actually angling for a fight
There's always gotta be one doesn't there?

We got a ribbing from a couple of guys in the TAB when we arrived. They started singing the Port club song. I quipped, "there might be a Power failure at AAMI tonight... could be a blackout," thankfully the boys proved me right. :wink: