job description for CEO

must have?

could have?

shouldn't have?

what are you pre requisites-
list up to 10....

Ability to negotiate with local government.

Ability to work with women.

Ability to run a chook raffle.

Ability to deal with media.

Ability to speak English (that can be understood).

Bernard Shakey wrote:Ability to negotiate with local government.

archie scored zip on a couple of those

Bernard Shakey wrote:Ability to negotiate with local government.

archie scored zip on a couple of those
One of our former CEO's though scored very well with one of those :lol: :lol: :lol:

Perhaps some marketing experience?

Must be able to run a football club
Or is that being a bit too ambitious.

Your company is going to out of business because another company used AI.
- Jensen Huang, CEO of NVIDIA 50:08

A bit of passion for the club might be handy.

And certainly a lifetime connection with the sport.

BakesFan

Bernard Shakey wrote: Ability to negotiate with local government.
No worries! I work for Local Government. I know the tricks!
Bernard Shakey wrote: Ability to work with women.
No worries! I Love Women!
Bernard Shakey wrote: Ability to run a chook raffle.
No Worries! Spida's my role model!
Bernard Shakey wrote: Ability to deal with media.
No worries! I'd treat 'em all with EQUAL contempt!
Bernard Shakey wrote: Ability to speak English (that can be understood).
No Worries!... Maaaaaate!

Where do I sign??

Great minds discuss ideas; average minds discuss events; small minds discuss people.(Eleanor Roosevelt)

BakesFan the job is yours.

All you have to do is turn up at the AGM tonight.

Enrico_Misso wrote:A bit of passion for the club might be handy.

Well he has been a Saints supporter since shifting to Australia and I have never heard him say anything against St Kilda, unlike the dribble on here :roll:

Saint Bev wrote:

Well he has been a Saints supporter since shifting to Australia and I have never heard him say anything against St Kilda, unlike the dribble on here :roll:
:roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:

Saint Bev wrote:

Yep he has been a member and fan for years and always great to communicate with.

His last email to me was at 11:32pm last night, who can tell me what other CEO would communicate like that. Full credit to him

-----Original Message-----
Sent: Wednesday, 25 February 2009 11:32 PM
To: xxxxxxxxxx
Subject:

Jeff,

Appreciated, your support has been great, it’s been a big day and we had a corporate function on tonight.

I am sad to be leaving but will make sure we do a complete handover and I will still be available if required on the various projects we are working on.

The group is solid especially in footy and we wont miss a beat, we have all worked too hard for anything to affect the preparation for the year.

Gotta go to bed, AGM tomorrow night, looking forward to that,

Cheers for now,

Archie

Archie Fraser

Chief Executive Officer

St Kilda Football Club

32-60 Linton St Moorabbin Victoria 3189

Tel: (03) 9559 6620 Fax: (03) 9555 5494
Last edited by St Fidelius on Thu 26 Feb 2009 6:20pm, edited 1 time in total.

Sol truijilo has resigned as Telstra CEO, maybe he did this so he can take up the St Kilda position the timing of the two announcement is convenient

ausfatcat wrote:Sol truijilo has resigned as Telstra CEO, maybe he did this so he can take up the St Kilda position the timing of the two announcement is convenient
While you post is tongue in cheek..a big part of Sol going is that if he had stayed all of his substantial USA income generated from his very large personal fortune would be taxed as him being a Auastrlian resident.

So it was give up millions a year to the Aussie taxman..or leave.

So....no chance of him giving up millions to the be our CEO.....

BakesFan

Bernard Shakey wrote:BakesFan the job is yours.

All you have to do is turn up at the AGM tonight.
D'OH!!!

Great minds discuss ideas; average minds discuss events; small minds discuss people.(Eleanor Roosevelt)

good list from Legendary in another thread.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
A business owner and entreupreneur doesn't normally make a good CEO, so I would be a little conerned about Nettlefold from that perspective.

A CEO should have:
- Good communication skills, especially with fellow staff members and shareholders (us)
- Good conflict resolution and negotiation skills
- Strong understanding of financial fundamentals of business
- Good media performer
- Be across all facets/departments of an organisation
- Involvement/experience in the organisation's core business area (sport)

It's the #1 most important off-field job at the club, far more important than a President or any board member.

Nettlefold seems to be, from past history, an entrepreneur but the question must be asked whether he has the necessary skills and committment to the role long-term?

There's no point having a stop-gap ... we have 2 months where Archie is staying on until we find someone.

We need a strong and capable operator who will be with us for at least 5 years.

Extremely important decision.

RBnW

saintbrat wrote:good list from Legendary in another thread.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
A business owner and entreupreneur doesn't normally make a good CEO, so I would be a little conerned about Nettlefold from that perspective.

A CEO should have:
- Good communication skills, especially with fellow staff members and shareholders (us)
- Good conflict resolution and negotiation skills
- Strong understanding of financial fundamentals of business
- Good media performer
- Be across all facets/departments of an organisation
- Involvement/experience in the organisation's core business area (sport)

It's the #1 most important off-field job at the club, far more important than a President or any board member.

Nettlefold seems to be, from past history, an entrepreneur but the question must be asked whether he has the necessary skills and committment to the role long-term?

There's no point having a stop-gap ... we have 2 months where Archie is staying on until we find someone.

We need a strong and capable operator who will be with us for at least 5 years.

Extremely important decision.
with the season about to start..... 8-) this needs to be swift and smooth..... :arrow: if Nettlefold is as reported interested then Westernway has to sign him up for 3 to 5 years........ :idea: coming from the board it should be the smoothest hand over of anyone who will apply for the job....... :) and unlike Jim Watts or Fraser he will not leave us for a bigger job the AFL or the FFA.......if he takes the job he could be in the job for some time..... :) :wink:
dont know him but asking around he is well respected...... 8-) :wink:

Our best is yet
to come......