My Best 22

fonz_#15 wrote:
bigcarl wrote:FB: Baker, Hudghton, X. Clarke
HB: Gram, Maguire, R. Clarke
C: Blake, Hayes, Gilbert
HF: Milne, Riewoldt, Dal Santo
FF: Koschitzke, Goddard, Schneider
R: King, Ball, Montagna

Inter: S. Fisher, Jones, Ray, Heyne
Sammy Fisher on the bench? he is our B&F winner and a great user of the footy.

i know your opinion of BJ, but he needs to play midfield if we are to be a chance.
not meant as a sledge on fisher, whom i rate very highly. as for bj, we need goals and a lot more potency in attack if we are to be a chance.

btw, the OP is My Best 22. This is mine. Where is yours?
Have always wanted BJ to play accross half forward. Dangerous anywhere inside 60....has the motor to push up the ground and be an extra mid, and would be the best deliverer inside 50 without a doubt.
Calling for it since day 1.

groupie1

borderbarry wrote:Plugger, I dont mean to be picky but, what do you mean Lynch deserves his spot as his form this year has been excellent? I saw the intra-club practise match, and the NAB match, and he did not play in either game. Where have you seen him display his form?
Are you being fair dinkum, mate?

Gordon Fode couldda been Plugga
falka

B. Baker Hudgton S.Fisher
HB. Ray Blake R.Clarke
C. Montagna Gram X.Clarke
HF. Dal Santo Riewoldt Gilbert
F. Milne Kositschke Ball
R. King Goddard Hayes
I/c Gardiner Schneider Armo Steven

Rationale, Baker best stopper type for small forward, Max gun, S.Fisher sets us up so well

Ray looks like he can take Grams run from HB to allow him in the pivot, Blake ahead of McGuire due to versatility and fact that there are not many huge CHF in league that McGuire matches up well on, so maybe a smaller player back here. Raph on last years end of season form obvious

Montagna and X creating running options

Dal in a more attacking position, I'm sick of his 20 m kicks in the back line, get him somewhere dangerous, Riewoldt obvious, Gilbert more for his amazing pressure up there.

Also Ball in forward pocket due to his amazing tackling down there. If he does what he does in the guts down there he will be worth 5 goals.

King (best we have), Hayes (best mid) and Goddard in more dangerous position but he can still drift back to help backline, but also get dangerous.

Back up Ruck, Gardi at this stage but would love to see a new guy push up. Schneider if we need some goals, with 2 more mids for options and a bit of youth.

Thanks for reading.

groupie1

I lime this one:

Gilbert Hudghton X Clarke
Monty Blake Fisher / Ball loose
Gram Hayes Raph
Schneider Roo Heyne
Milne Kozcitcske
Foll: King Dal Goddard
INT: Gardiner Steven Baker Ray
EM: Jones Geary Armitage

Gordon Fode couldda been Plugga
saintly_safes

this is my best 22 if fit & inform,i know ive drawn a long bow & the chances of it happening simultaneously are remote but here goes

B - S.Baker M.Hudghton J.Blake
HB- J.Gram S.Fisher M.Maguire
C - X.Clarke L.Hayes F.Ray
HF - N.Dalsanto N.Riewoldt L.Montagna
F - S.Milne J.Koschitzke S.Gilbert

Rucks- S.King B.Goddard L.Ball
Inter / Change - A.Schneider M.Gardiner D.Armitage R.Clarke
(It was a toss up for the last 2 I/C players N.Heyne C.Jones R.Eddy J.Gwilt
could have easily got a gig as well)

HarveysDeciple wrote:
fonz_#15 wrote:
bigcarl wrote:FB: Baker, Hudghton, X. Clarke
HB: Gram, Maguire, R. Clarke
C: Blake, Hayes, Gilbert
HF: Milne, Riewoldt, Dal Santo
FF: Koschitzke, Goddard, Schneider
R: King, Ball, Montagna

Inter: S. Fisher, Jones, Ray, Heyne
Sammy Fisher on the bench? he is our B&F winner and a great user of the footy.

i know your opinion of BJ, but he needs to play midfield if we are to be a chance.
not meant as a sledge on fisher, whom i rate very highly. as for bj, we need goals and a lot more potency in attack if we are to be a chance.

btw, the OP is My Best 22. This is mine. Where is yours?
Have always wanted BJ to play accross half forward. Dangerous anywhere inside 60....has the motor to push up the ground and be an extra mid, and would be the best deliverer inside 50 without a doubt.
Calling for it since day 1.
across half forward yes but not as a deep lying forward- he like roo are wasted too deep. they need to be in the action more often.

i don't see the point in posting a best 22 when i am not the coach, but it is a discussion point so i get involved.

Do people actually think Ross is going to line up Goddard as a forward? I don't. Ross might move him up forward or down back if the situation warrants it. He does things like that with Roo. I don't think Ross is going to move him away from the middle just because we're short a marking target.

I don't see Heyne getting much game time this year. He's got a lot of things to work on. Best to do that sort of thing in the VFL. I see Armo, Geary, and Steven fighting it out with Gwilt, Jones and Mini for the last two spots in the team round one. If Baker, Xavier Clarke or Schneider can't go that would open up more spots, but I think Ross is putting the kids in a situation where they have to really earn their spots. They're not going to have it handed to them.

My 22 for R1:

FB: Maguire - Hudghton - S. Fisher
HB: Gram - Blake - R. Clarke
C: Ray - Hayes - Dal Santo
HF: Montagna - Riewoldt - Gilbert
FF: Schneider - Koschitzke - Milne
OB: King - Goddard - Ball

IC: Armitage - Baker - X. Clarke - Jones

EM: M. Gardiner - Gwilt - McQualter

vacuous space wrote:Ross might move BJ up forward if the situation warrants it.
yes, i suspect that is what will happen.

bj was the one we turned to when we needed a spark on saturday night.

since we often need a spark, it could happen quite regularly.

vacuous space wrote:My 22 for R1:

FB: Maguire - Hudghton - S. Fisher
HB: Gram - Blake - R. Clarke
C: Ray - Hayes - Dal Santo
HF: Montagna - Riewoldt - Gilbert
FF: Schneider - Koschitzke - Milne
OB: King - Goddard - Ball

IC: Armitage - Baker - X. Clarke - Jones

EM: M. Gardiner - Gwilt - McQualter
This looks close to our best available 22 at the moment assuming that Dempster remains unavailable and that Riewoldt, Kosi, Goose and Baker come up to scratch fitness wise.

I don't agree with where you have positioned all the players: eg, I would start with Goose at CHB, Gilbert in the backline (doesn't look like a forward to me) and Blake on the bench.

And I reckon it's a close run thing between Armo, Jones, McQualter and Gwilt for the last two spots.

I am mystified at the idea that other posters can suggest leaving out the likes of Blake. Have they actually been watching the Saints over the past few years?

Blake is easily one of our top dozen players. On the form of recent years, I would rate him at least the equal of Baker, Kosi, Joey, Max and Ball and way ahead of the likes of Gilbert, Schneider, Ray, Jones, Gram, the Clarkes and Armo.

Anyone who can't see that he is an automatic starter for Round 1 just doesn't understand football IMO.

meher baba wrote:I don't agree with where you have positioned all the players: eg, I would start with Goose at CHB, Gilbert in the backline (doesn't look like a forward to me) and Blake on the bench.
Blake was our number two KP defender by the end of last year. I haven't seen anything yet to suggest that Maguire will pass him any time soon. They played Goose at CHB against a nothing opponent in a near meaningless preseason game. He didn't exactly look great.

I think we'll persist with Gilbert up forward. He's fast, he's good at ground level, he's aggressive and he can kick for distance. It'll be very different up forward one Roo and Kosi come back, and it should open up some space for Gilbert. I think, at the very least, the coaching staff will want to see what he can do there once real football starts.

JABBER

My Best 22

The reason I brought up this topic was to show how many line ups this great club can have.There is no correct answers Ive got a lot of faith in Lyons coaching staff and with a little bit of luck play in a grand final I hope to see all the saint fans surport the club and dont bag the players I have never met a player who means to make mistakes

trevor barker

rooey will find a way to kick his 60 per season whether its deep or more up the ground floating back at times

bj is wasted deep too, however if we find 3 more mids who can kick it well, hard and aggressive pricks like him well sure, play him ff

not going to happen, he will and has played his best footy imbetween hb and hf...let that continue...see the results

gilbert has been seen as the second-coming of hamil despite a pretty ordinary 2008...he infrequently puts on a great hit and kicks a goal once in a while...nothing to suggest he will suddenly burn it up

a rotation of kosi and milne is probably our best options as a deep full forward type player

My best 22...

FB: Monroe - Bardot - Fonda
HB: Berry - Jolie - Crawford
C: McPherson - Schiffer - the blonde chick from Abba
HF: Pfeiffer - P Anderson - L Hurley
FF: E Longoria - Aguillera - S Sully

Foll: J Jamieson - Agent 99 - Wonderwoman

I/C from: who cares when u got a first 18 like that.

Energ: Any of the girls from Playboy Mansion

WayneJudson42 wrote:My best 22...

You couldn't fit Barbara Eden in a rotation?

I'm talking the original version, circa 1960's

Iceman234 wrote:
WayneJudson42 wrote:My best 22...

You couldn't fit Barbara Eden in a rotation?

I'm talking the original version, circa 1960's
Mate, there's room for everyone in WJ's Super team of vixens. :lol:

Oops forgot Fawcett and Debbie Harry.

JABBER

My Best 22

B A Heavan Seka V Hart
HB M Monroe A Blue S Knox
C M Beautte G Lynn A Chaines
Hf Lola Ann-Marie J Moore
F C Robbins J St James L Lovelace
R B Woods N Hartley A Lynn
I J Holmes H Savaige M Chambers J Knight

trevor barker

Re: My Best 22

JABBER wrote:B A Heavan Seka V Hart
HB M Monroe A Blue S Knox
C M Beautte G Lynn A Chaines
Hf Lola Ann-Marie J Moore
F C Robbins J St James L Lovelace
R B Woods N Hartley A Lynn
I J Holmes H Savaige M Chambers J Knight
How can you you leave out Tera PAtrick... and the R Jeremy?

Ron would make AA for the simple fact of his famous party trick. :lol:

JABBER

my best 22

B S Fisher M Hudgton X Clarke
HB S Gilbert M Maguire R Clarke
C F Ray L Hayes J Gram
HF N Dal Santo N Riewoldt A Schneider
F C Jones J Koschizke S Milne
R M Gardener B Goddard L Ball
I S King L Montagna J Blake S Baker

trevor barker
JABBER

my best 22

Where did i have A Smith in my best 22

trevor barker

Re: my best 22

JABBER wrote:Where did i have A Smith in my best 22
I believe you started a thread stating that A Smith was goning to be in the tema for the first game.

I also recall that not many shared your opinion.

True Blue Sainter

B: Baker Hudghton Dawson
HB: Gilbert Fisher Gram
C: Montagna Hayes Dal Santo
HF: Schneider Riewoldt Goddard
F: McQualter Koschitzke Milne
R: Gardiner Jones Ball
INT: Armitage McEvoy Geary Ray

The Saints are coming!
reincarnated

Saints Premiers 2008 wrote:rooey will find a way to kick his 60 per season whether its deep or more up the ground floating back at times

bj is wasted deep too, however if we find 3 more mids who can kick it well, hard and aggressive pricks like him well sure, play him ff

not going to happen, he will and has played his best footy imbetween hb and hf...let that continue...see the results

gilbert has been seen as the second-coming of hamil despite a pretty ordinary 2008...he infrequently puts on a great hit and kicks a goal once in a while...nothing to suggest he will suddenly burn it up

a rotation of kosi and milne is probably our best options as a deep full forward type player
A long time coming however this imo is on the money. BJ has shown that he is a great forward however "his best footy is imbetween half back and half forward". Good call

Great post

WTF are you people all on?
Most of you have left out Gardiner. Easily our best ruckman this year. Easily.

And as for the OP, your best 22 has three guys yet to play a game, excludes Dawson and Blake, both of whom have played every game in the best defensive effort in modern footy history, excludes CJ, excludes Gardy and includes the Clarke brothers, one of whom has an ACL and the other had his chance a couple of weeks age and stuffed it.
What were you smoking when you posted that?

st.byron wrote:WTF are you people all on?

And as for the OP, your best 22 has three guys yet to play a game, excludes Dawson and Blake, both of whom have played every game in the best defensive effort in modern footy history, excludes CJ, excludes Gardy and includes the Clarke brothers, one of whom has an ACL and the other had his chance a couple of weeks age and stuffed it.
Only the last 5 posts in this thread are from today - the rest are from pre-season.

It is an old thread being bumped.

st.byron wrote:WTF are you people all on?

Only the last 5 posts in this thread are from today - the rest are from pre-season.

It is an old thread being bumped.
Ah well back in my box then. Apologies to those concerned. Thanks MM for setting me straight without a gobful or sarcasm to go with it :D