Jason Gram

Jason Gram

Is this guy the most over rated player on our list? He is terrible in a contest, refuses to tackle will not put his head over the footy and burns the ball more than most. He had 14 possies today and an efficiency rate of 57%!! He has got way ahead of himself must go back to the basics, if it wasn't for his pace he would offer nothing at the moment.

he's just trying to kick it too hard

also, should never be played as a defensive player, cos he isn't one, when will Ross learn?

Gram is NOT a defender, FAIR DINKUM when will we ever have a coach who wakes up to this fact.

Play him on the wing F fornication's sake

FAIR DINKUM

It might just be that he has been drinking some of his own bath water and believes that he should kick the ball 60m+ every time he gets it. Hopefully someone gets in his ear because he is and can be a very good player !!

has been getting progressively worse every gam ethis year...

Trying to do too much, then second guuessing... And his kicking has gone to the dogs...

Serious question marks over him at the moment... Not enough k's in the tank to be overlooked unfortunately.

Zippy

He's been awesome there in the past. I think he's just expecting it too be easier than it actually is.

He might need to be dropped for a week or two just to wake him up, or maybe just slapped in the head a few times.

He can be a great rebounding backman, or a superb wingman, if he's in form.

Blindly delusional optimist. Fan of the Blake.

"If anyone disagrees with anything I say, I am quite prepared not only to retract it, but also to deny under oath that I ever said itâ€
saintsrus

He was practicing the torp even in the warm up

Before Im 85

I just watched the tape of the 1st 1/2. Gram has about 1/2 tonne of strapping on his right leg !!

His decision making is becoming terrible at times.

The old "Grambulance" is back on the road, and he can be a liability more often than an asset.

I don't think he is fully fit.
He has lost some speed.
Doesn't have the confidence to take on his man and run the lines.
And he is well down on bounces compared to last year.

barks4eva wrote:Gram is NOT a defender, FAIR DINKUM when will we ever have a coach who wakes up to this fact.

Play him on the wing F fornication's sake

FAIR DINKUM
A wing??

When was the last time anyone ever played as a geuine wingman?

1992?

rodgerfox wrote: A wing??

1992?
I think Nicky Winmar was the last true wingman.

Otiman wrote:
rodgerfox wrote: A wing??

1992?
I think Nicky Winmar was the last true wingman.

Matera in my books

Peter Matera in 1995....

He played after that...but was on the HBF.

However Aussie at the Saints was on the wing after that...but was at his best on the HBF .

Back on Gram,...good teams have worked him out.

He either needs to reinvent himself....or the coach needs to try him elswhere.

Has been woeful this year.

I love him and everything but i cant say it enough after today - this bloke needs a week or two in the scorps to re-invent himself.

Has been getting worse and worse every week and was a liability today.

Over and over again he puts teammates under pressure with lax handballs or high field kicking to a contest / 2 on 1.

Doesnt seem to have the same zip around the ground as he used to either.

With Dal's troubles at the moment too, I feel we'd be better off with Dal running off a half back flank and dropping Grambulance down to the twos for a while.

karnaby

Had the opportunity to get us going at the start of the second half & failed pathetically by kicking the ball low which allowed it to be rushed thru. I reckon it really deflated things when it should have done the exact opposite.

Also it seemed that a lot of geelong's scoring was set up by his opponents especially in the first half when kelly cut him up badly.

Obviously he can be good on the rebound but his defense can be very, very costly. I'd like to see him play further forward in the hope that he can provide the option to kick the odd long goal & that might outweigh some of his defensive ineptitude.

It's a shame ignorance isn't painful

i dont get how the coach can preach playing acountable one on one footy with a spare man in defence ? Gram couldnt defend to save his life the ploy of having him as a decoy defender who rebounded out of defence has been exposed for almost a year now adapt or extinction Grammy we cant dish up the same crap time and time again causeit worked 2years ago premiership teams develop game styles not copy them

midas_touch

Shanked most of his kicks today, and I agree he has been very ordinary so far this season. Perhaps a stint in the seconds will provide him with the kick up the backside that he needs at the moment.

Trust the Midas Touch

"My heart is at St.Kilda, I've been here seven years, I only wanted to play for them." (Fraser Gehrig, 27/11/2007)

He needs to coached to watch the ball onto his boot.
But when was the last time a coach ever coached.

We got rid of Brent Guerra and picked up Jason Gram....

I know who I would prefer to have in our starting 22....

Guerra is a far better player IMO, can kick to position compared to Gram who often turns the ball with poor disposals

Tends to try and kick the leather off the ball. Needs to go back to pin pointing 40 metre kicks and reserve the longer kicks when he spots someone on the lead. Might be better if we runn him as an onballer off the bench (insteed of fiora) and work BJ and geary into his HB positions.

Hard at it

Re: Jason Gram

BringBackMadDog wrote:Is this guy the most over rated player on our list? He is terrible in a contest, refuses to tackle will not put his head over the footy and burns the ball more than most. He had 14 possies today and an efficiency rate of 57%!! He has got way ahead of himself must go back to the basics, if it wasn't for his pace he would offer nothing at the moment.
He has been terrible. He butchers the ball constantly and loves hanballing to people flat footed. Definitely overrated, but he's not alone, he has a few friends i'm afraid.

Is Grammy carrying a hip injury? !!

Eastern wrote:Is Grammy carrying a hip injury? !!
He maybe and that doesn't help when he's carrying a handbag...

Needs to show more aggression at the ball like many players on our list IMO

We seem to lack players that show "real" aggression at the ball...

Hayes is a great example of players we need at the club.

Gram, Dal, Ralf Clarke and many others need to step up...

Again Guerra was and is a player that has aggression at the ball and we got rid of him and picked up Gram...

It really makes you wonder