Atmosphere

LENNY LEADS THE WAY

Atmosphere

Watching the game on Tele i thought the atmosphere was very poor for 40 odd thoousand to be there.

for those at the game was the game a buzz and it just wasn't captured thru the tele?

I guess the way we played it's a bit hard to get excited.

100 percent behind the saints 100 percent of the time
OneEyedSainter77

Mate, you can't judge a game like that on TV. I was at the game and the buzz was phenomenal. The atmosphere was electric. And let me tell you, us sainters were VERY excited.

mick13

Well it wasn't exactly a close game, atmosphere's never great towards the end of the game when one teams up by 10 goals. But early on it was great, specially when Gram slotted his first on the siren, that was awesome.

james rose

much more atmosphere versus sydney..

Huzzad

Sounded pretty good to me on the telly...

www.wikisaints.com - Your Online St Kilda Encyclopedia!

www.truesainters.com - A Friendly Forum Alternative

http://truesainters.wordpress.com - Player of the Round articles, match previews and reviews

The sting and edge went out of the game half way through the third.

From then on it was fairly tame with low crowd involvement.

i was there sitting next to the cheer squad and IT WAS electric!

It may have been stifled by the fact that for the first 1.5 q - we were stunned and worried about workplace bullying.

The next 1.7 q had us hoping we would then smash the rabble by 100+, and enjoyed the shift, although still not convinced.

The last 0.8 q went quiet as our blokes were exhausted, and unfortunately didn't bury the rats as we had all hoped for.

A lot of indecision I thought in the crowd - "it's early in the season and hopefully we'll lift."

The Jigster gave his all as always though :D :wink:

As the Boos ran onto the ground I commented "not much support for them".

1/4 time I said "have a look at how many of them there are."

20 minute mark of the last q (and suck it in you scum who missed your last three goals) - I said "traffic shouldn't be too bad looking at level 3.

luke.l_26

er.. I sat next to the cheersqaud in the social club...
And well. While the cheersquad did their best to chant.. It was very soft... tried to carry it on in my own bay.. and noone joined in.. after several attempts, I decided i was doing it in vain and just continued with my umpire abuse and commentary to myself...

MWL - Blinding footy players on the field since 2003

From where I was sitting the Blues fans in the first quater were very excited and I dare say a few of them felt an upset was on the cards. We kicked some nice goals and Fizz took a ripper of a grab so obviously the crowd loved that.

TV is never a sign of the atmosphere with any game imho.

did anyone see the mexican wave by the blues cheer squad, never seen that before, classic!

It's what happens when you play the worst team in the comp, there is no reason to get to excited!

johnpeterbudgefanclub

Pretty hard to get an atmosphere happening against a lowly, tanking side like that scum :twisted:

Definately a routine win for u guys once u cleared a few of those early match cob-webs.

johnpeterbudgefanclub wrote:Pretty hard to get an atmosphere happening against a lowly, tanking side like that scum :twisted:

Definately a routine win for u guys once u cleared a few of those early match cob-webs.
agreed, can't wait to play your mob, should be a beauty at the dome!

luke.l_26 wrote:er.. I sat next to the cheersqaud in the social club...
And well. While the cheersquad did their best to chant.. It was very soft... tried to carry it on in my own bay.. and noone joined in.. after several attempts, I decided i was doing it in vain and just continued with my umpire abuse and commentary to myself...
Show some leadership. YELL LOUDER :roll: :wink: !!

gO.SainTs

ralphysaints35 wrote:i was there sitting next to the cheer squad and IT WAS electric!
I was sitting behind them :lol: It was good, especially in the second quarter, you could just feel the atmosphere 8-)

You know what I've commented on this very same topic before. I totally agree with the original poster. I think I first posted on this after the 2005 Prelim final anainst the Swans. When the game started turning the Swans way the Saints crowd just went numb. It really was obvious; the lack of noisy support from the Saints.

I only attend a few games a year and most times I go away thinking the crowd was not into it. Maybe I still miss the old Moorabin days.

But seriously somebody should take this up with the club administration to devise a plan to create some atmosphere similar to the interstate teams. When I've gone to see the saints at interstate venues it always strikes me how intimedating their crowd is. I think the Victorian teams playing out of the Dome have yet to creat this. Is it possibly still a case of the old VFL traditionalist in the crowd still refusing to lower themselves to those interstate gate crashers.

Atmosphere

:D G'day Folks! :D Its always a challenge to "create" an atmosphere when the game is going the way it was in the opening period with the team looking a wee bit sluggish and our opponents in the lead.
It all comes back to how the team are going out on the paddock for a majority of the crowd, and thats how its always been, in any sport in any country you care to name.
I reckon the time to crank up the volume is as soon as we see the boys in the race ready to take the field! The chant "St KILDA!! St. KILDA!!!! St. KILDA!!!!! should be getting belted out all over the stadium. But I know that for many, it's just not something they can do,,and thats fine we all show our loyalty in different ways (I go a wee bit mental at times and I know it embarrases my family who have to endure sitting near me!!)
If we ALL just join in even if only for a couple of minutes it DOES help lift all of us!
I'm not too concerned about looking silly, but that doesn't mean my support levels are any more valuable than someone a wee bit more reserved. (They've paid up their memberships after all! :D )
I reckon this Fridee will be a KER- RACKER of a game and the atmosphere will be great too!
I hope to add my humble efforts to those of you up there in the heights of the Moorabbin wing!
Regards to you all!

Dave :lol:

Looked on TV that the atmosphere at the Dome was due to the accumulated smoke from the hamburger stalls. :wink: Definate pale blue haze.

I think that Robert Walls remarked on it at one stage during the game.

Looking forward to seeing ya on the WIng Fri night Jiggster...there will be any number of kindred souls who will join in your boisterous encouragement for the boys!!

johnpeterbudgefanclub wrote:Pretty hard to get an atmosphere happening against a lowly, tanking side like that scum :twisted:

they weren't tanking saturday night...does my heart good to confirm that they are just crap....pure and simple........and... for the record, gibbs is still squibbing the hard stuff...takes short steps........