whos the most over-rated player you've seen

avid

Has to be Wayne Carey -- there's no way he could be No 1 of all time.

Yes and sympathy votes for poor old Jodi Arnol -- looked pretty good, had a great set of tats, and a "boy named Sue" thing going, but no he wasn't the next Baldock.

avid wrote:Has to be Wayne Carey -- there's no way he could be No 1 of all time.

Yes and sympathy votes for poor old Jodi Arnol -- looked pretty good, had a great set of tats, and a "boy named Sue" thing going, but no he wasn't the next Baldock.
have you ever watched football?

avid

yes ....
why?

Unforgiven

Dale Thomas, Nick Dal Santo, Travis Cloke, Cam Mooney

I think Pendlebury, Tyson Edwards are among the most underated.

Carpe Diem
Winmarvellous

Certainly wouldnt put the Kickett's in the same class as Winmar, Long and McLeod.
If Derek Kickett joined the VFL immediately after he was robbed of his Sandover you might be thinking differently there. Was an absolute gun before he piled on the extra kilos, and had one of the best skillsets I've ever seen. Could absolutely murder the footy when kicking, take the spectacular marks and evade any would-be tackler with ease. KIlled it at WAFL level, and still amazed the Eagles overlooked both him and Nicky.

midas_touch

Adam Goodes
Travis Cloke
Adam Cooney
Aaron Davey
Adam Hunter

Trust the Midas Touch

"My heart is at St.Kilda, I've been here seven years, I only wanted to play for them." (Fraser Gehrig, 27/11/2007)

avid wrote:yes ....
why?
you obviously dont watch it all that carefully do you

Saint Corin wrote:Nick Dal Santo
time will tell on that one

concur on wayne carey

the carey myth has exploded, or ass ploded.

an outstanding player no doubt, but leigh matthews was far and away better, lockett was much better than carey for starters.

Dan Warna wrote:concur on wayne carey

an outstanding player no doubt, but leigh matthews was far and away better, lockett was much better than carey for starters.

You are right about Carey. Only sneaks into the top 5 players in the last 40 years. And there would have only been 3500 players play in that time. Sounds overated to me.

Bill Picken from Collingwood (and Sydney). A player made to look great by the umpires...he could do no wrong.

Perhaps Craig Bradley as well...very good player who played forever but mastered the art of receiving.

Special mention Mr Wanganeen - you can't touch this !!!!

Dan Warna wrote:concur on wayne carey

You are right about Carey. Only sneaks into the top 5 players in the last 40 years. And there would have only been 3500 players play in that time. Sounds overated to me.
no with regard to him being NO.1 of all time.

as for top 3, I reckon sticks kernahan was every bit as good as carey and a much better leader.

I'd definately take michael voss ahead of carey as well.

top 3 would probably be in the last 25 years or so

lethal matthews
Tony Lockett
Michael Voss

and yes michael voss was pretty lame his last 2 or 3 seasons at Brisbane, but then carey was lame in his last season at north, and his last two seasons at adelaide.

Unforgiven

That's irrelavant. You could say that about any current player someone has passed judgement on.

Carpe Diem

Saint Corin wrote:
That's irrelavant. You could say that about any current player someone has passed judgement on.
i think dal will surprise a few this year. just coming into his prime as a footballer and if he stays fit and in a successful team he's as good a chance as any for the brownlow.

seeing him out there in the essendon game he just oozed class and confidence and looked to have really filled out across the shoulders. kicked a couple of important goals at important times, too.

but corin you are right if what you are saying is that he hasn't consistently delivered (until now) on his enormous potential

johnpeterbudgefanclub

midas_touch wrote:Adam Goodes
Travis Cloke
Adam Cooney
Aaron Davey
Adam Hunter
How would u rate them if they were wearing the saints jumper midas??? I beg to differ. :roll:

Richard Tambling.

By a mile.

n1ck wrote:Richard Tambling.

By a mile.
Who rates him? Even Richmond fans generally hate him.

esaint66

Eastern wrote:Can anyone else remember JODI ARNOL.
Came over from Tassie as the next big thing (was even touted as the next Baldock) at CHF.
Was an absolute flop. I think he went back to Tassie !!

sounds like the new recruit from the movie the club. :lol:

i think the most overrated players were those drafted in the early 00's and the late 90's.

players like tony francis, damian monkhurst, cayden beetham, gavin mitchell. all coming from different clubs and not makeing an impact here.

thought the same thing might happen with our new recruits this year but the complete opposite has happened :D

esaint66

mad saint guy wrote:

By a mile.

hahah exactly i dont think ive seen him do anything right kinda reminds me of raph clarke.

adam goodes is outstanding

he's the sort A class version of blake, a more consistently good version of koutafides (the peaks and troughs betweens kouta's genius best and his plodding worst were substantial in the early part of his career and injury limited him in the latter part)

FB , CHB, Ruck, CHF, FF and mobile enough to play on the wing, and run up a few times as a big ruckrover.

even when he's injured he's still in the top 10% of players in the league.

i wonder if I'd take him at st kilda given his injury record, but there are few more breathtaking players than goodes.

one thing lyon got absolutely right was working to shut down goodes.

mad saint guy wrote:

By a mile.
They hate him. Why would they hate him. Because he was taken pick 3. Not sure that is his fault or a reason to hate him.

footy_first

st_Trav_ofWA wrote:
footy_first wrote:
stinger wrote:without a doubt that squib gibbs....no 1 draft pick my arse..... :roll: :roll: :roll:
come off it
he was played in the backline for pretty much all of last season (by pagan), which he dominated against all his opponents. there was so much negative focus on carlton by the end of the season (tanking, pagan etc.) that nobody (apart from carlton supporters) took notice of the positive side (gibbs). everybody is far to critical of him, and expects him to be as good as judd in his first ever season
gibbs might turn out ok but seriousy as far as no 1 draft picks go hes up there with Clive waterhouse as the least spectacular
lol...clive waterhouse was number 1 pick.....you cant even compare gibbs with someone like him

footy_first

Re: whos the most over-rated player you've seen

LTN16 wrote:
footy_first wrote:
LTN16 wrote:
footy_first wrote:whos the most over-rated player you've seen
mickey martin and aaron hamill spring to mind...
Jarrod Waight
i've never seen it spelt that bad before
Ok i'll have another go

Jarrod Weak

I hope he gets bashed again the soft c*nt !!
Jarrad Waite actually

Sorry to say, Dal is up there

footy_first

oh yea...and luke hodge (every season people tip him to win the brownlow but he never gets close)
dale thomas is in my mind the most over-rated player in the league atm
he's the biggest show-off and doesnt have big impacts on games...marks of the week doesnt help teams win matches. only gets like 12 touches a game and 1 goal...he was number 2 for a reason