Saints Jumper on Tommy Bent's Statue?

St George

Saints Jumper on Tommy Bent's Statue?

So who's going to put the Saints footy jumper on Tommy Bent's statue in Nepean Highway Brighton in September?

And who did it in 1966? Are they members of Saintsational?

My memory must be failing me? I lived around the corner back then, and I recall the statue being painted red, white and black? But I was only 12 at the time so it could be my memory is incorrect.

In those days, prior to Nepean Highway being widened, the statue was in a much more prominent position than it is today.
Last edited by Mr Magic on Mon 03 Dec 2007 8:00pm, edited 1 time in total.

didn't someone also put a bottle of beer in his outstretched hand?

Most likely the 'culprits' were patrons at Sierras, the Sierakowski owned pub across the road.

I was only 14 at the time, but I can remember press coverage of Tommy Bent in a makeshift Saints Jumper. Don't think he was painted though.

SideshowMilne

the ole man reckons it went after we won in 66'.

he said it was a real bad omen when it went up pre 1997.

I will camp out with a gun in the 'next' lead up week. Don't even think about it ya hear.

Mr Magic wrote:In those days, prior to Nepean Highway being widened, the statue was in a much more prominent decision than it is today.
The bent fella was in the middle of the highway back then. I didn't see the jumper, but I'm pretty sure my parents were there all night !

satchmo wrote:
Mr Magic wrote:In those days, prior to Nepean Highway being widened, the statue was in a much more prominent decision than it is today.
The bent fella was in the middle of the highway back then. I didn't see the jumper, but I'm pretty sure my parents were there all night !
I used to live in Milroy Street which runs into Nepean Highway just where the Statue was. Once the Highway was widened they moved 'Tommy' to a little grass patch near Bay Street.

Mr Magic wrote:I used to live in Milroy Street which runs into Nepean Highway just where the Statue was.
Are you a Gardy boy ?

loriswa

and so 'the twig is bent'. Some may know their history :wink:

Big Carl was one of the culprits back in 66, the other one was his mate from Brighton High.....

So i am told....

Has anyone seen the statue?
Saints jumper was painted on. You could never get a real jumper on it. Also a bottle of Fosters (people actually drank Fosters back then) was araldited to his hand.

Nearly 17 years of age, first time I got really pissed, Ralph Sierakowski turned on the grog at the Brighton Club Hotel (now Dan Murphys), great night after the greatest day.

loriswa

Isn't it amazing that a statue of such a scoundrel is still kept?

Because there is a statue of him I'm sure , most people today would think he was a fine upstanding citizen worthy of our respect.

Then again I supose the people of Brighton in those days revered him because his corruption got them the railway and other capital works. For those who don't know their history of this fomer MLA , Speaker and Premier....read his biography. "Bent By Name & Bent By Nature"...it's a corker on corruption in the late 1890's early 1900's.

I've always thought that Brian Bourke ex-premier of WA would have secretly admired Tommy Bent. Burke modelled himself beauifully on Bent IMHO ie, a supreme manipulator, bully and liar only there to feather his own nest and both the lumpen proletariat and greedy silvertails thought he was the ants pants at the time.

Still I didn't mind dancing around his statue that wonderful night in 1966.

When I was there it was only Saints flags and scarves that were being thrown all over the statue....ah the memories...from there I went to dance on the radio consuls at D.24. :shock: Jack Meehan (an ex Saint player) was the Sergeant in charge that night at D24 & he let me send a morse code message to a fellow Saint supporter who was a radio operator in our base at Mawson Bay...by all accounts the base really partied, all were immediately allowed their weekly alcohol ration. :P

Would you believe I had only had one glass of wine? I was simply intoxicated with the joy of experiencing a Saints flag after so long.

Oh I hope I can experience such euphoria again over the Saints winning a premiership....but I think my morse code skills have evaporated over the years......what's morse code I can hear some of the young forumites saying.

Jack Meehan's claim to fame as a Saint's footballer is mainly the famous photo of him being backhanded by Captain Blood "Jack Dyer". Somehow, the caption with that photo always stated it was Tom Meehan getting the backhander not his brother Jack...... or at least that was Jack's story and I wasn't one to argue with him then as he was my boss.

I guess this is one advantages of being a more senior Saints supporter, one has at least half a century of memories (both highs and lows)to recall while supporting this club :P :P :P

SideshowMilne wrote:the ole man reckons it went after we won in 66'.

he said it was a real bad omen when it went up pre 1997.

I will camp out with a gun in the 'next' lead up week. Don't even think about it ya hear.

I love the unexpected words from long time members, avid readers but occasional posters...

And no i am not being cynical...

:!:

Fortius Quo Fidelius Yo

satchmo wrote:
Mr Magic wrote:I used to live in Milroy Street which runs into Nepean Highway just where the Statue was.
Are you a Gardy boy ?
Yep but only til the end of grade 2 - never went to Central.

You too?

The freakish thing was going back to the 'old school' to vote in the last State election - the school appeared to have not changed at all.

jill

:D Have just got my St.Kilda Scrapbook out -used an old Pink pages telephone book - goes from 1963 - 1971.
Tommy Bent's statue shows him draped in huge Saints jumper - can see ropes attached so someone MUST have witnessed the occasion as it would have been a monumental task :wink: . It had Darrel Baldock's no.4 on it.
At the time it was rumoured that some of the players were involved :D

TAGHLAO

Brian Sierakowski's dad put it there, or so Im lead to believe.

satchmo wrote:
Are you a Gardy boy ?
Yep but only til the end of grade 2 - never went to Central.

You too?

The freakish thing was going back to the 'old school' to vote in the last State election - the school appeared to have not changed at all.
Yeah, I grew up in Gardenvale/Elsternwick, and went through the school that produced Neil Roberts, Carl Ditterich, Con Gorozides.

I had a mate that lived in Milroy street, made the papers when a car took the bend too hard and went through their front yard into the canal !

TomWillsGhost

Sirra, Big Carl and a handful of others

"Bugger me age and me cranky ways
I'll send my bones to the contest again"

I have a mate in Milroy st... lovely street, great area.

n1ck wrote:I have a mate in Milroy st... lovely street, great area.
It's no good since they closed Lucky Burgers !

satchmo wrote:
Goyt to agree on that. 1am Saturday great place for dimmies.

satchmo wrote:
You've just brought a tear to my eye :cry:

It didn't matter how often the place changed hands, it still provided the best hamburgers and steak sandwiches.

You knew the place was good because there were always trucks parked outside late at night. Truckies know where tp go.

Try Dannys on teh corner of Carlisle and Barkly st's, in St.Kilda.

Very, very good burgers.

Lucky Burgers, I am salivating just thinking about those big juicy burgers. They leave Maccas and Hungrys for dead.