To those anti-Frankston folk...

I just don't see why we would lose any supporters at all due to our training venue being located in Frankston.

You have to be a very superficial person & supporter to relinquish your membership for this reason.

As for losing St.Kilda's identity, well Hawthorn train a bloody fair way away from Glenferrie & they haven't lost one iota of identity. Those wanting to move back to the Junction Oval are in la la land. Melbourne wanted to re-develop the junction for years but dealing with Port Phillip Council is ten times more frustrating than dealing with Kingston.

It's not as if they've moved our games to Frankston!

Congrats to all involved in this new venture. If the club can now operate a Social Club near the Dome (maybe Rooey can sub-lease the Waterside!) we'll have a very nicely set up operation & Moorabbin can grow weeds and fester a big rat problem for the Kingston Council rats!

Dal_Santos_Gal

Armoooo wrote:Frankston gets a pretty tough wrap but from the times I've been there it is a nice clean place, you get a few bogans but they're mostly harmless, I was hoping that they would go to Casey for selfish reasons but trust me the folk you get down that area are WAY worse... I would say Cranbourne is quite a bit behind Frankston in terms of quality and safety but atleast we didn't move to somewher like Hampton Park or Noble Park....

I have news for you, I lived in Frankston for 21 years, went to school there and now I have lived in cranbourne for the past 5 years..
The difference between the two is that Frankston has had a bigger population for a longer period of time, Frankston has had more years due to location to development and to be honest its about bloody time the place starting looking nice.

However Cranbourne is now the biggest boom area in AUSTRALIA, we will also have one of the best Aquatic Facilitys in the state by mid 2009. Cranbourne is still growing, Frankston is already well ahead in that area because of time.

As for your safety call, Seeing I have lived in both surburbs I will feel alot safer walking the streets of Cranbourne at night then in the center of Frankston thank you very much. Seen alot of shtye go down in the center of Frankston over the years.

Have to give alot of credit to Frankston, the place is starting to look good, they have cleaned up around the station and around the life saving club is looking fantastic. I can honestly say I am rather proud of the place were I grow up nowadays.

In Ross Get lost!

I am excited to stay at St Kilda and this is a great result for the Club and all our fans. I’m proud to be part of the Saints and am pleased to be playing football with the Clubâ€

Saint-Nick wrote:My cat got sick and was trying to eat my houseplants. I realised he wanted grass.

When I realised that my street had NO GRASS at all, I told my (Aussie husband), "That's it! We're moving!"
The cats I know, have always been able to find grass in St.Kilda

Certainly not against the "more affordable" areas as I live in one way out west.

I probably only get to two or three training sessions a year with my boy.

From my side of town I think Frankston adds about 30 mins on (?).

No big deal - if it benefits the club and brings us a flag I'm all for it. For the times I get there I couldn't care if we moved to Warrnambool or Mildura. I'd still go those few times, would just make a really good trip out of it.

May be even more sociable for me with a few of my relo's and mates actually..... :)

Dal_Santos_Gal wrote:
Armoooo wrote:Frankston gets a pretty tough wrap but from the times I've been there it is a nice clean place, you get a few bogans but they're mostly harmless, I was hoping that they would go to Casey for selfish reasons but trust me the folk you get down that area are WAY worse... I would say Cranbourne is quite a bit behind Frankston in terms of quality and safety but atleast we didn't move to somewher like Hampton Park or Noble Park....

I have news for you, I lived in Frankston for 21 years, went to school there and now I have lived in cranbourne for the past 5 years..
The difference between the two is that Frankston has had a bigger population for a longer period of time, Frankston has had more years due to location to development and to be honest its about bloody time the place starting looking nice.

However Cranbourne is now the biggest boom area in AUSTRALIA, we will also have one of the best Aquatic Facilitys in the state by mid 2009. Cranbourne is still growing, Frankston is already well ahead in that area because of time.

As for your safety call, Seeing I have lived in both surburbs I will feel alot safer walking the streets of Cranbourne at night then in the center of Frankston thank you very much. Seen alot of shtye go down in the center of Frankston over the years.

Have to give alot of credit to Frankston, the place is starting to look good, they have cleaned up around the station and around the life saving club is looking fantastic. I can honestly say I am rather proud of the place were I grow up nowadays.
I think we are talking about different areas of Cranbourne, the high st and main part of Cranbourne is a nice enough place, pretty safe but when you get further into the country side of things thats when you see the kind of people I am talking about, it all comes down to personal experiences, I have had far better experiences in Frankston than I have in Cranbourne but what I was saying is that neither of them are really bad, I said or atleast I tried to that those two get a bad wrap but they're not that bad, there are a lot worse such as Hampton Park and Noble Park which are both very violent areas with a massive drug culture...

The Peanut

Saint-Nick wrote:My cat got sick and was trying to eat my houseplants. I realised he wanted grass.

When I realised that my street had NO GRASS at all, I told my (Aussie husband), "That's it! We're moving!"
The cats I know, have always been able to find grass in St.Kilda
:lol: :lol: :lol:

A fair while ago Archie Fraser was talking about St Kilda as our base, because it makes sense, but there was a dead-end there - 'St Kilda isn't St Kilda anymore' - the local council and big business are trying to turn the place into Paris or Madrid - no room or money for footy teams.

After the research undertaken by the club who made it public that they had opened up talks to all regional councils - Frankston came up with the most ticks. I think that 'Casey Scorp' hit the nail on the head - the fact that Frankston can provide the land for an adjacent admin building allows us to start building assets - which was an important component in the original Moorabbin Redevelopment plans for the same reason.

It doesn't matter where we end up - there will be positives and negatives and the word has been around for some time that Frankston was a likely home. It doesn't suit me but I am just one supporter, and I'll get used to the idea after I sleep on it I guess. It's nothing to do with which burb is better, as all of the outer suburbs are horrific to me - but the club needed to get this sorted or we would be arguing until the AFL force us to go to Catherine or somewhere. Nothing wrong with Catherine either - its too small to have outer suburbs. :wink:

Someone told me Frank-stoned has a "Cultural Centre" :shock: :shock: :shock:

Or were they referring to a Dolphin midfielder with a degree ?

BelfastSaint

Enrico_Misso wrote:Someone told me Frank-stoned has a "Cultural Centre" :shock: :shock: :shock:

I suggest those posters who wish to denigrate Frankston let us know which suburb/area they live in ........ I am sure there could be some interesting return comment no matter where you live .....

BelfastSaint wrote:
Enrico_Misso wrote:Someone told me Frank-stoned has a "Cultural Centre" :shock: :shock: :shock:

I suggest those posters who wish to denigrate Frankston let us know which suburb/area they live in ........ I am sure there could be some interesting return comment no matter where you live .....
I live in the Frankston municipality...... and the Frankston Cultural Centre is an oxymoron. :wink:

The Saints are once again " by the seaside" 8-)

GrumpyOne wrote:
BelfastSaint wrote:

I live in the Frankston municipality...... and the Frankston Cultural Centre is an oxymoron. :wink:
Now now..if someone had said that about your precious Cranny..even in jest....you'd be all over them :shock:

timclark27

You can fluff it up and sweeten it all you like. Call me a snob, call me elitist, whatever, I dont really care but when all is said and done it doesn't change the fact that Frankston is a dump.

timclark27 wrote:You can fluff it up and sweeten it all you like. Call me a snob, call me elitist, whatever, I dont really care but when all is said and done it doesn't change the fact that Frankston is a dump.
i won't call you a snob or elitist, you are not worthy of those tags. Edited by mod for abuse...watch your language Fonz

TimeToShineFellas

Dal_Santos_Gal wrote:However Cranbourne is now the biggest boom area in AUSTRALIA, we will also have one of the best Aquatic Facilitys in the state by mid 2009. Cranbourne is still growing, Frankston is already well ahead in that area because of time.
Hate to pull you up on this, but according to a KPMG Report released this year, Cranbourne isn't even in the Top 10 of fastest growing communities in Australia.

7 of them are located in Queensland, 2 are in WA and 1 is in SA

brewski

BelfastSaint wrote:

My Brother is a self confessed and proud bogan from Broady and he still tells me it is below him to go to Frankston :lol: :lol: :lol:
He did live there for 5 years with his ex

Btw i live in Alexandria Syd and Heidelberg Vic - feel free to have a dig at my locations it doesn't bother me in the slightest.

Banned by the censors

I see this "Location Arguement" as being pointless. It doesn't matter where any of us lives, our home is our castle.

With Eastlink being finished next year I will be able to get to Frankston to watch training in about 25 minutes on the 2-3 occasions that I go to training. It takes me longer than that to get to the Dome !!

riccardo

Moorabbin, St kilda, Frankston or Cranbourne, it matters little when you live in the outer East.

Just happy to get a state of the art facility rather than the rotting old trash heap that Moorabbin Oval has been allowed tio turn into.

I'm sure the players would agree.

GrumpyOne wrote:
BelfastSaint wrote:

Now now..if someone had said that about your precious Cranny..even in jest....you'd be all over them :shock:

Cranny hasn't got a Cultural Centre. :shock:

Cranny-Hangers have no delusions of grandeur.

The move to Frankston does at least open up some new marketing opportunities
- StK moccassins and tracky-daks
- perhaps a range of assault weapons featuring the club logo

We can also harvest new membership channels eg
- membership drive centred on Centrelink customers
- discounted membership for unmarried mothers with bigger discounts proportional to the number of children to multiple partners
- etc. etc.

Enrico_Misso wrote: - perhaps a range of assault weapons featuring the club logo
I like your innovative thinking, I will call the Chasers right now and we will get this bad boy off the ground :D

Will our song revert back to "I do Like to be Beside the Seaside". :wink:

The Craw

Enrico_Misso wrote:The move to Frankston does at least open up some new marketing opportunities
- StK moccassins and tracky-daks
- perhaps a range of assault weapons featuring the club logo

We can also harvest new membership channels eg
- membership drive centred on Centrelink customers
- discounted membership for unmarried mothers with bigger discounts proportional to the number of children to multiple partners
- etc. etc.
You are an absolute Knob!

Not Craw, CRAW!
The Peanut

TimeToShineFellas wrote:... Hate to pull you up on this, but according to a KPMG Report released this year, Cranbourne isn't even in the Top 10 of fastest growing communities in Australia. 7 of them are located in Queensland, 2 are in WA and 1 is in SA
Yeah, I thought that was a pretty wild statement as I have seen a couple of areas in WA that seem to be growing much faster than any Melbourne region - but wherever you go the locals always exaggerate something or another - its a bit like wherever you go the local snake is the deadliest in world. :wink:

bozza1980

Animal Enclosure wrote:I just don't see why we would lose any supporters at all due to our training venue being located in Frankston.

You have to be a very superficial person & supporter to relinquish your membership for this reason.

As for losing St.Kilda's identity, well Hawthorn train a bloody fair way away from Glenferrie & they haven't lost one iota of identity.
I'm with you Animal Enclosure.

The club is moving to a world class facility to further enhance their chances of winning a premiership and people are moaning that it's 30 mins further down the road to watch training. If it's not that they're complaining we are in bogan central or if it's not that it's we are not based in St Kilda. For crying out load we haven't been based in St Kilda for 40+ years, in fact when we won our first premiership we took the cup back to Moorabbin!!!

The club is bigger than all of us, last time they moved the administration and training base there was the same teeth grinding, but it was the right decision then and it is the right decision now.

We are basing ourselves in a municipality that actively sought to bring us there, a municipality that is heavilly investing in our future and our success, how about we get behind this move because, in hindsight, it will be seen as a sensational move.

As for our identity, if being based in Moorabbin for 40 years hasn't changed our identity why will training at Frankston??

timclark27

fonz_#15 from Frankston wrote:
i won't call you a snob or elitist, you are not worthy of those tags. Edited by mod for abuse...watch your language Fonz

:lol: I rest my case :lol: