bangers flag.......

tb.....direct 'registered' postage around oz i think ....need to get it to each place in plenty of time (for the organisers to get ready)

you being in nz and singapore could be very handy though !!!

any organised travel plans to those places?

solar
hopefully i'll get this one in the mail to garth (sa) early in the week

NZ wil be either May or June and then September and December.

Singapore is unknown - expect about August unless something comes up sooner.

put me in!
im signing it if the idea works!

"Another storied win in Robert Harvey's career. They say he is the embodiment of their motto of strength through loyalty, and on the day he became just the tenth man to play 350 league games the saints reward him with a seemingly impossible victory."

Gaz, I'm going to San Francisco for a few days leaving July 7th so I could perhaps take a flag over there to carnasaints55? Carna may need to sort out a way of sending it back but hey, that's one direction sorted......!

Sxc_Sainter

oooh im sooo signing this too.
GREAT idea gazrat!!

UP TO DATE info : (as of this morning)

the current plan

four flags ............(sewn together as discussed earlier in this thread)**

2 x .....goin around oz
1 x .....goin international
1 x .....gettn around past players , support staff

** will get a mock up posted asap

the first flag is here .....and will be in the post by tues , wednesday at the latest ......

on its way to garth in sa (with a week to spare)

on monday i'll get two more flags sent up from the club ,
(set them both up the same as .....flag one)

that will give us a flag ready to go international
and another flag ready to go around oz

that leaves the fourth flag ………….this area is a bit more touchy

while the other 3 flags aren’t worth anything (monetarily) until all flags are sewn together ,

the fourth flag would be worth a motza as a single unit…..and therefore must (imo) be in the clubs (or a trusted rep of the clubs) care and control at all times *

*until i need it , to have it sewn together with the other 3 ,
and then back would go the finished unit for the clubs safekeeping

(maybe after we hang it from the mw)….lol

so, i’m canvassing different views, opinions about how best to get our past players , club officials , past coaches ect involved

i havn’t really moved forward on this point as of yet …….still formulating ideas ,

(there have been a few fab suggestions , but don’t wanna put out in public something that’s not confirmed

i’m sort of waking up , to how big wa and the nt really are …. :roll:

sarah and i are discussing via pm .....how the northern territory will be covered

roger and i will yack on the blower over the weekend

starting to think that maybe oz flag #2 …..should be concentrated on those two areas

(and upper sa ….if anyone lives out there )
(even inland queensland)

hmmmmmmmmmmmm

that leaves our international flag

nick taking it in to England (in may)…seems like a winner ….but how many sainters in the uk?

how quickly can these guys / girls come up with a plan ?

i can see lots of separate postings , here , there , back there again …..trouble is …
more postings = more risk of loss

then theres the ...its been to the uk , now its in south america ...issue

once into each country ...then gone

we just cant afford to lose any of these flags ………..hmmmmmmm

not from a $ point of view …..but from a signature / supporter p.o.v

hopefully richter, by the time it gets to carnasaints55...he will post it on to another part of the states

anyways …that’s what goin on in my head peoples

thoughts , comments , pointing out obvious flaws ….all welcome

dooley …..it’s happening ...it works .....have faith :)

steamrolling along here ..... :D

northern territory ....has an organiser ...thanx sarah (saintnt)
gippsland ...has an organiser .....thanx ken (yipper)
colac has an organiser......thanx rod
social club has an organiser .....thanx solar
lakes entrance has an organiser ....thanx val
albury / wodonga has an organiser ......thanx donna
brisbane has an organiser .....thanx brett (plugger14)
south oz has an organiser .....thanx garth
far north qld has an organiser .....thanx rowan
gold coast has an organiser ....thanx bev
san francisco has an organiser ......thanx carnasaints55
switzerland has an organiser .......thanx my les foote
ballarat has an organiser....thanx gail (saint brat)
perth has an organiser ....thanx roger (rogerwa)
moorabbin wing has an organiser .....thanx michael (saint66au)

canberranites and tasmanians ...i still haven't contacted
Last edited by asiu on Sat 14 Apr 2007 1:28pm, edited 3 times in total.

Liam_G

Good stuff gazrat and all else who have been involved so far. Such a great idea. Looking forward to when us Melbournians can give it a sign. Keep it up!

Ideally you want someone from the club who has access to past players and important staff on a pretty easy/regular basis.

Such a person might be hard to find ...

In which case you might have to involve multiple people ... which could get messy.

I guess the main thing is to get "key" people to sign in ... Burkey, Spud, Stewy, GT etc.

Support the President, support the board, support the members and support the coach and players.

They are the St. Kilda Football Club.

Not Grant Thomas.

Happy to organise a signing session for Moorabbin Wing-ites,,perhaps we can pop a trestle table at the back of Aisle 35 for ppl to sign pre-game and at 1/2 time??? Thered be no shortage of volunteers to man the signing table

Have a contact at TD Event Management Im sure they would have no problems with supplying one for a truly worthy cause

We sit on Aisle 35 because of the great man :-)

Riewoldting

Surely someone with a grasp on stats can work out the exact number of players Harvey has played with since his career began ...

By that I mean St Kilda players (not Seaford) who he has played with in a senior VFL/AFL game (premiership points or finals ... not pre-season/state of origin).

The number must be in the hundreds ... far too many for a quarter of a flag ...

Also think it would be appropriate (perhaps by organising through the club or the AFL) for the flag to be signed by a member of the Whitten family (cos this guy's won three, count em, three EJ Whitten medals) and a member of the Brownlow family (cos this guy's won two, count em, two Brownlow medals).

Also might be helpful to get the AFLPA onside for contacting a few current/past players ..?

"To be or not to be" - William Shakespeare
"To be is to do" - Immanuel Kant
"Do be do be do" - Frank Sinatra
luke.l_26

Just out of intrest.. when will we start signing the flag?

MWL - Blinding footy players on the field since 2003

Perhaps Cowboy Neale or the Fly could help out with past players?

apple_corr39

sounds like a good idea 2 me :wink:

saint66au wrote:Happy to organise a signing session for Moorabbin Wing-ites,,perhaps we can pop a trestle table at the back of Aisle 35 for ppl to sign pre-game and at 1/2 time??? Thered be no shortage of volunteers to man the signing table

Have a contact at TD Event Management Im sure they would have no problems with supplying one for a truly worthy cause

Will this be up and running for tonight's game?

Armoooo wrote:
saint66au wrote:Happy to organise a signing session for Moorabbin Wing-ites,,perhaps we can pop a trestle table at the back of Aisle 35 for ppl to sign pre-game and at 1/2 time??? Thered be no shortage of volunteers to man the signing table

Ummm..nooo..later in the season Id imagine..

Armoooo wrote:

Ummm..nooo..later in the season Id imagine..
Ohh good, sorry I haven't been keeping up with this thread after I fell behind but I just really love the idea and really want to be a part of it :)

BUMP!

remember international requests to sign the flag go in here:

http://www.saintsational.com/forum/view ... hp?t=28823

its all going on behind the scenes at this point in time ....(my bit)

work has got in the way a bit ....i've just gotta get the flag to sa for round 5 (and i'm late!!!!)

international requests we do need .....important to get a 'posting program' under way ....but we do have a bit of time up our sleeve

brats working on the world site thing ....(actually 3 or 4 of 'saintbrats' and we could achieve anything) .... :)

hey gaz did you get my pm?

hey gaz- that link I found they called me' spam-- I mean dont they know of my saintsational history :oops:

so I have left one link as they sent the info to the BIN

so maybe anyone who is on a world sports forum somewhere can do a link

rogerwa

brat you coming over for the dockers game...if so maybe you can bring the flag with you

re: International flag

Gday Gazrat
regarding the international flag there is a thriving aussie rules league there, barfl.co.uk I am involved with the wimbledonhawks.com website and I think there is potential for lots of signatures from "footy fans" desperate for anything footy related over in london.
I would imagine that if the flag turned up at one of the games there could be 50 signatures in one hit.
Let me know via this forum
thanks

loving_the_dal

Is the flag coming to Tassie?? Has anything been arranged??

rogerwa wrote:brat you coming over for the dockers game...if so maybe you can bring the flag with you
not this year Rog-
a)A friday night :()
b)and dont want to take tickets that West aussies have to queue for
May go north instead.

other wise I would.

and get onto those boards sunsaint- anyone else got contacts in those walkabout pubs?

rogerwa

w.a saints 'the flag' can be signed at the dockers after game breakfast...for those that cant attend the b/fast & for those of us who have missed out on tickets to the game reiwoldting & myself will bring the flag along to a big screen showing of the game (venue)so all who wish to sign the flag get the opportunity

more details... venue etc in the next week or so