Phillipou Close to Signing

Re: Phillipou Close to Signing

Pot had a better game last night. Thought he was good

wally

If he’s such a dud how is another team going to give us 2 first round picks?
Was it this time last year, that Nas was homesick and heading back to SA at seasons end?
I’d say if he hasn’t signed by say round 12 it’s looking more doubtful that he’s staying.

Killa

Extended for 2 years

So there you go

I'm sorry to say but Wellard Saint you make up too much s***!
Last edited by magnifisaint on Sat 27 Apr 2024 9:26pm, edited 2 times in total.

Pou doesn't stink!

repta

Good. 2 years is right. Fair for all. If he comes good he will get his just deserves on his next contract.
He has shown glimpses of his potential but the jury is still out whether he will be able to become a star of the game.

Great news, hopefully some weight off his shoulders now and can focus on footy.

Great news. He's 19 and possesses a lot of talent. Two more pre seasons and he will become one of our most valuable players alongside NWM, Owens and Wilson.

The last thing we need to be doing is throwing the toys out of the cot with any of our 1 to 3 year players.

Let's face it, Acres is making us look pretty silly. He would look great in our current team. A two way runner who draws tacklers, freeing up others to run in waves.

Killa wrote: Sat 27 Apr 2024 9:06pm Extended for 2 years

So there you go
He was always going to re-sign.
Last edited by saynta on Sun 28 Apr 2024 3:30pm, edited 1 time in total.

Now he needs to develop

12 possessions
0.5 goals

Needs to get closer to 17 possessions and 1 goal

WellardSaint wrote: Thu 25 Apr 2024 10:21pm
Killa wrote: Thu 25 Apr 2024 8:54pm Come in DB Cooper, Loris and Willard Saint because you are all exactly who I am referring to

And I back in the knowledge of the likes of Lyon, Enright, Harvey, Hayes and Goddard over the nonsense you all contribute here

They have all at the very least actually played the game at the level

The people I name are alongside the players on our List 24/7 AND they select the side we are putting on the park (acknowledging injuries and the impact on the side of those injuries)
This is a Fan Forum.
We are here to discuss the club, its admin, coaches, players.
One rule is not to be abusive and personal.
Where was I being personal?
Can you show me.

Do you know what IMHO stands for?
Agree 100%. You're allowed an opinion on a player. People resorting to the ole, you haven't played the game at the highest level therefore you're not entitled to an opinion, is very amusing. I guess that rules out about 40% of people commenting professionally on footy as well. We should all listen to Kane Cornes and David King only I guess (who, btw I enjoy both their opinions)

We may as well shut this forum down if Killa had his way.

Difference of opinion is what makes the world goes around. On this particular issue I disagree completely with Killa, but I'm very interested in what he/she has to say on this issue and a range of issues on this forum because he can form and articulate a point of view. I reckon that's all we should require. If you are going to criticize just articulate a point of view. No need to to shut down discussion.

Saints58

ace wrote: Sat 27 Apr 2024 1:18am Pou pick 10 in 2022 draft.
IMHO Wilson has gone way past Pou despite Wilson pick 18 in 2023 draft and a handful of games.
Garcia pick 50 in 2023 and a couple of games is as valuable as Pou and has overtaken Hastie pick 33 in 2023.
But Pou will should continue to get games until the teams injury list dwindles.

But what of Matt Allison pick 26 in 2020 and Max Heath pick 7 mid season rookie draft 2021.
When will they be ready to play.
Or are they already earmarked for delisting at seasons end.

Both gone I would say list cloggers unless we Moose does more at sandy.
Pou is in his second year so lets cut him some slack ha I really think we should give him a game off lest say managed not at sand just rest and refresh.
ITs his 3 year I am interested in most young players do better then so lets just wait and see.
If we let him go and he becomes a superstar somewhere else, everyone will say why did we let him go typical saints!

1 thing Pou has shown - he’s very clean in congestion….and we have loads of headless chooks
His 1 take quick hands indicate he’s got skills
I’m not calling it yet on him

Teflon wrote: Mon 29 Apr 2024 11:57pm 1 thing Pou has shown - he’s very clean in congestion….and we have loads of headless chooks
His 1 take quick hands indicate he’s got skills
I’m not calling it yet on him
Yep agree on that. Did some beautiful work with his hands on Friday night. Thught he might have turned a corner actually. But then saw him duck his head painfully (again) when Rozee contested a high ball with him, and Rozee pinged his hammy. He also went very quiet in the last quarter and a half when we needed him to stand up (with 21 others) and win the game. The goal he kicked was slightly fortuitous although I think the free kick was there. Was a beautiful set shot by him.

One thing that can't be disputed, whether us supporters think he'll make it or not, is that we all want him to make it. We need him to make it

The Wilson and Pou comparison will linger forever, but I'll say this on it now. They are both vastly different footballers. I'm excited because you need both for a premiership side.

We are developing Philippou to be a contested ball beast. A Petracca type. He's been thrown in the deep end to the most influential role on the field and is improving. It is not quite 'boom or bust' but the ceiling for Pou is extremely high.

Wilson is the Brad Hill type, run and run and run. Get the ball in a good position, clear the pressure, and be damaging by foot. When you look at body types for young players, this is the role that's easier to excel at.