Zak Jones

Zak Jones

Looked happy to be subbed off!!!

Fair to say he is not a Ross fan and feelings are mutual

He is the new Luke Ball or Jack Billings

IMO Zak should have started as the sub, I’m not sure having a forward pocket as the sub is a smart choice?

Zak can come on and give some fresh run and spread in the middle when opp mids are tiring

Re: Zak Jones

My mate was standing at the tunnel where RTB walks through. A person yelled out, ‘never play Jones again’

Ross looked directly at the person who said it, and it didn’t look like an angry or defensive look according to my mate. Almost an acknowledgment. I doubt he’ll get too many more chances from here on end

Jones not happy the other night, but wasn't the worst player out there- we were too top heavy and one of Pou or Sharman should have subbed out.

Correct

Jones is a scapegoat

It’s similar to when fans would only see the negative things, whipping boys like Raph Clarke and Sam Gilbert would do and refuse to acknowledge or see good things they do

Jones had kicked a goal and won some footy

Cooper at 3 qtr time had 3 possessions and no goals, I would’ve subbed him.
However, Sharman had an OK last quarter in defence, so there you go

D.B.Cooper

Sub is the only place for Jones IMO.
He can come on and have an impact as he has some pace and ball winning ability.

Jones is a c grade mid who has a couple of good traits being aggression and a bit of pace.

He can be very good on his day, but he is not consistently a quality AFL standard midfielder.

He has always struggled throughout his career to be on the park consistently and has pretty much averaged the same stats at StKilda as he did in Sydney where he was not a permanent mid.

Lucky the trade was a nil all draw for us and the Bulldogs and from memory the draft pick we traded wasn’t well used. Pretty sure this is Zac’s last season at this level.

I realize BM was comparing his thoughts on RTB and his view on players like Ball and Billings and not directly comparing Jone to those two, as I am sure most would agree Ball at his peak was A grade and B grade across his career, Billings at best was B+ and a solid B grader where Jones has never reached those heights.

There's only one rule in the jungle! When the LYON's hungry, he eats!

I think you might be dismissing Jones career at Sydney

As a HB he played consistently well and rarely missed

Stick a fork in

29, 182cm, coming off long injury break, often injured, no particular skill set. Not particularly astute on the field. Certainly not an example to young players or ever inspirational. Give a newbie a go. A Lethlean legacy, fraying badly.

You’re not really acknowledging that he’s an absolute shadow of himself at the moment. No impact out there.

Has had a good few games now and should be amongst the best mids… had 7 touches to half time. That went with his 11 vs Richmond.

His numbers are on par with Sharman who you’re ready to execute

What?

I am just correcting someone who said he’s never been able to get on the park or play consistently

I just reminded them he played 7 seasons at Sydney before he came to StK and we got him for peanuts

Lethlean would have had ZERO to do with his recruitment

He was NEVER involved in list management

I like zak

Reckon Zac is the perfect sub for us at the moment.

Need to move past him if we want to develop other players and move up the ladder.

D.B.Cooper

B.M wrote: Sat 20 Apr 2024 5:21pm I think you might be dismissing Jones career at Sydney

As a HB he played consistently well and rarely missed
I think you might what to check his record at Sydney.

Averaged 13 games a season and almost identical stats to his time at St Kilda.

Great endeavor, decent pace, has a real crack but a c grade player with average disposal.

Has averaged about 12 games a season over 10 years at the top level.

D.B.Cooper

B.M wrote: Sat 20 Apr 2024 9:10pm What?

I am just correcting someone who said he’s never been able to get on the park or play consistently

I just reminded them he played 7 seasons at Sydney before he came to StK and we got him for peanuts

Peanuts?

He was reportedly paid $650k, he came to the saints for money and has been very underwhelming IMO.

He has had a 3 year block where he was relatively consistently on the park between 2017-19 and his first year as a Saint was ok.

The balance of his time at our club for his reported remuneration has been disappointing.

https://afltables.com/afl/stats/players ... Jones.html

Reportedly

Do you reckon the first three years at 4 games 11 games 16 games

Has a bit to do with those averages

Seriously

Jones is cooked.

Hope they don't give him another contract at the end of season 2024.

Will the Saints ever be classed as a good club ?

Head of Footy Dept, architect of the Hannebrey nonsense had nothing to do with list management? Not plausible.

Yorkeys wrote: Sun 21 Apr 2024 1:02am

Head of Footy Dept, architect of the Hannebrey nonsense had nothing to do with list management? Not plausible.
Don't spin ya wheels dealing with a bell mechanic. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Will the Saints ever be classed as a good club ?

No he wouldn’t have

List management team would have

B.M wrote: Sun 21 Apr 2024 10:17am No he wouldn’t have

List management team would have
Lethlean got the boot because he couldn't keep his fingers out of pies he wasn't responsible for (note this is not a joke about what he was sacked from the AFL for :D). He was CEO wanting to run the whole football department

Nonsense to think he wasn't involved in bringing some of these guys in

He ‘may’ have had a little to do with Hannebery- as in convincing him to come to StK

But that’s it

To think those outside of the list management team influence list decisions shows a distinct lack of understanding of how footy clubs work!

If stk work that way - no wonder we are s***

D.B.Cooper

B.M wrote: Sat 20 Apr 2024 10:18pm Do you reckon the first three years at 4 games 11 games 16 games

Has a bit to do with those averages

Seriously
Yep, it moves his average from 12.46 games per season to about 14.

The situation as I see it, is Jones wasn't good enough to play in the Sydney midfield, we thought he could become a midfielder and seduced him with (reportedly) big coin at that time.

In reality we got a decent AFL standard player who is a best a C grade AFL midfielder.
His good qualities are aggression and pace, his not so good are disposal and two way running.

Any club where Zac Jones is a first string mid is going to have a very poor midfield in my humble opinion.

I may be wrong, but I think you seriously overrate Zac as a player.

The Herald Sun had in the top 100 paid AFL players in 2022.
FFS, if this is accurate that seriously shows how we consistently over pay players such as Hill, Hannebery, Jones, Crouch to arrive & play for the club.

https://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/ ... 262b07941f

Zak Jones
St Kilda

$575,000-$675,000
The brother of ex-Demon Nathan provides a rare mix of toughness and speed to the Saints’ on-ball brigade after being part of the club’s incredible 2019 trade haul. St Kilda parted with a second-round pick to snare Jones from Sydney and he has been a solid contributor, although injuries have limited his impact. His four-year deal expires at the end of next season.

What do you think of the ranking? Vote using the buttons below.

Jones did pretty well under Ratts when we made the finals, but injuries have interrupted his progress sadly. Some players play better under different coaches and that's always been the case.

Ahh

Herald Sun - that’d be accurate!

Jones never played in the midfield

He was never going to get a look in, they had A Graders in there Kennedy, Parker, McVeigh, Jack, Hannebery

They played in a GF in 2016
Zak was in the team