2023 trade period

Re: 2023 trade period

cwrcyn wrote: Wed 04 Oct 2023 7:04pm The AFL cleverly drip feeds us, making sure that interest in the game is kept at a maximum all year round. I'm happy for it, mind you

I just feel that for the Saints most trade periods are like going on a dinner blind date expecting a stunner and when we get there Godzilla is sitting at the table
Agree. Soon AFL will enable betting on draft picks. (Or do they already?).
We have turned around a hopeless, directionless recruiting approach to a strategic one. Players are considered in a holistic sense not simply athleticism.
I'm confident we will get good value from our draft picks and player development is also going to pay dividends. We have done exceptionally well in last few years. Injuries have not been kind.
We have a great group running the show, can only see improvement, whereas clubs that have been / are being fed sugar won't have the long term foundations.
I can't see Lions or Carlton improving and Melbourne being dependent on an aging warrior in Gawn and Petracca. May and Lever have been worked out.

Word is clarry runs to the beat of his own drum

Didn’t follow rehab processes which blew out the hammy injury
Supposedly gave himself a tat (wtf?!) which got infected
Loves the pokies - spotted at weird hours
Not a team player

But of course, can play!

Also word is eagles will deal on pick 1

Also unlike other years when the pundits may say it the top ten and then a lottery to 35, this year it’s top ten and then nothing

That’s all I got from my guy

I reckon Melbourne are cooked.

Where is Jaxons when we need them, especially at this time of the year?

Rugby League would have to be the stupidest, most moronic and over rated game of all time.

Reports are SOS and Carlton are at loggerheads over Dow and we want him to come as a delisted FA. Carlton wants picks.

Coffield is off the the Dogs. Tony Elshaug really screwed us over. Chose Coffield ahead of Naughton a n a ridiculous decision and now Coffield joins Naughton. A double loss

FMD!
What a waste of a draft year that is looking if Coff walks to the Dogs
Cant see us getting much for him either.
Does any other team turn top 10 draft picks into chickenfeed like we do?

Pretty poor by Coff if true.
We supported him through two injury plagued years when he was never going to be fit enough to get on the park.
Now that he might be able to be fit enough he wants out.

He can FRO then..

Apparently the Dogs offered a 3 year deal. He's a skilful player but my knock on him was that he would poop his pants when he was parked under a high ball. Didn't like the hard stuff. Still, I'm not happy. We will basically get nothing for him

Bains sniffing around again.

Prick.

cwrcyn wrote: Thu 05 Oct 2023 7:02pm Coffield is off the the Dogs. Tony Elshaug really screwed us over. Chose Coffield ahead of Naughton a n a ridiculous decision and now Coffield joins Naughton. A double loss
Trout and Richo. What a double act!

Footy development under Cho was the worst in the AFL

Luckily we got guys like Josh Bruce, Tim Membrey, Jack Steele and others who had their first couple of years in the system at other footy clubs

Top 3 in B&F were rookies.
Meanwhile our top draft picks for a number of years have been spuds.
Billings, Gresham, McCartin. Coffield & Clarke
Amazing thing is that none of them even looked likely to be A graders.
More recent with King, NWM and Phillipou much more positive.

Life Long Saint wrote: Wed 04 Oct 2023 11:24am
BackFromUSA wrote: Wed 04 Oct 2023 8:32am We have leverage because technically Dow can just hold off signed and then become a Delisted free agent
We don't really because he is not a free agent.
The only way he can become a delisted free agent is if Carlton actively delist him - which they are yet to do.
If he refuses to sign a tabled offer, then he goes into the pre-season draft with a nominated price on his head. There are many clubs that pick before us. Anyone of those can take Dow.
We do have leverage because Carlton will want something for him instead of nothing.
Player contracts don't expire until the 31st of October, so if he doesn't re-sign with Carlton, or is not traded, then eventually he will be delisted as they'll have no hold on him.

Will the Saints ever be classed as a good club ?

bobmurray wrote: Thu 05 Oct 2023 8:52pm
Life Long Saint wrote: Wed 04 Oct 2023 11:24am
BackFromUSA wrote: Wed 04 Oct 2023 8:32am We have leverage because technically Dow can just hold off signed and then become a Delisted free agent
We don't really because he is not a free agent.
The only way he can become a delisted free agent is if Carlton actively delist him - which they are yet to do.
If he refuses to sign a tabled offer, then he goes into the pre-season draft with a nominated price on his head. There are many clubs that pick before us. Anyone of those can take Dow.
We do have leverage because Carlton will want something for him instead of nothing.
Player contracts don't expire until the 31st of October, so if he doesn't re-sign with Carlton, or is not traded, then eventually he will be delisted as they'll have no hold on him.
If he's been offered a contract and he refuses to sign, he will have to nominate for the draft. He doesn't become a delisted free agent. In this case the player, essentially, delists the club...not the other way around.
Just like Jack Martin did to get to Carlton.

Scollop wrote: Thu 05 Oct 2023 8:44pm
cwrcyn wrote: Thu 05 Oct 2023 7:02pm Coffield is off the the Dogs. Tony Elshaug really screwed us over. Chose Coffield ahead of Naughton a n a ridiculous decision and now Coffield joins Naughton. A double loss

Luckily we got guys like Josh Bruce, Tim Membrey, Jack Steele and others who had their first couple of years in the system at other footy clubs
Arrghh, Tony Elshaug, the gift that just keeps on giving.

I have to wonder if his breathtaking incompetence was by chance or by design.

Scollop wrote: Thu 05 Oct 2023 8:44pm

I was surprised to hear C. Oliver could not be managed by Melbourne with Richo as footy manager. Not.

So James Jordan becomes a Swan as a Delisted Free Agent (previously delisted).
Triggers an end of 2nd round pick for the Demons.

How the Hell does a Delisted Free Agent warrant any compensation at all?

Killa

I am not so concerned at the "We should have taken X instead of taking y"

Simply, the players we have Drafted with First Round selections would have been First Round selections give or take a few positions in the order.

And, as they are human beings, judged on performances at Under 18 level versus the demands of AFL footy, there is always an element of luck with who you select.

And those Drafted are not necessarily going to the Clubs they supported growing up and, indeed, may be moving States so leaving home, family and friends at a very young age.

That we do not currently see the likes of McCartin, Billings, Acres and Dunstan wearing St Kilda colors plus now seemingly losing Coffield and Gresham with Clark also mentioned in dispatches is disappointing because you would have hoped that 2 or 3 of them would be replicating what we see from Sinclair, Wilkie, Marshall and a few others, so leaders of this side.

Noting all of Sinclair, Wilkie and Marshall have come thru the Rookie List, to the top 3 in our B&F in 2023, so something must have happened right in terms of selecting and developing talent.

The eternal question is improving the List - and to improve the List you identify needs and Draft and Trade accordingly.

You have to concede something to get something back (so is Coffield, as a top 10 Draft Pick who has not played in 2 years equal to the guy from Fremantle, also a top 10 Draft Pick who took until into 2023 to showcase his skills at the level? You would hope one cancels the other out and we get pace and creativity as a plus)

At one time we attracted Gehrig, Hamill, the guy from WB who unfortunately broke down et al

No doubt, being a finalist with the likes of King, Wanganeen-Milera, Owens, Windhager and Phillipou assists in offering to whom we offer.

Then you add Sinclair, Wilkie, Marshall, Steele and our foot soldiers who are capable.

It is not who we are losing, it is who we are adding.

And the assessment of needs.

Life Long Saint wrote: Fri 06 Oct 2023 2:25pm So James Jordan becomes a Swan as a Delisted Free Agent (previously delisted).

Wasn’t he a restricted free agent?

Killa wrote: Fri 06 Oct 2023 7:17pm I am not so concerned at the "We should have taken X instead of taking y"

Simply, the players we have Drafted with First Round selections would have been First Round selections give or take a few positions in the order.

And, as they are human beings, judged on performances at Under 18 level versus the demands of AFL footy, there is always an element of luck with who you select.

And those Drafted are not necessarily going to the Clubs they supported growing up and, indeed, may be moving States so leaving home, family and friends at a very young age.

That we do not currently see the likes of McCartin, Billings, Acres and Dunstan wearing St Kilda colors plus now seemingly losing Coffield and Gresham with Clark also mentioned in dispatches is disappointing because you would have hoped that 2 or 3 of them would be replicating what we see from Sinclair, Wilkie, Marshall and a few others, so leaders of this side.

Noting all of Sinclair, Wilkie and Marshall have come thru the Rookie List, to the top 3 in our B&F in 2023, so something must have happened right in terms of selecting and developing talent.

The eternal question is improving the List - and to improve the List you identify needs and Draft and Trade accordingly.

You have to concede something to get something back (so is Coffield, as a top 10 Draft Pick who has not played in 2 years equal to the guy from Fremantle, also a top 10 Draft Pick who took until into 2023 to showcase his skills at the level? You would hope one cancels the other out and we get pace and creativity as a plus)

At one time we attracted Gehrig, Hamill, the guy from WB who unfortunately broke down et al

No doubt, being a finalist with the likes of King, Wanganeen-Milera, Owens, Windhager and Phillipou assists in offering to whom we offer.

Then you add Sinclair, Wilkie, Marshall, Steele and our foot soldiers who are capable.

It is not who we are losing, it is who we are adding.

And the assessment of needs.
The guy from WB who unfortunately broke down = Luke Penny.

Will the Saints ever be classed as a good club ?

1966 wrote: Thu 05 Oct 2023 8:51pm Top 3 in B&F were rookies.
Meanwhile our top draft picks for a number of years have been spuds.
Billings, Gresham, McCartin. Coffield & Clarke
Amazing thing is that none of them even looked likely to be A graders.
More recent with King, NWM and Phillipou much more positive.
Toce is the reason recent picks are better
Let’s hope he keeps his eye in this year

Saintmike65

Life Long Saint wrote: Fri 06 Oct 2023 2:25pm So James Jordan becomes a Swan as a Delisted Free Agent (previously delisted).

He wasn’t delisted…unrestricted free agent

Saintmike65 wrote: Sat 07 Oct 2023 11:09am

He wasn’t delisted…unrestricted free agent
The AFL have changed their messaging on this. I swear that he was previously classified as a delisted free agent.
Anyway...My bad.

Augurs well for Gresham then if Jordan is an end of 2nd round, then Gresh will be somewhere in the first round then without too much effort from Essendon...Given that we have the ability to match the bid.

Dogs lock in pick 4 from Suns