Final V GWS Friday night (Sportsbet said) but now Saturday 3.20pm

Bruce G McAbee

Re: Final V GWS Friday night (Sportsbet said) but now Saturday 3.20pm

While for GWS, I would have preferred Marvel and it would be logical to have it there because of the expected attendance.
But as someone said, they booked a mini golf weekend there, just as well 4 Victorian teams didn't qualify for home finals.
However, we do need as many Saints supporters at the MCG Saturday week as there will be plenty of tickets.
I mean GWS will barely fill up a mini bus with the supporters who will come down for the game, after all, as I said before, they had a home Semi-final against West Coast and West Coast had more supporters there and I believe they sold a little over 2 thousand of their allocation of Grand Final tickets .
Good team, but a joke of a club.

Think of me long enough to make a memory.

Bugger me. Can't host a world cup footy match there, but a mini golf family day out takes precedence over an afl final. There must be something in the water down there?

King Max

The stadium golf doesn't start until the Monday. I'm sure the AFL could have it at Marvel if they really wanted to.

I'll be happy to see us win a final at the 'G and hopefully to be back there two weeks later.

therabbitinthehat

Yorkeys wrote: Mon 28 Aug 2023 2:01pm - GWS song is rubbish and should never be sung at the home of Footy.
Agree with the rest, but that is just wrong - it's a big big sound and it's great :lol:

Yorkeys wrote: Mon 28 Aug 2023 2:01pm - GWS played once on the MCG this season for a 65 point loss to Collingwood.
- Essendon played them into form. False form.
- GWS had several arsey close wins and copped a Carlton playing funny buggers. Lucky to be in the 8. Dogs blew it big time.
- GWS has a first year coach.
- GWS song is rubbish and should never be sung at the home of Footy.
We are well placed as long as we turn up.
In any case exposing Phillipou, Windhager, Owens, King, NWM to finals atmosphere, Seb getting one, is a good payday.
Higgins has to fire, surely.
Love it Yorkeys!

Rationalism and Ridiculous - as all fans should be.

There would be easy counterpoints wo all of these, but why bother fighting it.

Come on Samurai..where are all the stats?

meantime, you are Right! Right! Gold, God, Gold. Alright!

- GWS played once on the MCG this season for a 65 point loss to Collingwood.
- Essendon played them into form. False form.
- GWS had several arsey close wins and copped a Carlton playing funny buggers. Lucky to be in the 8. Dogs blew it big time.
- GWS has a first year coach.
- GWS song is rubbish and should never be sung at the home of Footy.

Our song is cooler, 'cos it starts with 'Oh!'...

Oh my, Oh when the Saints go by
Oh how he hold our heads up high
Oh no, when the Saints go low
Oh Oh Oh Oh Oh Oh

I don't mind the Giants song. But no way do i want to hear it again this year. And i won't. Mcg, Marvel, Murwillumbah, Mudgee, Maroochydore, or Marble Bar. The game is ours.

desertsaint wrote: Mon 28 Aug 2023 3:43pm I don't mind the Giants song. But no way do i want to hear it again this year. And i won't. Mcg, Marvel, Murwillumbah, Mudgee, Maroochydore, or Marble Bar. The game is ours.
Tempo is far too fast for the average fan to sing, no ear worm chorus, need trumpeters in the change room, very braggadocio, still can't find a rhyme for Orange. Typical Sydney impracticality.

Happy with the G - that’s where finals are played. Not a fan of marvel personally

Yorkeys wrote: Mon 28 Aug 2023 4:11pm
desertsaint wrote: Mon 28 Aug 2023 3:43pm I don't mind the Giants song. But no way do i want to hear it again this year. And i won't. Mcg, Marvel, Murwillumbah, Mudgee, Maroochydore, or Marble Bar. The game is ours.
Tempo is far too fast for the average fan to sing, no ear worm chorus, need trumpeters in the change room, very braggadocio, still can't find a rhyme for Orange. Typical Sydney impracticality.
They should stick with haiku

GWS
We are made by the AFL
We know you can tell

therabbitinthehat wrote: Mon 28 Aug 2023 3:11pm
Yorkeys wrote: Mon 28 Aug 2023 2:01pm - GWS song is rubbish and should never be sung at the home of Footy.
Agree with the rest, but that is just wrong - it's a big big sound and it's great :lol:
Yep, it’s the second best song in the league IMO! 😁

You like it because your mate wrote it! :)

Hate the club………. Love the song!
It’s a cracker!!

IluvHarvey wrote: Mon 28 Aug 2023 7:17pm
It’s a cracker!!
Nah, hate the song. Always hit the mute button so I never have to listen to that crap.

King Max

Song rating
Saints
Giants
Tigers
The rest

When a team has a player whose Surname starts the song - then the player and the song are Legendary

This is preposterous.

It would never happen to Collingwood or Richmond.

Take it all the way to the High Court Saints.

Make it happen Mr Lithp.

IluvHarvey wrote: Mon 28 Aug 2023 7:17pm
It’s a cracker!!
Song is dog shyte
Only Freo Viking rowing song worse
Followed by “top top top…” power rubbish
Closely followed by “we are the Eagles…king of the big birds…”
I don’t even know Suns homogenous cr@p

I will go out on a limb here and say
If Max trains well with no knee issues, as per RTB
then Cooper comes out for Max.
I wonder if the Hammer comes in?

WellardSaint wrote: Mon 28 Aug 2023 10:11pm I will go out on a limb here and say
If Max trains well with no knee issues, as per RTB
then Cooper comes out for Max.
I wonder if the Hammer comes in?
Max will need to “meet strongly” in Lyon speak
He’s no certainty 🤔

Always wondered how they pick the team.
Astrology?
Fair dinkum tho
I wonder if there is ‘just an understanding’ , some tacit thing, the various assistants ‘just know’ who they should nominate and why.
Would be fascinating to be a fly on the wall.
I asked this very question here two years ? Ago.
So I am senile, but still capable of repeating the same question. Nurse, nurse! How do they pick the team?

Anyone know which end the cheer squad will be sitting?

If you know the song… what are the words?!

Bet you, like everyone has no idea

King Max wrote: Mon 28 Aug 2023 3:04pm The stadium golf doesn't start until the Monday. I'm sure the AFL could have it at Marvel if they really wanted to.

I'll be happy to see us win a final at the 'G and hopefully to be back there two weeks later.
It can take a while to glue down those green felts bits and put together all those little hills.

The game is on Satdee afternoon?

It’s close but we’re not favourites with the bookies..probably doesn’t mean anything.