Crows v swans

repta

Re: Crows v swans

Could cost saints finals

The Fireman wrote: Sat 19 Aug 2023 11:45pm
skeptic wrote: Sat 19 Aug 2023 11:42pm
The Fireman wrote: Sat 19 Aug 2023 11:40pm Didn’t they reverse the results of our game when we played Freo
Unfortunately that was a more clear cut result from memory. They argued that the game ended prior to our score to draw (or whatever).
There was still 60s in play after this
The goal kicked by the crows looks clear cut
No argument there.

But how can you argue that Sydeny wouldn’t have kicked a goal from the centre in the last 60s?

If that was an after the siren shot… you’d have a case
Last edited by skeptic on Sun 20 Aug 2023 12:03am, edited 1 time in total.

repta wrote: Sun 20 Aug 2023 12:02am Could cost saints finals
Could cost GWS finals too.

The_Dud wrote: Sat 19 Aug 2023 11:53pm How long before they introduce a ‘captains challenge’ like Rugby and Cricket??
What for?

Umpires are always right.

SaintPav wrote: Sun 20 Aug 2023 12:05am
The_Dud wrote: Sat 19 Aug 2023 11:53pm How long before they introduce a ‘captains challenge’ like Rugby and Cricket??
What for?

What a silly thing to say.

Umpires make mistakes just like all other humans.

As we’ve just seen.

I thought every goal was reviewed

shmic_s

CQ SAINT wrote: Sun 20 Aug 2023 12:06am I thought every goal was reviewed
Every goal does. Just this was a "behind".

The_Dud wrote: Sun 20 Aug 2023 12:06am
SaintPav wrote: Sun 20 Aug 2023 12:05am
What for?

What a silly thing to say.

Umpires make mistakes just like all other humans.

As we’ve just seen.
👏🏿

A complete shambles. At the very least a review was called for.

if Collingwood or Essendnon was in danger of mssing the finals the AFL would feel compelled to do something.

The Saints? Suck it up and just remember who subsidises your club.

The Crows coach is taking it well!

Easy just beat lions next week

repta

Doesnt matter to crows.
They cant make th 8

YoungGeorge

CQ Saint is correct.
The AFL say every goal is reviewed and checked - what happened in this case ?
Looks like a very costly error and makes the ARC a farce.

The_Dud wrote: Sun 20 Aug 2023 12:14am The Crows coach is taking it well!
Show me a good loser and I’ll show you a…

The_Dud wrote: Sat 19 Aug 2023 11:29pm Umpire right there seemed pretty confident…

goal umpire wrong ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,no review

not sure a review,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

Completely wrong

YoungGeorge wrote: Sun 20 Aug 2023 12:38am CQ Saint is correct.
The AFL say every goal is reviewed and checked - what happened in this case ?
Looks like a very costly error and makes the ARC a farce.
because called point and sydney played on straight away NOT REVIEWED

FARCE :evil: :evil: :evil:

repta

Will cost either saints or gws finals

Big issue if it is gws with afl.

I hope that maggot who blew the call has Adelaide fans TP his house to the shizenhousen :x

🧻🧻🧻🧻🧻

The_Dud wrote: Sat 19 Aug 2023 11:47pm
saynta wrote: Sat 19 Aug 2023 11:38pm Didn't hit the post at all. Saints robbed.

Par for the course
After just watching a game where we ‘won’ the free kick count 20-5 (!!!) you still find a way to whinge about the umpires.

Pat for the course

😂
What the Royal F@rk are you on about - talk about playing the man - Have you opened your F@rking Eyes and looked at the Vision

4 actual Brawls started in Adelaide because of this ridiculous call

It was a sh!t decision and it affected US - how the F@rk do you equate that to a free kick count when we were first to the ball - Geelong were lethargic and not interested

You are a truly SAD individual and a keyboard warrior

THE UMPIRE in his Unprofessional opinion GOT IT F@RKING WRONG and will be umpiring the Upper Humpty Doo 5th Next week.

I have called for the ARC to review everything that would cause a fan to spit his beer - and this was one of those cases

PS - It is PAR for the Course - not F@rking PAT for the course - who the F@rk is Pat??????

Again - you are a SAD individual - who reeks of Trollness and Un St Kilda like persona

Go to R/AFL - 6 threads with over 1,000 comments in total about this farce.

CarlD

It's a conspiracy between the footy gods and the AFL I'm sure :twisted:

Expect the usual grovelling apology from the AFL - yep, we got it wrong (again). Goal umpire is banished to the reserves in outback South Australia and all is well. AFL has "solved" the problem.

The goal umpire was well positioned in theory. Maybe he got confused which post he was standing next to. He lost the ball in the lights, heard the Swans player hit the goalpost padding and thought it was the ball. I have no idea. Still shaking my head that he was so confident it was a point.

There is a footage from the crowd behind the goals going around as well that shows a very clear gap between the ball and the goalpost.

Oh, well, on to next week.

chook23 wrote: Sun 20 Aug 2023 12:59am...

because called point and sydney played on straight away ...
The Sydney players knew it was a goal and played on straight away because they didn't want it reviewed. But that was another umpiring error. Players from both sides were in the protected area (15 metres around the goal) and so the ball should not have been allowed to be brought back into play. We see that every week where the ball is brought back. It happened in our game last night. S*** happens as they say, but this was one of the biggest stuff ups ever, right up there with the "poster" that was called a goal in the 2009 GF that was not called and siren-gate. Alas, all three were to our detriment. This is likely to cost us a finals position.
Last edited by perfectionist on Sun 20 Aug 2023 10:20am, edited 1 time in total.

This'll cause a permanent change.

Which has happened after a raft of 'unfortunates' that have cost St Kilda.

Still, cat and crow tears of anguish and agony on the same night, as their season is ended.... mmmmm.

skeptic wrote: Sat 19 Aug 2023 11:56pm Geeez, the zeroed in on it on channel 7… it definitely missed the post. Frame by frame there was a noticeable gap
They said it hit the back of the goal post padding - which is still a behind - but Adelaide should have asked for a review. Plus the play on straight away with everyone in the protected area was ridiculous.

big ripple effect. geelong out, crows out, essendon out - all on this result. and potentially us as well. possibly the worst call ever given goal technology didn't exist in 2009.

If you look carefully at that fan video from behind the goals that was posted above, you can identify the source of the problem.

Purely for aerodynamic reasons arising from the unusual amount of spin that Keays put on his shot, the ball wobbled in an odd way just as it was reaching the post. The umpire, who wasn't standing in the best possible position and who heard a noise from the Swans player hitting the post, interpreted this as meaning that the ball had brushed the post on the way through.

He was obviously 100% convinced he was correct, but he's still an idiot because he should have referred a close call in such an important moment of a match to the review.

According to fans on other forums, he's got form: he's allegedly the same goal ump who missed a poster that would have turned the result of a Port vs Crows game a few years back.

I have the same problem with this process as with the cricket review system: ie, if you are going to have a review system, you should have it in use all the time and not leave it to the discretion of on-field umpires or players. When I first saw how soccer did it I though it was a bit cumbersome, but I reckon it's a better approach. There'll still be mistakes, but at least you won't have the agony of an obvious howler not being overturned because of obstacles in the process.