Forum costs, maintenance and advertising

Are you okay with advertising on the forum to assist with costs and maintenance?

Poll ended at Thu 03 Aug 2023 4:54pm

yes
86%
no
14%

Total votes: 51

Re: Forum costs, maintenance and advertising

Vortex wrote: Fri 11 Aug 2023 6:22pm
Mr Magic wrote: Fri 11 Aug 2023 2:45pm
Vortex wrote: Fri 11 Aug 2023 2:10pm
n1ck wrote: Fri 11 Aug 2023 10:55am
Otiman wrote: Fri 11 Aug 2023 9:56am Surely…..
…. regular posters ….
And …..you…..
…..serial trolls/pests
That could work….
I love it……
We a family!

All the advertisers and me!

gaz chuckles @we a family

the manson-chucky-bambi family

turn left at the black stump
... 2 more cans further along that track

asiu wrote: Fri 11 Aug 2023 7:11pm get some of the old pests back ?

they were probably old then
so
they're basically older now

what is the target audience
besides well trained advertisement watchers

is that what 'all ages' ... means
ahhhh, the "all ages" era, means masso exo dus in Latin.

Vortex wrote: Fri 11 Aug 2023 6:22pm
Mr Magic wrote: Fri 11 Aug 2023 2:45pm
Vortex wrote: Fri 11 Aug 2023 2:10pm
n1ck wrote: Fri 11 Aug 2023 10:55am
Otiman wrote: Fri 11 Aug 2023 9:56am Surely with the low volume of traffic, no image hosting beyond some icons, and software that's 20 years old the ongoing costs would be quite cheap.
I think (im not an expert in server tech or outaded forum tech!) that the site is quite resource heavy for what you've described - tech has advanced so much since this site was built that this infrastucture and setup is incredibly inefficient for what it is.

When referring to traffic I think it's key to point out the context. The regular community is small. The amount of regular posters is even smaller. But the site generates around 250k page views/loads per month (and I dont think this includes tapatalk/app data which im still trying to locate) throughout the season.

Is it small compared to BigFooty? Yes. Is it small compared to mainstream footy sites? Yes. Is it small compared to 95% of sites on the web? No.
And so how do you increase contributing members?
It might help if we could get rid of serial trolls/pests
That could work, and maybe we could get rid of all the humourless, intolerant cranky old farts also and see if that helps bring in a few more members under the age of 70.

I love it when we come together in these thinktanks.
Ageist as well as a pest. :roll:

Saintsational pie nights?

asiu wrote: Fri 11 Aug 2023 7:20pm gaz chuckles @we a family

the manson-chucky-bambi family

turn left at the black stump
... 2 more cans further along that track
Ah ha!

Up the ‘Hollers’…….

These ‘hollers’ are our equivalent of country lanes, except they be in Appalachia, in the valleys and woods of coal country in the mountains of East Kentucky, Tennessee and West Virginia. And you go up them, and there is any number of surprises…sittin in the porch. Generations of coal mining closures, accidents, meth and fentanyl mixed with fortitude and sobriety, Jesus and who knows what.

We might not be as colourful, but we are quite poly-….eh….ful.

The Linton Street Flash

Here’s a thought…

How about getting the Saints TV guys involved?

They know how to build and nurture a community, they have ideas and energy, and what’s more, they could probably raise the required dough in a day or two without polluting the joint with God awful banner ads and the like..

If anyone understands a St Kilda related digital space, it’s these guys.

It seems obvious to me.

Have they even been asked?

Look again it's the Flash!!

Seriously (for a moment) it would be good if we could all benefit collectively from a commercial arrangement, but I wonder how on earth..
Can we form a ‘Family Trust’?
Technically, legally, tax righteousnessly

Seriously (for a moment) it would be good if we could all benefit collectively from a commercial arrangement, but I wonder how on earth..

is not our 'value' in , first the belonging then the participation

laughter
(which i presume people still remember 'n practice)

follows on from the first two

laughter heals

how can that not be enough

please explain

can we run a poll

asking if people get a seriously good laugh out of this joint

and if not
why do they come here

nostalgicsaint

I come on here mostly to see what Tony has to say, occasionally to engage in good footy chat and the rest of the time to laugh at fish sticks.

Disclaimer: posts are my views and shouldn't be taken as fact, even if I am in fact right.

asiu wrote: Sat 12 Aug 2023 12:22am can we run a poll

asking if people get a seriously good laugh out of this joint

and if not
why do they come here
Always, if you don’t you are doing it wrong

There are always two tribes, here we have the silent majority and the vocal minority.

Now I’m not a web designer and marketing executive, LOL, however what I do know is a well constructed poll tells me that there are 44 in the silent majority and 7 in the vocal minority.

Don’t tell me I know Google Analytics.

We are entering the new All Ages Era

nostalgicsaint wrote: Sat 12 Aug 2023 1:42am I come on here mostly to see what Tony has to say, occasionally to engage in good footy chat and the rest of the time to laugh at fish sticks.
I'd laugh if you got your head bashed like a fish

I'd laugh if some one pile drived a thick stick up your arse

nostalgicsaint wrote: Sat 12 Aug 2023 1:42am I come on here mostly to see what Tony has to say, occasionally to engage in good footy chat and the rest of the time to laugh at fish sticks.
I enjoy reading the POVs of the training watchers too, their dedication to watching the boys train is admirable, a little weird and crazy, but admirable.

nostalgicsaint

Scollop wrote: Sat 12 Aug 2023 7:39am
I'd laugh if you got your head bashed like a fish

I'd laugh if some one pile drived a thick stick up your arse

Disclaimer: posts are my views and shouldn't be taken as fact, even if I am in fact right.
nostalgicsaint

Vortex wrote: Sat 12 Aug 2023 7:49am
I enjoy reading the POVs of the training watchers too, their dedication to watching the boys train is admirable, a little weird and crazy, but admirable.

Ah yes. Do love the training reports.

nostalgicsaint wrote: Sat 12 Aug 2023 9:31am

And T74 has been a training watcher for a very long time, some people on here confuse him as being an ITK, like in the inner sanctum of the 4 walls, but T74 can be found at most training sessions congregating with all the other grey haired TWs on the boundary line. They are part of the fabric of any club and we benefit from their boundary knowledge.

Vortex wrote: Sat 12 Aug 2023 10:57am
nostalgicsaint wrote: Sat 12 Aug 2023 9:31am

And T74 has been a training watcher for a very long time, some people on here confuse him as being an ITK, like in the inner sanctum of the 4 walls, but T74 can be found at most training sessions congregating with all the other grey haired TWs on the boundary line. They are part of the fabric of any club and we benefit from their boundary knowledge.
:roll: Wrong.......again. :roll:

i'm a
Tony fan
a Ross (the Messiah) fan
a Mart fan

'n a learning sh1t fan

like i learnt of another mrytle magenta 'n primroser
on the board ... 10 thumbs up to the Tassy boys

i love Stinger

please don't do the toes up routine old man
(i'd be particularly devastated)

oh yea
i like dodging around the swear word filter as well
... (someone else's) rules are made to be broken, thats how we stay sane... imo
+ a dash of small things amusing small minds 'n all that jizzmo

i don't like 'mobs' , power trippers 'n controllers

i still reckon Mr Magic + CQ Saint should process and deliver the moderation

i reckon phd's are probably over rated
... dunning kruger land
the '72 4 speed Trident was the best ride
... it just loved singing out of corners

the Great Saintsational Vote Offs will make more cash than sausage sizzles 'n cake stalls

i also reckon
(how i feel about things)

that if 'adverts' arrive

i'll remember baying in expectation as we beat the Doggies in the Prelim with the crew of Saintsationalists behind the interchange at the G

fair faux faaarkup at the end ... but ... that season ... what a year to live in Melbs ... arrived R1 v the Swans ... Barks besides my reserved seat ... left Melbs after Linton St on the Sunday ... broken hearted for the old fellas at the back

... and Barks ... he did that loss , hard.

Bless u mate .. hope you're well
Regards to Aok

give US ,THAT , again Sainters
... though , betterer ffs.

all the way better ... think threepeat

but enough digressing

i'd wish SS the best

and thrive off somewhere else

faark the adds.
i can paint my own pictures
thank you very much.

Urgent!
It has just occurred to me
The reason I spend more time here than Big Footy, where people in general are far less horrible, is perhaps precisely because there are NO ads! ? Anyone else?

This feels like a family, a dysfunctional family, but it feels like the local pub or shack or milk bar or whatever.

Maybe nothing to do with the ads? But I wonder, perhaps, ‘to-do’ with the ads? It is it that Big Footy is a generic supermarket chain that’s part of a dark empire?

This feels like there is more heart!

Urgent!
The reason I spend more time here than Big Footy, where people in general are far less horrible, is perhaps precisely because there are NO ads! ? Anyone else?

This feels like a family, a dysfunctional family, but it feels like the local pub or shack or milk bar or whatever.

Maybe nothing to do with the ads? But, perhaps, ‘to-do’ with the ads? Perhaps it leads to remind me that is it that Big Footy is a generic supermarket chain that’s part of a dark empire?

shanegrambeau wrote: Sat 12 Aug 2023 10:47pm Urgent!

Maybe nothing to do with the ads? But, perhaps, ‘to-do’ with the ads? Perhaps it leads to remind me that is it that Big Footy is a generic supermarket chain that’s part of a dark empire?

Shane, you (respectfully) have already endorsed the ads and have supported the efforst sand initiative of n!ck, so what the f are you up to?

SG: Fair enough..yes, guilty

n1ck, do whatever you think is wise. Good luck with your move and thanks for your efforts

shanegrambeau wrote: Sat 12 Aug 2023 11:53pm
shanegrambeau wrote: Sat 12 Aug 2023 10:47pm Urgent!

Shane, you (respectfully) have already endorsed the ads and have supported the efforst sand initiative of n!ck, so what the f are you up to?

SG: Fair enough..yes, guilty

n1ck, do whatever you think is wise. Good luck with your move and thanks for your efforts
Do you sometimes debate with yourself what our team issues are and who should be selected or dropped?

Just kidding of course SG. It's brave to respond to your own post and it's unusual. You're all heart and I like that.

I think it's great that you express your thoughts on here openly and without any judgement from smart arses. I just can't help being a smartarse. Sorry