Does king walk straight in?

Re: Does king walk straight in?

King can stand in the goal square and the team we're playing will have to put their best defender on him. It's pretty obvious what will happen.

Yes..... the answer is yes

YES

Scollop wrote: Mon 08 May 2023 5:29am
Teflon wrote: Sun 07 May 2023 11:05pm
Scollop wrote: Sun 07 May 2023 11:03pm
Moods wrote: Sun 07 May 2023 10:54pm
....one thing we can agree on is our fwd line has become as dysfunctional as we feared pre season.
I didn't watch it live. I haven't had a chance to watch the replay yet.

Was the forward line dysfunctional because of the way we moved the footy or because maybe we were restricted by the tactics of the opposition against our mids, wingers, prime movers?

Were our half backs slow and tentative or were we aggressive?

Did the footy go inside 50 enough? Were the numbers on average for the year with equal opportunities to score as we've seen in previous weeks?
Just watch it
Then come back and tell us again how Membrey has been for our forward movement
I’ve watched the first half.

Membrey had that 1 chance to kick a goal early in the game (great running by Hill and beautiful kick to Membrey too) but Membrey played on because Buttsy was free and he was calling for the footy. Skunk was doing the team thing but he didn’t kick it quick enough.

Skunk simply had a lack of clear opportunities to score in that first half with only himself down there as the key tall forward. As others have mentioned Ben McKay is a monster next to Members, however that’s not really what his problem was. It was terrible entries and horrible kicks inside 50.

Our 1st inside 50 came from a Sinclair intercept and a subsequent handball to Hill who kicked a lollipop inside 50 up in the air and plonked it on top of Membrey and McKay. Skunk was actually moving as soon as Sincs had footy in hand and if Hill had spotted the direction of his lead it would have been an easy mark

So …my answer to Teflon’s question re forwards and in particular the KPF on the day; the forward movement gets ignored more often than not! That’s what I saw in the first half.

We simply don’t kick to the advantage of our FF. Membrey was competing in the air a few times but how do you outmark a guy who is over 2m tall? When Skunk did bring the footy to ground a few times the smalls were leading in different directions so they weren’t at the drop to take advantage of the crumbs.

The crowd here is whinging about Membrey and I noticed the same rubbish in the match day thread. Do people understand what team sport is? You’re not always going to kick bags, or get 30 or outplay your opponent.

Brad Hill was our hardest working player for the first half. He had a few clangers but he created many opportunities and he ran his guts out to create space.

2nd entry i50 was from Gavin Wood who kicked the footy 40 metres and another lollipop up and under to the hotspot (it may as well have been Gavin - google Countdown if you don’t know who he is- because it was a terrible decision when we had no talls standing 20 metres out from our goal). Jack Ziebel ended up marking against Higgins or one of our other smalls

Mason Wood had 3 North players surrounding him and all he had to do was handball over the top to Skunk who made space and was just on the 50 metre arc and about 5 metre clear of any opposition. Mason had a few clangers in the first half and fumbled the footy a bit, but so did Wilkie, Crouch, Stocker and others.

Clarkson didn’t want a shoot out. North led in uncontested marks and kicks in the first half.

I’m about to watch the second half, but I thought I’d take a look at some stats for our midfielders. Different configuration in the middle and at most stoppages. As Ross Lyon said; “It’s an exploratory year”.
Lyon also mentioned Membrey in his presser …”30 out…just go back and kick the goal..”
Don’t just look at stats - super easy
Check out our forward line movements and pay attention to Tim’s particular
Oh and watch his beautifully passed ball in the head of Hill which was easily picked off by Nth defender
Tim had a mare
4 games in needs to go back to 2s get some intensity and touch

Scollop wrote: Mon 08 May 2023 7:16am
Teflon wrote: Sun 07 May 2023 11:05pm
Just watch it
Then come back and tell us again how Membrey has been for our forward movement
I said that Membrey received horrible kicks in the first half from others, but in the second half he was the perpetrator

People have often said he’s a good field kick, but I’ve always disputed that opinion. I always thought he was above average for his accuracy as a KPF with his set shots but that he was below average for his field kicking or his passes to another forward inside 50.

The fact that he missed a lot of footy (as well as the fact that he had a knee issue) means he’s missed a fair amount of training and practising his kicking. But just like in the first half, Membrey wasn’t alone. We kicked poorly most of the time and we didn’t kick to the advantage of our forwars to at least give them a chance.

The other thing that was probably an option was for the coach to have Membrey playing out of the goal square instead of Butts or Snags. If Skunk goes deep then it means that McKay is not going to intercept as many times as he did around centre half back or further up the ground. They would have had no option but to put their number 1 Key Defender on our number 1 Key Forward.

Norths entries were as bad as ours. They had a fair few shots that went out on the full yesterday. Zurhaar killed their team’s spirit with his set shots. Larkey was the only threat but I think our defense was basically solid all day and the North Melbourne small forwards were invisible and ineffective.

We had 48 inside 50’s and they had 48 inside 50’s. We had more scoring shots than them but we bombed it in long to the goal square and plenty of our shots were rushed or knocked on by their tall defenders or by Goldstein.

Replacing Membrey isn’t going to fix our forward entries. He isn’t responsible for the majority of our inside 50’s.
Again excuses head in sand stuff
Our worst player by far yesterday Tim and you think he was ok??
It’s no coincidence that since he’s treacle slow movement and decision making has returned our forward line looks far less dangerous
Is he solely responsible?
Of course not no one has said that
But players need to be played on form
He’s had 4 games - horribly out of form so he goes out to make way either for King or Caminiti
Time not the future

magnifisaint wrote: Mon 08 May 2023 1:20pm King can stand in the goal square and the team we're playing will have to put their best defender on him. It's pretty obvious what will happen.
I think Kibg deep
Caminiti leading up with pace at pack/ball carrier
Sharman wing drift forward
Caminit gives us fwd 50 pressure
We’ll spread oppo defence like this
Higgins to be told - kick round the corner mate …

Brunswicksainter

No way Ross plays King through the VFL haha

SaintWiki

Just standing him in the goal square would be very helpful.

As I said, Membrey might be a LOT better with King back in.
Less pressure

And...

If King kicks 0.6, which is totally on the cards, Membrey will be needed to hold space in their kick-ins, of which there may be plenty.
Sharman on the other flank.

Tattoo Tim to twos.

Yorkeys wrote: Tue 09 May 2023 4:53pm Tattoo Tim to twos.
If he gets one more tattoo on his right hand he should be picked.

For emphasis, in Latin,

"Cum in range, siste et accipe a offa"

should be written

Saintmike65

I’d love to see both King and Caminiti come in but doubt it’ll happen…yet!

King and The Hammer in the same team would be awesome. There’s no reason why not. Unfortunately, Cooper makes way for both of these guys and we give Skunk a go as the 3rd tall. I think he’ll thrive when both are back

I’d also like Brad Crouch and Seb Ross out! Windy and Bytel in, but doubt that’ll happen. Bytel especially. He is ready to be topdog inside mid, but we’ll never know if Ross and match committee don’t give him the responsibility.

So out with proven players in with developing players??

Didn’t know we were in a rebuild?

Should we tank to???

No need for walking, when he has one of these.

The Coronation of King Max the II

(King Max I was a bloke by the name of Hudghton)

What’s to be gained by King running around in the Magoos

Same risk of injury

We know he’s AFL standard

B.M wrote: Tue 09 May 2023 7:00pm So out with proven players in with developing players??

Should we tank to???
You'd be surprised what happens when developing players are given responsibility

Are we tanking by keeping Billings in the magoos?

Which players are likely to have improvement and which players are likely to be closer to the end of their careers?

Proven players usually have a ceiling and an expiry date (unless you're Sean Burgoyne or Michael Tuck or Rob Harvey or Scott Pendlebury).

Both Crouch and Seb are not irriplaceable

Seb and Crouch are key factors to being 6-2

Billings is coming back from a broken leg and beforehand back surgery

He needs the match practice

King Max

King does walk straight in but then he spins the ball in his hands and that triggers some people.

gotta love the wrangler western shirts. I had one of them :D

King in,
Membrey gets 3/4 to redeem himself, with Pou the sub
Caminiti, Billings , Webster all to stake their claims at Sandy for selection
Windhager, Bytel and Campbell the travelling emergencies
Webster will be discussed with the twin threats of Rankine and Rachelle, but lack of match practice goes against him
Zac Jones will need an outstanding fortnight at Sandy before he forces his way in you would think - more likely it’s 3 weeks at Sandy.
The selection pressure should hopefully raise the standard which seems to have dropped off the last fortnight.

Looking forward to DMac adding DMac to the mix in a month or so, and finally getting a look at Hotton at Sandy who seems to come with big wraps.

repta

Wouldn't surprise me if he came back in. A mistake in my opinion.

They rushed back Jack Steele too quick (he is ok now)
But he had a preseason behind him
They rushed back Membery .. hasn't worked
King will need a hit out. He is only just back to practice.

repta wrote: Wed 10 May 2023 8:46am Wouldn't surprise me if he came back in. A mistake in my opinion.

They rushed back Jack Steele too quick (he is ok now)
But he had a preseason behind him
They rushed back Membery .. hasn't worked
King will need a hit out. He is only just back to practice.
In fairness, I wouldn’t have thought Membrey was ‘rushed’ back in. He was meant to be right for RD 1 and came back RD 6. He played a game in the VFL. I think most would agree that for a player of his pedigree that should have been enough.

King has missed a bit over 5 months. It’s about right to return but I don’t think we’re rushing him. It’s whether he needs match practice

B.M wrote: Tue 09 May 2023 7:00pm So out with proven players in with developing players??

Should we tank to???
Proven player???? Of latest games not history???
Think you’ll find developing players are the prime reason for our rejuvenation…
Short sighted thinking…no flag win this year it’s future
Amateur stuff