The Fred Basset ITK Christmas Report: End of season team updates and Christmas carol singing.

AeonFlux

The Fred Basset ITK Christmas Report: End of season team updates and Christmas carol singing.

is proudly sponsored by............

Guaranteed to work against Daughters of Beaches key forwards! :lol:

And /or (but not 'nor', right Nosh? :wink: ),

For when life just sucks.

As used and recommended by Scotty from Marketing, and saynt Nosher after watching the World Cup penalty shoot out. :mrgreen:

And /or (but not 'nor', right Nosh? :wink: ),

Fred Basset ITK wrote: Tue 27 Dec 2022 7:45pm
Dearest Aeon and fellow Saintsational peoples,

Well, it seems that Aeon not over her latest her hissy fit. Pretty worked up when she saw that the hot cross bun jumper is making a comeback. Provokes too many memories of 1997 and Darren bloody Jarman.

Aeon totally lost it. No footy on for her to take out her frustrations, so that A-League soccer match had to suffice. :twisted:

(Happy gaz? :wink: )

So, it's another Fred Basset Report. Hooray! :D

I actually hate the hot cross bun abomination jumper too. But, I knew that if I approved it, Aeon would 'overreact', and I'd get to do another Report. (Ro$$y ain't the club's only prick. :mrgreen: )
Crossy66 wrote: Sun 11 Dec 2022 12:54pm Cannot fault anything Bassett has done. Hard edged. Brutal maybe, but he has acted big time.

The now traditional annual Team Updates:

Capt CQ Saint made a good point about the 2023 No 1 Daft pick.
https://sanfl.com.au/league/news/2022-n ... e-results/

However........ scroll back down to the 20m sprint results, and take a second look at that list of names.
Ro$$Y the prick (but, now he's our prick :twisted: ) wanted speed.
Ro$$y the prick (but, now he's our prick :twisted: ) gets speed.
saynta wrote: Sat 10 Dec 2022 9:46am We will see how Campbell goes under the retarded coach.

These users also thanked the author Nosher for the post:
Ryan Bybes (with a 's')

And then there' young Sid. As ZZ's new ITK, I can tell you that we'll be signing him up if his pre-season training commitment stacks up. (See what I did there? :mrgreen: )

Just a pity we're still stuck with the The Headless Chook Squib though. :x
Kinky Friedman wrote: Tue 27 Dec 2022 7:45pm We can do without you.

But once again, the big news is off the field. The Dream Team is really getting its act together. Put the band back together? Hell yeah we did!

And who would have believed that our prick Ro$$y could do a cartwheel like that.
saynta wrote: Sat 10 Dec 2022 9:46am We will see how Campbell goes under the retarded coach.

Ryan Bybes (with a 's')
The Fireman wrote: Tue 27 Dec 2022 12:41pmLooking forward to seeing rtprick properly utilise our previously squandered talented list using an A grade game plan.

Big.Marmot wrote: Mon 12 Dec 2022 6:12pm
Dave McNamara wrote: Sat 10 Dec 2022 1:48pm(Of course) I couldn't resist commenting in this 'numbers' thread. The record needs to be set straight.

How 'soon' we forget. :cry:

The Saintas' hallowed number 2. Worn by an all-time absolute bloody legend.

Captained the Saintas' at 21. At 35, he still had 'it'. Kicked 10.2 in a match against the pussies.

St Kilda Team of the Century member.

St Kilda Hall of Fame inductee.

Australian Football Hall of Fame inductee.

Dual Brownlow Medalist (when it was, strangely, still known as the 'Champion of the Colonies' medal).

The hallowed number 2.

I was, and still am, ecstatic that Phillipou somehow made it through to us! As expressed elsewhere, he will be the best player from the 2022 draft. (And Issac Keeler will be right up there with him too, btw. Looking at our haul, looking at the picks we had to work with... we pulled off another act of outright highway robbery on draft night!)

I have no doubt that young Matty P will prove very worthy of the hallowed number 2.

But yes. Good move Saintas. Let him prove it first. :idea:
How soon we forget?!

He played over a hundred years ago!!!

First player to win Australian "Player of the Year" award in all formats. Won seven such awards, which is the most by any player. Also the only player to have won all five major awards.

As I said

Underrated

st.byron wrote: Tue 27 Dec 2022 10:09amGuys, there are several suspension worthy posts in this thread, by multiple posters. One post has been reported.

Option 1 : Suspend multiple posters for up to a week.

Option 2 : Lock thread and/or suspend multiple posters for a week.

Option 3 : Everybody leaves aside the belittling, name calling and baiting and are civil to one another.

Going for option 3

It's Christmas. And in the spirit of Christmas and brotherly love (sisterly love too, right, Yorkeys? :wink: http://saintsational.net/viewtopic.php? ... 2#p1986602 ), isn't it wonderful to see some of Saintsational's most strident combatants calling a truce, and laying down their arms. No names, but we all know who you blokes are. ((Have fun trying to identify them from the footage.)

Vortex wrote: Thu 01 Dec 2022 6:31amBassett is a genius.
saynt Nosher wrote: Thu 01 Dec 2022 10:46am Amen brother.
Ryan Bybes (with a 's')

It's Syn City to Hobbit Town time! And a couple of Saintsationalists have been inspired.
Trev from the Boat.

HitTheBoundary and Mystery Girl.
HitTheboundary and Mystery girl are still roaming the far northern latitudes.

Fred's Soapbox:
You asked for it. So you get it. (Well, at least one of those sentences is true. :D )

st.byron wrote: Tue 27 Dec 2022 11:02am
Sebastian Tombs wrote: Mon 26 Dec 2022 11:36amYes it must of been hall on earth for Owens and Windghager growing up in the houseing estates of Sandringham , Dad was on the dole and the piss and Mum was working the cr and all the kids had to play with was a plastic football.But thank goodness for the policies of the St Kilda football club that gave them a go that they would never have got normally, but thats not what happen both of them came up though the system. Sport in its basic form is about and should always be is the skill of the individual not the colour of your skin so to make up for real or imaged sins of the past dont commit the same now. Lose the 2022 "woke" terms and get us back too our core and that is we are a Football club
Okay, I just read the whole thread including the above post. "...to make up for real or imagined sins of the past don't commit the same now..."

Sebastian, are you equating the genocide of indigenous people with perceived preferential treatment in gaining entrance to a football program? And that establishing a program to provide a pathway for indigenous / multicultural people is "woke"?

More than one Saintsational poster has, on more than one occasion, bemoaned our club's seeming (to them at least) focus on charitable community causes at the expense seemingly (to them at least) of winning games of football.
https://www.portadelaidefc.com.au/community/partners
https://www.melbournefc.com.au/communit ... y-partners
https://www.gwsgiants.com.au/community/charity-partners
https://www.afc.com.au/community/charitablepartners
https://sydneyswansfoundation.org.au/co ... -partners/
https://www.hawthornfc.com.au/club/community
https://www.richmondfc.com.au/community ... foundation
https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/foundation
https://www.westcoasteagles.com.au/comm ... rtnerships
https://www.essendonfc.com.au/community/partnerships
https://www.fremantlefc.com.au/community/partners
https://www.nmfc.com.au/club/partners/afl-partners
https://www.carltonfc.com.au/community/blues-foundation
https://www.goldcoastfc.com.au/club/partners
https://www.collingwoodfc.com.au/teams/reclink
https://otlr.org.au/brisbane-lions-epic-good/
https://www.saints.com.au/community/partners

And for those without the interest to check out some of those links, well, you'd be missing some innovative community outreach programs. For example, the Skunks are running training programs for young would-be house burglars so they don't end up in jail. The Carlscum have set up a responsible brown paper bag recycling scheme. And even Voldemort's mob, the club that dares not speak its name, is funding safe injecting rooms within their community. (Right across the road, apparently.)

So it seem that the other clubs can get involved in community outreach programmes, and still also be football clubs. However our Saintas cannot?

And maybe that's a fair point? Because it is pretty obvious that our community outreach programmes directly led to us dropping the ball by choosing Paddy McPuddin' over Christian FIGJAM, the Headless Chook over Langdon, Billy Carrot over Ian Stewart, Clark bloody Kent over, well, over anyone (except the Headless Chook), Billy No Stats also over anyone (even the Headless Chook), and to us choosing to extend Alfred E Neuman's cho aching contract.

Our community outreach programmes are also why the earth is flat, QE2 didn't quite reach her ton, the Flying Spaghetti Monster is real. And Donald Trump and Vlad the Impaler are actually a top blokes. (They're just misunderstood.)

You know it all makes sense.

saynt Nosher wrote: Thu 01 Dec 2022 10:46am Amen brother.

Ryan Bybes (with a 's')

Toxic culture?
https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/afl-20 ... 41610a21e2

Toxic culture. Yes. But actually read this article. The toxic culture at the Purple Puke was not created by Ro$$y the Prick. But the incompetence of the BOM made life at the Purple Puke very hard for Ro$$y the Prick to move that mob forwards. Fortunately, St Kilda has me as their Prez. Saint Ro$$y the Prick saw the light, and flew towards that light. Hallelujah Saintsational sisters and brothers!!!

Ryan Bybes (with a 's')

Fred's community service announcements:
Many Saintsationalists may have friends visiting Oz from overseas. So a little timely advice to keep them safe.

saynta wrote: Thu 25 Aug 2022 11:36amTalk about being f****** naive. :roll: :roll: :roll:

Ryan Bybes (with a 's')

Well that's it from me, your Prez for 2022. Have a wonderful Christmas and New Year period. Be good, or if that's too challenging, be careful (like saynt Nosher :mrgreen: ), and I look forward to seeing you all , and Aeon, at the footy next year.

Love and Fortius Quo Fidelius,

- Fred.

Tim Whitmarsh, the A G Leventis Professor of Greek Culture at the University of Cambridge wrote:
Aeon is where the world’s best best thinkers share their insights into issues of central importance to our times. It is reliably the best place to find content that is punchy, insightful, accessible and always unpredictable.

https://aeon.co/
A top read according to saynt Nosher, that our prick Ro$$y, & P666.
(Well, P666 would agree, if, he was literate beyond Grade 3 level. :mrgreen: )

dalboy wrote: Sun 03 Apr 2022 7:40pmSecond worst thread ever!

ReMembering:
Image Image Image Image

----- Rodger ------- Nymeria ------- BakesFan ----------- Aaron
HarryM wrote: Nope never heard of them :roll:

Re: The Fred Basset ITK Christmas Report: End of season team updates and Christmas carol singing.

Love it Aeon of the NWM kind!

Happy New Year to you & all you quote. May 2023 bring many more contributions.

Re: The Fred Basset ITK Christmas Report: End of season team updates and Christmas carol singing.

It's dangerous to mix your drugs

I hope that one of those quotes has just been modified for the sake of mockery otherwise it’s just shockingly inappropriate. Hard to say given the form

Disgraceful post from the OP

This is what i actually posted:

"We will see how Campbell goes under the retreaded coach."

Mods, I know you don't like banning posters but this one is a bridge too far.

skeptic wrote: Wed 28 Dec 2022 10:26am I hope that one of those quotes has just been modified for the sake of mockery otherwise it’s just shockingly inappropriate. Hard to say given the form
f****** typical. :roll: :roll:

Retard: to delay or hold back in terms of progress or development.

Seems a description that many believe to be apt for Lyon in terms of his historical development of young players on his list.

Out of all the posts that have been made in this off season, I don't think this one is the "bridge too far" but each to their own.

Pretty clumsily worded for that context but hopefully you’re correct

The internet hath no fury like Stinger

The G Train Legacy

saynta wrote: Wed 28 Dec 2022 10:46am Disgraceful post from the OP

Its just a typo, a bit harsh don't you think?

The G Train Legacy wrote: Sat 31 Dec 2022 11:51pm
saynta wrote: Wed 28 Dec 2022 10:46am Disgraceful post from the OP

No, bulls***, this poster know exactly what he is posting. Common type in boarding schools I' m afraid.

AeonFlux

Fred's Mailbag.

Prez Fred Basset ITK wrote: Wed 18 Jan 2023 2:37pm

Dearest Aeon and fellow Saintsational peoples,

By popular demand (or not) it's time for Fred's Mailbag! :D

The G Train Legacy wrote: Sat 31 Dec 2022 11:51pm
saynt Nosher Powell wrote: Wed 28 Dec 2022 10:46amDisgraceful post from the OP

These users also thanked the author saynt Nosher Powell for the post:
Ryan Bybes (with a 's')

Thanks G. :) Actually, it was an assumption. An edit for accuracy purposes. I mean, shirley Nosh did actually mean 'retard'??? As pointed out by/defined by Meeriam, and more importantly, by our great Apparitional One?

We all know that Ro$$Y the prick's cho oaching was indeed retarded. At the Saints, by his infamous 'bottom six', who couldn't be improved upon due to the salary cap mess we were in at the time. And then at the Purple Puke, he was again retarded. That time by all round management incompetence.

Besides, 'retreaded', as in, someone who has earned a certain amount of sobriety and abstinence from chemical addiction, but has relapsed and is trying to stay sober again........ well, that would shirley be a reference to the previous and now departed cho oach, who's personal issues are well known to ZZ members?

We all know that Nosh just loves thumbing the Urban Dic. :wink:
https://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=retread

Btw, thanks for the movie recommendation Nosh. :D

saynt Nosher Powell wrote: Sun 01 Jan 2023 10:17amNo, bulls***, this poster know exactly what he is posting.

Ryan Bybes (with a 's')

No. BS. This poster know(s) exactly what (s)he is posting.

Now, that reads much better. Punctuation is important. And...................... you're welcome. :D

saynt Nosher wrote:Fri 30 Dec 2022 2:10pm
Templar wrote: Fri 30 Dec 2022 1:51pmJust to add, for what it is worth, it is well documented in literature from the early 1900s and beyond that the "w" word was used interchangeably with the "n" word by the British in African colonies. I find it paradoxical that some people find one of the words acceptable and the other not.

One can't imagine many Australians, if any, referring an African/American basketballer using one of these words, however we just saw a BF repost by someone called George where he refers to a current St Kilda player using the "w" word...

Perhaps another demonstration of how Australia is often in lockstep with American norms.

Appreciate the discussion. Respect.

That will teach you for going on a s*** forum. :wink:

Ryan Bybes (with a 's')

Big Bouffant is a place a bit like the Woombye 'Big Pineapple'. We all know it's there, but would prefer if it wasn't. (Though some might say, with the 'Big Pineapple', at least the pricks are on the outside. :mrgreen: ) So anyway, don't know who the George in question is. But then, it takes all types...

skeptic wrote: Wed 11 Jan 2023 11:54pmOut of interest Big.Marmot, seeking a purely personal opinion here.

Do you think the club has contact with RTB or possibly had him unofficially lined up before Ratts was sacked or do you think they sacked Brett and went after the best candidate available?
I can help Big.Marmot out here.

As per our excellent presser to announce the excision of Alfred E Neuman from our club, I can say, hand on heart, that neither myself nor Satan made any personal approach to Ro$$y the Prick beforehand. (Of course though, an 'emissary' may have been sent in August. We don't dally around. And we are pricks. :twisted: )

Teflon wrote: Wed 04 Jan 2023 11:16amThe Bored has breathed life into the club and I commend them for having the goolies to take the media hit and make a tough call
Success as a club must be put above what Caro thinks of us - I could care less
Do whatever it takes
Too right we will! We're all hard nosed dark hearted pricks. :twisted: (So is Carosene too btw.)
Vortex wrote: Sat 07 Jan 2023 9:43amClearly Basset. CLEARLY!

a masterclass

lauded for being brutal and decisive....
Crossy66 wrote: Sun 11 Dec 2022 12:54pmCannot fault anything Bassett or the club has done post the 2022 review. Everything from personnel, marketing to recruiting has been hard edged- Brutal maybe, but he has acted big time.
:twisted:

Big.Marmot wrote: Thu 12 Jan 2023 11:01pmJimmy the Cat is twice the footballer Connelly is … and then some You need more than a neat kick to be considered a good player

Post (Toast?) of the week:
loris wrote: Mon 16 Jan 2023 12:50pm
saynta wrote: Mon 16 Jan 2023 11:34am
D.B.Cooper wrote: Mon 16 Jan 2023 10:33am
Big.Marmot wrote: Sun 15 Jan 2023 9:56amBob Stilton

He was that stinky little fella wasn't he?
He was that triple Brownlow Medalist that Eric Guy nearly killed one day at the junction oval. Spit him down the middle with the best shirtfront I had ever seen.

Disrespectful to cal him "that stinky little fella" but.

Ryan Bybes (with a 's')
I think DB was having a little joke - stinky in relation to stilton cheese as Skilton was incorrectly spelt.

Whilst I’m doing a ‘Spelly’. Do you mean Skilton was split down the middle? I don’t think our strong man Eric Guy would resort to spiting do you? I can remember Yabby, stating that Guy was as tough as ‘boarding house steak’. That’s another thing of the past, the old boarding houses. Gee there used to be a lot of them around the Junction Oval in days of yore.

You see Loris, this is why Nosh loves this place. He learns so much.

In recent times Nosh has learned about neither/or/nor (though Aeon remains touchy about who should get the credit for that one :wink: ), spitting vs splitting, some of the finer points about cheese (hope he's not lactose intolerant), climate change might actually be real, the earth isn't flat (who knew?), cho aching is overrated, Nosher is Aeon's 3rd favourite poster (she'll never admit it though), the ABC isn't all bad (Nosh will never admit it though), punctuation matters (though this is still a work in progress :lol: ), and Nosh loves Nightwish (who knew?).

And........... we've all learned, that dispite his claims to the contrary, Nosh does actually read both, Aeon's threads, and those on Big Flotsam. (Something else he'll never admit.)
saynt Nosher Powell wrote: Sun 01 Jan 2023 10:23amThanks mate.

It is posers like you that make this forum worthwhile visiting.

Ryan Bybes (with a 's')
We see what you did there Nosh. :lol:

Well that's it from me, your Prez and ITK. I look forward to seeing you all, and Aeon, at the footy next year.

Love and Fortius Quo Fidelius,

- Fred.

Tim Whitmarsh, the A G Leventis Professor of Greek Culture at the University of Cambridge wrote:
Aeon is where the world’s best best thinkers share their insights into issues of central importance to our times. It is reliably the best place to find content that is punchy, insightful, accessible and always unpredictable.

https://aeon.co/
A top read according to saynt Nosher, that our prick Ro$$y, & P666.
(Well, P666 would agree, if, he was literate beyond Grade 3 level. :mrgreen: )

dalboy wrote: Sun 03 Apr 2022 7:40pmSecond worst thread ever!

ReMembering:
Image Image Image Image

----- Rodger ------- Nymeria ------- BakesFan ----------- Aaron
HarryM wrote: Nope never heard of them :roll: