Nick Riewoldt and the coaching coup.

Rubyjo

Nick Riewoldt and the coaching coup.

Reckon he has been the driving force behind the coup .

Re: Nick Riewoldt and the coaching coup.

Rubyjo wrote: Mon 17 Oct 2022 6:58pm Reckon he has been the driving force behind the coup .
Why?

Rugby League would have to be the stupidest, most moronic and over rated game of all time.

If Nick Riewoldt put his hand up to coach I'd be willing to give him a crack, especially if we could some good assistants.

He wouldn't be worse than our last few coaches, and likely better for our culture than many of the candidates being discussed.

Rubyjo wrote: Mon 17 Oct 2022 6:58pm Reckon he has been the driving force behind the coup .
Jason Blake (director Football on Board)

chook23 wrote: Mon 17 Oct 2022 7:16pm

Yes Blakey the main driver for Lyon. Roo has been comfortable in the media.....whereas Blake committed and got on the Board.

Sure he will have gotten Roo to support him, but it will be Blake as the driver and not vice versa.
Last edited by saintsRrising on Wed 19 Oct 2022 8:37am, edited 2 times in total.

Watch the '09 crew get on board now.

bigred wrote: Mon 17 Oct 2022 8:02pm Watch the '09 crew get on board now.
Nah surely it would the "010" group

Whisper is Roo to the Board

Teflon wrote: Mon 17 Oct 2022 9:00pm Whisper is Roo to the Board
doubt it

SinCitySainter

Roo can't go to the board, it would be a conflict of interests. He is one of the drivers behind the Tassie bid.

SinCitySainter wrote: Mon 17 Oct 2022 9:09pm Roo can't go to the board, it would be a conflict of interests. He is one of the drivers behind the Tassie bid.
An official AFL ambassador for saints to Tassie?
Not seen that anywhere

SinCitySainter

No, not for the Saints. I saw an interview with him where he is one of the driving members of the group campaigning for Tassie to get it's own team.

SinCitySainter wrote: Mon 17 Oct 2022 9:21pm No, not for the Saints. I saw an interview with him where he is one of the driving members of the group campaigning for Tassie to get it's own team.
Ok Tks didn’t know that

SinCitySainter

Rocket

Heard board rumour too …
Lyon
Riewoldt
Cripps

Fair coup if rumours true .. top 2 strong

Annoyedsaint

Jason Blake the main man.

Riewoldt doing the silent work.
Won’t give up media gig, but is pulling strings.

Joey to be an assistant coach.
Goddard just making himself available at the moment.

I’d say it was all sold to the pres once we fell off the cliff (yes, even when mathematically we could make the finals, but everyone knew it was death by a thousand cuts).

About god damn time someone/group acted ruthlessly.
Possibly the type of people the pres was after to jump on and he’s jumped at it. An easy sell.

An indictment that it had to be the ex-players to say they’ve had enough of this s***.

Wouldn’t at all be surprised if this all started at their 09 yearly catch up dinner (or at the very least mentioned each year for the past few years and it’s grown legs from there).

Not many secrets can be kept down at Linton Street these days.

Never a good sign.

SaintPav wrote: Mon 17 Oct 2022 11:58pm Not many secrets can be kept down at Linton Street these days.

Never a good sign.
You're kidding right?

No one knew about Ratts until it had already happened.

Tight as a fkn drum.

As for hiding the Lyon courting... If you have peeps camped out at the presidents house in deepest pocket Brighton... What can you do.

Riewoldt isnt qualified for the board unless he is in there in some currently non existent business/football capacity. Anderson and Blake are already there in such positions.

Mind you, I reckon Blake had pretty strong hand in how this situation played out.

bigred wrote: Wed 19 Oct 2022 12:23am
SaintPav wrote: Mon 17 Oct 2022 11:58pm Not many secrets can be kept down at Linton Street these days.

Never a good sign.
You're kidding right?

Tight as a fkn drum.

As for hiding the Lyon courting... If you have peeps camped out at the presidents house in deepest pocket Brighton... What can you do.

Riewoldt isnt qualified for the board unless he is in there in some currently non existent business/football capacity. Anderson and Blake are already there in such positions.

Mind you, I reckon Blake had pretty strong hand in how this situation played out.
I wasn’t kidding but I think your points are probably valid.

If Nick wants to get involved, get involved at the club. Sitting back in the media throwing grenades is not the way to go about it .

Killa

My sources speculate there was significant external pressure on the Board from Club “power brokers”

2 names in particular were mentioned

I am also informed that the internal assessment of our List places it at 14 of the 18 Clubs

Mind you this is the List, not the “best 22”

There is great faith in players such as Peris, Heath, Adams and some others to improve the assessment of the List

The problem is when injuries hit, exposing our List as it currently sits

You could make the debate that with a List ranked 14 we finished 10th

But that did not carry the day

Killa

My sources speculate there was significant external pressure on the Board from Club “power brokers”

I am also informed that the internal assessment of our List places it at 14 of the 18 Clubs

Mind you this is the List, not the “best 22”

There is great faith in players such as Peris, Heath, Adams and some others to improve the assessment of the List

The problem is when injuries hit, exposing our List as it currently sits

You could make the debate that with a List ranked 14 we finished 10th

But that did not carry the day

D.B.Cooper

Killa wrote: Wed 19 Oct 2022 7:04pm My sources speculate there was significant external pressure on the Board from Club “power brokers”

14th?

Good god old chap, even Barrie Robran couldn’t coach a list ranked 14th to a flag.

Perhaps we need to remove that Gallagher fellow and replace him with someone competent.

Glad your sources only speculated, if this were in fact true one would have grave concerns.

Hoorah.

There's only one rule in the jungle! When the LYON's hungry, he eats!

bigred wrote: Wed 19 Oct 2022 12:23am

Never a good sign.
You're kidding right?

Tight as a fkn drum.

We’ll said
Place have played this well
Media pissed cause they’ve been locked out
Credit Bassatt there..