YOUR CHOICE FOR NEXT COACH

1965 Saint

Re: YOUR CHOICE FOR NEXT COACH

Lenny

I want Lenny in there. A heart and sole Saint. Everyone loves Lenny.

He can call on Ro$$ for advice, so long as he disregards the stuff about how kicking goals doesn’t matter. And how developing young talent doesn’t matter.

My fear is that if we do a “process” we get another blow-in with no feel for this long-suffering club and its supporters and what ultimate success would mean.

I’m sure Yze et al are qualified, but it’s time for a Saints man in the seat.

You could make a solid argument that Lenny might have been equally as good a captain as Riewoldt during our last successful era.

Maybe he can make his mark not only as a champion player but as a coach.
Last edited by bigcarl on Fri 14 Oct 2022 11:47am, edited 3 times in total.

Bruce G McAbee wrote: Fri 14 Oct 2022 10:58am
shanegrambeau wrote: Fri 14 Oct 2022 9:54am
Bruce G McAbee wrote: Fri 14 Oct 2022 8:10am I see Lyon as a regressive step and his game plan is obsolete. It won't get close to the Geelong's or Melbourne's style of play.
What game plan?

Tell me what is Ross Lyon’s game plan now?

You surely don’t think he is frozen in time?

From my peep hole he looks pretty switched on the modern game plans.
He had 4 attempts at winning a premiership and only once did his teams get double figures in goals and that was just 10.
I want new, progressive and innovative.
You did not answer my question.

What is Ross Lyon's game plan in 2022?
You think he has been living in a cave since 2010?

And what is wrong with having four attempts at winning a premiership? Can you even imagine being that relevant again. Geelong failed 3 times in the 90s then..?
Chris Scott... ten years..of not winning, and being relevant and then winning.

Bevo

To consider:

Club Champions who failed as head coaches at their club: - Voss, Hird, Buckley(maybe didn't win flag but got very close)

Club Champions who Succeeded : Worsfold (not champion player but not champion player)

Harvey, Hayes I fear for their reputation, which i am sure they are well aware of if they were to put up their hands.

meher baba wrote: Fri 14 Oct 2022 8:38am As I posted on another thread, not Yze: we’ve had enough of the Clarkson tradition.

I reckon Enright looks like he has the makings of a terrific coach. It would be a bold and exciting move, and I like those. He comes from the current gold standard setup at the Cats.

The quality of the guy is such that he wouldn’t think he was ready yet. But he could be given a mentor.
Enright is one of the most highly regarded guys at Geelong, and I would love to see him as coach. He came to the Saints to broaden his coaching skills- probably to return to Geelong down the track.

Bruce G McAbee

Not head coach, but for forward coach and even though I don't like him, we should approach Steve Johnson.

Think of me long enough to make a memory.

spert wrote: Fri 14 Oct 2022 11:48am
meher baba wrote: Fri 14 Oct 2022 8:38am As I posted on another thread, not Yze: we’ve had enough of the Clarkson tradition.

I reckon Enright looks like he has the makings of a terrific coach. It would be a bold and exciting move, and I like those. He comes from the current gold standard setup at the Cats.

The quality of the guy is such that he wouldn’t think he was ready yet. But he could be given a mentor.
Enright is one of the most highly regarded guys at Geelong, and I would love to see him as coach. He came to the Saints to broaden his coaching skills- probably to return to Geelong down the track.
Enright is firmly ensconced in the club.
Admin know him, all the players know him, he's sat thru heaps of meetings, everyone knows what they're getting.
He's effectively done a very long interview.

He knows what we have, which outsiders don't know much about. Oh, Buckley, Yze etc just see our players on TV, but Boris really knows them.
And Boris has talked with Gags so there's a shared knowledge about what type of players we need.

Natural progression.
Smooth, organic, common sense.
We can't go interviewing prospects, it takes time and it's a gamble.
I reckon the club has made the call on Boris ages ago.
They like what they see, they think he's better than Ratts, so they went 'bang'

Actually thought the press conference went pretty well.
Sensible intelligent answers

older saint wrote: Fri 14 Oct 2022 11:48am To consider:

Club Champions who failed as head coaches at their club: - Voss, Hird, Buckley(maybe didn't win flag but got very close)

Club Champions who Succeeded : Worsfold (not champion player but not champion player)

Harvey, Hayes I fear for their reputation, which i am sure they are well aware of if they were to put up their hands.
Most people fail as head coach, including some but not all club champions.

It’s loaded against you. If you don’t win a premiership you ultimately end up sacked. Some even win premierships and ultimately end up sacked. It’s a tough gig.

I’m sure Hayes would be aware of the risk of putting his hand up.

D.B.Cooper

Bruce G McAbee wrote: Fri 14 Oct 2022 11:52am Not head coach, but for forward coach and even though I don't like him, we should approach Steve Johnson.
Just signed a two year deal in the O&M didn’t he?

There's only one rule in the jungle! When the LYON's hungry, he eats!

WellardSaint wrote: Fri 14 Oct 2022 11:56am
spert wrote: Fri 14 Oct 2022 11:48am

Enright is firmly ensconced in the club.
Admin know him, all the players know him, he's sat thru heaps of meetings, everyone knows what they're getting.
He's effectively done a very long interview.

He knows what we have, which outsiders don't know much about. Oh, Buckley, Yze etc just see our players on TV, but Boris really knows them.
And Boris has talked with Gags so there's a shared knowledge about what type of players we need.

Natural progression.
Smooth, organic, common sense.
We can't go interviewing prospects, it takes time and it's a gamble.
I reckon the club has made the call on Boris ages ago.
They like what they see, they think he's better than Ratts, so they went 'bang'
Enright lives in Geelong.
Wouldn't make the move.
Part-timer

St Kilda said OK to that.

Not OK for me.

Banger9798 wrote: Fri 14 Oct 2022 11:57am Actually thought the press conference went pretty well.
What's with the media's obsession about Hird...Why would the journo ask about Hird specifically? He has no ties to us.
Even with his team riddled with PED's, he couldn't make them successful.

I get asking specifically about Lyon, but not Hird.

D.B.Cooper

No idea who should coach but I don’t buy into the tribal “St Kilda” people theory.

I like the thought of Lenny & Geary as I respected how they played, prepared themselves and got everything out of their bodies.

Would hate to throw a club legend like Lenny or Banger to the wolves if they are not ready or not the person for a head coach role.

I also like getting successful ex players in assistant roles, Selwood would be a great get but unlikely.

Ratten seems a great guy but never appeared the sharpest person in the room.

Recently retired players who I’d like to consider as assistant coaches.

Geary
Selwood
Edwards
Lambert
Kennedy
Mindy

Bruce G McAbee

D.B.Cooper wrote: Fri 14 Oct 2022 12:06pm
Bruce G McAbee wrote: Fri 14 Oct 2022 11:52am Not head coach, but for forward coach and even though I don't like him, we should approach Steve Johnson.
Just signed a two year deal in the O&M didn’t he?
If we offered him position and he was interested I doubt he'll refuse to come and I doubt the club would stand in his way.

Think of me long enough to make a memory.

D.B.Cooper wrote: Fri 14 Oct 2022 12:16pm Would hate to throw a club legend like Lenny or Banger to the wolves if they are not ready or not the person for a head coach role.
Harvey has been an assistant and senior assistant for a long time now. If he's not ready now, then he will never be ready.

D.B.Cooper

Life Long Saint wrote: Fri 14 Oct 2022 12:19pm
D.B.Cooper wrote: Fri 14 Oct 2022 12:16pm Would hate to throw a club legend like Lenny or Banger to the wolves if they are not ready or not the person for a head coach role.
Harvey has been an assistant and senior assistant for a long time now. If he's not ready now, then he will never be ready.
Agreed, maybe Lenny is the not ready part and Banger is the not the person for a head coach role?

I have no idea.

Life Long Saint wrote: Fri 14 Oct 2022 12:13pm
Banger9798 wrote: Fri 14 Oct 2022 11:57am Actually thought the press conference went pretty well.
What's with the media's obsession about Hird...Why would the journo ask about Hird specifically? He has no ties to us.
Even with his team riddled with PED's, he couldn't make them successful.

I get asking specifically about Lyon, but not Hird.
If they appointed HIRD that would be it for me. The man is either a) a cheat, b) a piss weak leader who had no idea what was going on in the organization he was in charge of ( ala Steve Smith) or c) a liar.
We may be a rabble, we may be the worst performed sporting club in Australia and challenger sides like the LA Clippers internationally but those cannot be characteristics which we invite in

Banger will never be a head coach.
Lenny only just come back from a hiatus, not ready.

It will be Yze, or possibly Leppa if he is willing

Rubyjo

We so woke ..it will be Danni .

Banger9798 wrote: Fri 14 Oct 2022 12:25pm Banger will never be a head coach.
Lenny only just come back from a hiatus, not ready.

It will be Yze, or possibly Leppa if he is willing
Maybe throw Lenny in and get in Tossa Lyon as a senior advisor to drive professionalism and training standards

Saint 58

Buckley as coach
Choco Williams as Head of Footy (Development)

What you do for others will define your life.
[Football isn't everything ... it's the ONLY thing]

Waltzing St Kilda wrote: Fri 14 Oct 2022 8:01am
bigcarl wrote: Fri 14 Oct 2022 7:33am I guess we’ll follow the modern trend of running a “process”. I can see why clubs do it as it gives them an “out” when things go tits up, some sort of plausible deniability.

Would be refreshing if the club just picked someone and backed them in.
I agrree. If Lyon wants the job, give it to him. Spare us the charade.
f*** OFF, if they give it to Lyon after the way he f***ed the club over then they can go and get f***ed they’ll never get another cent out of me!

seano1

Don’t think it will be bangers or hayes or boris …..mark williams would be good with as another suggested Dean Cox ….he’s had a long apprenticeship in Sydney

darylcowie

David Noble, no seriously it has to be Adem Yze, since he is the next besr available coach.

its time to make a name for yourself like you've never made before!