How did we lose to Essendon again this year and Brisbane Bears twice? Fair dinkum!

I cannot believe the team weren't prepared to turn up and play our games against Essendon and Brisbane (in Melbourne) in the second half of the season.

What an absolute waste of a season.

They better turn up tomorrow or a 99 point hiding is on the cards.

EDIT: I am so sick and tired of this team just not turning up in important games.

Re: How did we lose to Essendon again this year and Brisbane Bears twice? Fair dinkum!

Did you expect us to win the flag this season?

We lost some key games

We also beat Freo in Perth and Geelong

Can’t remember how we went against Richmond and Carlton?

Re: How did we lose to Essendon again this year and Brisbane Bears twice? Fair dinkum!

The Brisbane games were winnable. In the first game we got smashed with injuries and had no players on the bench for the last quarter. Players were absolutely cooked by the end of the game. The next week we played Essendon. Could it have been the players were incredibly fatigued after the week before? More than likely. We we ripe for the picking. Essendon could not put a foot wrong and we were running through treacle for the whole game

s*** draw,
s*** season
Shitload of injuries....again.

8-3 before the bye, 3-8 after, that about sums it up.

Our efforts against Brisbane and Essendon straight after the bye was the signal our season was over.

Because they are better than us ?

See Review's executive summary.

Difficulty is knowing far too late.

How would you be feeling if we went

3-8
Then
8-3

Any different?

B.M wrote: Sat 20 Aug 2022 5:34pm How would you be feeling if we went

3-8
Then
8-3

Any different?
No, but I will feel slightly different if we turn up tomorrow and defeat the Swans - the same as I did when we turned up in Hobart last year and beat Fremantle by 10 goals. I think that is reasonable.

But if we just go through the motions tomorrow and get absloutely hammered by over 50 points, or get 6 goals behind again before we start playing then I am still going to be bitterly disappointed by the way we have finished off the season.

I predicted on this site, that we would win 12 games this year and finish with a % of over 100 based on the fixture and factoring in variables like potential injuries to players like Hannebery, Ryder, Gresham and Clark (i.e. players who often succumb to injuries) and if we win tomorrow then we will have achieved that and I can at least go into 2023 with some optimism, but if lose by 6-8 goals again, I am pessimistic for 2023.
Last edited by samuraisaint on Sat 20 Aug 2022 6:00pm, edited 4 times in total.

The Fireman wrote: Sat 20 Aug 2022 4:25pm Because they are better than us ?
No, they're not. I think we are probably evens with both of them in terms of ability.

I reckon its a lack of onfield leaders .
you need more than a few

3-8
Then
8-3

Any different?
Yep, because at least there would be some hope for going in to next season with some momentum

Injuries and a garbage fixture again.

How’d Hawthorn best Geelong how’d Norh beat Richmond or West Coast beat Collingwood

The Bears are a decent outfit, but the Essendon loss was dreadful. They just didn't show up

Essendon - turned up just expecting to win and gave a bad team a sniff .
Brisbane - Game 1 injuries ruined chance to win
Brisbane Game 2 - Bad kicking bad football.

Add to that WB . 13 tackles in a half and foot skills equal to that of EDFL

3-8
Then
8-3

Any different?
If back half year contains multiple wins against top 8 sides I’m ok
If front hand of year sees you getting wins in a softer draw….don’t re-sign the coach ..
Who U play matters
How many double up games agsivv be st sides in top 8 Cats had ???????? Not many…

Speaking of Essendon, they are getting pumped by the Tigers, the hangar will implode on Sunday if it's a big loss. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Teflon wrote: Sat 20 Aug 2022 10:07pm

3-8
Then
8-3

Any different?
If front hand of year sees you getting wins in a softer draw….don’t re-sign the coach ..
Who U play matters
How many double up games agsivv be st sides in top 8 Cats had ???????? Not many…
Don't know - but I do know they have played North, Us and Eagles all at Kardinia Park very recently, plus the Gold Coast Suns away. All easybeats.

Seems like a very soft run for a team which finished third last year.

samuraisaint wrote: Sat 20 Aug 2022 10:28pm

3-8
Then
8-3

Any different?
Who U play matters
Don't know - but I do know they have played North, Us and Eagles all at Kardinia Park very recently, plus the Gold Coast Suns away. All easybeats.

I’m sure I read recently Cats have had 1 double up gane against a top 8 side
Mind boggles if true
I hope they go out in straight sets

Teflon wrote: Sat 20 Aug 2022 11:32pm
samuraisaint wrote: Sat 20 Aug 2022 10:28pm

3-8
Then
8-3

Any different?
Who U play matters

I’m sure I read recently Cats have had 1 double up gane against a top 8 side
Mind boggles if true
I hope they go out in straight sets
Wow - we had four - Cats, Lions, Swans, Dockers. How does that happen?

Essendon have a lot of talented youth and were always going to be inconsistent with their injuries. They still managed to beat Sydney in the last half of the year and should have beaten Collingwood a few weeks ago

If Brisbane were any good they would have given tv viewers across the country a contest on Friday night. They got smashed and looked insipid

Brisbane were'nt that good last week against St Kilda. We certainly had our chances but I wouldn't say that we were playing our best footy for the year

When we played the Lions earlier in the year up at the Gabba we looked like we were still in holiday mode after the bye...and we nearly stole the points

I think something changed dramatically after the bye within the Saints playing group and it affected performance. Not sure if it's player relationships or team morale or something else

[quote=saynta post_id=1976140 time=1660966376 user_id=126]
s*** draw,
s*** season
Shitload of injuries....again.
[/quote]

It’s crazy how tough our draw was. Only Hawthorn twice, the other double ups all extremely strong sides

Mental,
Leadership (lack of)
Cohesion/System/Discipline (lack of)

We are better than the rubbish Lions are serving up.

Must come home to coaching/selection that they beat us twice.

Lions would kill to have Sharman in the fwd line tonight.

We play him half back.

Go figure.

Yorkeys wrote: Fri 09 Sep 2022 10:07pm We are better than the rubbish Lions are serving up.

Must come home to coaching/selection that they beat us twice.

Lions would kill to have Sharman in the fwd line tonight.

We play him half back.

Go figure.
Get off OnlyFans and check AFL app.
Lions are level at 3/4 time.

They monstered the Mt Hotham mob
The Dees defenders are scared and fumbling.
May gave away a free right in front, due to panic.

Last qtr gonna be a cracker