He's Only 22

Re: He's Only 22

D.B.Cooper wrote: Sat 13 Aug 2022 6:52pm POSITIVE
Getting set shots 20-35mt out on slight angles against an AA standard defender. Was sound on the lead, big pack mark looked dangerous.

NEGATIVE
Missed set shots any U16 key forward would expect to nail 9/10 times. Just not good enough for a professional highly paid AFL forward.

The club needs to address this in the pre-season as it is a critical football issue. King is a good field kick so the base is there.

Buckets was one of the worst kicks I’d seen but with hard work and a routine he became competent and reliable.

No reason King can’t become a very good kick for goal, just needs to happen in 2023.
If it was only 1 miss or 2 misses you’d forgive him, but it was 4 set shots. There’s some issues going on in that head of his.

I wonder what Max is doing outside of footy. Is he studying? If yes…does he stress over deadlines? Is he passing his subjects? What does he do for leisure? How does he relax during the week? Is he a good sleeper? Is he into gaming the way some players like Billy Longer used to spend too much time on

As you say; “Missed set shots any U16 key forward would expect to nail 9/10 times”.

The shot from 15 metres out would have been kicked by someone in under 12’s. Unforgivable!

So glad we have him. I must admit I can’t believe some of the negative crap aimed at him
We all know he’ll get it sorted yet but some just want to bitch and moan

Max will be a superstar

And the talk of things going on his head ? All the negative jibes and barbs directed at him by social and main stream media will surely help…….

Makes you wonder why some in the spotlight suffer depression

He’s a professional sportsman

Scrutiny comes with the big pay cheque

At the end of the day, he cost the team … no hiding from that

Any chance we can get Stewart Loewe down there over summer to drill him on a few fundamentals and simple techniques as taught to him by Peter Hudson.

Really, if you'd have seen Loewe early on in his career. He was a kicking dufus. If someone so inept can become a generally reliable kick, there is hope for everyone ... even Max King.

George27

bigcarl wrote: Sat 13 Aug 2022 9:14pm Any chance we can get Stewart Loewe down there over summer to drill him on a few fundamentals and simple techniques as taught to him by Peter Hudson.

Really, if you'd have seen Loewe early on in his career. He was a kicking dufus. If someone so inept can become a generally reliable kick, there is hope for everyone ... even Max King.
That is a terrific idea. He did indeed work hard and improved his kicking immensely. Also he has a connection with Haileybury where Max went to school.

Shaggy

This was Chris Doerre’s analysis of Max early 2018 when Lloyd was coaching him at Haileybury: https://www.espn.com.au/afl/story/_/id/ ... ey-forward

“Starring for Sandringham in their 24-point win against Oakleigh was Max King. The 201cm, 86kg key forward amassed 19 disposals and nine marks (six contested) while kicking eight goals and five behinds. He finished two goals shy of matching Oakleigh's score which is an incredible effort considering Oakleigh only one week earlier won by 50 points against Eastern.
The big man is arguably the best key forward to come through the Victorian junior ranks since Joe Daniher in the 2012 AFL Draft.

Against Oakleigh, King stationed himself inside the forward 50m and launched at everything that came his way, attacking each ball aerially, taking most marks he attempted overhead. He was also impressive in always working to gain front position which allowed him either to take a mark or draw a free kick.

While King is an imposing and unstoppable monster of a marking forward, he is also very capable at ground level, picking up several ground balls cleanly and naturally and showing impressive mobility. Also pleasing was a chase-down tackle from behind which awarded him a set shot on goal.

King, who possesses a 55-60m kick, will need to continue to work on his set shot. He continually marked the ball 20-30m out directly in front which speaks to how dominant he is, but with five behinds and one shot sailing out on the full, King will need to get better in front of the big sticks.

A further area for improvement for King is his capacity to push up the ground. While he is so dangerous stationed inside 50m near the goal square, it would be a definite plus if King could push up the ground more, with clubs seeking players who can contribute in multiple positions and roles.”

So Lloyd was not the answer. Max can get over the yips as Buckets did but it is a life long habit so there is a bit more to it than simply changing his kicking coach until it works. Max's work is elite for a kid and IMO he will get there.

How is everyone’s putting going?

George27 wrote: Sat 13 Aug 2022 9:25pm
bigcarl wrote: Sat 13 Aug 2022 9:14pm Any chance we can get Stewart Loewe down there over summer to drill him on a few fundamentals and simple techniques as taught to him by Peter Hudson.

That is a terrific idea. He did indeed work hard and improved his kicking immensely. Also he has a connection with Haileybury where Max went to school.

I think if it was announced that Max was seeking out Stewie for set shot technique we would be the laughing stock.

Loewe was flawed technique he was a woeful kick

King can’t handle pressure

King is actually a good field kick (like Reiwoldt) but freezes in front of them

Also evident when his confidence is up - he kicks it beautifully at goal - which means it’s not really kicking action but above the shoulders - but when it goes wrong he gets the monkey on the shoulder!

Curnow, the Coleman leader, kicked 1.4 tonight in a 5 point loss.

Get rid of him.

Banger9798 wrote: Sat 13 Aug 2022 10:46pm
George27 wrote: Sat 13 Aug 2022 9:25pm

I think if it was announced that Max was seeking out Stewie for set shot technique we would be the laughing stock.
No one would laugh at us if it worked.

Don’t forget that Hudson was one of the greatest kicks for goal of all time and the simple fundamentals he drilled into Loewe - along with some hard work from Stewart - turned him from a hopeless case into a generally reliable shot.

The subject has been brought up in here before and someone actually dug up an interview detailing what those fundamentals were. Pretty simple guidelines as I recall.
Last edited by bigcarl on Sun 14 Aug 2022 1:41am, edited 3 times in total.

B.M wrote: Sat 13 Aug 2022 10:49pm Loewe was flawed technique he was a woeful kick

King can’t handle pressure

King is actually a good field kick (like Reiwoldt) but freezes in front of them

Also evident when his confidence is up - he kicks it beautifully at goal - which means it’s not really kicking action but above the shoulders - but when it goes wrong he gets the monkey on the shoulder!
I think it's part technique and part mental. Like a golf swing. You have to improve both aspects to make progress.

You can work on mechanics as much as your want and not improve if you’re not seeing the target and committing to the shot.

Similarly, If your mechanics aren’t up to scratch trying to hit shots where you want them to go won’t happen .., at least not consistently.

The classic mistake is allowing mechanical thoughts into your mind during the swing, To a large degree the set up determines the motion.

SaintDippa

Brekkie Saturday morning in Sorrento, Max and partner seated next table. Looked shattered and dejected. Maybe half a chuckle in 45 min. I decided to leave my kicking advice for another day.

All the Max bashing is just ridiculous.

If there is a fault it is our Coach and Football department who have decided to:

1/ Run with Max as the only true big forward = huge pressure on a young player (Neither Marshall or Ryder play like a proper key forward does).
2/ Then making that even worse, by having Max as such a key focus where he is kicked to way more than he should be (result being that the opposition are always at him)
3/ And worse again with such poor forward entries

This has resulted in a situation where Max is carrying way more of the load and pressure than he should.

and then :

3/ Not allowing him to have some extra goalkicking support that he wanted.

saintsRrising wrote: Sun 14 Aug 2022 10:17am All the Max bashing is just ridiculous.

If there is a fault it is our Coach and Football department who have decided to:

1/ Run with Max as the only true big forward = huge pressure on a young player (Neither Marshall or Ryder play like a proper key forward does).
2/ Then making that even worse, by having Max as such a key focus where he is kicked to way more than he should be (result being that the opposition are always at him)

This has resulted in a situation where Max is carrying way more of the load and pressure than he should.

and then :

Another false narrative.

The word that keeps swirling around in my head that I want to use to describe King's season but know its inappropriate but I can't think of any other word to describe his season...spud.

We won't go anywhere while we don't hold a DP4 to account for his own serous flaws.

Vortex wrote: Sun 14 Aug 2022 10:26am
saintsRrising wrote: Sun 14 Aug 2022 10:17am All the Max bashing is just ridiculous.

and then :

Another false narrative.

The word that keeps swirling around in my head that I want to use to describe King's season but know its inappropriate but I can't think of any other word to describe his season...spud.

We won't go anywhere while we don't hold a DP4 to account for his own serous flaws.
so you dont think your mate Ratt's isn't holding him to account ?

repta

All great set shot Forwards. All great set shot sportsman. Without fail. Have a set shot routine

A routine they practice.

No amount of 'kick and giggle' at practice will help. It will actually hinder.

Practice means PRACTICING THE ROUTINE. Finding a routine, honing the routine and ultimately EXECUTING the routine.

Ratten, are you actually telling us the public, supporters and media that King heads down to the park on his day off and practices

ball twirling
Ball spinning
Ball twisitng

so that when he walks in he knows how many ball turns, spins, twists is the beat number.
Whether the twists/twirls/spins are in time with steps or mid step

How many steps is optimal for 30 m out, 40m out 20m out
On on angle

In my opinion, his practice is going no where. Game day is different. However getting on top of game day pressure is being able to zone out from the pressure. Finding the Navarna, the peace. In practice find the peace first, hone a routine that is simple and works, hone the routine. Then work out how to get the peace game day.

It is time to bring= science into the MOST IMPORTANT SKILL IN THE GAME .... it is time.

Goal Kicking is really the only sill in the game that needs to be precise. A kick / handball around the ground can miss a target and be made up by targeted player. (eg run harder / slow / body opposition etc). A lead generally only needs to be put in an area or 'general advantage'. Goal kicking is precise. There is no room for error.

The team that works out that you can bring science into goal kicking will be UNSTOPPABLE.

Development is coming in goal kicking . Just look at how many players are now kicking around the corner from directly in front.

Be on the forefront. Any development will not go to waste

Years ago whilst employing someone I was asked by the Senior Manager

"does he have 10 years experience"
or
"One years experience 10 times"

So what is it King?

The Fireman wrote: Sun 14 Aug 2022 10:48am

and then :

Another false narrative.

so you dont think your mate Ratt's isn't holding him to account ?
I think he's telling him he'll only be 23 next year.

Interesting watching Lloyd on King's kicking action just now.

Pretty much all of King's routine is not good from the moment he starts moving through to when he kicks the ball. When he is ball contact is made, he is leaning backwards.

and then :

Well said.

What do you think the role of a coach is meant to be? If he is not held to account, that means the coach is not actually coaching.

Kicking action= coach should have intervened to have it worked on. Current situation would indicate to myself that our current coaches seem clueless as to what a good goal kicking action is.

Leading patterns = coach needs to drill the player in what to do, and in the players upfield in how to deliver the ball.

The above two aspects are King's major flaws, and both should have been addressed by a competent coaching team.

Last year Max King himself asked for goal kicking technique help as he knows he has a problem, and our coaches decided to keep it inhouse because they knew best.

Anyone can see that King is an exceptional talent. He is also an exceptionally poorly coached talent.

I remember Stewie Loewe had a terrible kicking action. Peter Hudson turned him around.

I, like every other Saints supporter was terribly disappointed in King's chronic waywardness on Friday night, and yes, if he'd kicked straight St Kilda would probably have won that game. But I think it's quite unfair to unload our frustrations out on the young fella, instead we should sympathise because obviously he feels the pain more than anyone. Reckon this would cause many haunting sleepless nights, even for the most consummate professional.

Garry Lyon's comments after the game that "Max failed and he will have to live with that for the next 6 months" was uncalled for and in some ways irresponsible as it just piles on the pressure - no wonder players avoid the media.

As Devilhead pointed out on Saturday:

"After 58 games he is equal on terms against Hawkins, JRoo after their first 58 games - 2 of the best forwards over the last 10 years.

Would you be disappointed if he goes in to kick 700+ ??

King after his first 58 games - 107.86
Hawkins after his first 58 games - 79.42
JRoo after his first 58 games - 102.63
Franklin after his first 58 games - 135.88"

I also take issue with supporters who condemn Brett Ratten for not allowing King to seek help from his schooldays coach Matthew Lloyd - he is simply refusing to discuss this idea in the media, and rightly so because imagine how much focus that would bring on such arrangements, it would lead to endless discussion by the footy reporters. Far better to keep that totally out of the spotlight.

In the context of Max King's future career, this will be merely a minor blip on the radar.

PS: and this is yet another problem that Ratten has failed to fix :roll:

saintsRrising wrote: Sun 14 Aug 2022 11:45am

What do you think the role of a coach is meant to be? If he is not held to account, that means the coach is not actually coaching.

Kicking action= coach should have intervened to have it worked on. Current situation would indicate to myself that our current coaches seem clueless as to what a good goal kicking action is.

Leading patterns = coach needs to drill the player in what to do, and in the players upfield in how to deliver the ball.

The above two aspects are King's major flaws, and both should have been addressed by a competent coaching team.

Last year Max King himself asked for goal kicking technique help as he knows he has a problem, and our coaches decided to keep it inhouse because they knew best.

Anyone can see that King is an exceptional talent. He is also an exceptionally poorly coached talent.
Lol according to Vort coaches only role is game day in charge of ordering the lollies

SaintDippa wrote: Sun 14 Aug 2022 9:50am Brekkie Saturday morning in Sorrento, Max and partner seated next table. Looked shattered and dejected. Maybe half a chuckle in 45 min. I decided to leave my kicking advice for another day.
Poor bastard. Hope he is okay.

He clearly needs a strong, contested physical presence along side him in the forward line.

He is carrying too much responsibility and isn’t ready yet.

Teflon wrote: Sun 14 Aug 2022 12:17pm
saintsRrising wrote: Sun 14 Aug 2022 11:45am

Lol according to Vort coaches only role is game day in charge of ordering the lollies
I think Ratts may be on the chocolate‘s