Team v Brisbane

Great position to be in with pressure form below:

Out: Sharman, Windy

In: Butler, Clark

Sharman while kicking a goal a game to me leaves us a little top heavy ( Marshall, King, Membrey) and i felt at times when the ball hit the deck north were able to exit easily. Structure up the ground saw it come back. Butler kicked 5 in the VFL and had a lot of it. I Like the kid but dont think he has done enough to retain a spot above Butler ATM
I felt Long was the main pressure forward and without Higgins and Butler it was a little too easy at times - Brisbane being able to leave the forward 50 easily will be an issue.

Clark probably would have played if not for Covid. He is a class player and in best 22 and needs to start building a base of games at AFL level. The younger guys will need rotations - as has already occurred. Yes off the bye so not the case her and I don't think he has done anything wrong but Clark needs to start playing AFL level and Windy seems the obvious change.

Pressure from below in the form of Brynnes ( becoming the Andy Bichel of Stkilda this season), Highmore, Billings. Lienert
Covid and injury will pop up. Paton has been exposed a little but very difficult to change the 3rd best defence in the AFL

Working on like for like then i don't see any changes - however i didn't see Billings out either so clearly coaches look at things we don't.

Re: Team v Brisbane

Higgins should be available?

Ratts at the presser pining that the reserves don't play next week suggests to me that he's not going to bring Clark back yet.

Doubt Clark comes straight back in after Covid and no footy for a fortnight

A lot of love for Butler and obviously 5 goals on the w/e didn’t hurt his chances but he’s down the pecking order a bit for me.
Had a lot of chances and is prone to being unable to exert himself into games a little too often for my liking.

Not in delist territory by any means but for me, he’s fallen behind Long, Higgins and Sharman for the time being.

Higgins looks to be the best of the list in terms of ceiling… Coops has the most improvement and could really be a point of difference… and Long stays as he turns up every week in terms of effort

Clark was never coming back this week.

I am sure the real selectors will have everything under consideration and won't be rushing to make rash decisions.

Especially when the Brisbane game is two weeks away!

The game's 2 weeks away 🙊

I worry about Clark with his impact injuries.
Others have said he doesn't appear to have developed more muscle and looks fragile

Rubyjo

Can't drop windy he is building ..Clark ca wait he can come in after the bye if needed .

Rubyjo wrote: Mon 30 May 2022 7:58pm Can't drop windy he is building ..Clark ca wait he can come in after the bye if needed .
Our next game is after the bye.

If it comes down to a choice between Butler and Higgins, then sadly I reckon it has to be Butler.

Brisbane is a whole different proposition to Adelaide or North Melbourne. If we can't apply enough forward pressure, they will continually explode out of their backline.

So, for mine, definitely Sharman out and Butler in.

Clark for Windhager is also a reasonable call, if Clark is deemed ready to go. Then there's Billings, who went well for Sandy. And Higgins needs to be fitted back in somehow sooner rather than later.

Lots of tough choices to make. If we manage to defeat Brisbane, the choices will get even more difficult.

meher baba wrote: Mon 30 May 2022 8:52pm If it comes down to a choice between Butler and Higgins, then sadly I reckon it has to be Butler.

Brisbane is a whole different proposition to Adelaide or North Melbourne. If we can't apply enough forward pressure, they will continually explode out of their backline.

So, for mine, definitely Sharman out and Butler in.

Clark for Windhager is also a reasonable call, if Clark is deemed ready to go. Then there's Billings, who went well for Sandy. And Higgins needs to be fitted back in somehow sooner rather than later.

Lots of tough choices to make. If we manage to defeat Brisbane, the choices will get even more difficult.
Butler got 5.1 for the Zebs, but can he get goals ar AFL level?
Higgins may not apply similar forward pressure, but he's more likely to lead and mark, and kick goals, which is scoreboard pressure.
If he's accurate enough

I’m going to this game at this stage

If its not broke.....?

Yorkeys wrote: Tue 31 May 2022 10:08am If its not broke.....?
then it has money.....

no change.

I’d get Clark, Higgins and (maybe, possibly) Billings into the side if match fit (which probably Clark and Higgins may not be).

Brisbane have won 30 of their last 31 Home & Away games at the Gabba.

They've also scored 100+ in their last six games.

We need to be on for this one.

Are we the ones that knocked them off?

Beno88 wrote: Tue 31 May 2022 3:35pm Brisbane have won 30 of their last 31 Home & Away games at the Gabba.

We won 5 of our last 7 against Brisbane in Queensland.

Rubyjo

kosifantutti wrote: Mon 30 May 2022 8:13pm
Rubyjo wrote: Mon 30 May 2022 7:58pm Can't drop windy he is building ..Clark ca wait he can come in after the bye if needed .
Our next game is after the bye.
Lol yeah but I wouldn't be dropping windy ..he is building .

older saint wrote: Mon 30 May 2022 6:20pm Great position to be in with pressure form below:

Out: Sharman, Windy

In: Butler, Clark

Sharman while kicking a goal a game to me leaves us a little top heavy ( Marshall, King, Membrey) and i felt at times when the ball hit the deck north were able to exit easily. Structure up the ground saw it come back. Butler kicked 5 in the VFL and had a lot of it. I Like the kid but dont think he has done enough to retain a spot above Butler ATM
I felt Long was the main pressure forward and without Higgins and Butler it was a little too easy at times - Brisbane being able to leave the forward 50 easily will be an issue.

Clark probably would have played if not for Covid. He is a class player and in best 22 and needs to start building a base of games at AFL level. The younger guys will need rotations - as has already occurred. Yes off the bye so not the case her and I don't think he has done anything wrong but Clark needs to start playing AFL level and Windy seems the obvious change.

Pressure from below in the form of Brynnes ( becoming the Andy Bichel of Stkilda this season), Highmore, Billings. Lienert
Covid and injury will pop up. Paton has been exposed a little but very difficult to change the 3rd best defence in the AFL

Working on like for like then i don't see any changes - however i didn't see Billings out either so clearly coaches look at things we don't.
no Higgins mate?

kosifantutti wrote: Tue 31 May 2022 4:32pm
Beno88 wrote: Tue 31 May 2022 3:35pm Brisbane have won 30 of their last 31 Home & Away games at the Gabba.

We won 5 of our last 7 against Brisbane in Queensland.
Our record against them over the past several years is way better than against the last three sides we have just played and beaten.

I believe we will bring in Clark, Higgins & Butler. Who misses out are tough calls, but Sharman, Windhager & Owens.

Wow
People wanting to leave out Windy and think Butler (hardly scored in weeks at afl level) is a certainty??
For me only 2 must haves for Lions
Higgins and Clark - the rest can wait for form drop off in twos and keep delivering consistently
Who to take out?
Sadly….Coops for Higgins (I like Sharman a lot just not sure who else makes way in the forward line..)
Webster out for Clarke - Clarke can then rotate off HB with Sincs on ball …we keep ball polish out of back half and also keep class users into midfield going into 50
Knowing my knowledge the real changes will probably be
In Kent , Joyce….