Have We Gone Past Port

One of last year's final eight teams has officially had its season officially declared over.

Opens a spot for one of last year's bottom eight teams.

Carlton probably takes Port spot

Re: Have We Gone Past Port

I think Melbourne and Brisbane are the only sides that can win it

Goose is king wrote: Thu 07 Apr 2022 10:25pm I think Melbourne and Brisbane are the only sides that can win it
Fair call Goose but its a long season & anything can happen. Injuries to key players can hurt but yeah it will take a massive effort from every other club to keep them honest that's for sure :)

Goose is king wrote: Thu 07 Apr 2022 10:25pm I think Melbourne and Brisbane are the only sides that can win it
The Dogz are in the mix too but only if they can complete their rehab in time to recover from mental health issues, that and get Bruce back playing good footy.

I have never seen empty seats at a Port game, let alone an almost empty stadium.

Yes, injures to 2 of Oliver Petracca Gawn and May would stop them in their tracks.

I know it's kind of cruel, but it's nice to see them humiliated

Definitely a year to just make it into the 8

Anything could happen this year

Vortex wrote: Thu 07 Apr 2022 10:47pm I have never seen empty seats at a Port game, let alone an almost empty stadium.
Pretty hard to play "Never Tear Us Apart" when rats are deserting a sinking ship.

Goose is king wrote: Thu 07 Apr 2022 10:49pm Yes, injures to 2 of Oliver Petracca Gawn and May would stop them in their tracks.
I just had this discussion with a mate, I think there's an argument that Langdon is a more important player than any of those.

Banger9798 wrote: Thu 07 Apr 2022 11:02pm

Detest f****** port and their failed China adventure. Hard to believe now that we gave up a home game to play a s*** team in a shithole of a Country.

As a side note geez, Gawn is a good footballer.

Not until we can actually beat them. One win against them in ten seasons.
We have to make very sure that we turn up when we play them in Cairns in a few weeks and play four quarters.

Ghost Like wrote: Thu 07 Apr 2022 11:03pm
Vortex wrote: Thu 07 Apr 2022 10:47pm I have never seen empty seats at a Port game, let alone an almost empty stadium.
Pretty hard to play "Never Tear Us Apart" when rats are deserting a sinking ship.
I'm guessing the Port Forum is not for the faint hearted tonight. Calls for a good ole "gutting" might be the order of the night.

saynta wrote: Thu 07 Apr 2022 11:15pm

Detest f****** port and their failed China adventure. Hard to believe now that we gave up a home game to play a s*** team in a shithole of a Country.

If it wasn’t for that “s*** hole” of a country (our biggest trading partner/saved us during GFC), this country would be a “s*** hole” of a country.

SunnyErnie

Vortex wrote: Thu 07 Apr 2022 10:21pm One of last year's final eight teams has officially had its season officially declared over.

Opens a spot for one of last year's bottom eight teams.

Carlton probably takes Port spot
Probably!

St Kilda should never trade with Essendon and Sydney ever again!!!

NeXus

SaintPav wrote: Fri 08 Apr 2022 1:24am

If it wasn’t for that “s*** hole” of a country (our biggest trading partner/saved us during GFC), this country would be a “s*** hole” of a country.
I recall some other real classy bloke referring to some countries as ‘s*** holes’

https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/201 ... ranslation

Lennylegs

Essendon won't be playing finals this year either. There's a second spot.

Saintmike65

Ghost Like wrote: Thu 07 Apr 2022 11:05pm
Goose is king wrote: Thu 07 Apr 2022 10:49pm Yes, injures to 2 of Oliver Petracca Gawn and May would stop them in their tracks.
I just had this discussion with a mate, I think there's an argument that Langdon is a more important player than any of those.
Yep…we picked up the wrong winger from Freo!

Lennylegs wrote: Fri 08 Apr 2022 5:41am Essendon won't be playing finals this year either. There's a second spot.
It's looking that way, the Dogs looked like they were going to crap their pants a couple of weeks ago but if they get their act together they should be top 4.

I'f we are challenging for a spot you'd think it's between 6 and 8 so we could be fighting with Don's, Dogs, Richmond, (maybe if they don't fall away completely).

We can agree to disagree here. :wink:

Scollop wrote: Fri 08 Apr 2022 5:05am

I recall some other real classy bloke referring to some countries as ‘s*** holes’

https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/201 ... ranslation
Being compared to that creep stings a bit even if there is a tad of truth in what I said. No comment on Shithead's comment though. Haven't been to any of those countries except Mexico but have been to China.
Last edited by saynta on Fri 08 Apr 2022 12:46pm, edited 2 times in total.

You can’t really have an opinion on a fact

A bit early to pass judgement just atm.

I reckon at the bye, we'll get a handle on how we compare.
Small sample size

They are missing,
Aliir Aliir
Tom Clurey
Charlie Dixon
Xavier Duursma
Orazio Fantasia
Sam Skinner

We are missing Billings,
Jones,
Coffield
Clark
Geary
+ (cough) Hannas

It’s a fair question.

Wouldn’t surprise me if they rally and return to some form.

West Coast will recover too, but like Geelong - more so - they were already on the slide…(Cameron is a pest tho..so can’t write off Geelong)

So they are missing a fair few, including their bookends

Lennylegs

Vortex wrote: Fri 08 Apr 2022 10:13am
Lennylegs wrote: Fri 08 Apr 2022 5:41am Essendon won't be playing finals this year either. There's a second spot.
It's looking that way, the Dogs looked like they were going to crap their pants a couple of weeks ago but if they get their act together they should be top 4.

I'f we are challenging for a spot you'd think it's between 6 and 8 so we could be fighting with Don's, Dogs, Richmond, (maybe if they don't fall away completely).
Yep, agreed. We'll be around 6-8 if we play like we did in the second half against the Tigers. Could challenge higher if Sincs and Max can continue to elevate themselves to All Australian status.

Also need another 15 games out of Paddy. I'm keen to see where this season is heading for us.