Blue baggers v saints AFLW.

Watched the first half. I' m done. Too painful to watch any more.

Takes me back to the dark days of the 80s with the men's team
Last edited by saynta on Sun 20 Feb 2022 10:39am, edited 1 time in total.

Laurie

Re: Blue baggers v saints AFLW.

Watchibg AFLW is painful full stop.
BOOM BOOM

St Plugger

Oh really!
That's a period that many older St Kilda supporters have mixed memories. Fond recollections of the characters of the time out on the terraces of Moorabbin, not so much for the football mediocrity played by the teams of that period!

Too many players in Dal's AFLW team who just aren't up to it.
He really needs a list clean out but that will be a tough ask with 4 more clubs coming into the AFLW comp before next season.

It's amazing that the Saints women's team is as bad as many a Saints men's team.

We played the team in 17th spot with the worst percentage in the league and got smashed.
Maybe Dal's not up to it !

Fairweathers :wink:

mr six o'clock wrote: Sat 19 Feb 2022 7:30pm We played the team in 17th spot with the worst percentage in the league and got smashed.
Maybe Dal's not up to it !

That's a narrowminded view of it. The Blues have had the toughest fixture to date by far, playing five of the top six teams.

"Dal not up to it" is such a dumb comment. He's had zero input on the list, and it's the ability of the list that isn't up to it.

We were a mediocre team and then lost our best two players who were both midfielders.
Dal needs some early draft picks but with four new teams next year we probably won’t get them.

We were a mediocre team and then lost our best two players who were both midfielders.
Dal needs some early draft picks but with four new teams next year we probably won’t get them.

Sack GP!!

Her fault.

Not a big fan of WAFL but looking at our list of unavailable players no wonder we are shite . Can't make a silk purse out of a sow's ear

In fine St Kilda tradition, our women's team is beginning to lay the foundations the 'right way'. Fooling the competition.

oboe

I am not happy.

First year in the Comp, pretty good.

Second year in the Comp, falling away.

Third year in the Comp - For the most part uncompetitive.

I've seen the deterioration of this team for the last couple of years - losing to Carlton like that, I can't stomach.

What is Dal Santo doing??? No heart at all. Stuff some of our best players out, stuff if we are outclassed.

At least have a go - scrap it out -this reminded me of some of the men's sides efforts in 84 and 85.

Oh Lord.

Watched the first quarter and was depressed.

Can't kick - can't handball.

Watched the first 10 minutes of the second quarter and recognized the writing on the wall. Was already yelling at the TV. Had a mental health moment and fast forwarded to the last 10 minutes. When I saw we were still only 2 points I turned off the TV.

Classic Saints. Stuffed up almost everything with the women's team. Cutting is hopeless in the ruck and Lucas-Rodd should be paid by the other side. Greiser is unable to get to a contest. I like Shierlaw but she only takes 1 in 20 marks. Like the men, no leading in the forward line. And our best kick hits the post.

I hope the No 1 draft choice is a ripper and we play at Moorabbin next year.

saynta wrote: Sat 19 Feb 2022 6:09pm Watched the first half. I' m done. Too painful to watch any more.

Takes.me back to the dark days of the 80s with the mens team
was thinking the same thing meself.

Just can't compete - best player standing out, second best out with a knee for the entire season.

ROLS-LEE

No ruckmen, all of our starting midfield is out. Sheirlaw cant get back to form, so its rebounding from that line. If we get it passed there and dont hit the G-Train with a precision pass, double team and run off her like what they did to plugger when he was unfit and uncompetitive. I would put Vogt (10) in the midfield in bursts for brute strength.
The rest needs to get fitter, stronger, faster and keep progressing with the skills. We are a few years away with a need of a few good draft/trading pics

ROLS-LEE

No ruckmen, all of our starting midfield is out. Sheirlaw cant get back to form, so its rebounding from that line. If we get it passed there and dont hit the G-Train with a precision pass, double team and run off her like what they did to plugger when he was unfit and uncompetitive. I would put Vogt (10) in the midfield in bursts for brute strength.
The rest needs to get fitter, stronger, faster and keep progressing with the skills. We are a few years away with a need of a few good draft/trading pics

realdeal

There just isnt enough good players to have a competition with this many teams at this stage, it just ruins the whole product...

You'd be better off watching a game at your local park..

Just checked the match result on saints.com.

After scoring two points in the first few minutes they did not trouble the score board attendants again.

Try to support them but that is just pathetic and totally unacceptable.

realdeal wrote: Sun 20 Feb 2022 11:15am There just isnt enough good players to have a competition with this many teams at this stage, it just ruins the whole product...

You'd be better off watching a game at your local park..
The AFL Women's competition is expanding by another 4 teams at seasons end, and, the more outspoken women keep campaigning about how they want to go professional within the next few years.

Could the AFLW support itself or would it need to drain the ALF Men's coffers to stay afloat ?

Laurie

Well said Wayne 42
I would rather watch paint dry than sit throughan AFL W game.

Laurie wrote: Sun 20 Feb 2022 2:15pm Well said Wayne 42
I would rather watch paint dry than sit throughan AFL W game.
Hard to watch.I too havent watched a full game

After our experience with Tim Watson you'd think we'd have known better. Stupid boys' club mentality. Total disrespect for the women's game. Dal Santo has been given this team to play with. Well I sure hope he's having fun

saynta wrote: Sat 19 Feb 2022 6:09pm Watched the first half. I' m done. Too painful to watch any more.

Takes me back to the dark days of the 80s with the men's team
Mate, I reckon it take us back to the 1890s.

https://www.afltables.com/afl/teams/stk ... er.html#02

Hanna Green just won a mixed gender golf competition by 4 strokes. The only compensation for the lady players was the t-box, which is considered appropriate given women lack the strength of men. It's a bit like Weight-For-Age horse racing, where fillies and mares typically have a 2kg advantage.

My point is, than in golf men and women have similar ability, especially with putting, chipping and iron play, but not long driving.

But alas, I fear there is a far greater delta in football. Women's football is in it's embryonic stage, and I would suggest the women's game is a very long way short of the mens game. It's not just the difference of physical strength but also skills.

From the games I've watched, I would consider the women's skills are well below Under 17 standard.

It would be fantastic for the game if the women achieved the same standard of our female golfers, but I fear we have a very long way to go.

Love to see Hanna start in the middle for us and sometime play Chips and Goddard in an exhibition match. From the black tees.

Notice how in the AO warm ups shown a few women players were doing drills catching tennis balls to improve reflexes. I wonder how our ladies would go at that.

Quite a few seem to be a trifle uncordinated but at the same time so eager and determined. Doesn't seem fair.