Coops

Coops

Very close to best on ground in 66. RIP.

Re: Coops

tony74 wrote: Tue 14 Dec 2021 7:59pm Very close to best on ground in 66. RIP.
That is very sad . Rest in peace mate. I rember playing against him once in under-age footy.

Thanks for the advice Tony.

Took one of the greatest marks I’ve seen against the Demons - over Hugh Brummell if my memory is correct?

Yeah ,definitely against the D’s. Winmar took a very similar mark at Moorabbin against the Dons.

Vale Ian Cooper too young to see him play but my old man talked about him . I only remember the advanced hair studio add . RIP Coops :cry:

Mr Magic wrote: Tue 14 Dec 2021 9:11pm Took one of the greatest marks I’ve seen against the Demons - over Hugh Brummell if my memory is correct?
Nothing wrong with your memory, the famous Queen's Birthday Monday game at the MCG. Coop's mark was the cherry on the cake, right in the centre of the ground. Memorable game for Howell and Murray swapping ends, St Kilda winning easily, the reigning premier losing after winning its first eight, Norm Smith being sacked the following week and the Saints stamping their authority on the VFL, at last!

And Ian Cooper's screamer. He might have won a Pelaco shirt for it.

RIP Ian Cooper, a premiership Saint.

The ranks of our premiership players is thinning out. Bongo, Doc, Roger Head and now Coops gone and Cowboy in poor health. Ian Cooper started Melbourne's decline in 1965. It took until this year for Melbourne's redemption, I hope our boys fully understand Ian Cooper's standing and importance to our Club and can properly honour his memory with additional silverware this year.

Coops was tall, extremely skinny and extremely funny. Rheumatic fever struck him down when he was only 23 and genuinely becoming one of the competition's best players. In the early 1970's a heavier version of himself lined up at full-forward for Sandringham and immediately become a star of the VFA. Supporters would change ends with him at the end of each quarter, you couldn't get enough of his high marking and goal kicking exploits. 56 games for 282 goals with the Zebras gives you an indication how good he was. A fully fit version of his former self might have given us more than one premiership.

R.I.P. Ian Cooper. That I remember you so well bares testament to your playing ability. Go Saints!

Trev from the Bush wrote: Tue 14 Dec 2021 10:35pm
Mr Magic wrote: Tue 14 Dec 2021 9:11pm Took one of the greatest marks I’ve seen against the Demons - over Hugh Brummell if my memory is correct?
Nothing wrong with your memory, the famous Queen's Birthday Monday game at the MCG. Coop's mark was the cherry on the cake, right in the centre of the ground. Memorable game for Howell and Murray swapping ends, St Kilda winning easily, the reigning premier losing after winning its first eight, Norm Smith being sacked the following week and the Saints stamping their authority on the VFL, at last!

And Ian Cooper's screamer. He might have won a Pelaco shirt for it.
Or some Don Smallgoods or Patra orange juice!

Rugby League would have to be the stupidest, most moronic and over rated game of all time.

Ian Cooper, Legend. Vale - RIP

mcadam05

How about you show some for Respect for the man and put his name in the title
Last edited by mcadam05 on Wed 15 Dec 2021 3:03pm, edited 1 time in total.

Ian Cooper was way before his time, which is why he was so valuable. These days, it's quite common for on-ballers to be 188cm tall (6 feet 2 inches) but it wasn't back then. He could rove the pack and take a screamer. He was a good handballer out of the pack to get movement forward and had a big tank - until he got sick - which was in the year after the flag. I suppose we should be thankful that it wasn't in 1966. He, along with Darryl Griffiths, gave us a winning edge around the packs. Another bloke was handy in that regard too - Ian Stewart. Our only weakness back then was that we stuck too long with the drop kick before embracing the drop punt. We gave away too many easy goals through poor kicks out of defence. Richmond led the way in that regard and it won them two flags.

Great player,struck down with illness in 67 ? made a comeback but couldnt quite reach the level he was before.Still remember a great mark at morrabbin in his comeback game RIP SAINTER

mcadam05 wrote: Wed 15 Dec 2021 9:35am
How about you show some for Respect for the man and put his name in the tittle
tittle. :lol: :wink:

Everyone knew him as Coops mate. Can’t remember the last person who called him Ian. But I respect your opinion

Went to primary school with one of his nephews - Luke.

RIP Flying Pencil.

mcadam05

tony74 wrote: Wed 15 Dec 2021 2:21pm
Everyone knew him as Coops mate. Can’t remember the last person who called him Ian. But I respect your opinion
Call him what you like in the thread but in the title pay some respect. At first I thought this was a thread about Cooper Sharman
Last edited by mcadam05 on Wed 15 Dec 2021 5:31pm, edited 1 time in total.

mcadam05

saynta wrote: Wed 15 Dec 2021 11:11am
nice pick up but unlike others on here who post in nicknames even for players who played 60yrs ago Im more then happy too correct my error

mcadam05 wrote: Wed 15 Dec 2021 3:03pm
saynta wrote: Wed 15 Dec 2021 11:11am
nice pick up but unlike others on here who post in nicknames even for players who played 60yrs ago Im more then happy too correct my error

Wasn't at that game, but I recall seeing that mark on TV, I reckon it was a channel 9 show hosted by Tony Charlton and I reckon it was about 1965-1966.

Does anybody point me to a video clip, my young memory reckons it was one of the very best marks I've ever seen. From memory it was at Moorabbin on the members side between wing and HFF on the southern side.

one point

1965 MCG

The Cooper mark is in the video clip that accompanies the original Up There Cazaly song. The best of the best. And he was.

His nephew is Charlie Constable and Cooper tried unsuccessfully to persuade the club to recruit him believing Constable is a good fit for us.

It will be interesting to see if he was right when Constable makes his debut for the Suns next year.

Coops as a player epitomises everything that the current crop of Saints should aspire to be.

A dead set legend in every sense of the word. Vale.