Dunstan or Billings?

Who do you reckon put his body on the line more? Ok that’s an obvious response

Ok...so who played worse? Who would you say you wouldn’t give any votes to what so ever?

For me personally, I’d rather have a bloke who can win the contested ground ball and who can stick his tackles

Yes, I know you have to include turnovers and clangers, but surely the bloke who won it more gets more plaudits doesn’t he?

Both players were probably directly responsible for the opposition kicking multiple goals

Who would you say worked hard to put us into a position to score or at least to retain possession?

Who deserves their match payment today...And

Who deserves another chance to stand next to his team mates and play for the jumper next week?

Re: Dunstan or Billings?

Oh wow talk about over the top! You are trying to compare two completely different players. Billings didn’t have a great game today but I know who I’d prefer in the team each week. Let’s ignore the fact the one he been playing injured for the last month. Why? Because we have no one to come in. Give it a rest big fella you are starting to look silly

JB was no good today.
Dunstan worked hard but some truly horrible turn overs.

We have Steele, Crouch and Ross as slow hard ball units and Bytel in the wings.

How many fast skilled outside players do we have?

Gresham and Jones injured

Got to keep Billings, Bytel in for Dunstan, leave Byrnes in the team.

Such a s*** thread. Cannot believe you've had to wait this long in the season to have a dip at Billings. Nothing like loaded questions. Have you asked the following?

Which player would be snapped up by an opposition club?

Pretty pathetic, Dunstan is a hard nut devoid of skill. Would it surprise you that Sydney decided to put more work into Billings than Hill?

Dunstan is a one sided, one position treadmill. But, he's all yours apparently, our future, our bench mark. At least I now know you are part of our recruiting team. Cannot get enough of these one sided, one paced, one positional apple turnovers.

God help us if this is the consensus of the Club.

Billings seems restricted at the moment

Regardless... even with this down patch of form, he is a far better player then Dunstan.

Luke is good enough to be on the list as a depth player but seriously, this is his career best form. His disposal is far too much of a liability and you can’t carry players like that in the team.

Billings sometimes win us games... Dunstan’s disposal costs us too many goals

I don't mind Dunstan as a backup, but I don't see the need for him when we've got Crouch and Steele in there. It would be nice to have somebody who's a bit more skilled to complement those two. I don't think there's a shortage of options either.

My hope for Billings, at this stage, is that somebody offers him enough money to net us a first round pick. Then, when he's averaging 25 disposals and a goal for whatever club, we can at least console ourselves that our recruiters have found another gun mid that we can develop into a disappointing flanker.

sks023

Not our worst player today Dunstan and Billings clearly carrying a injury

Not sure the point of this thread

Look out kids, they keep it all hid

Dunstan won some footy but butchered it

Billings i50 had no impact

Prefer him on the wing

Another Scollop special. Two totally different players, in different positions. One of Dunstan's main attributes is his strength, and putting his body on the line and getting it out. Did Ok today, despite a couple of clangers. The less Billings has to put his body on the line, and gets it in the clear, the better we are playing. Still he has managed to get the hard ball/tackle plenty of times this year. Was quiet today, but was mainly forward? Did he cost us a goal today ? Didn't see it. Been one of our best players this year.

You may as well say Ryder or Higgins? You seem to like "body on the line" players - are you really a Richo fan?

Apples & Oranges really & I'm a JB fan but needed more from him today if hes injured don't play him, I thought Dunny was pretty good we all know his disposal is not elite but he had a crack & wasn't our worst thats for sure

Dunstan had a couple of mistake that cost us, but so did Sincs, Hill and Ross (off the top of my head), apart from that was in our top 10 today.

Billings had a down day today, but is easily one of the top 5 players for us this year.

With a full list to choose from maybe Dunstan wouldn’t get a game, but how often do you have your full list available?

The point of the thread is basically; who deserves their spot in the team?

Yes, I’d love Bytel to be straight back in and according to most of the replies on here, it seems that JB is playing injured

If that’s the case, then rest JB and let Dunny retain his spot.

If you keep playing JB and he keeps producing sub par games and not contributing, how the hell do we expect to create a culture of winning or a culture that rewards effort and hard work?

Dunstan was BOG for us last week right? He put in today right? So what’s the verdict? Drop him because he made mistakes...ahhh

He’s not alone there
Last edited by Scollop on Sat 05 Jun 2021 6:57pm, edited 1 time in total.

Maybe we should pick 22 inside mids who put their head over the ball?

B.M wrote: Sat 05 Jun 2021 6:56pm Maybe we should pick 22 inside mids who put their head over the ball?
No. Let’s have 18 guys who normally just receive the footy only and see how we go?

Barring either being injured, both easily retain their spot for next week.

Point is

You need a balance

Inside mids are not normally quick or highly skilled - can’t have too many

At the moment, we have one too many in the side

B.M wrote: Sat 05 Jun 2021 7:01pm Point is

You need a balance

Inside mids are not normally quick or highly skilled - can’t have too many

At the moment, we have one too many in the side
In that case I’d drop Ross before Dunstan, as Luke is better at that role.

I wouldn’t

Not by a long shot

Ross is a far better player than Dunstan

We are missing Gresh and Jones for their speed, but both these guys are not known for their disposal efficiency

This is where I cannot understand why Long has to serve such a lengthy absence from the seniors. One of the main reasons we did well last year was the drive he gave us from half back and the scoring chains that he sets up through the middle of the ground.

Jack Sinclair has been brilliant and Ben is one of the few players we have, who is as good a distributor as Sinclair. Why does the team have to pay such a price? We’ve moved Hill into the backline and with Paton and Coff out of the team recently and even with Clark out last week, they couldn’t find a spot in the team for Ben? What the f*** is going on?

B.M wrote: Sat 05 Jun 2021 7:07pm I wouldn’t

Not by a long shot

I would say Dunstan has played better than Ross 2 weeks in a row, especially in the ‘inside mid’ role.

Played better last week, had a good game.

Ross has been excellent this season

B.M wrote: Sat 05 Jun 2021 7:07pm I wouldn’t

Not by a long shot

Agree.

Dunstan is our midfield version of Bruce, dines out on North Melbourne. He's the perfect foil for Cunnington. Sadly he's behind Steele, Crouch and Ross as an AFL starting mid. If we think otherwise then we deserve every turnover he gifts us.

You are correct, we miss Gresham, we miss Jones. This does not mean we need Dunstan. Billings & Hill are the icing on the wings, we need a Josh Kelly in the middle to complement Steele and Crouch / Ross.

Zac Jones is a huge loss, doesn't get enough praise on here for some reason.
With Gresham is an inside/ outside player.
Otherwise we have either very inside or very outside.

To get back to the OP, if Billings is genuinely carrying an injury...then rest him, Bytel, D Mac or Long come back in, we are out of finals contention barring a miracle.

Banger9798 wrote: Sat 05 Jun 2021 7:35pm Zac Jones is a huge loss, doesn't get enough praise on here for some reason.
With Gresham is an inside/ outside player.
Otherwise we have either very inside or very outside.

To get back to the OP, if Billings is genuinely carrying an injury...then rest him, Bytel, D Mac or Long come back in, we are out of finals contention barring a miracle.
Sadly Banger, that was not the point of the OP. The point of the OP was to only have a crack at Billings.