Huge Game this week.

Sorry guys..just wanted to start one these threads :)

Oh and the game after The Cats will be huge too :)

Re: Huge Game this week.

I fear the only thing huge could be the percentage rise Geelong get.

older saint wrote: Sun 09 May 2021 10:19am I fear the only thing huge could be the percentage rise Geelong get.
my fear as well

There is no bigger game than our next...apparently.

History suggests...

If we can park...

The pleasing aspect is the opportunity this game presents.

older saint wrote: Sun 09 May 2021 10:19am I fear the only thing huge could be the percentage rise Geelong get.
It would be nice to pinch it, but agree I fear a 10 goal loss coming.

Beating up on a terrible Hawthorn and a wayward Suns won't mean anything if we turn up with a Essendon/Melbourne/Richmond/Port like performance against a decent team this week.

oh yea all of so little faith

it’ll only be by 9 goals
... don’t panic yet

sks023

Let's hope the unpredictable season continues Friday night.
We are a chance

Look out kids, they keep it all hid
darylcowie

We lost by 86 points at Docklands vs the Tigers and the Cats jist beat them by 63 points, so our chances are FA!

its time to make a name for yourself like you've never made before!

Good chance Marshall will miss.

lewdogs

We are back where we were before the Tigers game. We need to find a way to win one of the next two. That starts with a competitive outing against the Cats. We don't have to win, but we can't get smashed again like the Tigers game.

A competitive game this week, with Geary coming back against the Dogs, we could win that game. But must be competitive against the Cats.

Of course even better would be just beating the Cats. They do have ruck issues so maybe we're a chance.

lewdogs wrote: Sun 09 May 2021 3:41pm We are back where we were before the Tigers game. We need to find a way to win one of the next two. That starts with a competitive outing against the Cats. We don't have to win, but we can't get smashed again like the Tigers game.

A competitive game this week, with Geary coming back against the Dogs, we could win that game. But must be competitive against the Cats.

Of course even better would be just beating the Cats. They do have ruck issues so maybe we're a chance.
Who would you drop for Geary?

lewdogs

The_Dud wrote: Sun 09 May 2021 4:25pm
lewdogs wrote: Sun 09 May 2021 3:41pm We are back where we were before the Tigers game. We need to find a way to win one of the next two. That starts with a competitive outing against the Cats. We don't have to win, but we can't get smashed again like the Tigers game.

Who would you drop for Geary?
Very tough question. The backline has really improved and settled over the past fortnight. I would keep Joyce in. Don't love the idea of dropping Coffield because his best is so good. It may be that Byrnes or Bytel come back out which I know would upset a few.

byrnes no loss. not ready yet. but bytel is deserving of playing out every game he's fit for.

I liked the granite rugby like grunt Joyce showed as he stone-walled the congested area yesterday..Geary probably can do it too.

How do rate Geary’s disposal from congestion to the wings vs Joyce’s?

I want this on the wall at Moorabbin this week. From a Geelong fan,

“ I know there's two teams out there but St Kilda are pretty woeful at the moment. I can't think of an acceptable excuse to lose to a team like this.”

desertsaint wrote: Sun 09 May 2021 5:51pm byrnes no loss. not ready yet. but bytel is deserving of playing out every game he's fit for.
Why? What's he done wrong? Surely Geary needs to prove himself, fitness wise, with a minimum of 3 games. DMac would & should be in front of him.

Let Byrnes develop, his upside is huge.

if geary is fit he's in the side. byrnes has done nothing wrong, he'll be fine. just not nearly the calibre of player or positive influence that geary is.

Ghost Like wrote: Sun 09 May 2021 10:51am There is no bigger game than our next...apparently.

History suggests...

If we can park...

The pleasing aspect is the opportunity this game presents.
If we just park all the games we’ve lost, we’re having a great season.

Impatient Sainter wrote: Sun 09 May 2021 11:14am
It would be nice to pinch it, but agree I fear a 10 goal loss coming.
Bigger. 15 goals on the cards.

Need to put some real speed on the ball, they are vulnerable on the outside.

Cannot dump it I50 on a slow play, as the hold their back 6 and Stewart will peel off and intercept long entries

So must hit up at the footy!!!

King, Membrey and Marshall need to lead up!!!
And Higgins and Butler

No fly by over the backs vs Geelong, won’t happen!

I would play Battle defensively on Stewart!
And go through him if Stewart rolls too early.

Last time we played them, they belted us up on the Wing
Touhey and Menegola tore Billings and Hill apart - too big, too powerful and they played through them.

Seb Ross would definitely play on one wing and Clark on the other.
Hill at HB
Billings at HF

can I put up another Huge Game thread Next Week ?

The Fireman wrote: Sun 09 May 2021 8:42pm can I put up another Huge Game thread Next Week ?
Yeah mate why not seems to be popular post :wink:

bangaulegend wrote: Sun 09 May 2021 8:45pm
The Fireman wrote: Sun 09 May 2021 8:42pm can I put up another Huge Game thread Next Week ?
Yeah mate why not seems to be popular post :wink:

Wow, Geelong are a seriously old team.

Quite a lot of their players are over thirty, and apart from Cameron (who's actually 28), the rest seem to be 29!

Perhaps instead of trying to play to address our weaknesses, maybe go all out attack and try to rope-a-dope 'em. Sure we might run out of puff in the last quarter and get overrun, but seeing as we have won four out of eight last quarters so far this year, plus the two fourth quarters in our practice matches, it is worth a try, I reckon.