We Can Win v Port

Re: We Can Win v Port

shanegrambeau wrote: Tue 20 Apr 2021 3:20pm THings that happened last time....

We kicked frekken' 12.1....(0.1% chance of repeating that feat)

Marshall and Ryder blended like a treat...(0.7% - will they even play?)

Hunetr Clark and Paton in fine fettle (0% Paton is out, HC way under par)

Hill and Billings blitzed (10%? - see last week)

Zac Jones blitzed (50% mnnnn)

We came out in the second quarter and smashed with pressure and tackles. (12%- based on our efforts in the 10 of the last 12 quarters?)

We surprised and stunned PA. (0% - they know all about it and us now and will be seeking revenge)
Also, Nick Hind played his best game for the club.

But 12.1 was the clincher, especially after it had been 7.1 to 6.6 at three quarter time to keep us in it. Our 2021 (and most other years) kicking would see that 7.1 as 3.5 heading for a loss.

Won’t get within a Bull’s Roar!

HarryM

B.M wrote: Tue 20 Apr 2021 6:47pm Won’t get within a Bull’s Roar!

Well maybe if only half their team turned up we might be half a chance :)

This is what I fear.

Buckleys and none

How could anyone predict what this motley lot will do on match days.

Can't wait to see it unfold. :lol:

What a bunch of squibs you all are.

bigred wrote: Tue 20 Apr 2021 11:24pm What a bunch of squibs you all are.

i reckon i'll get no more satisfaction from a hard fought loss than a thrashing. either way we are done for the season. and the next. and so on. maybe a thrashing will inspire us to get over the hawks? one can only hope.

perfectionist wrote: Tue 20 Apr 2021 4:51pm

We came out in the second quarter and smashed with pressure and tackles. (12%- based on our efforts in the 10 of the last 12 quarters?)

We surprised and stunned PA. (0% - they know all about it and us now and will be seeking revenge)

But 12.1 was the clincher, especially after it had been 7.1 to 6.6 at three quarter time to keep us in it. Our 2021 (and most other years) kicking would see that 7.1 as 3.5 heading for a loss.
Damn it. Don't remind me.

Why did we let him go? Have to wonder about the recruiting team, or the 'let-them-go" team.

Another thing, there was no crowd - or was there? I suppose there might be 40,000 this time. Of course the Saints will be vocal. How many Saints fans live in SA? 7?

Look, we don't have a clue what will happen. Just because there is thunder and lighting, dark skies and a gale of a south-wester, doesn't mean it's gonna rain. Who knows, might be time a nice family picnic at Pt Lonsdale?

WellardSaint wrote: Tue 20 Apr 2021 1:43am Yes, Yorkeys.
Ratts will never do it, but the guys should take the field with several strategies in their heads, one being
"hurt the Power" and damn the free kicks, tackle with the intent to hurt. Hurt them. Drive them into the ground. Make the Power scared. Upset the fans. Upset the players.
If we're gonna lose, make the Power earn the win by having them limp off, bloody and bruised.
If we hurt them early on, by crikey it will limit their ability to blow us out of the water.
I think you're right. Unless they can all show some controlled aggression, we aren't going to be knocking off Port or any of the top teams

It can't just come from the usual suspects. We know Dougal and Rowan can throw their weight around. Hopefully Jake too if he's smart and does it within the rules

Also Josh Battle, Ben Long and Jack Steele are capable of hurting the opposition physically...

But what about everyone on the list making sure they try and inflict pain. Crouch? Sinclair? Butler? Lonie? Billings? Coffield? Sincs? And Hilly...and Sebby!!

If you're in a street fight there's no point being nice. Make sure you get the first punch in...metaphorically speaking of course 8-) :wink:

shanegrambeau wrote: Wed 21 Apr 2021 12:00am

Why did we let him go? Have to wonder about the recruiting team, or the 'let-them-go" team.

Another thing, there was no crowd - or was there? I suppose there might be 40,000 this time. Of course the Saints will be vocal. How many Saints fans live in SA? 7?

Look, we don't have a clue what will happen. Just because there is thunder and lighting, dark skies and a gale of a south-wester, doesn't mean it's gonna rain. Who knows, might be time a nice family picnic at Pt Lonsdale?
On the positive side, we kept the player that was keeping Hind out the team.
My Essendon mates are really jealous that we have Dean Kent still on our list

Seriously, we'd have to start playing on Saturday night to have any chance. If we build enough of a lead before the game starts on Sunday, then we might just hold on for a close win.

skeptic wrote: Wed 21 Apr 2021 12:00pm
shanegrambeau wrote: Wed 21 Apr 2021 12:00am

On the positive side, we kept the player that was keeping Hind out the team.
My Essendon mates are really jealous that we have Dean Kent still on our list

Perhaps Kent will be picked?
If so, I hope he kicks ten. Or gets reinvented as a stopper causing Robbie Gray to lose his marbles and head but the point post.
I take back everything I ever said about him.

Speaking of clutching at straws, perhaps McKernan could be a secret weapon, presuming Paddy isn’t ready yet?

Marshall is gonna cop serious attention as a solo ruck man /forward.

Dunno about the verdict for Jake Carlisle as a ruck man yet. I think he might be dropped, if they have scrubbed him as a key Blackman.

Sadly, I’d be happy with just a competitive showing. To not be blown out of the water again. Which says a lot about how the season has unfolded.

One thing to take out of this year. Almost always you need a good start. Momentum is so important. Look at the Bulldogs and Demons. Nothing succeeds like success.

roskilde

WellardSaint wrote: Tue 20 Apr 2021 12:51am last year was such a weird one, and for some strange reason, the squad appeared to bond amazingly well, which I believe was the main reason for the incredible unexpected wins.
I think the squad dealt with the hub, in a way that other clubs would be totally envious of.
Rather than the hub being challenging, they seemed to have thrived and punched above their weight.

This year, with normal routine back, we seem to have returned to the Saints of old.
Don't expect us to beat Port, or the Cats, or too many other clubs.
Just on your final point I watched the North vs Cats game on Sunday and the Cats are absolutely terrible right now. I have rarely seen a team play that badly. They reminded me a lot of the Saints during the Richardson period.

It's a shame we're struggling this year because at the moment at our best I'd say we could beat them by 10 goals.
Last edited by roskilde on Wed 21 Apr 2021 4:21pm, edited 1 time in total.

This was my father's belief
And this is also mine:
Let the corn be all one sheaf--
And the grapes be all one vine,
Ere our children's teeth are set on edge
By bitter bread and wine.

Butters and Duursma not playing is going to help

cwrcyn wrote: Wed 21 Apr 2021 3:31pm Butters and Duursma not playing is going to help
Yep...should help.

Still, it looks like Ned Kelly for us. Going to trial.

Some comments from the Port Adelaide forum to get us motivated....

Mr Plow writes ...
Saints are in big trouble
We win and win big

Mr Dinkley
45 Point win minimum

Mr Bravelss
since the west coast game they've been rolled by 15 goals.
they ******* stink

We say..
Yeah, so what, that’s just your opinion mate.

mr six o'clock wrote: Tue 20 Apr 2021 8:31pm Buckleys and none
Buckley would swing the axe on few non performers for a start

bigcarl wrote: Wed 21 Apr 2021 1:57pm Sadly, I’d be happy with just a competitive showing. To not be blown out of the water again. Which says a lot about how the season has unfolded.

One thing to take out of this year. Almost always you need a good start. Momentum is so important. Look at the Bulldogs and Demons. Nothing succeeds like success.
Yeah mate all I want is a team giving it their best shot what happens from there who knows . :wink:

MickThomas

roskilde wrote: Wed 21 Apr 2021 2:15pm
WellardSaint wrote: Tue 20 Apr 2021 12:51am last year was such a weird one, and for some strange reason, the squad appeared to bond amazingly well, which I believe was the main reason for the incredible unexpected wins.
I think the squad dealt with the hub, in a way that other clubs would be totally envious of.
Rather than the hub being challenging, they seemed to have thrived and punched above their weight.

This year, with normal routine back, we seem to have returned to the Saints of old.
Don't expect us to beat Port, or the Cats, or too many other clubs.
Just on your final point I watched the North vs Cats game on Sunday and the Cats are absolutely terrible right now. I have rarely seen a team play that badly. They reminded me a lot of the Saints during the Richardson period.

It's a shame we're struggling this year because at the moment at our best I'd say we could beat them by 10 goals.
We all know that the Saints have an awesome ability to run teams into form.
Take last yr out of the equation- we come up against a team that's below their best, and that team will come good against us.
It's a very safe bet.

2020 was an aberration, when we travelled twice to Adelaide and won both, beat Tigers early, beat our bogey Swans. 2021 we've returned to our old ways. Damn

shanegrambeau wrote: Wed 21 Apr 2021 1:35pm Speaking of clutching at straws, perhaps McKernan could be a secret weapon, presuming Paddy isn’t ready yet?

Dunno about the verdict for Jake Carlisle as a ruck man yet. I think he might be dropped, if they have scrubbed him as a key Blackman.
John?

McKernan is definitely not the answer.

Jacks Back wrote: Wed 21 Apr 2021 10:15pm
shanegrambeau wrote: Wed 21 Apr 2021 1:35pm Speaking of clutching at straws, perhaps McKernan could be a secret weapon, presuming Paddy isn’t ready yet?

John?

McKernan is definitely not the answer.
Oh...
Very yellow is for 'caution'.....the ghost in my typing machine!
as a key Blackman.

Well, Mckernan isn't loved much is he?

I had to check for 30 seconds...on Essendon's Big Footy forum...with my usual meticulous and objective analysis....

Consensus seems to be...
1) Good hands, solid mark
2) Goes missing (for weeks)
3) Gives away plenty of frees.

Must say, still liked that goal he kicked from the pocket...(especially after watching Max and co. miss everything in sight)

For me like WC game - want to see 4 qtrsof effort . Enter with little hope as personally have Port as Premiers .

Jones and Marshall ins help
Hunter, Long , Dunstan out as a start

Carlisle or McKernan - perhaps Jake again as he is 1 and 1 , good v WC like many poor v Richmond

b: Wilkie, Howard, Coffield
HB: Clarke, Battle, Highmore ( Webster)
C: Jones, Steele, Hill
HF: Billings , Membrey, Butler
F: Lonie, King, Higgins
Foll: Marshall, Ross, Crouch
Int Carlisle, Bytle , Sinclair , McKenzie
Sub : Byrnes
Emerg
Long, Mckernan, Connolly